We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mintrops Land Hotel Burgaltendorf

Schwarzensteinweg 81 45289 Essen, 45289 Essen, North Rhine-Westphalia Germany
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (51)
Room & Suite (11)
Dining (7)


#12 of 74 hotels in Essen
This 4-star hotel offers modern accommodation, spa facilities and free parking in Burgaltendorf. It is just a short walk from the old castle ruins and 11 km from the city center of Essen. A bus stop is only 3 minutes walk. Free tickets for the VRR area there are free at the reception. Choose between comfortable gallery rooms, cottage rooms and designer tournament tent rooms at Mintrops Land Hotel Burgaltendorf. All are equipped with satellite TV, a minibar and Wi-Fi. Start each day with a delicious breakfast buffet before exploring the surrounding area. You can rent a bike directly from the hotel and explore the Ruhr learn at your own pace. The spa at the Mintrops Land Hotel Burgaltendorf country hotel invites you for a refreshing swim in the indoor pool and, with a Finnish sauna and a massage (appointment necessary) for relaxation. Enjoy the evening to excellent, seasonal cuisine, fine wines and draft beers at Mumm's restaurant or bistro Laiwenstrupp. Is supplied, inter alia, the hotel kitchen from its own organic garden on 10.000M ². It is also on the menu is always a great choice to find vegetarian and vegan dishes. In warm weather you can enjoy your meals and refreshments are served on the outdoor terrace. The stylish bar Quaterkunte is the ideal place to enjoy the evening with your favorite drink.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Board games / puzzles
Children's playground
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Electric vehicle charging station
Street parking
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Outdoor dining area
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Washing machine
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, German
129Reviews2Q+A3Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 75
  • 41
  • 6
  • 5
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Edit Okenwa wrote a review Sep. 2020
4 contributions1 helpful vote
We were attending on a wedding, which took place in this hotel, therefore we booked a room in it too. The ceremony started at 3pm, therefore we arrived just after noon. But as the check in is officially from 3pm, we had to pay extra 30 EUR, as for early check in! They knew we are one of the guests for the wedding and they didn’t help us having an early check in for free of charge. Then next day, when we check out, they added 28 EUR for breakfast&Wlan! Who pays in 2020 extra money for WiFi??????? And we haven’t even had breakfast, as we woke up at 10am after the party, and breakfast finishes by 10am, so we paid for nothing! And the lady at the reception is super rude! She hung the phone on us when we called before our arrival and she did exactly the same thing with some others on the phone while we were checking in! And the room design is terrible! The pictures which are on booking.com and on their website, just simply had nothing to do with reality! And when we asked for a different room, they claims that they are fully booked!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Response from Moritz Mintrop, Geschäftsführer at Mintrops Land Hotel Burgaltendorf
Responded Sep. 9, 2020
Dear Mr Editok, thank you very much for your feedback. We apologize for the unlucky experience in our hotel. The early check in has been booked from the bride. Please understand, that we charge every early check with 10€ per hour. Our check-out time is till 11 a.m., in order to have the room ready on time, we need extra staff. The rooms are ready for check in from 3 p.m. and earlier only if available. We are realy sorry if you couldn´t have any breakfast and you didn´t know the time of the breakfast. In the weekend it is from 07.00 till 11.00 o´clock. Did you ask at the reception? We could have offered you something to eat even after this time. Our guests don´t pay for the internet, this is free of charge. The note "Wi-Fi" is on our invoices with the breakfast so that business travelers can deduct the taxes. We apologize for the behavior of our front office worker. Our room photos by booking.com are all real and visible. We have standard rooms, superior, juniorsuites and suites. On the 5th of september we realy didn´t have any rooms available. If we had onother room available we would be glad offering you. We hope to see you another time in our hotel so we can apologize personally. We wish you a great day, the Team of Mintrops Land Hotel
Read more
william w wrote a review May 2019
Miami Beach, Florida235 contributions155 helpful votes
I have been in hotels around the globe and I rate Mintrops in the top category. Every detail was thought considering the comfort of the guests, the design of the room, the fantastic shower, the lights, etc...really amazing. The service is REALLY friendly and effective. The breakfast was simply amazing. Parking is easy . Hat off to the owner and management of the Hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
Response from MintropsMMHotels, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mintrops Land Hotel Burgaltendorf
Responded Jun. 21, 2019
Vielen Dank lieber William für Ihre hervorragende Bewertung. Ihr Lob freut uns sehr. Gerne begrüßen wir Sie wieder bei uns. Ihr Team von Mintrops Land Hotel
Read more
Couple_Holland wrote a review Feb. 2019
Amsterdam, The Netherlands40 contributions34 helpful votes
Looking for a place to rest in a sporty weekend (skiing in Bottrop) we booked Mintrops Burgaltendorf. It is that navigation these days take you immediately to the right spot, this hotel is not easy to find, like a hidden gem. Next to Burg Altendorf this is a very relaxed place to stay. The hotel has a very nice garden where we could enjoy the first sunrays of upcoming spring. The second day of skiing was easily skipped. We requested to stay some longer in our room to enjoy also the pool area, which was not a problem: much appreciated! The pool area has all the facilities it needs, even a water jet massage bed. In short: this hotel is a very clean, multi-functional, good value for money, relaxing place with lots of well thought design details in the rooms. We will definately come back for a longer stay!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: The rooms at the ground floor have a private terrace and give access to the surrounding garden.
See more room tips
Response from MintropsMMHotels, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mintrops Land Hotel Burgaltendorf
Responded Jun. 21, 2019
Vielen Dank für Ihre volle Punktzahl. Es freut uns, dass Sie sich wohl gefühlt haben und Sie Ihre Zeit in Essen und Umgebung gut genutzt haben. Herzlichst Ihr Team von Mintrops Land Hotel
Read more
scott c wrote a review Jan. 2017
Eugene, Oregon157 contributions40 helpful votes
I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights. It is way outside the city of Essen, too far to walk to town.Very clean and neat. GREAT service. Extremely expensive. V. Small rooms. OUTSTANDING breakfast I wont return due to the cost
Read more
Date of stay: January 2017
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Response from MintropsMMHotels, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mintrops Land Hotel Burgaltendorf
Responded Jan. 31, 2017
Hello Scott, thank you for your feedback! We are sorry, that our hotel is for you too far away from the city. It is 30 minutes awy from the center and here is a good bus service to the cit. The busstop is 2-5 minutes away from the hotel. We recommend you a stay at our second hotel, Mintrops Stadt Hotel Margerethenhöhe, which is closer to the city of Essen. Our prices depend on supply and demand. Since you were our guest during a trade fair, your room rate was higher than on other days. We hope, that we can welcome you again in one oft he Mintrops mmHotels! Best regards, Your team from Mintrops Land Hotel Burgaltendorf.
Read more
AncientSailor wrote a review Oct. 2015
Niagara Falls, Canada5 contributions2 helpful votes
MIntrops has an unusual name even for Germany and it is a little different. It's what has come to be known as a boutique hotel but the deco is done with a passion for variety and and taste. Extremely friendly staff do an excellent job of running a bright cheerful establishment with everything you would expect from the legendary Germany efficiency, but with a welcoming touch of the kind you do not find everywhere. The food is first class, the rooms are of whatever size suits your pocket and are always bright and airy and the overall experience is something of a home from home. If room is available I always stay there when in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2014
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: book early, it's popular. The rather small but big enough single rooms are the best value
See more room tips
US$67 - US$155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
GermanyNorth Rhine-WestphaliaEssen
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Mintrops Land Hotel Burgaltendorf
Which popular attractions are close to Mintrops Land Hotel Burgaltendorf?
Nearby attractions include Wuppertaler Schwebebahn Kaiserwagen (6.4 km), Altstadt Hattingen (4.5 km), and RuhrEscape (7.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Mintrops Land Hotel Burgaltendorf?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Mintrops Land Hotel Burgaltendorf?
Top room amenities include a minibar, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Mintrops Land Hotel Burgaltendorf?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Mintrops Land Hotel Burgaltendorf?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mintrops Land Hotel Burgaltendorf?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Casa, Cafe Adele, and Jagdhaus Schellenberg.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Mintrops Land Hotel Burgaltendorf?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Mintrops Land Hotel Burgaltendorf?
Yes, laundry service and a washing machine are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Mintrops Land Hotel Burgaltendorf?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Mintrops Land Hotel Burgaltendorf offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Mintrops Land Hotel Burgaltendorf?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and German.