We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Cat's Hostel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Cat\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

729 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Cat's Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 383: English reviews
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 5 January 2016

Rooms are clean , well kept and spacious. Beautiful patio !! The activities offered especially the walking and alternative tours are a lot of fun. Great for solo travelers because of the cool bar with lovely bartenders . the staff are great banter and i will definitely be coming back shortly . also location was PERFECT

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Isabelle D
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 4 January 2016

I travelled solo during late August 2015 and stayed in a 6 bed mixed dorm with ensuite. The hostel was centrally located and within walking distance to the main sites. The rooms were clean and the bar and lounge area were great for meeting other travellers. The sister hostel 'Mad Hostel' is a short walk from the Cat's Hostel which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darren K
Manager L, Manager at Cat's Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us!!!!! Our Walking tours and pub crawl are so good!!!! We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Granada, Spain
Reviewed 3 January 2016

Great place to stay in Madrid! We enjoyed every moment there. it's beautiful, just like the staff. Specially Mike, Deep and Chris, you are great, thanks for creating such a cozy atmosphere, we made true friends there! See you soon! xxx

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emmitaom
Manager L, Manager at Cat's Hostel, responded to this review

You are part of Cat´s family!!!!! See you soon

Reviewed 28 December 2015 via mobile

Mike from the staff was super kind and helpful all the time , he helped us a lot with a smile always... The location , lobby and bar were very good and the hostel is cheap and clean... But stay in the down bed is easier ;) from my experience ... I stayed there for three nights and i am...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Israa A
Manager L, Manager at Cat's Hostel, responded to this review

Hi, thank you very much for your comment!!!! Mike is great, we know that :) We are looking forward to seeing you next time in Madrid

Reviewed 23 December 2015 via mobile

Do not stay here. They will try and get as much money out of you, it has horrible service, and the rooms are freezing/uncomfortable. Find another place. Only good thing is the location but there are so many hostels in the area that it's worth it to just find another location.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jarryd A
Manager L, Manager at Cat's Hostel, responded to this review

Hi, we are really sorry to hear this comment from you. We do not know what you mean when you say we try to get money from you. We have low prices in accommodation ( breakfast included) and bar and you always can decide how you spend your money. We have AC in all the rooms, you only need to...

Epsom, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 December 2015 via mobile

Fantastic place to stay! Great night life and people. The terrace was perfect, plenty of cushions. The art work on the walls was very edgy. Really special staff who made my stay unforgettable. Bew, Isi and John put in a great shift and really excelled! Would love to come back in the future! Harry

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hkilloughery
Manager L, Manager at Cat's Hostel, responded to this review

Hi, thank you very much for staying with us. We are happy to know that you had a good time!!!! We will see you again!!!

Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 December 2015

4 of us stayed here for 5 nights and had an awesome time! It's well priced, the location is central and there's a lot going on. Our 8-bed room was a good size, had lockers and was clean and tidy. The staff were really friendly, particularly the receptionist, Izzy, who was really helpful and a great laugh. The walking tour...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris I I
Manager L, Manager at Cat's Hostel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you very much for your comment. We would so happy to see you again

Aalborg, Denmark
Reviewed 30 November 2015

Some staff could be more friendly. When we booked through their site we should get a free beer or sangria but when we arrived they told us that they don´t offer it. We got 10 bunk room instead of our booked 19 beds rooms which was good. Overall good value for money and also good location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jaqube
Manager L, Manager at Cat's Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. First at all, we apologize for the mistake. All the reservations through our website ( not by booking.com or HW) get a free beer, so you should have got one free beer or sangria per person. We are very sorry for this mistake and we will take care of this in order not...

Reviewed 27 November 2015 via mobile

We stayed in an 8-person dorm for 2 nights. It was exactly what you would expect for a cheap hostel in Madrid- squeaky bunk beds and less-than-impressive bathrooms. The showers require you to push the button while water comes out, and you only get about 5 minutes of warm water, so make it quick. However, the safes they provide are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jessi J
Manager L, Manager at Cat's Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comment. We are happy to tell you that we have changed our shower system to a shower mixed tap which allows you to regulate the water temperature as well as the time. We are glad to know that you enjoyed our bar. With our new showers, you next stay could be perfect!!!!!! We are...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 18 November 2015 via mobile

Great close to everything. Main train statio is 15 minutes walk. Royal palace and mayor square in 10-15 minutes walk aswell. Staff friendly and helpful. Clean and well looked after. The only problem is small and I mean small shower with having to press the botton constantly for hot water, even the only a drizzle

 Report
Helpful?
Thank milanovictraveller
Manager L, Manager at Cat's Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comment!!!We are happy to tell you that we have changed our shower system to a shower mixed tap which allows you to regulate the water temperature as well as the time.We are looking forward to see you again.

155 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (118)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
1:30
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Way Hostel
Way Hostel
#9 of 398 in Madrid
523 reviews
Lavapies
Mad Hostel
Mad Hostel
#40 of 398 in Madrid
322 reviews
Centro
The Hat
The Hat
#4 of 398 in Madrid
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lavapies
Las Musas Hostel
Las Musas Hostel
#17 of 398 in Madrid
606 reviews
Huertas
Mola Hostel
Mola Hostel
#10 of 398 in Madrid
359 reviews
Huertas
La Posada de Huertas
La Posada de Huertas
#31 of 398 in Madrid
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Huertas

Neighbourhood Profile
Huertas
Also known as Barrio de las Letras, Huertas was once home to prominent literary figures, Miguel de Cervantes and Lope de Vega among them. The neighbourhood is committed to celebrating its rich heritage: Calle Huertas itself is inlaid with quotes from celebrated authors, street names pay homage to them, and second-hand bookshops pervade. Huertas receives a fair amount of spillover from the center — side streets around Plaza Santa Ana take on a foreign party atmosphere at night, and you always see young backpackers navigating the streets — but as you descend into the neighbourhood, everything becomes a little more cramped and slightly less refined, and takes on more of an underground feel. Live music is at the heart of Huertas: by night, its subdued bars are ideal for meeting friends, sipping cocktails, and chatting quietly while enjoying jazz or singer-songwriter performances.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
ust outside the Puerta del Sol, the center point of Madrid, you can easily and quickly make it to the city’s most famous sites, like the lively Santa Ana plaza, world-famous Prado museum, and refreshing Retiro Park. But don’t worry – we make it easy to fit in that siesta in our Andalucían style common area, beautiful evidence that Cat’s was at one time a 17th century Spanish palace.As the sun goes down, the madrileños come out! When you start your night at Cat’s Cave Bar, it is sure to be a blast! Every night of the week we will take you on the best pub crawls, where you will meet your fellow travelers and truly experience the Madrid lifestyle. During the week we also offer you tapas and shopping tours, and free Flamenco and Salsa dance classes. And of course we’ve got the basics. Our newly renovated rooms range from 4 to 14 beds, each with clean sheets and secure lockers for each guest. Breakfast is included in the price and you can choose from a variety of cereals and pastries every morning. Free wifi is available in the common areas and there are also available computers for guest use. And on departure day, we have secure luggage storage where bags can be left while you get your last tastes of the city! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cat's Hostel

Address: Calle Canizares 6, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Price Range: $27 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Cat's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cat`s Hotel Madrid
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cat's Hostel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Cat's Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“bring ear plugs”
 of 5 bubbles C827VBmaryh, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Good for knowing people, nice shared places”
 of 5 bubbles 145ramiroc, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Prived and not so crownded if you are a quiet person.”
 of 5 bubbles Welington_Costa, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“the private rooms are good but its a hostel so, you should know what to expect”
 of 5 bubbles 494freddiep, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I heard the 6-dorms have big windows and super nice facilities”
 of 5 bubbles Trinaty, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay