We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Makuto Guesthouse Hostel

Save
Share
Calle Tina 18 Barrio Albaicin, 18010 Granada Spain
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 7 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveller (127)
Room & Suite (98)
Dining (12)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 20-06-17 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Makuto Guesthouse Hostel
Updated 20-06-17 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#12 of 338 Speciality lodging in Granada
Tired of crappy accommodations and impersonal hotels? Come stay in our backpacker 's hostel and enjoy a new concept of lodging. Hammocks - Chill Out area - Tree House - Wifi and Internet - Kitchen - Bar - Patio - BBQ and Lots of fun! Makuto Guesthouse Hostel is a charming historic mansion located in the oldest and most attractive neighborhood of Granada, the Albaicin. Moroccan markets, sunny plazas, amazing viewpoints ... Come and discover the perfect mix of classic Moorish architecture with a unique touch of character; find yourself in a relaxing and informal atmosphere, perfect for independent travelers. Loved by travelers for its location, personality and the most friendly, relaxed and chilled out atmosphere. Our friendly and multi-lingual hostel staff will welcome you and provide best tips for you to experience the life of Granada outside of the typical 'tourist attractions'. Makuto Guesthouse Hostel Granada offers a home away from home and we'd love to have you join our backpacker's family. Come and stay with us. Turn your trip into an unforgettable experience.
Read more

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
0Restaurantswithin 0 km
0Attractionswithin 0 km
Contact
Calle Tina 18 Barrio Albaicin, 18010 Granada Spain
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Granada Airport16 kmSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
411Reviews3Q+A25Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 271
  • 98
  • 16
  • 13
  • 13
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Elise F wrote a review Feb. 2020
1 contribution
Makuto hostel is well located, the place is beautiful and super chill, and the staff is extremely friendly ! You feel at home here :) I never write reviews usually but makuto really deserves one :) see you again guys :)
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Emma H wrote a review Feb. 2020
Murcia, Spain2 contributions3 helpful votes
This was my third stay at makuto! I have been to so many hostels in so many cities and this one is absolutely my favorite. The beds are comfortable, the staff is amazing and super friendly and the atmosphere is unbelievable. Feels like home! Perfect for solo travel or groups. Big party or just chill.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Katherine wrote a review Jan. 2020
11 contributions
For the same money in downtown Madrid hostel we had a double room with bath and three beds in four bedroom with bath. Very hard to breath and sleep in the triple bunk bed. Breakfast very poor. The Italian girl at the reception has been very kind.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Makuteros_travel, Propietario at Makuto Guesthouse Hostel
Responded Jan. 3, 2020
Katherine, we are very sorry your experience at Makuto was not satisfactory. The price you pay depends on the season, you booked our hostel for New Years Eve which is super high season all over Spain so the price might seem higher compare to the one you paid in the hostel in Madrid because you booked there earlier in time, during low season dates. For sure if you check prices in the same dates you booked in Makuto you will see prices are way higher in the capital than here in Granada. You chose a room with triple bunk beds (you had this info detailed in the room information before booking), we offer rooms with regular bunk beds, maybe would be a good option for you next time. Glad you enjoy our team. Wish you happy travels :)
Read more
Amanda A wrote a review Nov. 2019
New York City, New York64 contributions73 helpful votes
Staying at Makuto Hostel was hands down one of the best travel experiences of my life. It's difficult to describe just what is so special about the ambiance of this place, but within just an hour at Makuto I had made friendships that would last a lifetime. People are so friendly, warm, and in just two days I felt like I had a family in Granada. Aside from the fact that the place is beautiful, cool, the food and drinks are incredible, the staff are also wonderful and told me exactly how to find my way around Granada and answered all of my questions. The evening walks to watch the sunset and the nightly dinners/happy hours are so fun, affordable, and the perfect way to make new friends. Although I visited several months ago, I still think about and miss this place, and I will travel back as soon as I can.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Makuteros_travel, Propietario at Makuto Guesthouse Hostel
Responded Dec. 10, 2019
Amanda is you again ;) They are very nice words from you, the truth in makuto we always have something that sticks, that is always our atmosphere, the stories of the travelers and especially the new friends that will followyou everywhere. All that can simply be defined with one word and that word is MAKUTO. We hope to see you again very soon and enjoy again together.
Read more
HarryHaller8 wrote a review Oct. 2019
Geneva, Switzerland35 contributions15 helpful votes
Do not get me wrong: I hardly write such bad reviews, especially since I used to love this place (first time 4 years ago), and the receptionists / volunteers are super friendly. BUT, there are bed bugs. That happens in hostel, and I would not blame Makuto for it... Except that the management either doesn’t care, or is extremely unprofessional. - The first night, I woke up at 2AM, scratching myself. Found bed bugs in my bed, killed them as I would not change beds during the night, tried to come back to sleep. Except I had a bed bug allergy which turned pretty bad. There is no 24h reception neither an emergency number - which could be useful. Thankfully another guest had antihistamine and basically saved me... slept 2 hours in the couch next Thé the common bathroom. - the next day the girl at the reception seemed really sorry for me and told me they would do the best they could to get rid of them. She offered me to change beds. - sadly, “the best they could” apparently means using steam. It does kill the bed bugs, but it does NOT kill the hiding bed bugs - and most of them are, especially during the day. - next night, my roommate found bed bugs in his bed and suitcase. I slept outside of my room again. - Other people told me they found bed bugs in other rooms as well. - The receptionist was very understanding and concerned, offering me refund. But then, the manager with whom I could never speak to (!) told her they would only refund half of the price - which was amazingly ridiculous knowing it was their problem and not mine, that I had barely slept for 2 days and had this allergy. After an hour of discussion with the receptionist who was trying to moderate between me and the unknown / unseen owner, we found some kind of compromise on the refund (which was something like 68% of the price, whatever). - The receptionist seemed clearly overworking, not “because the hostel care so much about the guests” (as you can read on some Hostelworld property answer), but because the management always ask them to deal with issues that should be dealt by... the management. - The day I decided to leave, easily half the guests decided to leave as well (either being bitten or afraid of) new people were checked in IN THE SAME INFESTED ROOM. A couple of days later, the new guests found out and some of them left as well. - The management will again and again pretend to do the best they can, using steam every day on every infested room, never killing the hidden bed bugs or the eggs....! But they should close the whole place and call professionals to exterminate the bed bugs ! - The bed bugs have been spreading around a few other hostels in Granada now, and again, it happens, but I’m wondering how the very poor management of Makuto / ECO Hostel (same owner) helped the spreading. I’m writing this review 3 weeks after my experience, and today I met people who just left Makuto with bed bugs. - Whatsoever the hostel is cool, beautiful, nice people working there (and I am feeling very sorry for them), people should be aware that the management is irresponsible letting this situation growing and not taking proper action against it, since at least a month ! ** if you happen to stay here, or I’m another place that has bed bugs, please be responsible and make sure you do not take the insects with you by putting ALL your belongings in the dryer to kill the bed bugs and their eggs.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Makuteros_travel, Gerente at Makuto Guesthouse Hostel
Responded Oct. 24, 2019
The first thing we want to tell you is our most sincere apologies from our side, the bad night and the inconveniences that this has caused to you. We are really sorry because our goal is that all travelers have a top experience in our hostel and in Granada. Having said that, we also want to point out that these incidents are something that the hostel can not control in advance, since are other travelers the ones that bring the "problem" into the room in their backpacks from other accommodations, it has nothing to do with the cleaning or with the hostel management. It is a external fact that disturbs the conformability and sleep of our guests. Unfortunately we are victims of these circumstances too but what is clear is that it has happened in our hostel, and what we must do it is take responsibility of it and manage things in the best possible way. We have an action protocol for these cases that is applied immediately and strictly to eradicate the problem from the root so no other guests have to face this issue. We have both: a professional pest eradication service that fumigates the room but as they told us the products they are allowed to use are more and more harmless to the point that they are ineffective in 50% of cases; the only thing that works it is high temperature vaporization that kills both live insects, eggs and whatever remains there. That is what we use in the room + wash all guests clothes + dry them + vaporice their backpacks + give the a refund and make sure they don't take the problem with them. It would be good if other accommodations did they same but many don't and we are unable to control every single guest that comes with the problem to our place. Along with other hostels this summer we spoke with the Tourism Department in Andalusia, since this has been a major issue in many many accommodations, and they told they were aware of the big problem in the area but they could do nothing about it but send us a list of recommendations to use heat treatments and this it is what we do every time the problem arises. We do take proper action, no worries about that. We are now vaporizing the rooms on a weekly basis as a prevention.
Read more
Previous
123456
LOCATION
SpainAndaluciaProvince of GranadaGranadaAlbaicín
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Makuto Guesthouse Hostel
Which popular attractions are close to Makuto Guesthouse Hostel?
Nearby attractions include Mirador de San Nicolas (0.4 km), Escuela Delengua (0.3 km), and Sabor a Espana (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Makuto Guesthouse Hostel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Makuto Guesthouse Hostel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Makuto Guesthouse Hostel?
Conveniently located restaurants include El Mercader, Artesana Pic Nic, and Alhamra.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Makuto Guesthouse Hostel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, Italian, and Polish.
Are there any historical sites close to Makuto Guesthouse Hostel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Alhambra (0.8 km), Generalife (0.9 km), and Mirador de San Nicolas (0.4 km).