We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,522 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos
See the most recent reviews
Showing 646: English reviews
Dublin
Reviewed 26 September 2014

Stayed here for two nights at end of camino. Very disappointed. Arrived at check in and we were checked in by a really rude girl who spoke to someone on the phone during the whole process. We weren't welcomed or given any information basically we were ignored and key was thrown across the desk at us. The general impression around...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank GMCTraveller
Lydney, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 September 2014

Really enjoyed our stay here - this was our third visit to Santiago and first time at the parador and it did not disappoint This place is so steeped in history and makes a great hotel - no issues with the room, comfortable and clean We were travelling with some friends and we all had a fantastic dinner in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BigTusker
Julio_Castro_Marcote, Gerente at Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos, responded to this review

Dear guest, We are glad that you had a pleasant stay and hope to return to trust us Best Regards,

new york
Reviewed 21 September 2014

We felt really privileged to stay in this historic building which has played so many roles over its long history. Just entering the building off the grand plaza was exciting. The adventure to walk through history on the way to our room was stimulating. Our room itself was very spacious and well appointed,(having entered through a grand and imposing wooden...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank janeaustinNY
Julio_Castro_Marcote, Gerente at Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos, responded to this review

Dear guest, We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and have lived the experience of staying in a building with over 500 years of history Kind regards

Morristown, NJ
Reviewed 20 September 2014

This really is quite an amazing place to stay. Driving in from Aviles, our GPS got us to the hotel successfully. Based on other comments on Trip Advisor, I knew that we had to drive right past some pedestrian-only barriers and up a cobbled street along the side of the hotel and on into the large central plaza. The hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank C1andG2
Julio_Castro_Marcote, Gerente at Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for sharing the experience of your stay in our hotel. I will report your opinion to the staff. I hope to see you again in this Parador. Kind regards.

California
Reviewed 12 September 2014 via mobile

It is now my third time visiting this hotel and it's the worst customer service of the entire camino. The building is gorgeous, lots of history. I think next time I will try another hotel in Santiago. At front desk and concierge I asked for help regarding changes to my train ticket. The receptionist asked me to come back in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank lanitrek
Julio_Castro_Marcote, Gerente at Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thanks for your comments and apologies for the attention. I will talk with reception staff to improve our client attention and don't repeat that situation. Kind Regards,

usa
Reviewed 12 September 2014

We enjoyed our room and our stay here. As always, the food at the Paradores is excellent. We had a guided tour here because there is so much history. Our room was large and clean. One thing I don't like is that all of the Paradores we stayed in on this trip had one big long skinny pillow for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelingyogi
Julio_Castro_Marcote, Gerente at Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for sharing the experience of your stay in our hotel. I will report your opinion to the staff. In the Parador we have a pillow carte. Sorry if that offer it's not enoght visible. I hope to see you again in this Parador. Kind regards.

Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 September 2014

Had a fabulous stay here and would endorse the previous comments. A sense of luxury as well as fascinating history with the stunning cathedral, good restaurants,and interesting shops in close proximity. Additionally, the best breakfast we experienced on our travels-fresh, varied and excellent quality. An absolutely wonderful place to visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 50324traveller
Julio_Castro_Marcote, Gerente at Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thanks for your comments. We are happy with your experience at the breakfast restaurant. I hope to see you again in this Parador. Kind regards,

North Wales
Reviewed 5 September 2014

Our second visit to the Parador and it didn't disappoint. Room even better than last time, had room on 3rd floor and bathroom was significantly better than last time presumably refurbished in the last 4 years. We enjoyed an excellent meal in the restaurant , the one in the cellar,meal superb and service very good. Probably one of the best...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank adafiggy
Julio_Castro_Marcote, Gerente at Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thanks for giving us the opportunity to show our improvements and I will report your opinion to the staff. I hope to see you again in this Parador. Kind regards,

UK
Reviewed 5 September 2014

This hotel is absolutely wonderful but, as many other visitors have observed, it is so much more than a hotel. Whilst its history and architecture are fascinating, it also evokes a sense of peace and tranquility, awe and wonder. Even the 'standard' room we stayed in was more spacious and well arranged than some other hotels we had visited. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelfan83
Julio_Castro_Marcote, Gerente at Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments. We are happy with your experience at the breakfast restaurant. I hope to see you again in this Parador. Kind Regards

Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewed 3 September 2014

This was our second stay at this Parador (the first was 10 years ago) and very little seems to have changed, except that the breakfast, which was, 10 years ago MONUMENTAL (I especially remember, with fondness, the OPEN bottles of cava and the plethora of Tartas de Santiago) has now been somewhat reduced to being simply SERIOUSLY GOOD. Now there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank barbararitchie

1,628 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1135)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (347)
Viewed
Room/Suite (171)
Viewed
Dining (62)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (63)
Viewed
View from Room (37)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (13)
Viewed
Other (430)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (443)
Viewed
Amenities (29)
Viewed
Dining (76)
Viewed
Standard Room (47)
Viewed
Suite del Cardenal (67)
Viewed
Suite Real (68)
Viewed
Superior Room (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (122)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago de Compostela hotels
0.3 km away
San Francisco Hotel Monumento
San Francisco Hotel Monumento
#5 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
760 reviews
3.2 km away
Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Quinta da Auga
Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Qu...
#2 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
722 reviews
0.4 km away
Altair Hotel
Altair Hotel
#3 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
NH Collection Santiago de Compostela
NH Collection Santiago de Compos...
#6 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
1,306 reviews
0.6 km away
AC Palacio del Carmen, Autograph Collection
AC Palacio del Carmen, Autograph...
#9 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
557 reviews
0.3 km away
Smart Boutique Hotel Literario San Bieito
Smart Boutique Hotel Literario S...
#8 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos Restaurant
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos Restaurant
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Spanish
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Royal Hospital, late 15th century pilgrim¿s hostelCombining history, art and tradition, the goal of pilgrims and the emblem of St. James, the Hostal dos Reis Católicos, in the Plaza do Obradoiro, forms together with the cathedral one of the world’s most remarkable, and most visited, urban settings. The Hostal, which first saw life as a Royal Hospital in 1499 to house the many pilgrims arriving in Santiago, today still invites the traveller to enjoy this universal and fascinating city. Considered the oldest hotel in the world, it is also one of the most luxurious and beautiful. It has four extremely beautiful cloisters, elegant public rooms, spectacular bedrooms and a luxurious dining room offering Galician style fish and meats and the classic apple filloa pies and crème brulee. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos

Address: Praza Obradoiro 1, 15705, Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Region: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > Santiago de Compostela
Price Range: $234 - $539 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Santiago De Compostela Hotel Santiago De Compostela
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#8 Family Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#8 Business Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All room are well positioned”
 of 5 bubbles lucianoferro61, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the square are the best for views but all seem comfortable and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles zigeunerin, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for the back court yard and an upgraded room.”
 of 5 bubbles roadwarrior50, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All rooms were beautiful but if your are looking for special you might want a view over the square”
 of 5 bubbles GibbsBlackCat, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“choose a room with a cloister view!”
 of 5 bubbles Phinthyme, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5