We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Holiday Inn Essen City Centre

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Essen City Centre
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

221 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 80: English reviews
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewed 1 week ago

This must be the noisiest hotel in history - right by a main road junction surrounded by buildings that make the road into an echo chamber. Wonderful if you want to listen to the Traffic Light Grand Prix all night and delightful if you enjoy listening to truck drivers demonstrating their gear-crunching. Avoid.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mausoptik
Ulrich S, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Holiday Inn Essen City Centre, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to write a review. To be honest we are a bit confused about your feedback as there are no traffic lights DIRECTLY at the hotel. Could it be that you have stayed at the other Holiday Inn hotel here in Essen, the Holiday Inn Express Essen City Centre? Depending on the location...

Reston, Virginia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here on Business. Perfect location - 1.2 KM from Central Station (Hbf) across from the mall (Limbecker Platz) and Shopping thoroughfare. Rooms are good with wifi. Restaurant has decent dining experience and small bar. Overall good property to stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SKU1970
Ulrich S, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Holiday Inn Essen City Centre, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for your kind review. We are happy that you had a comfortable stay with us and you have been satisfied with our complimentary wifi. We would be happy to welcome you again very soon. With kind regards, Ulrich Schreiber-Guest Review Team

Lelystad, The Netherlands
Reviewed 6 December 2016

We recently stayed for an overnight here during the Christmas market. The hotel was clean and the staff at the front desk was very welcoming and helpful. Our room was on the first floor and on the side away from major traffic. There was still a bit of street noise as the street loops around the hotel. Also on this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank whouwhoami
Groningen, The Netherlands
Reviewed 5 December 2016

Outdated hotel, with a very small outdated bathroom. We had a roadside room on the first floor, which was very noisy. Caused by the big road nearby and the smokers outside under your window. Our room was way to hot, even with all the heaters out it stayed hot and that wasn't caused by the gluhwein. The location is nice,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steven J
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Essen City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Steven J, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and going out of your way to leave you thoughts. I am happy with your commendations for our cordial hotel staff members and I am glad our location is convenient for your itinerary. On the other hand, I am sorry to know that our hotel...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

This was our second visit to this Essen city centre hotel, arriving as we did for a long weekend to visit the very impressive Weihnachtsmarkt situated just a few minutes away on foot in Kennedy Platz. All the staff without exception in this hotel are friendly, efficient and professional. Nothing seems to much trouble for them and in our experience...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AndyBarras
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Reviewed 17 November 2016

This hotel has a great location in the city center and it is clean with very friendly and polite staff, but the quality is not high enough for the price I have paid. Furniture and rooms equipment is old and very simple. Especially beds with plastic mattress covers are very uncomfortable. My room's windows were directed to the parking house...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EvaF2Eva
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Essen City Centre, responded to this review

Dear EvaF2Eva, Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. I am happy that our location worked for your travel needs and that you found our staff commendable and our rooms clean. However, I regret that we were not able to meet your expectations, specially with the bed and furniture. I have forwarded your comments to our...

Herning, Denmark
Reviewed 1 November 2016

I stayed here while I visited the Spiel faire in Essen. The distance to the faire is a little bit too long to walk if you need to carry anything, you are better off to take a taxi. In relation to the Spiel faire the hotel had set up two large rooms for people to play in, alot more nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frank R
Antwerp
Reviewed 26 October 2016

Since my visit a year ago this hotel has gotten worn down and become a bit more shabby in its appearance in certain areas and looks a bit dated for a 4 star. Outside appearance does not say 4 star hotel. Spotlights that are on 24/7. Weeds in the rock landscaping and paint is dull. Lobby area is a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Expat_American
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Essen City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Expat_American, We are glad to welcome you back at our property. The review was a very detailed account of your experience and we appreciate the time and the effort taken to write it. We are happy that you were very much satisfied with the service that our staff provided and the location was convenient for you during your stay....

Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 24 September 2016

I spent two nights at the Holiday Inn. Is a 15 min walk to the train station or take the tram ( metro) for only one stop. It is near the University. Comfy large room and a very nice breakfast with lots of selection. Highly recommend this hotel. The staff are *superstars* - esp Mr Sebastian Sommer - and no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Isobel O
Tampa, Florida
Reviewed 23 September 2016

The Holiday Inn in Essen City Center is at a perfect location, especially for business travelers. Located truly downtown Essen, not far away from the train station (walk or 5 min taxi). Close to shopping and restaurant locations. Stayed in basic standard room. Clean, basic amenities, quiet (was on third floor), BIG breakfast buffet, well visited bar area, and really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rast67

116 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (59)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essen hotels
Südviertel
Mercure Hotel Plaza Essen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Essen Hotel
#12 of 71 in Essen
384 reviews
Stadtkern
TOP CCL Hotel Essener Hof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The hotel Holiday Inn Essen City Centre is located in the city centre of Essen, only 200 m from the shopping zone and 300 m from the Colosseum theatre away. The hotel Holiday Inn Essen City Centre offers 168 comfortable, large rooms and appartments. All rooms of the hotel Holiday Inn Essen City Centre are equipped with sound-absorbing windows, direct dial telephone, radio, satellite-TV, 'Pay-TV' free of charge, minibar, hair dryer and a free coffee- and tea bar. WiFi is complimentary for all our guests without any device or time limit. 50% of the rooms are equipped with air condition. Five multifunctional banqueting rooms present the ideal conditions for conferences and banquets up to 99 persons. In the restaurant Amaroso you will be offered local specialities and international cooking-highlights before or after enjoying a cold drink in our lobby bar or our summer terrace. If you wish to relax, you are welcome to our sauna and mini gym - for our guests free of charge. The underground parking lot is equipped for up to 60 cars. We are looking forward to welcome you! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Essen City Centre

Address: Frohnhauser Str. 6, 45127 Essen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Essen
Price Range: $77 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Essen City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Essen City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Essen City Centre Hotel Essen
Essen Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Essen
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Essen City Centre staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Devon, United Kingdom
1 month ago
Lisburn, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Essen City Centre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher than the first floor”
 of 5 bubbles whouwhoami, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Certain rooms on the backside face a area that has commercial trash disposal areas including glass.”
 of 5 bubbles Expat_American, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room in the back of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles isobelo2013, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
“If you want AC, must book non-standard room”
 of 5 bubbles Rast67, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
“No real views here so try for a suite is best. Gives more room.”
  • View out window. Forgettable.
  • Small bathroom with step in shower. Adequate.
  • Bedroom
  • Lounge / desk area
 of 5 bubbles peterperfect2, 31 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay