We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Novotel Koeln City

Show Prices
#38 of 276 Hotels in Cologne
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Novotel Koeln City
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,171 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 416: English reviews
Chesapeake, Virginia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed there with a family of 4 for 3 nights. The Hotel is located on the southern end of the downtown area. To get to the Dom or shopping it was about a 20+ min walk or a 6-10 Euro taxi. There are two elevators that service the rooms which can be quite busy. There is a small but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank blaineusn
hotel4you, Manager at Novotel Koeln City, responded to this review

Dear blaineusn, First and foremost, thank you very much for your stay with us here at the Novotel Cologne City. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community. We would like to welcome you back very soon and wish you a happy and healthy...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Novotels are usually good. This one didn't disappoint being centrally located as well as offering all the usual things you expect from this hotel chain. The main bed was very comfortable as well as the children's beds.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claudia G
hotel4you, Manager at Novotel Koeln City, responded to this review

Dear Claudia G, First and foremost, thank you very much for your stay with us here at the Novotel Cologne City. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community. We would like to welcome you back very soon and remain, With kind regards, Ruediger...

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Average hotel on the outskirts of the city centre - easily a 25 min brisk walk to the Dom (cathedral) please keep this in mind when booking !!! Hotel itself was clean, rooms reasonably appointed - although i must say that a family room should comprise more than a Double bed and a small fold down sofabed & we received...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ColinandKaryn
hotel4you, Manager at Novotel Koeln City, responded to this review

Dear ColinandKaryn, First and foremost, thank you very much for your stay with us here at the Novotel Cologne City. I´m happy to let you know, that we´d finished our renovation of our family rooms. Now they´re all equippped with a comfortable sofa (200 x 150). Please note, the we additionally offer Executive Rooms with more space and rooms with...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff at the check-in was rather rude on simple queries like parking. This was the fifth Novotel we stayed during our road trip to Germany and seventh Accor property so very familiar with the level of service and standards expected. At every Novotel in Germany we stayed the parking for hotel guests was 50% reduced so it was only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sylm_2000
hotel4you, Manager at Novotel Koeln City, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very sorry that your stay in our hotel did not meet the level of expectation you had and we would like to apologize for this. Whenever you should come back to Cologne in the near future please contact me direct at ruediger.schild@accor.com in order...

El Puerto de Santa Maria, Spain
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We asked for a family room or suite and we did receive one of the newly remodeled rooms with a 58" or 60" TV (not really necessary) but they crammed us in like sardines by throwing a double(I think that big!!) roll-away bed for my two teen-agers in a regular room and we could barely move...and/or sleep for that matter....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank House_of_women
hotel4you, Manager at Novotel Koeln City, responded to this review

Dear Guest, First and foremost, thank you very much for your stay with us here at the Novotel Cologne City. We are so sorry, that you had this experience with your stay. Thus I´m happy to let you know, that we´d finished our renovation of our family rooms. Now they´re all equippped with a comfortable sofa (200 x 150). Please...

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 12 December 2016

A 15-20mn walk from the center and the center, the hotel is nicely located. Staff is a bit grumpy, but overall was a good experience. The room is clean and comfortable, TV does not have many English channels.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicolas R
hotel4you, Manager at Novotel Koeln City, responded to this review

Dear Nicolas R, First and foremost, thank you very much for your stay with us here at the Novotel Cologne City. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community. We would like to welcome you back very soon and remain, With kind regards, Ruediger...

Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 December 2016

This hotel is in a perfect location for exploring the christmas markets. It is a about a 15-20 minute walk to the Dom, passing the chocolate museum and two other markets on the way. The room was clean and comfortable, though I was a little disconcerted to find two unrepaired ? cigarette burn holes in the bottom sheet. There is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jackie E
hotel4you, Manager at Novotel Koeln City, responded to this review

Dear Jackie E, First and foremost, thank you very much for your stay with us here at the Novotel Cologne City. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community. We would like to welcome you back very soon and remain, With kind regards, Ruediger...

Iran
Reviewed 6 December 2016

Good location, Very clean, very silent, the breakfast was very nice, availability of public transportation was good and fast available. access to downtown was excellent. the reception staffs were kind and check in/check out process took just two min.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ghahari H
hotel4you, Manager at Novotel Koeln City, responded to this review

Dear Ghahari H, First and foremost, thank you very much for your stay with us here at the Novotel Cologne City. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community. We would like to welcome you back very soon and remain, With kind regards, Ruediger...

Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewed 26 November 2016

NIce hotel, clean rooms, good breakfast... At 15-20 minutes walk from the Cologne Dom, Central Station and the old city centre this hotel is well located. We arrived quite late on a friday evening, The reception employee - a youg man - was not very friendly or helpfull, didn't seem to speak or understand english. The second night some hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wim L
hotel4you, Manager at Novotel Koeln City, responded to this review

Dear Wim L, First and foremost, thank you very much for your stay with us here at the Novotel Cologne City. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community. We would like to welcome you back very soon and remain, with kind regards, Ruediger...

Reviewed 24 November 2016 via mobile

We spent one night at the Novotel to see the Christmas markets. Nice location down by the river but it's a bit of a stretch for them to say they are in the Altstadt! It's about a 20 minute walk to the cathedral. Close to the maritime market which was handy. They have an overzealous cleaning staff who would knock...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
hotel4you, Manager at Novotel Koeln City, responded to this review

Dear Andrew C, First and foremost, thank you very much for your stay with us here at the Novotel Cologne City. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community. We are so sorry, that you had this experience with our cleaning staff. Please note,...

180 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (138)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (76)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Süd
Mercure Hotel Severinshof Koeln City
Altstadt-Süd
NH Koln Altstadt
NH Koln Altstadt
#15 of 276 in Cologne
1,157 reviews
art'otel cologne
#28 of 276 in Cologne
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Süd
Adagio Koln City
Adagio Koln City
#8 of 276 in Cologne
412 reviews
Hotel Lyskirchen
#13 of 276 in Cologne
527 reviews
Lindenthal
Ameron Hotel Regent
Ameron Hotel Regent
#9 of 276 in Cologne
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Novotel Koln City is located right on the Rhine River, close to the Old Town, the famous cathedral und several museums. Modern design and comfort characterise our 221 spacious rooms and seven meeting rooms. Explore the trade fair city or take it easy in the courtyard of our restaurant. Total relaxation awaits you on the 5th floor of this 4 star hotel where you can enjoy our gym overlooking the Rhine or a quiet moment in our sauna. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Novotel Koeln City

Address: Bayenstrasse 51, 50678 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Price Range: $102 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Koeln City 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Novotel Koeln City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Koeln City Hotel Cologne
Novotel Hotel Cologne
Novotel Hotel Koeln City
Novotel Cologne
Cologne Novotel
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Cologne
#28 Family Hotel in Cologne
#29 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Novotel Koeln City staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Novotel Koeln City staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask about "fees" up front.”
 of 5 bubbles blaineusn, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Best rooms would have a river view, although this is not a must - not that much to enjoy viewing.”
 of 5 bubbles Dronson, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
“we had a front room by a very busy road but the insulation seemed brilliant so I think any room would be suffice”
 of 5 bubbles 534ds, 5 Jun 2016 | Read review
“River view rooms can be a bit noisy if you open windows due to main road. The rooms facing the back also seemed to be roomier.”
 of 5 bubbles 326harrys, 24 May 2016 | Read review
“Front side romms with some river view are very silent, despite the very busy road outside.”
 of 5 bubbles A4445ZSmichaele, 30 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay