We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ideal Youth Hostel

Traveller (29)
Room & Suite (7)
  • Excellent18%
  • Very good29%
  • Average27%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible15%
Travellers talk about
Free Internet
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Airport Transportation
2 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (316)
Filter reviews
156 results
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
More languages
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswifi only worksgreat locationstayed there for two nightscooking facilitieshighly recommend this hostelshort stayramblasdormtoastervaluablesmetrokitchenetteterraceroof
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 156 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Where to begin No Internet in rooms Rooms dirty Bathroom looks like a prison My friend booked for 5 nights and unexpectedly had to stay somewhere else for nights 2 and 3, she informed the staff who said if she spends even a single night...More

Thank Aaron S
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The hostel was in central location and was walking distance to all buses and shops. The staff were lovely and friendly. You could store your food in the fridge and also had cooking facilities. We had heard a lot of bad stuff about Barcelona. But...More

Thank Danielle C
Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile

The facility offers many good things such as Wi-Fi, kitchen and many more but it is annoying the Wi-Fi is not working on other floors, you always need to go downstairs where so many guys are staying so your privacy is not that appreciated. The...More

Thank Domokos Zsolt M
Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

Pros: Good kitchen (however, no freezer) Good common areas (computers!) Nice staff They have lockers, and also offer you to hand in your most valuable things when you're out, no charge (this was great) Right next to la rambla Cons: No air-conditioning, so sweaty Guys...More

Thank Linnea J
Reviewed 9 August 2017

For the price, and for the duration of my stay, this was a no-brainer. I stayed at IYH for 2 nights, and it provided all that I needed, with really no frills: that was a base, in a good location, from which I could start...More

Thank TonderaiMatanda
View more reviews
Top amenities
Free Internet
Price range
US$23 - US$159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Price range
US$23 - US$159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (29)
Room & Suite (7)
El Raval
Once a downtrodden corner of downtown Barcelona, this
gritty area has seen a cultural resurgence boasting an
excellent nightlife and one of the most multi ethnic
spots in the entire city. A sense of humble
authenticity protrudes from the many independent
record stores, second hand shops, and student bars
that seem to light up the streets day and night. The
rocking epicenter, the MACBA Plaça, is a modern day
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Elliot H
13 August 2015|
Response from Reputation M | Property representative |
Dear guest, we feel really sorry but we did not find any reservation under this name in our system. Please check on the website you booked through and verify that the name of the reservation or of the hostel is correct. Best... More
Room Tips
"Try to ask for a room at the front, i.e. on the mainroad. They have tiny balconies, and that helps! (Thus the..."
Read review
"I liked my small room with private shower."
Read review
"Try to book a room on one of the lower floors as the wifi may reach these rooms - we were on level 2 &..."
Read review
"take a room in lower floors, you might get wifi"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing