We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hostal Gala

Show Prices
#103 of 447 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Hostal Gala
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

500 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 174: English reviews
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Hostal Gala is located in a very convenient part of town, within walking distance of everything you'll want to visit. The rooms are clean and modern and the staff is very friendly. It was a great place to start our visit in Madrid.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank charlies788
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 28 October 2016

I'm just appalled this place gets such great reviews. Its not horrible, but not worth such great reviews at all. First, the rooms are TINY. I knew we wouldn't be getting a huge hotel style room, but this was TINY. The rooms could also use a deep cleaning. Sure they were surface clean, but no one had washed the walls...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WanderingBrunette
HostalGala M, Director de Recepción at Hostal Gala, responded to this review

Dear WanderingBrunette, We are sorry you did not have a pleseant stay with us. The boiler issue was fixed as fast as possible and we offered rooms that were not affected to shower in. As far as the size of the rooms, we have serveral categories. The "small double room" is intended for short stays with little luggage. Travelers on...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 25 October 2016

Not a superb first impression as the hostal is located on the second floor of a multi-use building. Once we were shown our room however - WOW! We booked the Superior Double Room. Beautiful corner room with high ceilings and stunning views on to the street. Massive king bed and just very spacious - unusual for many European stays! Staff...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank k0stravel
HostalGala M, Director de Recepción at Hostal Gala, responded to this review

Dear k0stravel, We are glad that you had a good stay in our little jewel, the "superior double". The building is indeed historical and we are slowly undergoing soundproofing. Thank you for taking the time to review us. Best regards, Hostal Gala

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 October 2016

We were a bit nervous about what to expect as it was quite reasonably priced, but the room was brilliant with a lovely balcony overlooking a square, nice and clean with modern decor, comfy beds and a great shower. The reception staff were lovely, very helpful and friendly. Very close to the Grand via and all other attractions. Would defiantly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank elaine t
HostalGala M, Director de Recepción at Hostal Gala, responded to this review

Dear Elaine, Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. Also, thank you for your comments on our staff. Theese are a great source of motivation for us. We would love to see you return to Hostal Gala in the future. Best regards, Hostal Gala

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed for two nights. Room was spacious and clean. Street outside is quite noisy so don't stay here if you want peace and quiet. Central location with all sites within walking distance. A good value place to stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claire J
HostalGala M, Director de Recepción at Hostal Gala, responded to this review

Dear Claire, Thank you very much for sharing your opinion with other Tripadvisor travellers. We hope to see you again whenever you return to Madrid. Best regards, Xurxo Hostal Gala

Reviewed 5 October 2016 via mobile

This hostel has small yet clean rooms with private bathroom. The location is perfect, you are at walking distance from all center sights. Plus the price is very good for the area. ** tip: bring ear plugs if the noise bothers you; sometimes the streets are loud and the neighbors snore :). Recommended!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maria Jose L
HostalGala M, Director de Recepción at Hostal Gala, responded to this review

Dear Maria, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are glad that you have had a pleasant stay at Hostal Gala and hope to see you again. Best regards, Hostal Gala

Cape Canaveral, Florida
Reviewed 30 September 2016

This little hotel is located in a very centralized location close to the Gran Via, Opera, and several metro stations. All the major sites in central Madrid is within walking distance. The hotel is on the second floor of the building so that was a bit confusing when arriving. The hotel is very clean and the staff is very helpful....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jamie F
HostalGala M, Director de Recepción at Hostal Gala, responded to this review

Dear Jaime, Thank you very much for your honest opinion and your remarks on our staff. Do note that we have rooms facing the inside of the building for travelers that demand more silence. Please let us know your preference when you come back. Best regards, Hostal Gala

Canada
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

This small, elevator serviced hotel provides excellent quality rooms with generous comfortable beds and generous memory foam body pillows. The rooms are clean and fairly spacious with balconies overlooking a vivacious Madrid street and plaza. But fear not light sleeper, although the party below will go on well past 0400 the excellent windows and shutters will reduce the most raucous...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wyrecairn
HostalGala M, Director de Recepción at Hostal Gala, responded to this review

Dear wyrecairn: Thank you very much for your detailed review! We are glad you had a confortable stay with us and hope to see you whenever you come back to Madrid. Best regards, Hostal Gala

Stone Mountain, Georgia
Reviewed 17 August 2016

An elevator provides access to this small Hostal on the second floor with just a few steps to manage. The en-suite rooms seem to vary in size and all are decorated in shades of grey, are comfortable and contain all the necessary features. The rooms overlook a friendly neighborhood irregularly shaped square which contains access to the Santo Domingo Metro...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony1784
HostalGala M, Director de Recepción at Hostal Gala, responded to this review

Dear Tony1748, Thank you for your opinion. Our en-suite rooms do vary in size and configuration. Whenever you want to come back to Madrid, check our website and we will give you any room you want as long as it is avaliable. We hope to see you again. Best regards, Hostal Gala

Tipperary, Ireland
Reviewed 11 August 2016

The hotel is clean & in excellent location. Great spot for night life & shopping. So close to tourist destinations!!! Brilliant all round. The hotel had lovely & friendly staff, you have 24 hour ballet service. The bedrooms are big & the bathroom has a great power shower. It's only minor issue is it's outside signage is difficult to find....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Britawieve
HostalGala M, Director de Recepción at Hostal Gala, responded to this review

Dear Britawieve, Thank you for taking the time to rate us. Your opinion is very valuable. Also, thank you for mentioning our staff. Just to clarify for future travelers that may have read this, we do have an elevator in the building. We apologize if we failed to tell you. We hope to see you again whenever you travel to...

549 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (166)
Viewed
Room/Suite (57)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (53)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (376)
Viewed
Amsterdam Apartment (88)
Viewed
Double Room (39)
Viewed
Sydney Apartment (124)
Viewed
The Hotel (47)
Viewed
Triple Room (34)
Viewed
Twin Room (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hostal Oriente
Hostal Oriente
#96 of 447 in Madrid
394 reviews
Centro
Praktik Metropol
Praktik Metropol
#87 of 447 in Madrid
1,206 reviews
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#49 of 447 in Madrid
1,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hostal Las Fuentes
Hostal Las Fuentes
#88 of 447 in Madrid
558 reviews
Arguelles
Sercotel Suites Viena
Sercotel Suites Viena
#23 of 447 in Madrid
1,168 reviews
Malasana
Hostal Ballesta
Hostal Ballesta
#118 of 447 in Madrid
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Centro

Neighbourhood Profile
Centro
Expansive plazas, local and foreign crowds, street performers, colorful lights, window shopping, restaurant signs promising the best paella, ham, and churros con chocolate- this is downtown Madrid, a collection of plazas interconnected by a network of side streets. Some of these side streets are wide pedestrian shopping routes, and some are hidden, so it's possible to duck in and out of the bustle as desired. The iconic Puerta del Sol is the giant crossroads of the city and a must-see attraction at any time of the day. The nearby Plaza Mayor, completely enclosed by historic red buildings, is an ideal place to grab a bite to eat outside, amidst scores of tables and people out for a stroll. Plaza Isabel II (also known as “Opera”) is smaller and a good meeting spot, and the stately Plaza del Oriente is the front yard of the Royal Palace. Centro can be touristy (pickpockets are unfortuately not unheard-of here), crowded, and sometimes gimmicky, but it is also the place to experience classic Madrid.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A unique experience awaits you in the heart of Madrid. Everything in Hostel Gala has been totally refurbished and designed in detail to provide modern design, comfort and simplicity. You can enjoy your stay with all the shops, restaurants, bars and nightclubs around. Everything you would expect to find in Madrid, just a stone’s throw away from your hostel. Our friendly staff is always here for you to give you all the information you need and to make your stay as pleasant as possible. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hostal Gala

Address: Costanilla Angeles 15, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Price Range: $75 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostal Gala 1*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hostal Gala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Gala Hotel Madrid
Hotel Style:
#36 Best Value Hotel in Madrid
#75 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#86 Family Hotel in Madrid
#99 Business Hotel in Madrid
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hostal Gala staff and other travellers.
27 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Central Florida, Florida
Victoria, Australia
2 months ago
Breckenridge, Colorado

See all questions (27)

Questions? Get answers from Hostal Gala staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Superior Double was well worth it!”
 of 5 bubbles k0stravel, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Request a room that does not face the street.”
 of 5 bubbles JamieF252, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Try for front room rather than side rom for less street noise. There is a club/bar in the street on the side.”
 of 5 bubbles DonMacalister, 8 Jul 2016 | Read review
“We were looking onto street so essential to shut windows at night but good soundproofing”
 of 5 bubbles 412nicolaf, 23 May 2015 | Read review
“All rooms are on the second floor and well soundproofed. Rooms looking out on to the square have a better view”
 of 5 bubbles GilesP, 6 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay