We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Steigenberger Hotel Esplanade

Show Prices
#1 of 14 Hotels in Jena
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Steigenberger Hotel Esplanade
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

586 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 94: English reviews
Start your review of Steigenberger Hotel Esplanade
 Click to rate
New York
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very centrally located and a very good bargain. Very professional staff. Don't bother with the suite - not worth it. The restaurant serves very nice food. The bar is quite lovely - although many other bars are within easy walking distance.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ernie L. E
SEJ_Direktion, General Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Esplanade, responded to this review

Dear Ernie, Thank you very much for your feedback and for your commendation regarding our staff. We are pleased to read that you had a great stay at our house and we hope to welcoming you soon again. Kind regards, A.Zeitler General Manager

Tennessee
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Steigenberg hotel in Jena is located in close proximity to the city center and it’s adjacent to a modern multi-story shopping center that houses a wide variety of shops and restaurants. Virtually all of the city’s tourist venues and most of the best restaurants are only a short walk from the hotel. That’s good because Jena is a very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Glucan
SEJ_Direktion, General Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Esplanade, responded to this review

Dear Glucan, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Kind regards, A. Zeitler General Manager

Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

located in the center of beautiful jena. very nice hotel, the elevator brings you to the lobby (a little bit strange, also as one can smell the hotel garage even on the 3rd floor), the bathrooms may need a makeover soon with some mold in the corners, however overall a high quality business hotel with an excellent breakfast selection!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
SEJ_Direktion, General Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Esplanade, responded to this review

Dear Lisa, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We are going to renovate the bathrooms in our guest rooms. We hope to fulfill your expectations at your next stay. Kind regards, A.Zeitler General Manager

Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed 21 February 2017

This is an excellent hotel for the price, comfortable, clean and spacious rooms. However, upon mentioning that I was a little early, the lady behind reception replied (without a smile) (translation:) "Yes you are" ("Allerdings!"). The lady proceeded to charge me €10 for early check-in, although my room was ready. This seemed to me to be petty and unnecessary (even...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pedrito69
SEJ_Direktion, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Esplanade, responded to this review

Dear pedrito69, Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you mostly enjoyed your stay. According to our reservation policy the booked rooms shall be available from 3.00 p.m. on the agreed date of arrival until 12.00 p.m. on the date of departure. In your case we charged you a moderate fee for the early check in at 12...

Ulm, Germany
Reviewed 8 January 2017

Using the car elevator to get to the Hotel parking is interesting - the Hotel as such certainly did not benefit from the rebuilding works done some years ago creating shop space on the first two floors of the building. Reception area and elevator connection to remainder of the Hotel also suffered from the rebuilding. Rooms are nice though, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 233kb2016
SEJ_Direktion, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Esplanade, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your review. We appreciate that you enjoyed the room and our breakfast. Unfortunately the decision to give some space to the shopping mall was not in our hands. Allthough it might be a bit strange in the beginning, the construction is extraordinary and not easy to find. Anyhow we would be glad to welcome you...

Dubai
Reviewed 23 December 2016

I always have a very good stay at the Steigenberger Esplanade Jena during my regular trips to Jena! The rooms are clean and the beds are nice and soft, the airconditioning is great and the breakfast is very good too!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 136manishk
SEJ_Direktion, General Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Esplanade, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your good review! We are happy that you are choosing our hotel for your stays in Jena and looking forward to welcoming you lots of times in 2017! Best Regards, A. Zeitler General Manager

Westerlo
Reviewed 20 December 2016

Level is far beyond average, e.g. acoustic insulation of the rooms is just great, super breakfast, professional staff, ... So pity: lousy shower; cheap showerhead, very low pressure, water alternating cold & hot, ... Maybe just bad luck... :(

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank marcelh46
SEJ_Direktion, General Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Esplanade, responded to this review

Dear Marcel, Thank you for staying with us and for your review. We are happy to see that you enjoyed breakfast and service. We will gladly take your advice concerning the shower and forward it to the appropriate department. We would be glad to welcoming you again in Jena. Best Regards, A. Zeitler General Manager

Sevilla
Reviewed 16 December 2016

This hotel has been my choice over the last years any time I visited Jena, and definitely will be hotel for any future visit. Perfect location, friendly staff, very good breakfast, reasonable prices etc. Overall, is the hotel I would like to find in any of my trips.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank tomasc725
SEJ_Direktion, General Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Esplanade, responded to this review

Dear Tomas, Thank you for your great review. We are happy that we can welcome you everytime you are visiting Jena and we are looking forward to welcoming you next year again. Best Regards, A. Zeitler General Manager

Camarillo
Reviewed 14 December 2016

The hotel is basically nice but the rooms are a little behind the times. The beds are not comfortable at all. They are rather old. The pillow are Tiny and old the rooms are hot and stuffy and no way to cool down

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank G8082WOpeterl
SEJ_Direktion, General Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Esplanade, responded to this review

Dear Peter, Thank you for taking time to evaluate our hotel. We regret that you could not enjoy staying with us. We already started to replace the pillows with thicker ones. All our rooms are heated during winter time but if you wish we can leave your heater switched off. Furthermore you have the possibility to open your windows a...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 December 2016 via mobile

I had a wonderful hotel experience at Steigenberger. What made me smile the most was the lovely house keeping last lining my toileteries up so nicely and folding my clothes neatly. I loved the breakfast buffet. Great variety and everything was so fresh. I enjoyed the gym it was small but well equipped. The dinner at the restaurant was gorgeous...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kath_Lau
SEJ_Direktion, General Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Esplanade, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you very much for your great review. We highly appreciate your lovely words and will forward them to our staff. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in Jena! Best Regards, A. Zeitler General Manager

82 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (60)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Conference Facilities
  • Concierge

Additional Information about Steigenberger Hotel Esplanade

Address: Carl-Zeiss-Platz 4, 07743 Jena, Thuringia, Germany
Region: Germany > Thuringia > Jena
Price Range: $113 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Steigenberger Hotel Esplanade 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Steigenberger Hotel Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Hotel Jena
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Jena
#1 Green Hotel in Jena
#1 Spa Hotel in Jena
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Steigenberger Hotel Esplanade staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Taipei, Taiwan
10 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Steigenberger Hotel Esplanade staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher floors have a nice view over Jena.”
62markuse, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Better to opt for a room away from the main road, you can have less noise at night.”
SreeNair, 17 Sep 2015 | Read review
“I recommend higher floors”
FannyO562, 10 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Ask for the coolest room available if travelling in summer. The staff do know which rooms are cooler.”
279SharonB, 17 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Our room at the 7th floor was very quiet.”
simon78_says, 21 Sep 2014 | Read review
5 of 5