We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Marconfort Griego

Save
Share
Avenida De Sorolla V, 7, 29620 Torremolinos Spain
Update from hotel: This property is temporarily closed until 2021-05-27.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
US$113
View deal
eDreams
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1132)
Room & Suite (261)
Dining (228)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 21-04-27 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 21-04-27 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#19 of 73 hotels in Torremolinos
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
GreenLeaders GreenPartner
Marconfort Griego is placed in Torremolinos centre, just half a mile from Bajondillo Beach and three-minutes walk from to the Torremolinos convention centre. This hotel is ideal for couples and families alike. The guestrooms are spacious and feature air conditioning and heating, a private bathroom with hairdryer, a furnished private balcony, a flat satellite TV, a safe (extra charge) and free WiFi. The facilities have a buffet restaurant with live cooking and international cuisine, and another buffet themed restaurant with pizzeria and snack bar and a nighttime piano bar and more. The hotel also has a TV room, a library with international books, a miniclub for kids, a gym, a meeting room, a souvenir shop and a sundeck with outdoor pool and loungers. In July and August, it is offered free transportation to the beach. The hotel is half a mile from Aqualand water park, and 12 minutes from Malaga Airport trough A7 Highway.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Poolside bar
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Meeting rooms
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish
2655Reviews770Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,110
  • 679
  • 500
  • 182
  • 184
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Jana B wrote a review Aug. 2020
5 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
My husband and O arrived at this hotel on the 17th August. We were shockingly surprised by the presentation of the hotel.It was extremely dated in terms of the decor The lift was very small, old and definitely needed updating. The reception area again was unwelcoming wuth old, filthy chairs. When we entered our bedroom,we realised that it was not how it was presented on the website. There was a small double bed and one very small single bed. Both were just covered with a white sheet with no runners or cushions for decoration. The mattress was extremely okd and covered in yellow stains. The curtains were filthy and so was the bathroom which was also very dated. There was no way we were going to sleep in the room that night. My husband went down to reception to let them know that we were not happy but was told to take it ip with the holiday rep. I decided to take pictures of the room and the filthy mattress abd took it upon myself to show the receptionist. The woman who was on the desk definitely ignored my presence and continued her conversation on the phone for a long time until a man came over to help. I showed him the pictures whjch at this time the wonan came off the phone. I told both of them that this was not a 4* hotel. The woman refused to look at the pictures and was not willing to change our room. The man was more helpful and wanted to after getting into a dispute with the woman.The second room was a little better but it was still okd fashioned and dingy. This was a terrible start to our holiday. The food in the restaurant is below standard. It's cheap, poor quality food and was verg cold ( both breakfast and dinner) Although we had paid for half-board, we ate out must evenings. The housekeeper, one of the receptionist and bar attender were friendly but they were the only ones. This hotel is by far the worst that I've stayed in. Please do not go otherwise you'll be thoroughly disappointed as we were.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Carl Richardson, Guest Services / Front Office at Marconfort Griego
Responded Aug. 26, 2020
We are sorry that our Marconfort Griego Hotel did not live up your expectations and that you found our hotel dated and more so when the our Reception area, Café Griego, Bar Salon and Gioconda Restaurant was completely refurbished only 4 years ago. Our Marconfort Griego Hotel has 420 rooms, however, due to the current restrictions placed on us, we can only operate at 50% capacity and within those rooms available there are 5 different room configurations available. All our rooms are normally equipped with bed runners, cushions, etc however these have had to be removed to comply with the recommendations imposed on us and other lodging establishments. Please accept our apologies for the problem you encountered at Reception whilst requesting a room change, we will of course follow this up with our Reception Manager. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our Housekeeper and our bar staff. Once again, please accept our apologies that our Marconfort Griego Hotel did not meet your expectations.
Read more
Samantha T wrote a review Aug. 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I dont usually write reviews but the fact this hotel is rated '4'star is misleading. Ive stayed in many 4 and 5 star hotels and this is not even close, its cheap and cheerful, do not expect the facilities and benefits of a 4 star, dont get me wrong it was 'livable' for a week because we were only eating breakfast and occasionally lunch (I struggled to find food to eat in the restaurant, not a fantastic choice) however I do think the menu is limited due to covid. The rooms are very basic no fridge and no bin other than a one in the bathroom that I wouldnt touch as it looked like it hadn't been cleaned for about a year, the cleanliness in general wasn't great and my children were expected to sleep on sofa beds that weren't clean there is plenty of space in the family room for beds so I didnt understand why there was scruffy sofa beds. When we arrived there were no sheets for them which was annoying as we didn't arrive until 10pm. The reception staff were nice and did sort it straight away. The bathroom requires updating and in general the room was tired and grubby considering we are in a pandemic I at least expected the rooms and facilities to be spotless. The pool was filthy one day too not sure if the pool cleaner was off that day but we wouldn't go in there was an actual tab end in the pool and lots of bits leaves etc which gathered on the sides, on the other hand the lifeguard was constantly spraying the sunbeds when not in use with what I suspect was antibacterial spray which was good to see. We weren't all inclusive which im now glad about but the drinks were very expensive for the quality, 2 euro for a fizzy orange (not branded) and a 'cocktail' in a plastic cup was 7 euro, more than we paid in some of the beautiful restaurants we visited whilst there and it tasted awful. The location is good just a short walk from the main strip which has some beautiful bars shops and restaurants we pretty much spent most of our time outside the hotel. All in all we had a fantastic holiday as we made the best of it, I would revisit torremilinos but I would not revisit this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Carl Richardson, Guest Services / Front Office at Marconfort Griego
Responded Aug. 25, 2020
Dear samt000001, thank you for taking a few minutes of your time to leave our Marconfort Griego Hotel a review after your recent visit. We are indeed very sorry that our Marconfort Griego Hotel did not live up to your expectations. Unfortunately, due to the current restrictions placed on us due to the COVID-19 situation, it is possible that you did not appreciate our Hotel as other guests have in previous years and . Unfortunately, the rooms in our Hotel are not equipped with fridges, this is not a requirement of a 4 star hotel and we do not advertise that we have this facility. Family rooms are equipped with either fold-down beds or sofa beds which allow for more space in the room when the bed is not in use. We apologise for any anomalies regarding the cleanliness of our pool area one of the days and we will of course follow this up with our Maintenance Department. Once again, we thank you for your review.
Read more
Geoffrey Y wrote a review Aug. 2020
Province of Malaga, Spain7 contributions
just got back and had 10 days of great food and and drinks the staff was very helpful and happy covd did not take away any enjoyment the entertainment was good throughout the day and evening very clean hotel this was our 11th visit
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Carl Richardson, Guest Services / Front Office at Marconfort Griego
Responded Aug. 26, 2020
Thank you Geoffrey for taking time to leave our Marconfort Griego Hotel a 5 star review. We are absolutely thrilled to learn that you once again enjoyed your holiday with us and that your enjoyment was diminished by the current restrictions place upon us due to Covid-19. All our staff do indeed work incredibly hard to ensure that all our guests have a great holiday with us and we are pleased to learn that after 11 visits to our Hotel you still appreciated the friendliness and helpfulness of all our staff. Thank you for your comments regarding our entertainment, we will of course pass on your thanks to the entire team. Once again, thank you for your review and we look very much forward to welcoming you back for your 12th visit !
Read more
tim r wrote a review Aug. 2020
Margate, United Kingdom3571 contributions241 helpful votes
A basic older building,but is perfectly passable for a budget type holiday. Rooms are a little small,but everything works,lifts are a it old, but suffice for purpose. Pool is a bit small,but is well run,and clean. On the p,us side service is excellent and friendly,I called maintenance,and within two minutes a man was there,and went above and beyond to sort things out. Food range is limited because of infection spread,but gloves and masks are provided. Drinks are free on half board, and quality and taste are good.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Carl Richardson, Other at Marconfort Griego
Responded Aug. 8, 2020
Thank you Tim for taking a few minutes of your time to leave our Marconfort Griego Hotel a review on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your recent holiday with us and that you were impressed with our hotel and the services which we offer, all be they somewhat 'restricted' in the current climate of COVID 19. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the friendliness of our staff and the quality of our drinks, which as you state, are included in our Main Restaurant during the half board service. Thank you once again and we look very much forward to welcoming you back to our Marconfort Griego Hotel on a future occasion.
Read more
Colin L wrote a review Mar. 2020
4 contributions9 helpful votes
Date of stay 28th Feb to 13th March. We have been coming to the Griego for over 20 years now and can only reiterate what we have said before that it improves with each visit. This year the pool area has had a complete makeover which includes new showers and ramps for the disabled. Our room was cleaned to a very high standard and towels which were of good quality changed when requested. The restaurant and bar staff of which there are too many to name individually we’re always very friendly and obliging, nothing was too much trouble. The food in both restaurants was once again to a very high standard and plenty of choice for even the fussiest of eaters. We particularly enjoyed the new themed nights which included Mexican and Indian food. A reviewer on here commented that a person staying at the hotel looked like a cross between Gandalf and Steptoe and was a place for dossers. We would like to inform the reviewer that we know the person they are referring to and this gentleman is a very kind and intelligent man. We have also met over the years many returning guests like ourselves and I can reassure the reviewer none of us are dossers so we find the reviewers remarks very offensive. We will be returning in October when hopefully everything will be getting back to normal, in the meantime a big thankyou to Carl and the rest of the staff for a memorable stay.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Marconfort_Griego, Guest Relations Manager at Marconfort Griego
Responded Mar. 24, 2020
Thank you colinl369 for taking a few minutes to write a review of your recent holiday with us at our Marconfort Griego Hotel. It was an absolute pleasure to welcome you back to your second home... 20 years, bet you have seen some changes ! As you state in your review, we aim each year to re-open the hotel, better than we close the hotel the previous year and we are thrilled that you liked the improvements around our swimming pool area. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff and our restaurant and the introduction of our two new themed nights.. .glad you enjoyed them. Thank you also for your support regarding the 'unfortunate' review of a previous reviewer attaining to one of our guests who frequently visits our Hotel during the winter months. It will be an absolute pleasure to see you in October and you can rest assured that all our staff will once again welcome you with open arms... Thank you !
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$84 - US$184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
griego mar torremolinos, hotel griego mar torremolinos
LOCATION
SpainAndaluciaProvince of MalagaCosta del SolTorremolinos
NUMBER OF ROOMS
414
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Marconfort Griego
Which popular attractions are close to Marconfort Griego?
Nearby attractions include Guapatini’s Show Bar (0.5 km), Calle San Miguel (0.5 km), and Taberna Flamenca Pepe Lopez (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Marconfort Griego?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Marconfort Griego?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Marconfort Griego?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Cacerola, The Kathmandu Nepali Indian Restaurant, and El Bodegon.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Marconfort Griego?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Marconfort Griego located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Torremolinos.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Marconfort Griego?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Marconfort Griego?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Plaza de Toros de Torremolinos (1.0 km), Pimentel Tower (0.6 km), and Freetour Mijas Pueblo (2.4 km).
Is Marconfort Griego accessible?
Yes, it offers facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.