We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Gunnewig Hotel Bristol Mainz

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Gunnewig Hotel Bristol Mainz
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

65 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 20: English reviews
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2016

I stayed at this hotel for one week. Upon arrival I was disappointed. The room was just not clean. The sink was dirty, the door handle was splatted with some white stuff, there were no less than 3 black hairs in the bathroom. One on the toilet flusher, one on the sink and the other above the sink. I spoke... More 

Helpful?
Thank skier2009
Centro H, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Gunnewig Hotel Bristol Mainz, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for your contributions and your constructive criticism. We regret that not much enjoyed your stay with us. For the inconvenience we apologize. Sincerely, Centro Hotel Group Team More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2016 via mobile

First off, the people are nice and helpful; which is the reason I'm giving 2 stars instead of 1. The hotel was cheap which is fine, but it is put in the middle of the suburbs, far away from downtown Mainz. We had to get there by taxi which cost as much as the room. There was nothing to do... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rhundy17

Travellers are raving about these Mainz hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2016

We stayed there twice in May. The service and the breakfast was Ok, what you expect from a three star hotel. The hotel is indeed beginning to show its age, otherwise it was allright. The pillows in the rooms were not good, I made a comment to the receptionist about it, there were absolutely insubstantial and really should be replaced.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kai_vienna
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
283 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2016

The hotel is clean and quiet. It's in an industrial area, so nothing nearby. The rooms are small but clean. A bit dated, but otherwise OK. The bar was manned by the receptionist. Its what you'd expect from a 3-star. The wifi was free, but extremely slow

Helpful?
Thank EfficientTraveler
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2016

Positive: The room was comfortable and relatively large for the price. The window could be opened and the curtains closed for a good night's sleep. Negative: The hotel is beginning to show its age, both outside and in. The WiFi access was OK the first night, but I wasn't able to get a connection in the second night. The bed... More 

Helpful?
Thank James G
Level Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2015

My room was $82.68, and had free parking, breakfast buffet, and wireless Internet. The hotel is a 3.4 km walk from the Gutenberg Museum, but can be easily reached by bus. There is a stop at Jakob-Anstatt-Straße 1 and Bus 62 takes fifteen minutes to reach the city center. There is an Aldi Süd market at Jakob-Anstatt-Straße 13 as an... More 

Helpful?
Thank antonvanold
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2015 via mobile

This hotel is so secluded from things to do and places to eat, that you must have a car if you want to do anything. We didn't realize this until we arrived, so our three night stay turned into one night. No one was stationed at the reception desk, but sitting in a back room. They were kind when we... More 

Helpful?
Thank kristin c
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
240 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2015

Quite far from the city centre but easy access from the highway and good location business wise. The reception is efficient clean and the welcome is friendly. The room at the back side of the hotel, 3rd floor is spacious, silent, clean, good beds, empty minibar, good but a little out dated furniture. Wifi is fast enough, easy access and... More 

Helpful?
Thank JW_Dam
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2015

Hotel was an excellent value. Out of town (nice and quiet), but easily accessed via public transport from the train station and tourist area. The room was very nice and roomy. Best of a the staff (especially Bastian) was extremely helpful in getting us directed to the for the Rhine river cruises

Helpful?
Thank Dave M
Level Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2015

The hotel was good. -it was clean -the staff was helpful -i have no ideea of the pricing since my company paid for it -they had a pool -the breakfast was diverse and very good compared to the other hotels that i've visited

Helpful?
Thank lucianRoman

33 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mainz hotels
2.3 km away
Ibis Mainz City
Ibis Mainz City
#4 of 41 in Mainz
598 reviews
4.7 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Mainz
2.7 km away
Ibis Budget Mainz Hechtsheim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Novotel Mainz
Novotel Mainz
#6 of 41 in Mainz
645 reviews
2.5 km away
Hyatt Regency Mainz
Hyatt Regency Mainz
#1 of 41 in Mainz
943 reviews
3.3 km away
Hilton Mainz
Hilton Mainz
#2 of 41 in Mainz
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Tennis Court
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Gunnewig Hotel Bristol Mainz, the business and seminar hotel with a special character! Quiet, situated on the outskirts of the Rhine-Main metropolis, this hotel has ideal traffic connections to the national motorway network and is quick and easy to access. Characteristic of this hotel is the unusual architecture with contemporary comfort and the personal service. Additionally there are several function rooms with professional conditions for conferences. Simply ideal for all occasions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gunnewig Hotel Bristol Mainz

Address: Friedrich Ebert Strasse 20, 55130 Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Mainz
Price Range: $74 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gunnewig Hotel Bristol Mainz 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Gunnewig Hotel Bristol Mainz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Gunnewig Hotel Bristol Mainz staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms in the front of the hotel face a parking lot and a soccer field, where there are often trainings taking place in the evening.”
 of 5 bubbles V9473IFjamesg, 28 Jan 2016 | Read review
“The hotel is very quiet, so any of the rooms should be adequate.”
  • TOP Günnewig Hotel Bristol Mainz
  • TOP Günnewig Hotel Bristol Mainz
  • TOP Günnewig Hotel Bristol Mainz
  • TOP Günnewig Hotel Bristol Mainz
 of 5 bubbles antonvanold, 28 Dec 2015 | Read review
“All rooms are okay, the hotel is located in a quite area at the border of Mainz.”
 of 5 bubbles JW_Dam, 25 Nov 2015 | Read review
“There's a lift so you won't have any problem.”
 of 5 bubbles Alessia_Camera, 28 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Don't expect good wifi!”
 of 5 bubbles ITJuggler, 24 Jun 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay