We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel El Tope

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel El Tope
Hotel El Tope
Panoramas (15)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

803 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 471: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel El Tope
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

A friend and I came booked our holiday to Tenerife not knowing that we had booked the north, it is absolutely beautiful! The Hotel is lovely and calm, the staff are all very helpful, especially Angeluss (I think that's his name) he came to us every morning to say hello and asked how we are and went out of his...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Chrissie M
Hoteleltope, Guest relations at Hotel El Tope, responded to this review

Dear Chrissie M, We highly appreciate your comments about your holiday in our house. It is a great pleasure for us to read that you had a great time in our lovely north, and that you would like to return! We will happily pass on your feedback of the staff, thank you very much. If you have any questions or...

Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

when I booked the holiday it didn't state where the room was so I emailed el tope to ask where the room was when I got email back saying it was in the basement I emailed back and asked for a upgrade as we didn't want to be in basement as we had read some bad reviews about the rooms.anyway...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 229audrey
Hoteleltope, Guest relations at Hotel El Tope, responded to this review

Dear 229audrey, Thank you so much for your comments! We are glad that you felt comfortable in our house and enjoyed your stay in our lovely island. We will pass on your comments regarding the dinner to our kitchen chef, as we are always seeking for improvement which is only possible with your feedback. Thank you! We hope you choose...

London
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent 4 nights in room 423 - mountain view, in early March. The room is on the south west corner on the 4th floor and benefits from both dual aspect windows and wrap-around balcony. This means there is sunshine from morning to evening. The room is tastefully furnished with comfortable beds and a good shower in the bathroom. There...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank retiredvacationers
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Good value for money. Nice room and had fridge in it. Really good breakfast. Only bad thing was bad service in reception (grumpy faces, didn't answer when walked by and said hi). Changed sheets once during a week.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Elisa s
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Pleasant staff. A little dated. Delicious breakfast buffet. Close to many restaurants and wonderful shopping. A little far from the airport and no shuttle service available. Free wifi for guests. Beautiful beaches nearby.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rita B
Hoteleltope, Guest relations at Hotel El Tope, responded to this review

Dear Rita B, Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your holidays at our hotel El Tope! We are happy that our food variety and our location were to your liking, and we hope that you choose us again for your next holidays in our lovely Puerto de la Cruz. Best wishes, Your El Tope Team

Halifax, Canada
Reviewed 18 February 2017

After reading many reviews of this hotel which were negative I think I can correct most of them and give a good objective review. This hotel was recently updated, the rooms are now more modern and clean looking although we were on the 3rd floor so I can't vouch for the basement rooms. The hotel is situated directly on a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mark F
Hoteleltope, Guest relations at Hotel El Tope, responded to this review

Dear Mark F, We are very thankful for your review about your holidays at our house. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay in our Puerto de la Cruz. We hope to welcome you once again in the future and, if you have any questions or room requests please do not hesitate to contact us in advance (calidad@eltope.es)....

Reviewed 14 February 2017

This was my 12th visit to El Tope, always loved the place. After being diagnosed with my 3rd cancer in less than two years I asked my oncologist if I could take a holiday, he told me that I should go as soon as possible. I looked at the Thomson website, saw the refurbishment and booked my old favourite. Upon...

 Report
Helpful?
10Thank Karen A
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

Great hotel for the price. The room did have a couple issues. The shower does not have a lip and so our room got flooded a couple times. The towels were dingy and not very soft. Other that, the place is great. Very clean, friendly staff and the food was okay.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Shannon K
Hoteleltope, Guest relations at Hotel El Tope, responded to this review

Dear Shannon K, Thank you for your feedback! We are happy that our facilities, the staff and our service was to your liking. We take note of your suggestions and will pass it to the heads of department. We hope to welcome you again in our Puerto de la Cruz! Best regards, Your El Tope Team

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 February 2017

We had a good room in the main part of this hotel last year but this year were very disappointed with our basement room. The bathroom smelt of poor drainage, mould was growing on the walls, paint peeling off the ceiling and the towels were old and worn. The carpet in the bedroom was threadbare in places and the balcony...

 Report
Helpful?
9Thank richardcaroline2017
Hoteleltope, Guest Relations at Hotel El Tope, responded to this review

Dear richardcaroline2017, Thank you very much for sharing your impressions of your holidays with other travelers. We are very sorry that your holidays with us were not up to your expectations. We always ask our guests to inform the reception for any inconveniences they may have, so we can fix it as soon as possible. Thomson sells Twin Rooms with...

Vilnius, Lithuania
Reviewed 27 December 2016

In our Tenerife trip we had one night in Puerto de la Cruz, so we booked room in Hotel El Tope. It was definitely a good choice and we would love to stay here again next time. We asked for the room in the last floor, because we heard that it could be a bit noisy in the night time....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarune P
Hoteleltope, Guest relations at Hotel El Tope, responded to this review

Dear Sarune P, Thank you very much for your lovely review! We are very happy that you had such a good time and everything was up to your expectations. We hope to welcome you again in the future, and wish you all the best until then. Best regards, Your El Tope Team

594 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (345)
Viewed
Room/Suite (49)
Viewed
View from Room (71)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (73)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
1:38
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (106)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (237)
Viewed
Amenities (30)
Viewed
Double Room with City View (37)
Viewed
Double Room with Mountain View (35)
Viewed
Double Room with Sea View (34)
Viewed
Junior Suite (35)
Viewed
Pool (18)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
The Hotel (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
1.0 km away
Hotel Puerto Palace
Hotel Puerto Palace
#10 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
747 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#2 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,494 reviews
0.5 km away
H10 Tenerife Playa
H10 Tenerife Playa
#9 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Apartamentos Casablanca
Apartamentos Casablanca
#4 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,672 reviews
0.6 km away
4Dreams Hotel
4Dreams Hotel
#16 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
325 reviews
0.3 km away
Catalonia Las Vegas
Catalonia Las Vegas
#14 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Gran Hotel El Tope where you will be made to feel at home during your stay with us.Our philosophy is to create a warm and enjoyable atmosphere where all our guests are considered to be our friends.Enjoy the calmness and the facilities provided in a warm and cosy family-like atmosphere where our kind staff members will be on hand to assist you at all times.Our hotel reflects the hospitality typical of the area as acknowledged by our guests.Our guests will enjoy free Wireless DSL Internet access throughout the hotel. The Gran Hotel El Tope is magnificently located with a panoramic view of Puerto de La Cruz and the fabulous Valle de la Orotava. In addition, it is also adjacent to the Martianez Shopping Centre, which is less than five minutes walk from the Atlantic Ocean beach and next to the fabulous swimming pool complex, Lago Martianez. The hotel is only 25 and 90 kilometres from the airports Tenerife North and Tenerife South, respectively. Each room is spacious and bright with a unique and elegant character, where every detail makes a difference. Our en suite facilities included fully equipped bathrooms, hair dryer, T.V., Telephone, wall-to-wall carpet and air-conditioning, as well as an optional safe and a mini bar. Their balconies are overlooking the sea or offer a view to the mountains.The swimming pool is located in a unique setting surrounded by green vegetation and magnificent gardens. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel El Tope

Address: Calle Calzada Martianez 2, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range: $72 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel El Tope 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel El Tope reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Tope Puerto De La Cruz, Tenerife
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel El Tope staff and other travellers.
57 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (57)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel El Tope staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“make sure room is in the main building and not in the basement room 318 with sea view”
 of 5 bubbles 229audrey, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Sea- view rms: sun morning. Mntn view rms: sun afternoon but also a sea view.”
 of 5 bubbles retiredvacationers, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Try for any room higher up.”
 of 5 bubbles L4680QUmarkf, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Make sure you get a refurbished room and don't expect what is in the Thomson brochure”
 of 5 bubbles R3214WNkarena, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“ask for a room as high as possible - the view is amazing!”
 of 5 bubbles sarunep2015, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5