We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Catalonia Diagonal Centro

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Catalonia Diagonal Centro
Catalonia Diagonal Centro
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

426 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Catalonia Diagonal Centro
See the most recent reviews
Showing 174: English reviews
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Excellent location with friendly and helpful staff. We were told the transport links were convenient but we just walked everywhere - no need for transport. Although we were concerned about our rooms facing onto the main street the double glazing is so good none of us had a problem with noise at night. We all slept well but that might...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nobby53
Recasens, Manager at Catalonia Diagonal Centro, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and of course for your extremely kind review. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and that our receptionists managed to give you an early check in ( not easy at all if you had 4 rooms). As you mention, our beds have a special quilt that...

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Had a room on the 7th floor with terrace. Room was small ( not much walking space around the bed) and very little room on desk to work on a computer. At times, internet very poor. I had booked a room with terrace on 7 th floor (terrace is nice with 2 sun beds) but elevator only goes to 6...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robertus_11
Recasens, Manager at Catalonia Diagonal Centro, responded to this review

Dear sir We want to thank you for your comments as they help us to improve in our services every day The inconvenience to walk up 1 floor could be compensated to change for the nice and big terrace from which you can enjoy. The maids try to clean the rooms in a set order, but we change the order...

Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed for 2 nights with the Thomas Cook Sports bundle for the Barcelona V Atletico Madrid game 17/05/2014. On arrival we were told our room wasn't ready, which we thought might happen due to an early flight, however the lady behind reception took our bags and gave us a map of popular places to go in the mean time. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LoveLaughLivvy94
Recasens, Manager at Catalonia Diagonal Centro, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and of course for your extremely kind review. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our premium terrace rooms and all the services. We inform our chain about your comment for vegetarians in breakfast selection offer. We look forward to seeing you again very soon. Best regards from Barcelona.

Prasanta45
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Was initially impressed when I arrived. The checkbin process was smooth and the room was large and very well furnished. Went out in the evening for dinner and came.back at10 pm to find the locks of both suitcases and 250 Euros stolen. Nobody had broken the door lock. Immediately informed the reception. Two persons came to my room after fifteen...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Prasanta45
Recasens, Manager at Catalonia Diagonal Centro, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for using your time to give us your impressions about hotel. We first want to apologize for the inconvenience during your stay with us, since we strive to provide the best service to all of our clients. Our computer registers proved that any card had opened the door,except yours, at least with the magnetic...

Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here for two nights with a group after a cruise. Very nice hotel, rooms very nice, beds a bit firm but that's possibly a personal thing. It's location is good just around the corner from the metro and bus stops. We had a room over the front of the hotel which had a balcony which was OK but unfortunately...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frankie030
Recasens, Manager at Catalonia Diagonal Centro, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your comments about our hotel. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay. Our rooms facing the street are double glazed to avoid traffic noise, but gives a nice view of the street from Tibidabo until Plaza Catalunya. Looking forward to greeting you again.

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 17 May 2014

2 couples arrived to friendly and helpful staff after a long flight from Australia. Nice comfy beds and clean and tidy rooms. No complaints from us. breakfast is hearty with great variety, all you need for a big day of being a tourist. Can highly recommend this hotel for the price with good access to the metro and safe walking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sigsearle
Recasens, Director General at Catalonia Diagonal Centro, responded to this review

Dear customer, we thank you for your review and your comments help us to improve day by day our services and are proud to have the opportunity to welcome you at Catalonia Diagonal Centro and offer the quality service and facilities you expected coming from Australia. Kindest regards.

shabbona
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The best thing about this hotel was the friendly staff. The location is good, with both a metro stop and bus stop within a block, and in the neighborhood of La Pedrera. My room was small, even though I had written twice asking for a spacious room, but it was very clean and new looking. It had a nice back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank msjude
Recasens, Director General at Catalonia Diagonal Centro, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for using your time to give us your impressions about our hotel.. We try t do our best in offering service to all of our clients so that is the reason we have two computers at the disposal of our guests for exploring what they want. In case of need help. we are at...

Bristol UK
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights as a football package and general sightseeing 1st time to Barcelona. The staff spoke excellent English and were very helpful considering we were total newbies and asked a lot of questions. The room was clean unfortunately when we pulled back curtains to see our "view" we were greeted by a brick wall....and that surrounded us....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
Recasens, Director General at Catalonia Diagonal Centro, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I would like to extend our sincerest appreciation with your comments. We have tea/coffee facilities in our superior and premium rooms, and within the next month we are changing our satellyte connection in order to have more channels. We look forward to seeing you again very...

Welwyn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Stayed here for a 3 day business trip since my usual hotel was full. What a disappointment. The staff spoke good English (thanks!) and the room was clean, but other than that... The TV guide said it had Sky News. It didn't. Other English channels were badly "snowy". If you're on holiday, you're probably not so bothered, but I like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Spock_NCC1701
Recasens, Manager at Catalonia Diagonal Centro, responded to this review

Dear guest, My deepest apologies for the inconveniences during your stay with us. At Catalonia hotels, we believe that the best stay comes with good service . We regret that you couldn't sleep well and the room was not in perfect conditions for your needs. Would you have asked for changing room, probably your opinion would be as your colleague...

Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Stayed here just 2 nights. Comfortable beds, clean, great location, friendly staff. First time the breakfast was good, second time (I arrived just before the end of the breakfast time) the food was a bit cold and not as generous as the previos morning. Our room was bit noisy, because of the traffic, but at the end didn't bother us...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jan s
Recasens, Manager at Catalonia Diagonal Centro, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and of course for your kind review. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Thank you for your comment about the breakfast, we have reported to our staff in order to have same quality during all the service. We look forward to seeing you...

536 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (132)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (35)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (383)
Viewed
Amenities (28)
Viewed
Family Room (37)
Viewed
Pool (25)
Viewed
Premium Terrace (53)
Viewed
Dining (62)
Viewed
Standard Room (42)
Viewed
Suite (50)
Viewed
Superior Room (37)
Viewed
The Hotel (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Gracia
Catalonia La Pedrera
Catalonia La Pedrera
#264 of 522 in Barcelona
429 reviews
El Raval
Catalonia Ramblas
Catalonia Ramblas
#144 of 522 in Barcelona
1,369 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Eixample 1864
Catalonia Eixample 1864
#225 of 522 in Barcelona
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Ofelias Hotel
Ofelias Hotel
#95 of 522 in Barcelona
482 reviews
Eixample
Guitart Grand Passage
Guitart Grand Passage
#341 of 522 in Barcelona
326 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Sant Agusti
Hotel Sant Agusti
#303 of 522 in Barcelona
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Eixample

Neighbourhood Profile
Eixample
Passing through the glorious Plaça Catalunya, you enter the newer city district of Eixample, literally translated as “extension,” which immediately becomes recognisable by its more spacious streets and elegant atmosphere. The main artery of this sizable district, Passeig de Gracia, is lined with high-end international designer stores. Not to be outdone, the glitz and glamour of this zone is perhaps best exemplified by the comfortable and lavish five-star hotels that flank the divine and modernistic buildings from some of the world’s most recognised architects such as Gaudi and Montaner.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Formerly Gran Hotel Catalonia. This hotel is located on the modernist route next to Paseo de Gracia. It is surrounded by the most beautiful modernist architecture and the most representative buildings of the work by Gaudí. Its location in the centre of Barcelona means that you are walking distance from the best commercial area and can enjoy the intense atmosphere of this Mediterranean city.Our most prized feature is our quality service. Organise your family celebrations and business meetings in one of our 5 meeting rooms, which have a capacity for morethan 400 guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Catalonia Diagonal Centro

Address: C/ Balmes, 142-146, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Price Range: $119 - $392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Diagonal Centro 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Catalonia Diagonal Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Diagonal Centro Hotel Barcelona
Catalonia Gran Hotel
Hotel Style:
#168 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#213 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Catalonia Diagonal Centro staff and other travellers.
17 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from Catalonia Diagonal Centro staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The higher the floor you are on,the less Metro rumble you get”
 of 5 bubbles rogerrobert98, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“avoid 7th floor since you take the lift to the 6th and then some stairs. Also avoid room 702 due to some noise from the elevators.”
 of 5 bubbles Alfralfa, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Avoid street-facing rooms, especially those with black-out awnings.”
 of 5 bubbles csellis, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms best off of main street, which can be noisey.”
 of 5 bubbles maryann324, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The higher floors are quieter and the breakfast is worth the cost.”
 of 5 bubbles JohnL258, 14 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5