We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Essen City Centre

Save
Share
Frohnhauser Str. 6, 45127 Essen, North Rhine-Westphalia Germany
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (126)
Room & Suite (15)
Dining (9)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 20-11-20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Holiday Inn Essen City Centre
Updated 20-11-20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#23 of 74 hotels in Essen
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The hotel Holiday Inn Essen City Centre is located in the city centre of Essen, only 200 m from the shopping zone and 300 m from the Colosseum theatre away. The hotel Holiday Inn Essen City Centre offers 168 comfortable, large rooms and appartments. All rooms of the hotel Holiday Inn Essen City Centre are equipped with sound-absorbing windows, direct dial telephone, radio, satellite-TV, 'Pay-TV' free of charge, minibar, hair dryer and a free coffee- and tea bar. WiFi is complimentary for all our guests without any device or time limit. 50% of the rooms are equipped with air condition. Five multifunctional banqueting rooms present the ideal conditions for conferences and banquets up to 99 persons. In the restaurant Amaroso you will be offered local specialities and international cooking-highlights before or after enjoying a cold drink in our lobby bar or our summer terrace. If you wish to relax, you are welcome to our sauna and mini gym - for our guests free of charge. The underground parking lot is equipped for up to 60 cars. We are looking forward to welcome you!
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Kids stay free
Highchairs available
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Paid public parking on-site
Car park
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Vending machine
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Soundproof rooms
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, German

Location

Full view
90Good for walkers
Grade: 90 out of 100
52Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
7Attractionswithin 0.5 km
323Reviews2Q+A25Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 68
  • 123
  • 93
  • 22
  • 17
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
ianholloway2011 wrote a review Dec. 2019
Reading, United Kingdom22 contributions3 helpful votes
I stayed here for business as our HQ is in Essen, unfortunately our usual hotel (the welcome) was sold out so looked online and found this Holiday in for around the same price £120 a night. We booked in advance on the company credit card as we normally do as we're not supposed to expense hotels. When we checked in the receptionist requested to see the card which the booking was completed on. I have stayed at Holiday Inn before and they never normally ask this, apparently it is a new policy.They cheekily said well if you can't show us the card I'm sure you can put it on your own personal cards and expense it. We were told that the company have to fill out a form, put the company stamp on it and fax it through to authorise spending on the company card in future. Now I was with our managing director yet they still refused to accept the card which we pre-paid on. It didn't say anywhere online when booking or in the subsequent emails this was the case and we showed the receptionist this. Anyway we had no choice but to pay on our own cards in the hope the company would reimburse us. I find this totally unacceptable. We got to the rooms and they were very run down and in need of some TLC. The divan bed and curtains looked like they were from the 70's or 80's and were all faded and had seen better days. We went down to the restaurant only to be told it's under refurbishment and they have setup some meeting rooms as the restaurant! It was bizarre they were playing football on the projector while people were eating their dinner! At least the food was good. The rooms were like a sauna with no air-con, I had both windows wide open however it was still boiling, mainly due to the radiator in the bathroom having its thermostat broken and being constantly on max! Due to this and the very noisy road (as the window had to be wide open) I had such a bad sleep. To add insult to injury, there wasn't even any free water provided in the room and an extortionate fee for 3.5 euros was charged per litre. The breakfast was the same as dinner, served in a meeting room. Very odd. I would not recommend this hotel at all, stay anywhere other than this please!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Essen City Centre
Responded Dec. 15, 2019
Hello ianholloway2011, Thank you very much for your recent stay at our Holiday Inn Essen - City Centre, Germany. We are always Making guests smile, however, it seems that we failed this time. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us, especially with check in experience, room condition and air conditioning. Not the experience we wanted you to have. We will address these concerns. I have shared your comment to the hotel's management and ownership for review and service improvement. I’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. I hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Essen - City Centre. Sincerely, Orlando A. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
LinguisticNomad wrote a review Oct. 2019
South Shields, United Kingdom57 contributions43 helpful votes
Stayed here to attend a huge trade show close by in Düsseldorf. Although the hotel was a bit dated and constantly as warm as toast, it worked for me. The annual trade show premium of €209 per night was steep & about €129 over the top but all hotels in and around Düsseldorf make an absolute fortune due to the K-fair held there once every three years. Glad the company was footing the bill. Staff were all very professional, friendly and efficient so danke schön. Breakfast wasn’t anything special either but it filled a hole. Room was really warm but there was no way to regulate the heating in my 4th floor room other than open the two big windows, which then let in quite a bit of noise. I think this is why you are provided with 2 packs of free ear plugs alongside the two bars of free soap! Woke up the next morning with an inquisitive dragonfly on my nose, who must have been tempted in by the heat bellowing out of my window. I released him in my line my latter day zen Buddhist approach these days.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Essen_Team, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Holiday Inn Essen City Centre
Responded Nov. 5, 2019
Dear guest Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at our Holiday Inn Essen City Centre. We are very happy about your feedback regarding our staff - we will be happy to share it with all our colleagues. We are sorry for the iinconvenience within your room - did you inform our reception staff as they are at your service 24/7. At this stage we are happy to inform you that we are currently transitioning our public areas and mid december we will open up our brand new Holiday Inn Open Lobby: The Open Lobby brings together the traditional hotel lobby, lounge, bar and restaurant areas into one open, cohesive space. It’s an area where all of our guests – whether travelling alone or in a group, with families or with colleagues – can eat, drink, work, meet, relax, socialise and have fun. It’s a space to wind down and relax, or hold a meeting in comfort. A place where guests can blend work and leisure, combining the previously separate hotel bar, dining area and lounge spaces into one relaxed area, with no barriers. We would be happy to welcome you again within our new Open Lobby! With kind regards, Ulrich Schreiber - Director of Sales & Marketing
Read more
Peter Lie wrote a review Oct. 2019
Soest, The Netherlands6650 contributions4615 helpful votes
+1
The Hotel is easy to find and Walking Distanz close to the Karstadt. I got a spacious room. Interieur is very Simulator to the Holiday Inn in Neuss. Same Looks and Feel. All good. Parking available. There are Dome Restaurants weithin walking distance for your convenience
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
52 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Essen_Team, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Holiday Inn Essen City Centre
Responded Nov. 5, 2019
Dear guest Thank you very much for your feedback and the four points our of five. We are happy to inform you that we are currently transitioning our public areas and mid december we will open up our brand new Holiday Inn Open Lobby: The Open Lobby brings together the traditional hotel lobby, lounge, bar and restaurant areas into one open, cohesive space. It’s an area where all of our guests – whether travelling alone or in a group, with families or with colleagues – can eat, drink, work, meet, relax, socialise and have fun. It’s a space to wind down and relax, or hold a meeting in comfort. A place where guests can blend work and leisure, combining the previously separate hotel bar, dining area and lounge spaces into one relaxed area, with no barriers. We would be happy to welcome you again within our new Open Lobby! With kind regards, Ulrich Schreiber - Director of Sales & Marketing
Read more
ABH wrote a review Sep. 2019
Moscow, Russia223 contributions92 helpful votes
Very rude staff There was an attempt to charge extra 50 EUR for nothing. When I asked for what thet answer was it is automatic and they even make no attempt to explain what was behind. Conditioners are available not every where and you need to pay to get a room with conditioner Not the cleanest rooms
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Essen_Team, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Holiday Inn Essen City Centre
Responded Sep. 3, 2019
Dear guest we are very sorry to read your displeasure at our Holiday Inn Essen City Centre. Please note, that we reserve an amount of € 50.00 for any extras you might have at the hotel, which is a common process within hotels across the globe. This is only a reservation on the credit card - there´s no charge at any time. Otherwise you would have seen this on your bill upon check-out. If there might be the problem that your bank did not release the reservation , please let me know: sales@hi-essen.de. I am happy to help any time. Again, we are very sorry for your dissatisfaction, but there are no charges for extras in advance at any time. Please kindly allow us to rectify, that due to this your formulation is not correct. Conditioner is available as an amenity in our suite apartments at the moment, but due to sustainability reasons, little plastic bottles will be banned in IHG hotels worldwide within the near future which we are happy to support. Within every bathroom, no matter which room type you have booked, you find a sticker (the same sticker you find in every Holiday Inn hotel worldwide) with the information, that we are happy to provide amenties at our reception in case you did forget anything. Our front office Team, which is available 24/7, would have been happy to provide you with conditioner. With kind regards. Ulrich Schreiber - Director of Sales & Marketing.
Read more
Sherry L wrote a review Aug. 2019
3 contributions
Room was lovely, well heated and with lots of space. I really enjoyed my time in Germany and enjoyed having a good place to come to. The service was nice too, especially the front desk, the woman was helpful and thankfully spoke english
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Essen_Team, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Holiday Inn Essen City Centre
Responded Aug. 3, 2019
Dear Sherry Thank you so much for your kind feedback! We will be happy to share it with our entire team and we hope to welcome you again very soon! With kind regards, Ulrich Schreiber - Director of Sales & Marketing
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$77 - US$154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn essen city centre hotel essen, essen holiday inn
LOCATION
GermanyNorth Rhine-WestphaliaEssen
NUMBER OF ROOMS
168
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Essen City Centre
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Essen City Centre?
Nearby attractions include Einkaufszentrum Limbecker Platz (0.2 km), Colosseum theater (0.2 km), and Temple Bar (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Essen City Centre?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn Essen City Centre?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Essen City Centre?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Essen City Centre?
Yes, free public parking nearby, a parking garage, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Essen City Centre?
Conveniently located restaurants include Lua vietnamese Kitchen, Mongo's - Essen, and Mr.nam 68.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Essen City Centre?
Yes, guests have access to a sauna during their stay.
Is Holiday Inn Essen City Centre located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Essen.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Essen City Centre?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Holiday Inn Essen City Centre offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Holiday Inn Essen City Centre?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and German.