Melia Palma Bay

view from junior suite
Traveller (572)
Beautiful Panoramic views of Palma
Room & Suite (117)
Melia Palma Bay
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Melia Rewards member rate available
C$197
Get rewarded with One Key
C$196
C$187
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#55 of 96 hotels in Palma de Mallorca
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Designed by the prestigious architect Francisco Mangado, Hotel Melia Palma Bay has 268 modern rooms, exclusive Melia brand services such as The Level, Trasluz a gastronomic area, free WiFi and four meeting rooms. The facilities are completed by a magnificent terrace on the seventh floor where you can enjoy the swimming pool and solarium with impressive views over the Bay of Palma. The hotel has 268 parking spaces in its underground car park. Pets not allowed.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Water sport equipment rentals
Highchairs available
Paid public parking on-site
Car park
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Rooftop pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Poolside bar
Rooftop bar
Bicycle tours
Walking tours
Water park offsite
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Executive lounge access
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Bath / shower
Soundproof rooms
Air purifier
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
Ocean view
City view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Business
City View
Languages Spoken
French, Russian, Spanish, German and 2 more
Hotel links
Special Offer:30 years of Rewards

Location

Calle Felicia Fuster 4, 07006 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca Spain
Name/address in local language
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles1,096 reviews
Reviews Summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI
Melia Palma Bay has garnered a reputation for its modern and pristine ambiance, with the lively rooftop pool being a focal point, despite some critiques regarding the music and seating arrangement. Guests often compliment the spacious, contemporary rooms with stunning views, although a few have mentioned noise and temperature control issues. The hotel's prime location near Palma and local hotspots is frequently praised, and while the staff's friendliness typically enhances the experience, there have been occasional instances of subpar service. Concerns have been raised about value for money, despite the hotel's reasonable amenities and location.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Lively
Rooms
Spacious
Value
Reasonable
Cleanliness
Spotless
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Satisfactory
Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveller reviews for more details and information.
1,096Review63Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 540
  • 344
  • 114
  • 54
  • 45
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
portiacousins wrote a review May 2023
Bournemouth, United Kingdom98 contributions32 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The location of this hotel suited us perfectly. It overlooks the harbour of Portixol to one side and Palma to the other. It is about a 15 minute walk into Palma central (there are a lot of buses and the hotel were superb at arranging taxis very quickly). The staff are so kind and helpful (bar my comment below) especially Noela and Roberto. The roof top pool and bar are lovely with towels provided. The room was spacious with kettle, shampoo & conditioner (so useful for mini breaks!) and the bathroom was appointed very well. The best thing about the rooms are the thick doors meaning hardly any noise from neighbours (and our floor was busy).

The single poor point is the male lifeguard who was so rude and unhelpful. We thought maybe he had just taken against us (my 70+ old mum and I) but he was equally rude to a German family with a little girl! He should not be in this role.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: All toiletries included so no need to panic about trying to carry 100ml bottles!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Melia Palma Bay
Responded Aug 1, 2023
Dear portiacousins, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are glad to know your experience was enjoyable and that your room met your expectations. It is also great to hear that our location met your requirements perfectly. However, we were concerned to learn of the experience you had at the pool. We endeavour to provide an excellent experience for all our guests and we have share your comment with the lifeguard to ensure we are delivering our services to the standards expected of us. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the future. Kind regards, Maria José Guerra, Guest Experience Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
phdtravel wrote a review Nov 2021
New York225 contributions216 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
If you crave a modern spacious hotel then this one is a welcome break from small cramped older hotels. The aircon works well and the beds are comfortable. Although it's not directly on the beach there is one across a major road. Also because the rates are lower than the more centrally located hotels just take a taxi to the old town or tourist sights - it will still be cheaper than staying in town, It isn't quite walking distance. Not many restaurants in the immediate vicinity. The look of the rooms is minimalist Scandinavian style with wood floors and open closets. The bathrooms are white and modern. The flooring in the step in shower stall is a bit slippery. There is no place to put your own toiletries in the shower area because it is just pump dispensers. Need to add a ledge for personal items like facial wash etc. The character is modern almost airport hotel like so it may not have Mallorcan character or quaint charm but it is good value. Breakfast buffet is good but avoid the crush at breakfast rush hour if you can. The restaurant serves some generic food - but they need to add a few more dishes for variety. Sometimes you are too tired to go into town to eat.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
A lot to digest? Read a summary of these reviews, created with our new AI-powered tool.
Graham C wrote a review Jul 2021
Reading, United Kingdom64 contributions67 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The location is ideal in that it’s 200 metres from a lovely, relatively quiet, sandy beach with a number of restaurants alongside it. If you want to head into the centre of Palma it’s a 5 minute taxi ride.

We stayed in a corner room with a Sea/Marina view with access to what they call “The Level”. The Level is worth paying for as it’s a separate lounge & breakfast area reserved for those with access. As well as breakfast you can use this area throughout the day to grab a drink and snack or a few glasses of wine and canapés before heading out for the evening. It has its own concierge service who were very helpful when booking taxis and restaurants.

The hotel has a lovely rooftop swimming pool with a bar and great views across the Marina and sea.
My only slight criticism would be the Hotel Spa seemed a little neglected with a few things not being operational as they should be but as our visit was provided complimentary as part of the Level perks it wasn’t a big issue.

All the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful and the room service was as it should be. We had to wear masks whilst walking around the hotel due to Covid and there were sanitiser stations where needed.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DFS102 wrote a review Jul 2020
3 contributions7 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is next to a very busy road ( 4 lane dual carriageway) and a conference centre. The city of palma is a good 30 minute walk away, the hotel is not child friendly.
Taxi’s are easy to hail.
People are being placed here as the other Melia hotel in Palma Marina is closed. This hotel is use to dealing with business clients not those on a city/beach holiday where the hotel is also part of their holiday experience.
The rooms are basic at best, Do not be fooled by a light room upgrade it’s still basic !
All the usual touches you expect of a Melia hotel are non existent ! No tea/coffee facilities in the room. No drinking water ! No room service price list! Loo rolls are rationed as is shower gel !

When questioned the reason is always Covid !

Breakfast room is small clients are not able to social distance. Only 1 member of staff served food, queues build up, you only get a small sized tea plate and the food is cold. It’s very unwelcoming . With the current Covid situation common sense would tell you to offer breakfast as room service with no charge to elevate the queues and to ensure clients safety .
The pool is very small for the size of this hotel but in reality it’s a business hotel and should not be offered as a holiday/resort hotel as the pool is not adequate for the amount of people who want to use it.
There is no room service menu in the room so when ordering you have no idea of the cost or what’s on offer. The room service food I ordered was of poor quality and once again cold and grossly over priced!

The reception staff are unhelpful and just refer to a manager who was not available . Customer service is not existent !
To sum this hotel up it is a business hotel and the staff are use to business clients and are not able to cater for the vast amount of holiday clients they have been allocated, the manager is unable to understand the standards clients expect and the service the hotel needs to offer to ensure the current clients enjoy their stay, therefore I would advise at present not to accept Or book this hotel if you are looking to enjoy the city and beaches and sit by the pool. There are other hotels in the area that are much better and want to ensure clients enjoy their stay. The Melia name is normally well respected however this hotel has not fulfilled customer satisfaction looking at recent reviews my advice is to avoid !
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Scott L wrote a review Sep 2021
Belfast, United Kingdom11 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived at the hotel and added on the breakfast which was very expensive and the food was average! The rooms are very basic, no door into the toilet too. The pool bar had some fantastic views but 12 euro for a cocktail is pretty steep, the pool is very small and no deeper than 1 meter! Also having the wear your mask at the outside pool bar is pointless. The worst part is the location, yes you are a short bus or taxi from the city centre but there is nothing around the vicinity of the hotel, behind the hotel has numerous cars burnt out. There’s no shops, ATM machines for at least 1 mile! For the price we paid for a week we could have stayed further from the city in much nicer hotels with balcony’s, multiple pools with much better restaurants/bars/shops etc! I wouldn’t recommend this hotel to anyone. The only positive thing I would say is the cleaners were all very nice and always said hello!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Stay further outside the city, towards playa de palma!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from María José Guerra, Atención al cliente/recepción at Melia Palma Bay
Responded Sep 8, 2021
Dear 170scottl, Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Meliá Palma Bay. I am terribly sorry to hear that your stay with us did not leave you with a better impression of our hotel. We continually strive to provide the highest quality of service to all of our guests and I apologize that your experience did not meet your expectations. I really hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again! Best regards, Mª José Guerra Guest Experience Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anne R wrote a review Oct 2021
Bexley, United Kingdom57 contributions50 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
A large corporate hotel, stylish rather than hospitable. Staff efficient, helpful and friendly with impressive language skills. There is an extensive and well stocked breakfast included.
Restaurant is not too busy and the menu is small but for dinner it was better than anything close by. Drinks in the bar are reasonably priced. Rooms were well appointed, with tea, coffee and a kettle. There’s a free safe and a decent sized table with a bench and an easy chair. The beds are large and comfortable, towels new and fluffy, toiletries fab - Spa Rituals. Windows are across the width of the room so it’s quite light but they are high and deep set with no balcony so the sea view can only be seen if you stand at the window. Strange remote control blinds at the window and between the shower room and main room give the room more of a corporate atmosphere.
Four lifts are inadequate for the size and busy-ness of the hotel. We queued many times. Pool similar, it’s a pleasant rooftop area but tiny.
Location is very good, between Palma city and the airport. Fifteen minutes by A1 bus from the airport , it’s 5€ and the bus stops outside the hotel. To get to Palma from the same stop it costs 2€ and takes about ten minutes. Pay the driver on the bus. We walked along the seafront to the city, it took about half an hour. You could hire a bike outside the hotel but the bike lanes, although separated from the road, are two-way and narrow so you need to be a confident cyclist to use them.
Nothing for children apart from the beach, across a busy road. Better for business people or those wanting to see the city than for sunbathing and relaxing. No bars close by, a housing complex at the back and a few restaurants by the sea. None to write hone about.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Car park under the hotel is expensive but you can usually find a free spot at the back, near the...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hayley smith wrote a review Jul 2020
London, United Kingdom1 contribution4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I’ve had such a terrible stay at this hotel I felt compelled to create a trip advisor account to warn others.

It is the most bare, unwelcoming hotel I’ve ever stayed in. Next to a main road the location is not good at all unless you’re there for a conference.

I understand there are differences due to Corona Virus however this hotel completely took advantage of this and used it as an excuse to save money and make money from its guests.

We had to pay for water in our rooms, I couldn’t believe it.
Instead of taking people’s orders at breakfast to avoid the buffet queues, they instead have out really small plates and insisted on serving everything to you. They packed us in to the breakfast room and when I complained I was told that the procedure adhered to government guidelines! At the airport there were signs everywhere saying to keep 1.5m apart so it seems the hotel will only listen to the rules when it suits their pockets!

All in all a really horrible stay, I have been to many Melia Hotels including the ME in London and Ibiza where I took over 50 guests last year but I will not ever return to a Melia again after this experience. Of course I raised concerns with the manager but she was not interested in the slightest.

Do not stay here!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Keely P wrote a review Sep 2021
London, United Kingdom39 contributions30 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
So confused by the low ratings on here. I came on a whim and after seeing some reviews I was worried. However I had a fantastic stay! I would say if you’re a family, stay elsewhere, but as a solo or couple this hotel is fabulous.
It is 10 mins from the airport and across the street from a lovely beach (5 mins walk or less). It’s also about a 20-25min walk from the city centre so you can stretch your legs (or get a taxi!).
From my room I had a view of the sea, and from the rooftop pool there’s a view of the sea along with a lovely breeze so it’s not too hot. And a rooftop bar where you can also get food and the cocktails and drinks are fab!
There are buildings on the other side of the street blocking some of the sea view but this didn’t bother me much. The only downside of the rooftop pool is that there’s minimal tanning beds and mostly lounge chairs which I found a little uncomfortable, and I never got a bed so that was disappointing. I’d say the pool is on the smaller side too, but again, didn’t bother me much as it’s more catered to adults. There were a few kids there but it wasn’t ever rowdy and no inflatables or anything.
The room was clean and modern! Probably also more catered to adults as there’s a glass wall between the shower and bedroom but a shade can be taken down for privacy of course.
Breakfast was also a great selection of foods! Would recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Go to a different hotel if you’re a family staying for a while
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from María José Guerra, Atención al cliente/recepción at Melia Palma Bay
Responded Sep 14, 2021
Dear keelyp2015, Thank you very much for sharing with the TripAdvisor Community such a superb review of your visit at Meliá Palma Bay. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed the whole experience and the beautiful Palma de Mallorca. All the team is already looking forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Mª José Guerra Guest Experience Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Susie R wrote a review Apr 2022
18 contributions2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Fantastic location and nice hotel. Drinks and food are great. Service is hit and miss. The pool has been closed since we arrived and no notice of this when we arrived. Today the pool area has been cleaned with chemicals and 2 men warning full hasmat suits. Finally at 1pm they have decided to stop after complaints from this morning. Not enough sun beds for the amount of people staying at the hotel, only about 15 and 20 chairs, as a group of seven we are getting there early to get enough seats for us all.
Pool bar is shut and now been told that they can’t bring food up to the pool like they did did yesterday so we have to go back down to collect it (rooftop pool is on the 7th floor.)
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lily wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution3 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel on arrival could not be faulted. Both the room and pool were lovely. However, on the final day of my stay, an item of clothing had gone missing out of our room and has not been found. Guests should feel comfortable to leave their belongings in their room without them disappearing. Totally dampened my whole experience and therefore I would not return to this hotel. This is something to carefully consider when booking this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Heidi wrote a tip Yesterday
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom15 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Buses outside into the city are jam packed so consider other transport or walking"
Read full review
raj wrote a tip Feb 2024
2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"use the local bus service as its very reasonable"
Read full review
Tom wrote a tip Oct 2023
Craigavon, United Kingdom10 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bike hire available at hotel"
Read full review
Oliver M wrote a tip Sep 2023
Edinburgh, United Kingdom16 contributions15 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"The layout and design means sound carries. Higher up rooms are less likely to pickup noise from corridors and reception."
Read full review
Samantha S wrote a tip Sep 2023
37 contributions4 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay as close to Old Town as you can."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Palma de Mallorca area.
PRICE RANGE
C$219 - C$372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
SpainBalearic IslandsMajorcaPalma de Mallorca
NUMBER OF ROOMS
268
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Melia Palma Bay - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Melia Palma Bay
Which popular attractions are close to Melia Palma Bay?
Nearby attractions include Palau de Congressos de Palma de Mallorca (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Melia Palma Bay?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Melia Palma Bay?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Melia Palma Bay?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Melia Palma Bay?
Yes, a parking garage, paid public parking on-site, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Melia Palma Bay?
Conveniently located restaurants include Qvantum Restaurant, Ola del Mar, and Alma Palma.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Melia Palma Bay?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Melia Palma Bay?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Melia Palma Bay offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Melia Palma Bay?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including Spanish, French, German, Italian, Russian, and Norwegian.
Are there any historical sites close to Melia Palma Bay?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Sa Llotja (2.1 km), Palau de l'Almudaina (1.8 km), and Son Marroig (3.4 km).
All Palma de Mallorca HotelsPalma de Mallorca Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars