We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hostal Fontanella

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Hostal Fontanella
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

171 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hostal Fontanella
See the most recent reviews
Showing 57: English reviews
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 8 June 2016

I came to stay at Hostal Fontanella for Primavera Sound for 5 nights. The room I had was lovely. There was a fan and large window which meant it never got too hot. The staff were really lovely and accommodating. Another great part about my stay the location was that it was right bang in the centre, only moments away... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank gary973
hostalfontanella, Propietario at Hostal Fontanella, responded to this review

Dear Gary, Thank you very much for your time to give your opinion our customers always surprise us when they define well our hostel, and especially our location, we could not do better! :). It is a pleasure to know that we meet their expectations, and enjoy the Primavera Sound event. We would love to welcome you on your next... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 June 2016

Lovely lovely staff, so helpful, and warm. Right in the middle of town, next to barrio gotico but not in the middle of it, which is a plus. Very clean and cozy. Feels like a Barcelona home rather than a standard hotel. Would have no doubt staying there.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nico787878787878
hostalfontanella, Recepción at Hostal Fontanella, responded to this review

Dear Nico, Thank you very much for your lovely comments. It was our pleasure to have you here. As you comment, our location is great. It's easy to walk around the city center, and easy to come from the airport, good comunications with almost everything, even if you are going out to the closer areas of Barcelona. We are really... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 May 2016

Our stay was very pleasant and the location is perfect. It is located next to Plaça de Catalunya, which is a main public transport hub. easy to get around the city from here, La Rambla and the old town area are just few minutes walk. Highly recommended.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank yue358
239530, Recepción at Hostal Fontanella, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for that right description, like you comment, it's easy to walk around the city center, and easy to come from the airport, good comunications with almost everything, even if you are going out to the closer areas of Barcelona. We are really glad you enjoy your stay. We hope to see you again, sometime... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2016 via mobile

We needed somewhere to stay for a night in Barcelona and booked here last minute so didn't have any real expectation...... The rooms were clean, beds were comfortable and all amenities were catered for, including WiFi (very important). The staff were really friendly and helpful. Great location and value for money, would stay there again and would definitely recommend. Thanks... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stuart T
239530, Recepción at Hostal Fontanella, responded to this review

Thank You Mr Stuart! Even if you didn't have any expectations before to come, we are really glad we could win you trust and your friendship. Thank you for your time to write as good opinion, we try to attend all our guest with a lot of enthusiasm to hep you to have the best stay in Barcelona. We look... More 

YORK
1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2016

Hostel Fontanella was central, convenient, clean, quiet and good value. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The Hostel Fonanella is at the second floor and is sufficiently far from the road to be quiet even though it is located adjectent to a main highway

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank cwatso_602964
239530, Recepción at Hostal Fontanella, responded to this review

Dear Cwatso Thank you very much for such a good and brief description of Hostal Fontanella. We hope you enjoyed your stay as much as we enjoyed to have you with us. We work every day trying to be better for all of you. We hope to see you again in the future. Kind Regards Alexandra Rodríguez More 

Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2016

The location is great, not far from Plaça de Catalunya and Las Ramblas. Room number 3 is very quiet and clean. The staff is really nice and helpful. Transfer to the airport by bus (Aerobus) or by metro (L1 from Urquinaona to Torrassa Station and then L9 to Terminals 1 & 2) is easy and fast. I recommend this hostal... More 

Helpful?
Thank xesus1970
hostalfontanella, Propietario at Hostal Fontanella, responded to this review
Google Translation

Apreciada sr. xesus, En primer lugar, gracias por su tiempo en escribir su opinión, nos alegra que hayamos cumplido con... More 

Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2016

this place is not chic or very modern, but cosy for sure - vintage and modern mix I would say. Amazing last century elevator takes you up to the hostal. Location was perfect as I preffered walking than metro. Safe district, not far from the main street, just 5 min from Plaça de Catalunya. Very clean place.

Helpful?
Thank plaukai
hostalfontanella, Propietario at Hostal Fontanella, responded to this review
Google Translation

Apreciada Plaukai, Muchas gracias por dar su opinión sobre el Hostal Fontanella, Nos alegra enormemente que su estancia entre nosotros... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 September 2015

It was very difficult to find the hostel. Firstly, the lift wasn't working, so thank goodness I had left my suitcase in storage at the airport. The only clue to the location was the number 2 on the small sign outside the building. Unfortunately, the building has several second floors (!!) and I had to go up, then down (call... More 

Helpful?
Thank Selkie1920
239530, Director General at Hostal Fontanella, responded to this review

Dear Mrs. Selkie, Sorry so many concerns and problems experienced to reach the hostel, ...... .., having to climb the stairs, knock, sleep like a circus, a broken lock, hard pillows, and worst !, difficult to find the hostel ... With all due respect I think for tastes the colors were! ... ... luckily only have to browse all the... More 

Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2015

We found that this was a great location for exploring the beautiful city of Barcelona. Some of the highlights were the great views of the city and the fountain show at Montjuic, Parc Guell, wandering the little laneways of the Gothic Quarter and of course - tapas! The Hostal Fontanella is close to Placa de Catalunya to access metro stops... More 

Helpful?
Thank Relaxinthesun
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2015

Nice accomodation and the hospitality is friendly. The location is good. The breakfast is for a couple of days ok (not rich - fresh squeezed orange juice, roll, butter, jam, coffee, milk), but not longer. You get daily fresh towels, but thee rooms are not fully cleaned daily.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SanZolDerGast
hostalfontanella, Director de Recepción at Hostal Fontanella, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your rate. but i think this was not the Hostal that you booked. because we do not offer breakfast. Best regards, More 

60 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Other (22)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Denit Barcelona
Hotel Denit Barcelona
#138 of 519 in Barcelona
1,404 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Sant Jordi Apartaments Fontanella
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Pension Aris
Pension Aris
#141 of 324 in Barcelona
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hostal Excellence
Hostal Excellence
#139 of 324 in Barcelona
39 reviews
Eixample
Hostal Amra
Hostal Amra
#21 of 324 in Barcelona
312 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Itaca Hostel
Itaca Hostel
#25 of 756 in Barcelona
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)

Neighbourhood Profile
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
With its iconic, old-Europe streets and alleys, this picturesque neighbourhood is the very heart of Barcelona. It blends historic artifacts from its days under Roman dominion up through the Spanish Civil War with a vibrant modern-day culture of artisan shops and authentic culinary experiences. Avid explorers will be thrilled to discover quaint terraces and plazas brought to life by the many small bars and local musicians lasting late into the night. Fashionistas will be drawn to Portal de L’Angel, which is lined with well-known brand names and smaller boutique stands.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Warm Guest accommodation with 11 rooms in the center of Barcelona. Located next to the beautiful Urquinaona Square and 3 minutes walking from nerve center of Plaza Catalunya.Bright rooms most with balcony to Via Layetana. A few meters from the Cathedral and a short walk from the old Harbour. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hostal Fontanella

Address: Via Laietana 71 , 2do, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Price Range: $86 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hostal Fontanella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Fontanella Hotel Barcelona
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hostal Fontanella staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hostal Fontanella staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“For a cup of tea or coffee before bed take a travel kettle,coffee machine in reception for 1 euro a cup is switched off at night.”
 of 5 bubbles susiem1, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The 3-person room (room #1) faced the alley instead of the busy road. Also bathroom in the room.”
 of 5 bubbles jbarrit, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“we had room 2 which was really quiet at back of Hostal...”
 of 5 bubbles lmyoung2016, 12 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Definitely ask for a room not facing the street!”
 of 5 bubbles Selkie1920, 29 Sep 2015 | Read review
“I recommend to ask, which room will you get, becasuse there are huge differences between the rooms (nice, large room with balcony #101, #102, #104 and tiny room #103).”
 of 5 bubbles SanZolDerGast, 28 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay