We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ideal Youth Hostel

Hostelworld.comUS$90*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Ideal Youth Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

286 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ideal Youth Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 148: English reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2015

This hostel is situated perfectly for anyone visiting Barcelona! It is about a one minute walk from the nearest metro stop, Liceu, which is on the L3 line that connects some of the important sightseeing spots. There is free wifi on the ground floor, kitchen facilities, fairly good showers, balconies. There aren't many power outlets in the rooms. All in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nadya N
Ideal H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ideal Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you so much for sharing with us your opinion, we are glad you found everything in order and pleasant, your positive feedback encourages us to be better every day and offer the best services to our guests. We hope to see you again in our city! Kind regards from Ideal Youth Hostel.

Reviewed 5 August 2015 via mobile

The hostel is fine as per its price. The main to problems were, firstly the internet works only in the reception; and secondly, the bathrooms are horrible. Apart from that, it totally worth the cost as it is close to la rambla and few minutes walk to the beach and the port. Also there is a metro station nearby.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mohleithy
Ideal H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ideal Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest, We appreciate your opinion, it's very important for us to know how our customers feel staying with us. We offer an open internet service but we do not provide wi-fi service in the rooms in order to create a nice and social athmosphere between roommates. Our reception it's open 24 hours in order to solve any kind of...

Reviewed 25 July 2015 via mobile

I was there mid July and it was very hot! In a room on the fourth floor with 16 people and no air conditioning, just a pathetic ceiling fan and open window, it was literally too hot to actually sleep. The toilets were not very clean and the stalls were so small you almost didn't have enough space to sit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alyshia H
Reputation M, Front Office Manager at Ideal Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Dear costumer Thanks for your comment, our customers’ feedback is very important for us in order to improve the service we offer. You are confused we do not have rooms of 16 beds our bigger room is 10 beds. However we are surprised by your comment and we would like to remind you that the experience in a hostel is...

Reviewed 18 July 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights. Location is very good 30 seconds away from la rambla street. We needed to walk for 20 minutes for barceloneta beach. It is also safe and we had the opportunity of leaving phone passport etc to the reception while going to the beach. The room is clean, but pretty hot i think because it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ebru C
Reputation M, Front Office Manager at Ideal Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thanks for giving us your opinion, we assure you that we will consider it to improve the services we offer. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay in Barcelona and we hope that in your next visit everything could be even more to your liking. Many greetings from IYH.

Reviewed 17 July 2015

To be honest, it was a last minute booking and a 24 euro rate so not really a bargain but one of the cheaper prices. The location is good as close to La Rambla. The folks are friendly. Their advertising was honest as to the room i.e. no AC but breakfast was overinflated as it was merely 2 pieces of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sanjay B
Reputation M, Front Office Manager at Ideal Youth Hostel, responded to this review
Google Translation

Apreciado cliente, gracias por haber decidido de compartir con nosotros su opinión, las opiniones de nuestros clientes son muy importantes...

Mongomo, Equatorial Guinea
Reviewed 29 June 2015

the personnel was really kind and helpfull. They would accept to keep our phone with us so that it can be charged safely. The breakfast is well organised and one of the best in comparison to many other ones seen in the past in different hostels. As for its location, you cannot expect better, the metro is nearby, it is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marcjuju21
Reputation M, Front Office Manager at Ideal Youth Hostel, responded to this review
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por tu buena valoración, estamos muy contentos que hayas disfrutado de tu estancia con nosotros! Esperamos verte de...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 20 June 2015

This is hostel is pretty much great for the location and price. The room was tidy, just a bunk bed which was a double on the bottom and twin on top and then one bookshelf - these took up almost the entirety of the room but we did not mind as we didnt spend too much time there. The terrace...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David H
Reputation M, Front Office Manager at Ideal Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for your comment, our customers’ feedback is very important for us in order to improve the service we offer. We do not provide wi fi service in the rooms in order to create a friendly athmosphere and to allow our customers to socialize between them. However we are surprised by your comment and we would like to remind you...

Reviewed 7 June 2015

I ve just come back from barcelona and i ve had one of the best trips ever . Been there for a week in IYH and i loved everything about it and it was probably what made me enjoy my vacation...Great location in the center of ramblas close to all facilities with a very cheap price....Great staff very helpful and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rania A
Reputation M, Front Office Manager at Ideal Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Rania, first of all let us say that we are very glad to know that you enjoyed your time with us! And also thanks a lot for your kind words, this is very important for us. All our staff work in hardly in order to make your stay the best as possible. We hope to see you again very...

Spain
Reviewed 12 May 2015

Hi people¡ I went to this place from the 9 of may until 11 of may and with out doubts I will come back, the staff ( angela ) has everything to make feel a guess like at home, the location is more than perfect very convinient in the middle of the ramblas and near by the metro station, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Willitazmani
Reputation M, Front Office Manager at Ideal Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for your comment, your rating encourage us to be better every day and offer the best services to our guests. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your staying at IYH! We hope to see you soon here in Barcelona! Many gretings from our staff.

Community of Madrid, Spain
Reviewed 15 April 2015

Price was great and they were really accommodating. Also, the location is really close to a central metro station and it's only a 20 minute walk to the beach. I'll definitely come back. I actually got sick and stayed in the hostel for a full day, but I was able to stay in the lobby area all day, watch movies...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MannyPeredo
Reputation M, Front Office Manager at Ideal Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for your comment, your rating encourage us to be better every day and offer the best services to our guests. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your staying at IYH! We hope to see you again very soon ! Many gretings from our staff.

38 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Kabul Hostel
Kabul Hostel
#80 of 721 in Barcelona
933 reviews
El Raval
Center Rambles Youth Hostel
Center Rambles Youth Hostel
#558 of 721 in Barcelona
180 reviews
Eixample
Hola Hostal Eixample
Hola Hostal Eixample
#130 of 721 in Barcelona
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hostal MiMi Las Ramblas
Hostal MiMi Las Ramblas
#209 of 721 in Barcelona
51 reviews
El Raval
St Christopher's Inn Barcelona
El Raval
Be Sound Hostel
Be Sound Hostel
#357 of 721 in Barcelona
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in El Raval

Neighbourhood Profile
El Raval
Once a downtrodden corner of downtown Barcelona, this gritty area has seen a cultural resurgence boasting an excellent nightlife and one of the most multi ethnic spots in the entire city. A sense of humble authenticity protrudes from the many independent record stores, second hand shops, and student bars that seem to light up the streets day and night. The rocking epicenter, the MACBA Plaça, is a modern day forum for bohemian youth, abuzz with the sights and sounds of late-night gatherings and talented skateboarders showing off their latest tricks.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
Internet
  • Free Internet
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Ideal Youth Hostel opened in the year 2000 in a typical Barcelona city-centre-style building. It's an experienced hostel located near the famous La Rambla and next to the Opera House.The traditional historical appearance of the façade has been maintained, while the interior is modern with a minimal industrial look, including silver concrete walls and coloured neon lights.We try to cater to both single backpackers as well as groups, offering all that you need to help you enjoy your stay in the city.Accommodation is offered in single rooms and private or shared rooms for two, four, six, eight or ten people. Most of the rooms have their own balcony, individual WC and free hot showers. Furthermore, the hostel provides individual lockers in each room, free of charge.We also offer a terrace, linen, vending machines, self-service laundrette, microwave and fridge and a lounge in which you can relax.Upon request, half- or full-board meals and lunch boxes are available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ideal Youth Hostel

Address: Unio,10-12, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Price Range: $36 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ideal Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ideal Youth Hotel Barcelona
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ideal Youth Hostel staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Ideal Youth Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try to ask for a room at the front, i.e. on the mainroad. They have tiny balconies, and that helps! (Thus the rooms are small)”
EvaUH, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I liked my small room with private shower.”
77lesyat, 11 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Try to book a room on one of the lower floors as the wifi may reach these rooms - we were on level 2 & just managed to get connected.”
nicolaj135, 16 Jun 2016 | Read review
“take a room in lower floors, you might get wifi”
825kushg, 12 Jun 2016 | Read review
“I was able to use WIFI on the first floor.”
MKer_12, 14 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hostelworld.com
US$90* /night
View Deal
Agoda.com
Priceline
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates