Thompson Madrid, by Hyatt

Thompson Madrid, by Hyatt

Traveller (158)
Room & Suite (135)
Dining (8)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#58 of 475 hotels in Madrid
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Thompson Madrid is located in the center of Madrid's new "Golden Mile", between the city's most visited icons: Puerta del Sol, Palacio Real and the commercial street of Gran Vía. With its exceptional location, Thompson Madrid hotel is perfect for both business and leisure guests seeking a real experience that stimulates all the senses, combining design, art, luxury, culinary sophistication and avant-garde leisure offerings. The hotel has 175 rooms, including 22 suites and a Penthouse that have been carefully designed and decorated for each guest to discover a new sense of luxury. Each room is the perfect blend of art, elegant and avant-garde design. The hotel has more than 600 m2 of indoor and outdoor event space. Each room is designed as an extension of a cozy living area and invites you to continue to enjoy the Thompson experience. Perfect for unwinding and relaxing, the hotel offers an exceptional culinary and leisure experience: a urban wellbeing Oasis in the heart of the city located on the rooftop with a swimming pool with hydromassage and an area with sunbeds to relax while enjoying the panoramic views of Madrid. To complete its offer, guests can enjoy 3 innovative gastronomic options created by the acclaimed restaurant group "La Ancha": TAMA, The Omar and Hijos de Tomás. The Thompson hotel is a 3-minute walk from Puerta del Sol and only a 30-minute drive from Adolfo Suárez Madrid-Barajas International Airport. Thompson Madrid will offer a truly unique stay thanks to the exclusivity of its accommodation and service, as well as the environment where it is located.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Rooftop terrace
Rooftop pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Rooftop bar
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Bath / shower
Room types
City view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
City View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

Plaza del Carmen, 28013 Madrid Spain
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Barajas Airport
14.3 km
See all flights
Gran Vía
3 minMadrid Metro
Callao
4 minMadrid Metro
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles386 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Thompson Madrid, by Hyatt, is lauded for its central location, providing easy access to the city's attractions, and its modern rooms equipped with comfortable amenities and effective soundproofing. Guests have called out the luxurious bathrooms and the rooftop pool's breathtaking views as highlights. While the hotel's ambiance and cleanliness generally earn high marks, some visitors have experienced issues with housekeeping and disruptive noise from construction and nightlife. Opinions on value and service quality vary, with some guests finding the hotel well worth the cost and others noting occasional service lapses.
Location
Central
Atmosphere
Sophisticated
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Immaculate
Noise level
Noisy
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Top-notch

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
386Reviews5Q+A36Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 320
  • 31
  • 11
  • 13
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Patriklise wrote a review Oct 2022
Chicago, Illinois
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
From the lobby to the rooms. All black marble accents and real wood in this luxurious hotel. The shower had rain head and handheld, glass doors, and night lights in room so you don’t have to stub your toe in middle of night.
Large screen flat Tv and beautiful area rug under bed
You can have your sheets changed nightly if you want
Hallways have auto lites as you walk by
Hotel very green and very plush
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: It is difficult for drivers and taxis to find because it is new Must tell them it is in Plays...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from THOMPSON MADRID, Guest Services / Front Office at Thompson Madrid, by Hyatt
Responded Oct 30, 2022
Dear guest, Thank you so much for your amazing review! We are delightes to know that your experience with us went so well, as our main objective is to make guests feel at home. We are glad that you enjoyed as well the hotel itself, the design and facilities, so thank you very much for your feedback. We hope to welcome you back soon! Sincerely,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
trahveller wrote a review Jan 2023
Wherever the cheap fares take me
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here 5 nights. Hotel is well located near several Metro stops (Sol, Callao, Gran Via). Check in was easy and pleasant...they offered a little jamon and wine while we waited. Decor of the hotel is very nice...muted dark tones and colors, which remind me more for a Park Hyatt.

The suite was a healthy size, with a spacious bathroom, generous high powered rain shower, separate tub, with a separated sitting and dining area. Everything worked in the room, we did not need to request anything be fixed, which was nice. Housekeeping service was fast and efficient, I never saw them in the halls, yet they cleaned the rooms promptly when we went out to breakfast. When I was in the room all day and requested just water be sent up late in the day, they cleaned the room even in the evening, which was nice. Room was quiet despite the busy area down below.

Breakfast in the hotel was excellent. Servers were all friendly and efficient, and the food was all you wanted to order from an alacarte menu and was of high quality. Fresh pastries and fresh juice, good coffee, and a variety of sweet, savory, european and more indulgent american style items and options.

Check out was fast and easy, just dropped my keys and gave my room number and walked out. Hyatt Glob treatment was excellent, with water, breakfast etc all being offered regularly with no issues. Would stay here again for sure. Would I spent $500+ a night? Sadly probably not, at least not in Madrid so there is the quandry. Definitely a top notch hotel though, so it would merit being selected over other options even at a price premium, just not sure how much of a premium given other good (not as great but still good) options in Madrid. Regardless, loved the hotel and the staff and everything about it.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from THOMPSON MADRID, Guest Services / Front Office at Thompson Madrid, by Hyatt
Responded Jan 16, 2023
Dear traveller, First of all I would like to thank you for taking your time to comment on our Hotel and the services rendered. We highly value your opinion for process of continuous improvement and as a base for making our guests stay more enjoyable every time. It is a pleasure to know that you liked the helpfulness of our staff and the efficient of our housekeeping service. Thank you for your feedback regarding the breakfast. I will make sure to pass it on to our Director of Food and Beverage. We do hope that you enjoyed your stay overall and look forward to welcoming you back to the Thompson Madrid, hopefully soon. Sincerely, Guest Experience
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
erincN4965LD wrote a review Oct 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The staff was very kind and welcoming, and they were gracious enough to speak English with us (my Spanish speaking skills are not great). We arrived in the morning, and the staff was able to find us a room well before the 3pm standard check in time. We had a corner suite on the 7th floor that was absolutely gorgeous, and very well stocked with necessities, including bottles of water that were replenished daily. The natural light and views of the city were fantastic, but their were also automatic blackout shades on the windows which allowed for great quality sleep. The entire staff was so friendly and accommodating for the entirety of our stay. The location, right on Plaza del Carmen was very convenient for walking to all points of interest in the city.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: October 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from THOMPSON MADRID, Guest Services / Front Office at Thompson Madrid, by Hyatt
Responded Oct 29, 2023
¡Hola! We cannot thank you enough for the wonderful and detailed review you wrote for us! We are extremely happy to know that your stay at Thompson Madrid went so well. Thank you for your comments We hope as well that you have the chance to come back to the city and we would be delighted to welcome you back at your home in Madrid. Best regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
boolz wrote a review Sep 2023
Seattle, Washington
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I think the inconvenience of the construction and inaccessibility is factored into the cost because at the price we paid, the hotel was a great value. The rooms ares an absolute gem. The sleep quality + shower felt like we were in a Mandarin Oriental or St. Regis which are hotels that are several categories higher. Breakfasts were good, although the service could have been better. The attendants seem to be all over the place. The gym was nice. Nice rooftop + pool as well, although it felt a bit crowded. It's not the best location in Madrid for sure but the metro was nearby and there are several attractions within walking distance. Room service was great. Overall no complaints
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the center (not the construction)
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from THOMPSON MADRID, Guest Services / Front Office at Thompson Madrid, by Hyatt
Responded Sep 5, 2023
Dear boolz, We would like to thank you for taking some minutes of your valuable time to share your recent experience with us. For us it is very important all the feedback, in order to keep improving. We are very glad that in spite of the subjects you brought up, you enjoyed your stay with us. We really hope to welcome you back in a near future. Warm regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
888kai wrote a review Dec 2022
Portland, Oregon
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I am a Hyatt Globalist member, the hotel upgraded my suite two days before check-in, thank you very much. The staff is very friendly, we arrived at the hotel at 2:30 am, the staff came out to help us with our luggage, and provided us with hot water and coffee. And prepared a crib for us. There are chocolates with Madrid street patterns presented by the hotel in the room, which is very considerate. The hotel is located in a very central location, downstairs is the most lively area. The hotel does not have its own parking lot, but it cooperates with the parking lot next to it, and there are some discounts for staying guests. The entrance of the hotel is under construction, and there are many one-way streets, so we took the wrong route twice when using Apple Maps . I called the front desk and asked for GPS navigation to the Subway across the street downstairs from the hotel. Once we are familiar with the surrounding road conditions, we can easily return to the hotel. The breakfast was very good and my wife loved it. In addition to what you can order from the menu, they also offer starters, artisanal croissants and more. It caused me to order too much food for the first time, so much food we can’t finished that I could only take it away hahahaha, We are generous travelers and I tipped 10 euros every times for the valet parking people and people who helping us set up the crib , the breakfast waiter etc but the only small issue that surprised me was a bag of small potato chips is 8.5 euros in room mini bar lol , Compared with the rich breakfast provided by the hotel, this contrast is a bit big hahaha
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from THOMPSON MADRID, Atención al cliente/recepción at Thompson Madrid, by Hyatt
Responded Dec 7, 2022
Dear 888kai, First and most important, thank you for your loyalty with Hyatt as a Globalist member and for chose us to spend your days in Madrid around the Thompson family. It is amazing to know that we have fulfill your expectations and we were able to make your stay great. Your highlights about some of the hotel amenities like our own designated chocolates or our breakfast service is much appreciated. But the most important point is your kind words towards the hotel staff because our aim is to make you feel like at home. We hope to see you again very soon at Thompson Madrid. Kind regards, Borja Novegil Guest Experience Department Thompson Madrid
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kristine Dimple wrote a review Dec 2022
Los Angeles, California
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked our stay towards the end of our trip in Europe and I quite regret not staying longer.
Here’s my take:
1.) It’s a Hyatt brand. I haven’t had a bad experience with them. I am a tier out from being a globalist but I felt like I was treated like one. Even better than my Diamond status experience from another brand. as soon as I booked, I emailed their PR and made them aware we were celebrating our anniversary.
2.) As soon as we walked in the lobby, we were welcomed with warmth by the friendly staffs. Very professional and well trained. They all looked happy!
3.) While we were waiting to get checked in, the bellman took our luggages and we were escorted to seat and relax in the lobby. We were offered warm wash cloths, wine and some appetizers. Such a great touch! I have stayed in many 5 star hotels, they hardly ever do that anymore!
4.) We were fine just relaxing in the lobby but our check in process was quick so we were then assisted to our room. We walked in to a King Bed with Terrace and City View Suite. Plus to our surprise, a bottle of champagne, chocolate covered strawberries with hand written note have been prepared for us. Such a thoughtful touch. We were so delighted!
5.) Since it’s a newly opened hotel (September 2022), everything looks impeccable. The design is Sophisticated, edgy but very elegant. The bed, the pillows and comforters are so comfortable! I didn’t want to leave.
6.) The bathroom has all the amenities: full sized shampoo, gel & conditioner. Bathrobes and slippers too. I truly enjoyed the rain shower.
7.) They’ve given us free bottled water and replenished it too same day! What’s not to love?
9.) Breakfast was also included with the upgrade. It’s not your typical breakfast buffet but I can’t complain. You can order everything you want. But please don’t skip their pastries! I still dream about the pistachio croissant. I’ve tried others but I am not sure what’s in there because I LOVE IT!!!
10.) It was raining when we checked out and heading to the airport. The receptionist gladly ordered taxi for us. Although the taxi can’t park infront, the bellman assisted us and held the umbrella for us. I felt bad but he insisted.

Kudos to the grand opening of this Hyatt Thompson, you have raised the bar! Congratulations to all the hard working professional team! I hope to be in Madrid very very soon.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from THOMPSON MADRID, Guest Services / Front Office at Thompson Madrid, by Hyatt
Responded Dec 27, 2022
Dear kmariejoy, We cannot thank you enough for the wonderful and detailed review you wrote for us! We are extremely happy to know that your stay at Thompson Madrid went so well. Thank you for your comments on the brand, the welcome experience, the hotel itself, the room, and, most especially, our team! Our main goal is to make our guests feel at home while travelling, so it is a great pleasure to know that we have achieved it. We are especially glad to know that we were part of your anniversary trip and that we managed to make it somehow special :). We hope that you have the chance to come back to the city as we would be delighted to welcome you back at your home in Madrid. Warm regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
hotel-fan-london1971 wrote a review Jul 7
Gordes, France
2.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel looks nice on the inside but it’s extremely expensive (I paid over euro700 a night) for a cramped room with what was described as having a balcony, which wasn’t even big enough to put a chair on it. The hotel overlooks a square which should be nice but currently is a building site and the workmen start drilling at 620am, which wakes you up. The staff on reception are amateurs and don’t know what customer service is. The breakfast is good but again the staff are not very friendly or attentive, one day I had to wait ten mins for a table and the further ten mins for the waitress to be bothered to take my order. Rooftop pool area is nice but very small and was overcrowded every day I was there; I had to sit on a high stool in the bar one day as all chairs and loungers were taken. The WiFi cuts out every 45 minutes by design as they said they want to reduce traffic but this is very annoying if you are doing work calls that last more than an hour. Overall I would not stay here again. For that price level and indeed any hotel I expect something special and this hotel did not deliver. The management need to re-train all of its staff in customer service, they should also be embarrassed with what they’re offering , very disappointing and sad.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2024Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Avoid this hotel , waste of money
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from THOMPSON MADRID, Guest Services / Front Office at Thompson Madrid, by Hyatt
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Guest, We sincerely appreciate the comprehensive feedback provided regarding your recent stay at the Thompson Madrid. We sincerely regret that your experience was not up to your expectations and apologise for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. We apologise for the impression you had regarding our staff, as we work with high quality standards in the service we offer and it is one of the aspects that our guests highlight the most in their comments. We take good note of your comments regarding the wifi and the slowness of the breakfast service so that we can continue to improve day by day and meet your expectations. We appreciate you taking the time to share your perception of the hotel with all of us and giving us the opportunity to act accordingly. Hoping that the events that occurred do not make you lose confidence in Thompson Madrid. We would be delighted if you would reconsider giving us another chance to turn the situation around and make you feel at home. Best regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lasochka wrote a review Mar 2023
2.0 of 5 bubbles
No desk in the room. No privacy, constant visits and knocking on the door. Noise due to construction works, hence taxi cannot comfortably bring you or pick you up. BREAKFAST unsatisfactory. If you take it as part of your booking - no way to cancel it later. No desire from the side of the hotel to help in this matter. We skipped 2x5 breakfasts as it was completely below expectation, it is NOT a buffet, very slow but pretentious. Although the hotel got a lot of extras from us they rejected any sort of refund for that disappointing breakfast. Later as my husband left for business trip I moved to a smaller room and bought another 3 night room package which was announced as a package for 2 with breakfast included. So to somehow recompense for our loss I invited a family member to have breakfast with me just one time! (remember we skipped breakfasts for total of 250EUR previous week and I was then staying alone having a 2-person package with breakfasts). My family member was charged 40 eur. So I mentioned that I have "2-persons with breakfast" package and I have already payed to Thompson hotel 1500 in extras for previous stay last week, so probably a hotel would be happy to somehow refund for the inconvenience and let me "use" at least one of my breakfasts for 2 now with my family member. The answer was : if so we will charge you 55EUR for a cup of (bad) coffee and a (very mediocre) egg. When I asked why, the answer was: although you have a package for 2 you are staying alone. So you cannot have breakfast for two. Even if this is one breakfast of all that you've bought but not used. No comments. Definitely not an advisable place, and has nothing to do with a 5star.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: March 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from THOMPSON MADRID, Guest Services / Front Office at Thompson Madrid, by Hyatt
Responded Mar 19, 2023
Dear Lasochka , I would like to thank you for taking the time to write this detailed comment. Your feedback is really important for us in order to keep improving every day. Nonetheless, I deeply apologize for the inconveniences faced during your stay with the the AC, the housekeeping service and construction noises. We completely understand your concerns, however the construction that is happening in front of the hotel is public property it is not part of the hotel. Thank you as well for your feedback about Breakfast, we have taken good note of your comments and we have passed the feedback to the F&B Manager. I would like to inform you that your reservation was for only one person so we only charged for your guest's breakfast as your family member was not staying at the hotel. At Thompson Madrid our aim is to exceed the expectations of our guests, and we deeply regret when we do not fully achieve this. We work daily to offer you the best service and quality. We hope that you do not lose faith in our property and that we have the chance to welcome you back very soon. Sincerely,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LUG wrote a review Jul 2023
Toronto, Canada
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The staff was friendly and the room was clean. Breakfast was a welcome addition and the restaurant staff were attentive and great as well. The 8th floor rooftop view is fabulous and pool and bar (open late) are welcomed after a day walking on the town. The area is close to many sites, shopping and restaurants and we walked everywhere.

Unfortunately, upon doing research for a hotel in Madrid and getting our room (king with balcony) we were not told about the construction and that was our view instead of a city view. Also, the cab let us off 1/2 a kilometre from the hotel and didn’t know how to get closer because of the area (when we left for the airport the cab came to the hotel so we didn’t have to walk our luggage through the streets)
As well, the bathrooms are large but awkward. The toilet and shower are beside eachother with a glass wall so when one is taking a shower and someone needs to go to the bathroom, you can see everything they are doing as they can see you showering. Suggestion: They should frost the glass 3/4 of the way in the shower and toilet (see photos) to have some privacy.

Overall though, we thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Madrid!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Ask the cab to drop you closer as to not walk through the hot streets with your luggage in the...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from THOMPSON MADRID, Guest Services / Front Office at Thompson Madrid, by Hyatt
Responded Jul 13, 2023
Dear Kuwaiti_Lady, It really makes us really happy to know that you enjoyed so much your experience at Thompson Madrid! We are delighted to see that especially the location, the design, and the breakfast was up to your satisfaction and that you did not miss anything at all!! Let me assure I will share with the management of the hotel your ideas to analyzed as we love to learn from each of our guests. We hope as well that you have the chance to come back to the city and we would be delighted to welcome you back at your home in Madrid. Warm regards, Guest Experience Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
702-Road-Warrior wrote a review Aug 2023
Las Vegas, Nevada
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Where do I start…I want to write this without sounding biased….

1. The neighborhood. Don’t stay around here. It’s equivalent to Times Square in Manhattan or the 3rd Street Promenade in LA. Except it’s a lot dirtier and less pleasant.

If you are going to visit Madrid, stay in Salamanca. Just trust me on this one.

2. Specific to the hotel, there’s a massive amount of construction right outside the hotel. They don’t inform the guests of the construction - and there’s obvious noise issues all day. Also the roads are blocked/closed/jammed in front of the hotel so that’s going to create an element of unpleasantness especially when you are leaving with your luggage and looking for your driver.

3. Personal experience. I booked a two bedroom room for about 1,200 euros a night. When I checked in, I asked specifically if I am facing the construction and if noise was going to be a problem. I was told that only a part of my room was facing construction and that there would be no noise. Fast forward…and let’s just say that the Spaniards start construction work relatively early, and they enjoy their jack hammers.

The biggest insult was when I booked a separate room (because I had video work meetings) and asked to make sure the room was on the opposite side of the construction work. Guess where my room was facing?

This hotel is not worth the money because of the location, construction and overall crappy operations.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from THOMPSON MADRID, Guest Services / Front Office at Thompson Madrid, by Hyatt
Responded Aug 4, 2023
Dear Guest, First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to comment on our Hotel and the services provided. We value your opinion very much for the process of continuous improvement and as a basis for making our guests' stay more and more enjoyable. With great concern we have received your negative comments about our location and the service rendered because we are unable to find your reservation due to your nickname used on Tripadvisor, would you mind giving us more details about your reservation by email (sandra.galan@thompsonhotels.com) so that I can personally follow up on these issues mentioned. I hope you will reconsider staying at our Hotel on your next visit to Madrid. The entire staff remains at your attention should you wish to make any additional comments, or for any other inquiries. Thank you in advance for your consideration. Sincerely yours,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jill A asked a question Jun 2023
Chicago, Illinois
Is European (e.g. topless) sunbathing allowed at the pool?
Answer from aemanuele_HK
Milan, Italy54 contributions64 helpful votes
That’s a very interesting question ! I doubt that this is permitted in five stat hotels. Maybe in some beaches but I don’t think in hotels. But you can contact the very responsive concierge
Springblessing asked a question Apr 2023
Englewood, New Jersey141 contributions71 helpful votes
does this hotel have a pool?
Answer from Thomas Van Voorst
Newport Beach, California27 contributions24 helpful votes
Yes - on the roof
Answer from THOMPSON M
Dear guest, Thank you for your kind message. I am pleased to inform you that all our rooms are double rooms and no extra beds are available. We can offer you connecting or adjoining rooms. Please, do not hesitate to contact our reservations department for further information. Best regards,
Answer from THOMPSON M
Good afternoon: Thank you very much for your message, we do not have self-serve laundry machines. We have an external laundry service and the cost depends on the service requested and the item of clothing. We remain at your entire disposal for anything you may need. Best regards,
hotel-fan-london1971 wrote a tip Jul 7
Gordes, France32 contributions24 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid this hotel , waste of money"
Read full review
Carmen M wrote a tip Apr 2024
Barcelona, Spain12 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Check when the rooftop terrace will be completed."
Read full review
Courtneystac wrote a tip Apr 2024
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a room that doesn’t face the front of the staff is aware there may construction. "
Read full review
JRoseNYC wrote a tip Feb 2024
New York City, New York23 contributions6 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"The area near the balcony rooms is under construction."
Read full review
Roberto S wrote a tip Jan 2024
17 contributions30 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Amazing staff"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Madrid area.
PRICE RANGE
C$469 - C$769 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
SpainCommunity of MadridMadrid
NUMBER OF ROOMS
175
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Thompson Madrid, by Hyatt - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Thompson Madrid, by Hyatt
Which popular attractions are close to Thompson Madrid, by Hyatt?
Nearby attractions include Mementorium (0.3 km), Calle 365 (0.5 km), and Gula Gula (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Thompson Madrid, by Hyatt?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Thompson Madrid, by Hyatt?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Thompson Madrid, by Hyatt?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Thompson Madrid, by Hyatt?
Conveniently located restaurants include Steakburger Preciados, Zenith Brunch & Cocktails - Desengaño, and Entre Santos Madrid.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Thompson Madrid, by Hyatt?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Thompson Madrid, by Hyatt located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Madrid.
Are pets allowed at Thompson Madrid, by Hyatt?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Thompson Madrid, by Hyatt offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Thompson Madrid, by Hyatt?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Thompson Madrid, by Hyatt?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Royal Palace of Madrid (0.9 km), Plaza Mayor (0.5 km), and Museo Cerralbo (1.1 km).
All Madrid HotelsMadrid Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in MadridHotels near Thompson Madrid, by Hyatt
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars