We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Safestay Barcelona Gothic

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (73)
Room & Suite (18)
Dining (17)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#71 of 267 hostels in Barcelona
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Explore Barcelona's charm at Safestay Barcelona Gothic, in the Gothic Quarter, 250m from the cathedral. Our hostel offers more than accommodation, with a rooftop terrace for a genuine experience. Individual lockers prioritize safety. Immerse in the medieval streets, guided by our staff. Discover the vibrant Raval neighborhood and modern El Born. Nearby attractions include the MACBA and local art galleries. For a modern touch, venture into El Born with fashion boutiques and avant-garde restaurants. Delight in Catalan cuisine and explore nearby lively Las Ramblas. Plaza Catalunya, Barcelona's central hub, invites you to a shopping feast. Safestay Barcelona Gothic ensures an unforgettable stay immersed in the city's rich history and dynamic culture.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Breakfast buffet
Table tennis
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Shared bathroom
Shared kitchen
24-hour front desk
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Catalan and 2 more

Location

C/ Vigatans 5, 08003 Barcelona Spain
Name/address in local language
Safestay Barcelona Gothic
462Reviews4Q+A39Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 103
  • 162
  • 99
  • 53
  • 45
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Juli wrote a review Aug 2023
21 contributions2 helpful votes
Worst hostel experience - not worth the central location!! Thinking this would be perfect location, I booked. What a mistake! The dorm is a freezer, the beds are super creaky, the lights come on automatically, I slept 1 night out of 5 here - I have never had so many sleepless nights in a row. People are not friendly - no smiling - no social activities organised - awful for solo travellers! The staff are pretty unhelpful and it’s just generally a very uncomfortable experience. Would highly not recommend if you wish to sleep and meet nice people.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Safestay Passeig De Gracia, Director General at Safestay Barcelona Gothic
Responded Aug 22, 2023
We deeply regret that your stay did not meet your expectations. We appreciate your feedback as it helps us improve. We take your concerns about room conditions, comfort, and social atmosphere seriously, striving to organize activities that bring guests together. While we can't adjust the air conditioning to everyone's preference, we aim to maintain a comfortable temperature given the summer heat in central Barcelona. We will diligently work to address these issues and provide a more positive experience. We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences and hope for the opportunity to offer you a more enjoyable stay in the future. Your insights are valuable as we remain committed to providing quality accommodation and a welcoming environment.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
91Elisa91 wrote a review Jul 2023
Bolzano, Italy2 contributions
The worst experience of my life in a hostel, I felt very unsafe, the whole place looks more like a dormitory than a place for backpackers and tourists. Someone started screaming in the middle of the night claiming they stole his phone while he was asleep and the staff was very unhelpful explaining he should have watched his stuff better. The AC was so strong I has to go and buy myself a blanket in the middle of July. You cannot really work in the common areas as there are no plugs in the terrace and there are just a few in the in front of the reception. Definitely not recommended for female solo travelers. I ended up transferring to another place after two nights because I couldn't stand it anymore
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Safestay Passeig De Gracia, Director General at Safestay Barcelona Gothic
Responded Aug 15, 2023
We deeply regret that you had an unsatisfactory experience. Your safety is paramount, and we will take steps to improve it. We take note of your comments about the ambience and comfort, and will work to make necessary adjustments. We appreciate your feedback and are sorry for any inconvenience.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Błażej P wrote a review Mar 2022
Manchester, United Kingdom1 contribution
Great hostel! I stayed two nights and really enjoyed my stay. The staff were kind. The hostel was clean. They offer nice free walking tours so you can get to know Barcelona with a local guide. Would definitely recommend that hostel to a friend
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Safestay Passeig De Gracia, Director General at Safestay Barcelona Gothic
Responded Mar 8, 2022
Hello Blaze! Thanks for letting us know how was your experience. We are happy you had a nice stay. Kind regards from Barcelona! Reception satff.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
michaelPoole wrote a review Oct 2021
Poole18 contributions8 helpful votes
Booked the hotel via Agoda for a two night stay (1 Adult & 1 Child) in Barcelona and was very disappointed to be turned away with no child stay policy? I showed the check in gentleman the email confirmation(1 adult - 1 Child) info but he blatantly wasn't interested of any of support or help. My young son was very upset of thougth of staying in the city without a room over his head!!! The gentelman showed total lack of respect and mentioned that theres numerous hotels in the area! After spending an hour walking the street we found a fully booked hotel called Hotel Suizo that helped us book a near by nice hotel called Hotel Gotico.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Safestay Passeig De Gracia, Director General at Safestay Barcelona Gothic
Responded Feb 14, 2022
Dear Michael I am very sorry to hear about that unpleasant situation you went through in our hostel. Unfortunately, there is a law that forbids minors stay in shared rooms which I believe was what the staff was trying to explain you. If that kind of situations happen, we don’t charge the booking or refund it if it was previously charged. I believe the staff intention was not in any case to offend you but of course, I am very sorry if you felt that way. I hope you had a nice stay in Barcelona anyway and you can give us another chance in the future. Kind regards Aurelia – General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
AnikaUkraine wrote a review Mar 2020
3 contributions1 helpful vote
Since long time I haven`t stay in the hostels and it is not the best place to stay if you need to sleep.this hostel is very noisy, shower is very bad, and the most dissapointing for me that they even do not provide a towel
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from GONZALO ACEVEDO RODRIGUEZ, General Manager at Safestay Barcelona Gothic
Responded Mar 6, 2020
Dear Anika, We are sorry that the experience you received was not entirely satisfactory. With regard to the towel, yes we provide a towel, you can just ask on the recepcion for the information. Last month we changed all the showers in our propety so we invite you to try our hostel after renovation. We look forward to seeing you back and be able to offer a better service. Best regards!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
mjkaczo wrote a review Feb 2020
Buffalo, New York55 contributions51 helpful votes
I have stayed with the safestay brand in a previous trip to London and expected a similar experience but did not receive that. The only redeeming quality of this hostel was the location. The 16 bed dorm is so tight you have to almost crawl over other beds to get to yours and all of the lockers are in the hallway so you have to way to keep your clothes and items in the room unless you slept with them there. I also had to go through an hour process to get my rented towel deposit back, which was 15€ + 2€ that you don’t get back. Due to them “switching to a cashless system overnight” or at least that’s what the gentleman at reception told me when we were trying to sort it out.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from SafestayBCN, receptionist at Safestay Barcelona Gothic
Responded Feb 6, 2020
Dear guest, we are sorry that the experience you received was not entirely satisfactory. With regard to the cashless system, we started implementing it to speed up payment and towel rental procedures. We appreciate your comments and will take it into account to improve the facilities of our hostel, We look forward to seeing you back and be able to offer a better service. Best regards! Guillermina
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Giulia C wrote a review Nov 2019
Barcelona, Spain50 contributions25 helpful votes
The location is perfect, right in the middle of the Gothic quarter (my favorite!). Very easy to walk around and find everything within walking-distance. Upon arrival, the receptionist was friendly (although I thought there was a lack of information regarding the hostel's facilities). I would return for the affordable price considering the location although I thought the facilities (showers and bathrooms outside of the rooms were, despite quite clean, 'old school'). Luggage store on leaving day was free but not very secure, I didn't have a number given and the door that was supposed to be locked actually wasn't. Cool rooftop terrace. Kitchen too small to cook (not equipped with an oven). An other downside was the noise, not only I stayed while some very disrespectful guests were staying in the room next door but also the streets were quite noisy at night. So much potential to exploit though!!!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from SafestayBCN, Recepción at Safestay Barcelona Gothic
Responded Nov 30, 2019
Dear Guest, Thank you a lot for taking the time and sharing your experiance. Also we wish your experiance would be even better, we hope it was satisfying. For cases of disrespectfull guests we got 24/7 someone in the reception to deal with those type of things. The microwave in the kitchen got an oven funktion. We hope to see you soon again in our hostal. Best regards Rafa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jay wrote a review Oct 2019
Manchester, United Kingdom30 contributions10 helpful votes
The SafeStay Gothic is in a lovely part of Barcelona, very close to lots of key landmarks. All the staff are very welcoming and happy to answer questions and all spoke English. It's right next to a metro station so all parts of Barcelona are easy to access. I'd definitely stay here if I were to come to Barcelona again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from SafestayBCN, Owner at Safestay Barcelona Gothic
Responded Oct 28, 2019
Dear Jim, thank you very much for leaving your feedback. We work hard every day to receive more comments like yours, so we are delighted. We like to know that our receptionists were cordial with you and do not hesitate to visit us again if you never return to Barcelona, ​​like your home. Good luck for the future and we hope to see you soon. Best regards :)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Carlos da Silva wrote a review Sep 2019
1 contribution
Great people! Great food! Great Chef! Thanks Marco! An amazing experience! I met amazing people! It's a really great place! Such a cool environment! It's a place I met such an amazing people! Thanks!! Thanks Marco for all and the amazing food! Thanks Sylla for all, you both are amazing!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from SafeStay G, Owner at Safestay Barcelona Gothic
Responded Sep 21, 2019
Dear Carla, We are delighted that you had a good experience with our staff. We work hard every day for read more reviews like yours. Best regards from Barcelona :)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Michael W wrote a review Sep 2019
1 contribution
The staff are all lovely people and happy to help. The chef is an absolute legend and makes amazing Paella and is a good laugh! I would highly recommend this hostel for anyone looking for a good cheap time. Review coming from an oz!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from SafeStay G, Owner at Safestay Barcelona Gothic
Responded Sep 21, 2019
Dear Michael, We are delighted that you had a good experience in our facilities and with our staff. We work hard every day to have more reviews like yours. And indeed, Chef Marco, is on his way to be legend that's true ;)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Barcelona area.
PRICE RANGE
C$46 - C$396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
equity point gothic hotel barcelona
LOCATION
SpainCataloniaProvince of BarcelonaBarcelonaCiutat Vella (Old Town) / Sant Pere / Sant Pere, Santa Caterina i la Ribera / El Born / La Ribera
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Safestay Barcelona Gothic - UPDATED Prices, Reviews & Photos (Spain) - Hostel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Safestay Barcelona Gothic
Which popular attractions are close to Safestay Barcelona Gothic?
Nearby attractions include Gothic Quarter (Barri Gotic) (0.3 km), Basílica de Santa Maria del Mar (0.2 km), and Xventura Barcelona Treasure Hunts (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Safestay Barcelona Gothic?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include breakfast buffet, baggage storage, and a 24 hour front desk.
What are some restaurants close to Safestay Barcelona Gothic?
Conveniently located restaurants include Manna Gelats, Restaurante Loto, and Un gelato per te.
Is Safestay Barcelona Gothic located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of Barcelona.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Safestay Barcelona Gothic?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, Italian, Portuguese, and Catalan.
Are there any historical sites close to Safestay Barcelona Gothic?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Basílica de Santa Maria del Mar (0.2 km), Reial Monestir de Santa Maria de Pedralbes (5.6 km), and Ciutat Vella (0.6 km).