We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Tryp Madrid Centro

Show Prices
#262 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Tryp Madrid Centro
Tryp Madrid Centro
Panoramas (3)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

907 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 171: English reviews
Start your review of Tryp Madrid Centro
 Click to rate
Miami, Florida
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

This is an ok hotel that offers a clean bed and a shower. For an American, this would be more like a two star. It's small with a stiff bed (typical in Europe) but it is also lacking a mini bar/fridge, coffee machine or kettle. The staff is pleasant and friendly, the room is clean and it's on Gran Via....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alis R
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Even though the reception is small the rooms are a very good size. The location is great, though the rooms can get a bit loud due to the Mercado in the back. Breakfast is slightly tired, but again totally adequate.. and you could always go Starbucks across the street if you don't like it. Would not oppose staying again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Csdh09
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is okay. It ticks all the 'weekend away' boxes where not much time is spent in the hotel. It is clean and is adequate enough with its services, but most importantly quite central to a lot of shops and bars. Would recommend if going for a short weekend and no longer.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matthew P
JOAQUIN G, Dpto Gex at Tryp Madrid Centro, responded to this review

Dear Matthew P Thank you very much for your comments. We highlight appreciate the time that you have taken to share your experience with us and other guests through TripAdvisor because we constantly strive to exceed our guest’s expectations of service and it is always satisfying to hear that these efforts are noticed. Once again we thank you for your...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is comfortable. The staff is bilingual and very helpful when wanting to know anything about Madrid and areas around. When asking about getting to tourist day trip locations​, the staff took the time to write out train numbers, buses and more. Just so very helpful. Around the corner on Gran Via there is a Mall called Primark Gran...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wayne W
JOAQUIN G, Dpto Gex at Tryp Madrid Centro, responded to this review

Dear Wayne W It is great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and it is a pleasure for us to know that you were delighted with the hotel facilities and our staff. We are constantly working on providing our very best services for our guests, and we are glad to see that our attempts are appreciated....

Reviewed 6 December 2016

The location cannot be better, in the great Gran Via. The check-in was handled very friendly, the room was clean and the amenities very nice. The buffet breakfast worth it, it is very varied and good quality, which in addition to the good views from the dining room, makes it worth to have breakfast there instead of in a bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank valmegc
JOAQUIN G, Dpto Gex at Tryp Madrid Centro, responded to this review

Dear valmegc Thank you so much for your comments.We hugely appreciate your kind and sincere words because for us your feedback is very important. It is a great pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Your positive comments will help us with our continuing effort to improve the service quality. As you know it is only...

Torremolinos, Spain
Reviewed 1 November 2016

I have stayed many times at this very centrally located hotel where front desk--rooms and breakfast are always excellent. Saturday night -- it was a disaster. I assume a senior Manager instructed the engineer to open the bathroom heating system to such an extent it was difficult to sleep. Right now Madrid is basking in wonderful sunny weather with daily...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank IRELANDSMAN
JOAQUIN G, Dpto Gex at Tryp Madrid Centro, responded to this review

Dear IRELANDSMAN We would like to thank you for transmitting us your comments and please accept our apologies for the inconveniences experienced during your stay. While we are happy to know you enjoyed our rooms and breakfast offer, we are sorry that facilities prevented you having a more comfortable stay. Please rest assured that your feedback is so valuable for...

Gran Canaria, Spain
Reviewed 29 September 2016

Chess but IT comes with The price that The standard is not The best! Nice enighet gut IT is Word down, despite to sevral paintowers, low on facilities. - gym was a mini gym where sevral machines was out of order. !

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank loaclist
JOAQUIN G, E-guest Experience at Tryp Madrid Centro, responded to this review

Dear loaclist, Thank you for taken some of your valuable time to send us your comments. Please accept our most sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused during your stay with us. Indeed, the situation described is not in line with our quality and brand standards. We are sorry to read that your experience with us did not meet your expectations....

Miami, Florida
Reviewed 13 September 2016

I booked it under HANDICAPPED FRIENDLY advertisement Unfortunately you can't at Gran Via , they have no luggage MALETERO service, in another words, and to make a long story short, THEY CHARGE YOU and you get nothing I had to cancel and go to another hotel with parking and MALETERO, service

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank enuzzijr1n
JOAQUIN G, E-guest Experience at Tryp Madrid Centro, responded to this review

Dear enuzzijr1n, Thank you for taken some of your valuable time to send us your comments. We are very sorry to know that you had to cancel the reservation in our hotel. I would like to let you know that we have accessible rooms, but we cannot offer you the porter service. We take into account your suggestions in order...

Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed 30 August 2016

The first surprise came when I tried to enter the hotel – there were renovations ongoing on the ground floor and the whole reception area was closed. I was directed two doors down the street to another Tryp hotel – which actually is in the adjacent building. They took care of the check-in there and then had me take one...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ffay005
JOAQUIN G, E-guest Experience at Tryp Madrid Centro, responded to this review

Dear ffay005, Thank you for having taken some of your valuable time to send us your feedback about some points of our hotel and our staff . We appreciate to hear that your expectations were met with our services and facilities and that you enjoyed. We take into account your suggestions in order to improve our service. Tripadvisor is a...

Madrid, Spain
Reviewed 9 August 2016

Very close to the Plaza de Espana and Gran Via. It was amazing location. You can enjoy the breakfast overlooking the Gran Via street. Tryp Madrid Centro and Plaza Espana are sharing the breakfast restaurant. Both hotels are neighbors.

Review collected in partnership with Meliá Hotels International
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hyungsoonc
JOAQUIN G, E-guest Experience at Tryp Madrid Centro, responded to this review

Dear hyungsoonc, Thank you a lot for taking your time to post a comment and in this way to share with other Trip advisor’s users about your experience in Tryp Madrid Centro! It is a pleasure for us to know that our customers feel comfortable and glad with our facilities and services. We will be delighted to welcome you back...

367 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (242)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (42)
Viewed
Room/Suite (64)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (87)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (118)
Viewed
Family Room (33)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Standard Room (21)
Viewed
The Hotel (23)
Viewed
Triple Room (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Malasana
Tryp Madrid Plaza Espana Hotel
Centro
Tryp Madrid Gran Via Hotel
Tryp Madrid Gran Via Hotel
#188 of 444 in Madrid
856 reviews
Malasana
Tryp Madrid Cibeles Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Exe Suites 33
Hotel Exe Suites 33
#190 of 444 in Madrid
603 reviews
Huertas
Tryp Madrid Atocha Hotel
Tryp Madrid Atocha Hotel
#191 of 444 in Madrid
1,200 reviews
Centro
Espahotel Gran Via
Espahotel Gran Via
#182 of 444 in Madrid
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Malasana

Neighbourhood Profile
Malasana
Hip bars and galleries, independent theaters and music venues, young people with tattoos and funky hair, narrow winding streets — this is Malasaña. Near the center, Plaza Dos de Mayo is a gathering of friends outside bars, dog owners, artists under craft tents, and creative types with notebooks and sketchpads on the plaza’s benches. It may not be as neat and tidy as many other parts of the city, but this only adds to the Malasaña edge. Shops and bars here range from hippie-crunchy to upscale trendy, and on weekends, the streets are bustling around the clock as the nightlife progresses from dinner to bar to disco to late-night food. On the west side of the neighbourhood is the subdistrict called Conde Duque, named after a large pink fort in its center that has been converted into a cultural center for exhibitions and performances. Prettier yet just as edgy, this intimate corner of Malasaña is home to a young international community.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Tryp Madrid Centro

Address: Calle Gran Via 72, 28015 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Tryp Madrid Washington Hotel)
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Price Range: $121 - $401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tryp Madrid Centro 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Tryp Madrid Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Washington Hotel Madrid
Tryp Hotel Washington
Tryp Hotel Madrid
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in Madrid
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tryp Madrid Centro staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Tryp Madrid Centro staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The buffet breakfast worth it”
 of 5 bubbles valmegc, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“check with google earth to see if the premisses and the description watch”
 of 5 bubbles enuzzijr1n, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms with City View are okay ..Traffic sounds still do bother you sometime”
 of 5 bubbles Rahulteamwork, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay here if you want to keep your stuff.”
 of 5 bubbles 78whitneyd, 20 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Only the front facing rooms have a view”
 of 5 bubbles AbrahamC600, 13 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5