Negresco Princess Hotel

Negresco Princess Hotel

Traveller (995)
Panorama at the Negresco Princess Hotel
360
Panoramas (50)
Photo de la réalité
Room & Suite (342)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#215 of 511 hotels in Barcelona
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
The new Hotel Negresco Princess is located in the heart of Barcelona Central, urban, cosmopolitan and minimalist, the Negresco Princess opens its doors for you to discover new sensations. With design, elegant and with modern facilities like comfortable rooms, terrace, outdoor pool, restaurants and incredible views to sea and city.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Massage
Rooftop terrace
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Rooftop pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Rooftop bar
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Catalan

Location

Roger de Lluria 16-18, 08010 Barcelona Spain
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Barcelona-El Prat Airport
12.8 km
See all flights
Costa Brava Airport
75.8 km
See all flights
Urquinaona
3 minBarcelona Metro
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles1,387 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Negresco Princess Hotel garners praise for its impeccable cleanliness and modern vibe, including a live piano ambiance and temperature-controlled rooms, some boasting balconies. Its central location is a hit among guests who appreciate the ease of accessing nearby attractions. However, opinions on the hotel's value are mixed, with some noting high service prices and underwhelming amenities. While the rooftop pool and bar are popular for their views, critiques of room size, noise insulation, and inconsistent service suggest that the hotel experience can vary for guests.
Location
Central
Atmosphere
Modern
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Spotless
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Satisfactory

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
1,387Review88Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 800
  • 387
  • 105
  • 50
  • 45
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Clare D wrote a review Jan 2020
Durham, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have just returned from Negresco Princess. We stayed 3 nights and would be happy to recommend this hotel to anyone. From the moment you walk in you feel welcome and we’re immediately offered a welcome drink.The location is great 5-10 minutes walk from Las Ramblas . Our room although fairly small was adequate for what we needed with a huge really comfortable bed, decent sized flat screen tv and a lovely large bathroom with the best shower we have ever had in a hotel anywhere. We didn’t eat there but we did visit the bar , it has a really nice atmosphere, the staff are very attentive and they had a pianist playing which was lovely. Staff on reception were very helpful and were happy to help me by printing off tickets for me for something we had booked after I emailed them to them. We did go up to floor 7 to see the pool and roof terrace bar and there were lovely views from there and I’m sure in the summer months would be lovely. We will definately stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from JairoM_NP, Director General at Negresco Princess Hotel
Responded Jan 19, 2020
Dear "ClareD788", Thank you for your fabulous comment about your stay at Negresco Princess Hotel. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you liked our services so much. We look forward to welcoming you soon in the near future! a cordial greeting,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Roger A wrote a review Jan 2020
Anaheim, California
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I have 20 years of Europe traveler experience, after many research I have selected this Hotel in Barcelona due to the central location and many attractions Sagrada Familia, gouda, Barcelona Plaza all within 2 km and less 2km=1.23 miles and the train station steps away, I am 73 years old we walked everyday throughout the city of Barcelona no problems, as we arrived to the Hotel Princess Negressco they were happy to welcome us and the room was ready, yes the room is not like US they are smaller but functional clean also has a small refrigerator with beer , soda, water are COMPLIMENTARY is not like any other hotel where they charge top dollars for it, you will like the shower large head like rain falling down, the bed is very comfortable a bit firm that how I like it. and the staff are very helpful Ariadna is an excellent host , excellent personality, great Customer relations, friendly, and very helpful , Also Mr. Oriol very pleasant , professional, excellent Customer relations, also he recommended an Italian restaurant nearby was spot on, see my review for Luigi restaurant. As for the cleaning staff they do excellent job, also if your breakfast included in your stay , the breakfast area is well situated and nicely done look like a restaurant than a cafeteria, excellent selection for breakfast will satisfy any appetite if you don't enjoy it is your fault, the staff at the breakfast area are helpful and professional specially Gaby she always smiling and willing to assist with anything you need, breakfast consist of fresh scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, bacon, salami, turkey, ham, cheese all kind and other meats, small sausage, fruits, vegetable, salads, all kind of breads, croissant, cookies, brownies, many other sweets, drinks champagne, wine, coffee, tea, espresso, cappuccino, juice, sparkling water, this is the best breakfast buffet no matter what other people say in the survey they don't appreciate a good one when they see it. I highly recommend this hotel and I commend their staff for excellent job, that is a excellent testimony to the upper management for hiring and training excellent people. I have spent four nights then travel to Madrid for four nights and came back to finish our vacation in Barcelona for another four nights at the same hotel, this is our last night, I want to thank all the staff for making our stay and first time in Barcelona enjoyable and great experience to cherish rest of our life.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: any room is a good room however ask for the rooms looking out to the street instead the atrium
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from JairoM_NP, Director de Recepción at Negresco Princess Hotel
Responded Jan 19, 2020
Dear "Roger A", What an amazing review, thank you very much for your trust! We are very happy to read that you had a lovely stay and even more than mentioned the treatment of our staff and the good vibes. We always try to make our guests feel at home. This is your home in Barcelona, so we hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
shona_28 wrote a review Mar 2020
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We only stayed for two nights but thought the location of the hotel and the hotel overall was really good and would definitely recommend!

We had one of the 'basic' rooms which had a fridge with one beer, one coke and two waters which were restocked daily. There was also a kettle and tea bags which we thought was a bit strange as there was no coffee sachets (not even instant) and when we asked reception they basically laughed at us for asking when we were 'only in a basic room', I felt the staff could have been friendlier but the bar staff were very nice.

However, that really is the only issue we had. The rooftop pool was amazing and heated and the views from the terrace were great too. The shower was really good, large waterfall shower with lots of pressure.

We use the 'MyTaxi' app at home and noticed they have it in Barcelona and there was a 20% discount on it for the whole time we were there so we used it to get to the airport (about 18 euros with the discount) so that is worth looking at although we heard the bus is cheap and easy to get.

I'd recommend El Nacional for food, it's not too far from the hotel and is a bit like a posh foodhall with lots of different restaurants inside, we went to the tapas one and it was really delicious.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from JAIRO MAYOLAS, Otros at Negresco Princess Hotel
Responded Mar 15, 2020
Dear "shona_28" Thank you for taking a moment and leave us your comment and score. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in Negresco princess. Our priority are our guest, we want to make feel like a home. also our location in the heart of the city is ideal to discover Barcelona. We remain at your entire disposal for any additional assistance you may need. We hope to welcome you again very soon! Warm greetings
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anon186402 wrote a review Jan 2020
Birmingham, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is a real mixed bag. On the one hand the hotel is central and the staff are helpful. It also includes nice touches like a free limited choice mini bar in the room and the cocktails at the ground floor bar are great (my partner especially liked the porn star martini).

However it was let down by some basic issues. The shower ran hot and cold or sometimes no hot water. the room was located near a soil pipe so every time someone flushed their toilet we heard the water coming down. Finally the setup of the room was bizarre with a separate toilet room (windowless) in the corridor of the room.

Not bad value for money but beware which room you get
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from JairoM_NP, Director General at Negresco Princess Hotel
Responded Jan 19, 2020
Dear "Anon186402", We are very sad to read your comment. At Negresco Princess Hotel, we work hard to provide our guests with the best possible experience in the city and, where appropriate, fail. We would like to inform you that we have 4 different types of rooms. We are sure that we have a perfect one for you. We hope to have another opportunity to make you feel the true "Princess Experience". The whole team will be happy to welcome you. Sincerely
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sarah G wrote a review Jan 2020
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I initially booked the hotel based on its stunning views from the rooftop and the infinity pool but two days before I was due to arrive I got an email to say there was an issue with my booking because the credit card in which it was held under (I used my parents card as I do not own a credit card) did not match the booking. I told them to call me and I would provide them with my partner's card, who was also under the booking, in order to rectify this issue. I heard no response. I then emailed again & said it was important that my booking wasn't cancelled as I was due to fly the next day and I can provide them with a replacement card (& change the official name on the booking) again heard no response. On the way to the airport the next morning I received an email to say my booking was officially cancelled. I then rebooked the hotel immediately out of cheer panic of being stranded in Barcelona after travelling from Ireland & I was fortunate enough to receive the same room at the same price.

Although my initial experience was extremely poor once I arrived the experience was much better & all in all a 5-star service. On arrival, we received a glass of champagne which was a great touch & the views from the hotel lived up to expectations. Although the pool was too cold to get into we still managed to use the sauna and soaked up the beautiful views from the rooftop. The rooms are extremely modern & we found the location very good, walking to the likes of Park Guell with no issues.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from JairoM_NP, Director General at Negresco Princess Hotel
Responded Feb 14, 2020
Dear "sarahgF7126AU" Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay at Negresco Princess Hotel. I am very sorry for the problems you had with your reservation and your payment. But at the same time, we are glad that you had a good experience once you arrived at the hotel. We will consider your opinion to improve further and hope to see you again. Best regards.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
3garcons wrote a review Feb 2020
Dublin, Ireland
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Just home from a 3-night stay at this hotel.

The hotel is perfectly located with about a 10-13 min walk to the top of Las Ramblas area. The street is quiet so traffic noise was at a minimum. The receptionists we dealt with were very polite and helpful and the bar staff too.

The bathroom was perfect and the shower was incredible.

I would recommend this hotel to friends and hopefully, we'll return with our children someday. Must see if they have family rooms or interconnecting rooms first!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from JAIRO MAYOLAS, Otros at Negresco Princess Hotel
Responded Feb 25, 2020
Dear "3garcons", Thank you for posting such a fabulous review after your recent stay at Negresco Princess Hotel. We feel proud to read your positive opinion about our central location, in room facilities and our fantastic rooftop pool and bar area. We will share your opinion with the front desk staff. All the Negresco team is hoping to have you again in a near future. Warm Regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lucy wrote a review Sep 2022
2.0 of 5 bubbles
This is definitely not a 4 star hotel. To start, I believe the hotel is falsely advertising the rooms as soundproof but they are far from soundproof. You should not be able to hear people coughing down in reception from your room. All night all you can hear is doors slamming shut. What’s made worse is that the void in the middle of the hotel just makes the noise eco around more. On our final night I had to knock on next doors door at 4am to ask them to turn their music down & to stop being so loud. At 5am I finally went down to reception as they had kept me awake for almost 3 hours.

The rooms are dark & dingy which makes it feel really unwelcoming and cold. There’s no window to outside, which made it hard for myself to do my makeup and also made it really hard to wake up on a morning. The room was just constantly dark and was quite depressing.

Customer service in the hotel was non existent. We complained about the ‘soundproof room’ and the guy on reception just shrugged his shoulder and said he would tell his manger. No apology that we felt that way was given nor a offer to move us room. We voiced this opinion at the time but he was less than interested and when we asked for a manager he said the main manager wasn’t in at all that weekend and they don’t have duty manager. The two on reception seemed to have no idea how to deal with upset customers or have any basic customer service skills. God forbid something serious happened and they only had them two in the building.

The view from the terrace is amazing but once again the service was horrendous. The first time we went, I went to the bar to order drinks to be told to sit down and wait for someone to come. After 20/25 minutes of waiting no one came so we left. On our last day the weather was so nice we tried again, but again the service was slow and it took 30 minutes after ordering our drinks for them to arrive. When we wanted to pay for our drinks the waiter snapped at my partner for not presenting a voucher we had sooner. Again, showing a major lack of customer service.

The pool was packed by people just laying at the side of it, making it impossible for anyone else to use it.

Overall, I think all the staff were rude and seemed very unhappy to be there. The rooms were dark and dingy. Definitely not four star standards. I would avoid at all costs and spend your hard earned money elsewhere as it’s expensive for a 2 star hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gary wrote a review Sep 2022
United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked a standard atrium room and wouldn’t recommend it. They’re dark and dingy.

These rooms are absolutely not soundproof as advertised on the website. Can you hear people in adjoining rooms, people in the hallways and doors slamming shut frequently.

The welcoming wasn’t great, and the welcome drink was unavailable at check in, we were told to ask for it the next day (we checked in at 2200).

The room was smaller than expected.

The TV had two English speaking channels and no ability to ‘cast’ from your phone to the TV.

The shower screen was loose from the ceiling and the room felt tired, though the shower itself was brilliant- powerful and hot.

The entrance and lobby are rather impressive, and you can tell that perhaps some 7 years ago when the Hotel first opened it would have been impressive but it’s now tired and worn.

We tried to raise concerns at Reception but was told there was no Manager available to speak to. Asked for a Duty Manager, they didn’t have one of those either. The two on Reception seemed truly uninterested in what we were saying.

The views from the bar are really good, drinks are nice, but the service was dreadful given the price you are paying for the drinks- I would have expected to have been served quicker and for it to have been friendlier than it was. I had a coupon from Reception to use, but the man at the bar snapped at me because I didn’t inform him at the right time. I raised that as a concern at Reception, but again, no Manager was available to speak to.

It is in a good walkable location, just minutes walk from the Metro and from Plaça de Catalunya which is the top end of La Rambla.

I really feel we paid a premium for a hotel that has some amazing reviews because we wanted to have more of a luxury weekend away but I’m not sure why they really do given our experience, and for that reason you can imagine my disappointment.

I would not return, and would not recommend this Hotel in Barcelona.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nancy wrote a review May 2022
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at the hotel in April with my friends. We had a triple room. The room was spacious and had a very nice view. The location was perfect and everything was close by. In terms of cleanliness it was zero. We asked for the room to be cleaned every day and it is assumed that they come in to change the sheets and towels etc. During the three nights stay, the sheets were not changed and the beds were partially arranged. There was dust and hair everywhere on the floor. They were also not even regular with towels. The people at the reception were super clumsy. They spoke good English but did not help, especially with taxis. At check in we went down several times because the card did not open the room. If I were to travel to Barcelona again I would not visit it again as a hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
krisdoesthings wrote a review Sep 2020
Reggio Emilia, Italy
2.0 of 5 bubbles
So, we're staying at this hotel and this is just the second day and so many things happened. Yesterday we found BLOOD on our sheets, we told them and they provided us a change of bed (they asked if we wanted to change room but we thought it was too much). But then we wanted to change our phones we found out that two charger spines of the room were broken. This morning we told them about the problem, they fixed it, yes, but if we wanted to stay in our room I wonder how they would do.
But the worse is: THE SMELL. Our room smells as if there were 9 people living here while we're out and the bathroom... is this a 4 star S or a station?
We hope this is just a bad moment for them.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
lisa r asked a question Apr 2024
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Is there complimentary shampoo and conditioner in the room?
Answer from earlymorn1606
Felpham, United Kingdom90 contributions5 helpful votes
Yes you can I got there very early and they stored it
Answer from tom f
3 contributions
I would say no more than 10 minutes in a taxi , which were usually parked by the hotel.
Teemaria wrote a tip Apr 2024
Bromley, United Kingdom22 contributions23 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Please note there is an outside pool but is near the rooftop bar. Sauna is included in price Balcony rooms only a few are on the 6th floor"
Read full review
Chris wrote a tip Mar 2024
9 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just go there!"
Read full review
alsupremo wrote a tip Mar 2024
Canada531 contributions209 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t drive"
Read full review
sophdan1989 wrote a tip Jan 2024
The Royal Town of Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom2 contributions2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a room as high as possible that is not a connecting room!"
Read full review
Simon65Tracey wrote a tip Nov 2023
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom66 contributions67 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book breakfast inclusive room rate and get a Superior Room as high up as possible."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Barcelona area.
PRICE RANGE
C$274 - C$388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
SpainCataloniaProvince of BarcelonaBarcelonaEixample / La Dreta de l'Eixample
NUMBER OF ROOMS
129
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Negresco Princess Hotel - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Negresco Princess Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Negresco Princess Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Palace of Catalan Music (0.4 km), Maximum Escape 3 (0.3 km), and Maximum Escape 1 (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Negresco Princess Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Negresco Princess Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Negresco Princess Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Negresco Princess Hotel?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Negresco Princess Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Zenith Brunch & Cocktails, Malvón Eci Plaza Cataluña, and Rudi of Pirate Cooking.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Negresco Princess Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a sauna during their stay.
Is Negresco Princess Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Barcelona.
Are any cleaning services offered at Negresco Princess Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Negresco Princess Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Catalan.
Are there any historical sites close to Negresco Princess Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Basílica de Santa Maria del Mar (1.1 km), Reial Monestir de Santa Maria de Pedralbes (4.9 km), and Ciutat Vella (1.2 km).
All Barcelona HotelsBarcelona Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in BarcelonaHotels near Negresco Princess Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars