We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa
Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa
Panoramas (38)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,322 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,343: English reviews
Strasbourg, France
Reviewed 6 August 2012

well located hotel in the gay area. People were very nice at the reception. The room was not really nice and too oldand need to be renovated. Some details like towels with holes, floor crashed, dirty swimmingpool, bathroom dirty... fortunately people who goes to this hotel don't stay in their room during their holidays.. we were disappointed and think that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pyms222
BORJAJULIA, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your opinion and thank you for staying with us. Thank you also for describe our staff as a very nice people! We deeply sorry for the small defects, we are working for remodel all the rooms, next time please try our premium rooms (the new ones) you are going to love it for...

Miami, Florida
Reviewed 1 August 2012

2 weeks at the hotel and really enjoyed my stay. The hotel is lovely and clean and the staff were friendly. Very nice amenities, lovely pool with excellent views of the city.Near shops and restaurants, great location and walking distance to city attractions. Very hip,friendly and trendy. Reasonable value for money and I'd definitely go back in my next Barcelona...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kittyserrano
BORJAJULIA, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your opinion and thank you for staying with us. For us it is very important your opinion and to continue working for an excellent service. Hope see you soon with us Sincerely Borja Julia Axel Hotel Barcelona General Manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Stayed 4 nights at the hotel and really enjoyed our stay. Didn't see the need to pay extra for the breakfast when so many nice cafes are dotted around. The hotel was lovely and clean and the staff were pleasant. Overall I felt it was reasonable value for money and I'd definitely go back when we next visit Barcelona

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JayPips
BORJAJULIA, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive opinion and thank you for considerer us as a good hotel. Thank you also for your description about our excelent service, location, areas and staff. Your opinion it is very important for us. Thank you so much and hope see you again in any Axel Hotels around the world Borja Julia Axel Hotel...

New York
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We are repeat visitors, but were very disappointed by our latest stay. We paid extra for an upgraded, new room (not a standard room, but not the top level suite either). However, it's hard to see what's upgraded about it. There is no closet, only an open rod to hang clothes. there are a total of two small drawers to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank rsp1
BORJAJULIA, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your opinion and thank you for staying with us. Sorry if you think our rooms are smallest, but I would like to inform you that we have different type of rooms, depending what are you looking for. You did a reservation for Standart City Room and if you want more space, I recommend you a...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Don't believe the website. This hotel is not a good value and had an unfriendly staff. In addition to trying to overcharge us for everything, they presented a bill in US dollars rather than Euros and said I didn't have a choice -- of course the exchange rate they offered had me losing 6 cents for every dollar compared to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jim G
BORJAJULIA, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your opinion and thank you for staying with us!! I really sorry about what happened during your stay. Really sorry! We usually ask if you want to pay in dollar or euros, I don´t understand why they told you that. Also I would like to apologize about the towels and Iron. We had some problems,...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Nice enough hotel, clean, very presentable but certainly overpriced ( €20 for 2 Malibu and coke in the skybar - really? ). Never usually burden staff when I stay in a hotel but I normally ask for an iron and its never a problem - except for this stay - rang reception twice told no iron available and that was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank WCJ_83
BORJAJULIA, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your constructive criticism. For your information your opinion it is a great help for us and that make to continue working for an excellent service. We are deeply sorry for the inconvinience about the iron and for the respond from our staff. Hope we can see you again with us and see our improvments. Thank...

Reviewed 19 July 2012

Reception staff were very efficient on our arrival and we had access to our room even though we arrived a little earlier than planned. We had arranged an upgraded room which was nice, however was on the main road and a little noisy. If you're a light sleeper then an internal room might suit better. The upgraded room was bigger...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AndyJM69
BORJAJULIA, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your criticism and thank you very much for labeling us as a good hotel with very friendly and helpful staff I'm sorry that there are small details found in the room, next time report it to reception and immediately tried to fix it, also sorry that the spa has not given towels, normally...

Amsterdam
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We booked a room (city view) for three nights in July 2012. We got a room (211) just above the entrance of the hotel. A strange little window with a dark curtain in front of it. The curtain was closed and when we opened it, all the people could see right into the room. So, we had to keep the...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Muscletop v
New York City, New York
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Front desk staff was pleasant but only concerned about getting us to upgrade our room. when we got to room we thought maybe we should have upgraded cause it was very small with no closet nor dresser instead just a wire contraption to put clothes on top of. in the heart of gay neighborhood so great location for us. towels...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Thomas M
BORJAJULIA, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your opinion and thank you for choosing us during your last stay. We're depply sorry that you think that we are not a good choise. Please try to give us a second chance and try our premium or suites rooms and also you can inclued the breakfast in your next reservation. Kind Regards,...

Austin, Texas
Reviewed 15 July 2012

This was our first time at an Axel Hotel and it was terrific. I had read that the room were a bit small but we had a premium room and it was great. The service was outstanding and everyone was always smiling and willing to help. The bars were great and lively. The only negative was on our final night...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Javier H
BORJAJULIA, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive opinion and thank you for considerer us as a great hotel. Thank you also for your description about our excelent service, location, areas and staff. Your opinion it is very important for us. Sorry about your last night at the bar with the premium vodka, I'll be sure that never happen again! Thank...

898 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (661)
Viewed
Room/Suite (154)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (130)
Viewed
View from Room (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (73)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (50)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Other (206)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (212)
Viewed
Amenities (34)
Viewed
Double City Room (29)
Viewed
Double Premium Exterior Room (30)
Viewed
Double Premium Interior Room (20)
Viewed
Pool (24)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Suite (32)
Viewed
The Hotel (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
TWO Hotel Barcelona by Axel
TWO Hotel Barcelona by Axel
#69 of 522 in Barcelona
509 reviews
Eixample
Acevi Villarroel
Acevi Villarroel
#144 of 522 in Barcelona
890 reviews
Eixample
Soho Hotel
Soho Hotel
#86 of 522 in Barcelona
2,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
H10 Casanova
H10 Casanova
#92 of 522 in Barcelona
1,547 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Granados 83
Hotel Granados 83
#52 of 522 in Barcelona
1,344 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Cram
Hotel Cram
#120 of 522 in Barcelona
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Eixample

Neighbourhood Profile
Eixample
Passing through the glorious Plaça Catalunya, you enter the newer city district of Eixample, literally translated as “extension,” which immediately becomes recognisable by its more spacious streets and elegant atmosphere. The main artery of this sizable district, Passeig de Gracia, is lined with high-end international designer stores. Not to be outdone, the glitz and glamour of this zone is perhaps best exemplified by the comfortable and lavish five-star hotels that flank the divine and modernistic buildings from some of the world’s most recognised architects such as Gaudi and Montaner.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Faithful to the concept and style of Axel-design, comfortable, cosmopolitan atmosphere, is a good value for price. The 105 rooms combine the touch of decoration from Modernism with the warmth and elegance of the Mediterranean. New spaces at Axel Hotel Barcelona, will become the urban meeting point of the heterofriendly. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa

Address: Aribau 33, 08011 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Price Range: $162 - $419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Prestigia, Jetsetter, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Axel Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#130 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#140 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa staff and other travellers.
20 questions
Ask a question
Plymouth, United Kingdom
23 days ago
San Francisco, California
5 months ago
Manchester, United Kingdom
Belfast, United Kingdom
4 months ago

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Interior rooms would be quieter than those with a street view, but we did not find traffic noise at night to be disturbing.”
  • View from bedroom, note glass walled shower is visible front bedroom!
 of 5 bubbles anthonyk732, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Get a room with a balcony.”
 of 5 bubbles darrenadventures, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“the suites or the Balcony rooms”
 of 5 bubbles , 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you want to upgrade to their premium rooms it's only €40, which you can pay when you check in”
 of 5 bubbles Mrussell84, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you can afford it, the penthouse rooms are to die for!”
 of 5 bubbles Jaime_McNeal, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5