We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Monti Palace Hotel

Via Cavour N. 185, 00184 Rome Italy
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-10-23
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-10-23
View deal
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (252)
Room & Suite (209)
Dining (47)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 20-12-04 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Monti Palace Hotel
Updated 20-12-04 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#89 of 1,359 hotels in Rome
Travellers' Choice

Everyone needs a place to lay their weary head. For travellers visiting Rome, Monti Palace Hotel is an excellent choice for rest and rejuvenation. Well-known for its family-friendly environment and proximity to great restaurants and attractions, Monti Palace Hotel makes it easy to enjoy the best of Rome.

Monti Palace Hotel is a family-friendly hotel offering a flat screen TV, a minibar, and air conditioning in the rooms, and it is easy to stay connected during your stay as free wifi is offered to guests.

The hotel features 24 hour front desk, a concierge, and 24 hour check-in. Plus, guests can enjoy breakfast, which has made this a popular choice among travellers visiting Rome. For guests with a vehicle, parking is available.

Given the close proximity of popular landmarks, such as Trastevere (2.1 km) and Villa Borghese (2.1 km), guests of Monti Palace Hotel can easily experience some of Rome's most well known attractions.

During your visit, be sure to check out a popular Rome souvlaki restaurant such as Ristorante Greco Ippokrates, which is a short distance from Monti Palace Hotel.

If you are interested in exploring Rome, check out some of the nearby attractions, such as Colosseum (0.6 km), Pantheon (1.5 km), and Trevi Fountain (1.1 km), all of which are within walking distance of Monti Palace Hotel.

Whether you’re travelling for business, pleasure or both, Monti Palace Hotel is sure to make your visit to Rome one worth remembering.

Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Airport transportation
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Street parking
Bar / lounge
Breakfast available
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
VIP room facilities
Clothes rack
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
City view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 5 more
701Reviews48Q+A90Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 458
  • 197
  • 35
  • 5
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Georgiana-Par wrote a review Jun. 2
1 contribution
Wonderful hotel and staff, excellent location and the overall experience was absolutely amazing. The gorgeous rooftop terrace has a breathtaking view of Rome and it's especially magical in the evening.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Response from Direzione Monti Palace Hotel Roma, Direttore generale at Monti Palace Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Madam, thank you very much for your wonderful review and for having choosen Monti Palace Hotel. We remain ar your disposal Best regards
Read more
Stephane R wrote a review May 2021
Brussels, Belgium12 contributions2 helpful votes
NEGATIVE points - Do not expect to enjoy The rooftop terrasse. This one is full due to external group reservations - Most of employees (even when alone during evening) speak and understand only Italian   - Noisy rooms  - The breakfast is  a single order to write on and they complained if we order more or some extra ( no buffet despite occupation and the fact that Roma is now in yellow covid zone ) - No butter for breakfast  - Due to recent re-opening,  we received several time ( once without warning) breakfast with only dry food ( rice crakers, biscotte,  no bread) and no way to recieve regular thee bags - Hotel manager offer a special upgrade for my wife birthday to luxe room .. same 16m2 as basic one with only 1 seat ( remember dry breakfast in room …) - They offer for late arrival  the special d.o.p. cold cuts and cheese for euro 30,00 to pick up at the bar ( but the price in the bar is 20 ..) - WC (rooftop ) swith off light every 50 sec and switch on only after moving for 15 sec. - Electronic (wifi ? ) door key require multiples attempts in order to open POSITIVE points + CLEAN ++ Nice modern room ++ situated next Metro and restaurants and 1 Metro station away from Colisee  + breakfast (when available) on the rooftop terrasse  When we left, they didn’t ask anything
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Response from MONTI PALACE HOTEL SRL, General Manager at Monti Palace Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Mr Rimbert, thank you for the kind message, we apologise if your experience was not satisfactory. You book a standard room at a very low rate through Agoda however we have upgraded you to a Deluxe Double room at no extra cost. Monti Palace Hotel has got 8 room categories, there was plenty of choices at time of booking. You ask for Dinner despite you had choosen a hotel with no Restaurant and for your late arrival we offered a tray solution for two people in Room Service at Euro 30,00 totally. the,same service at the Bar is sold at Euro 20,00 but PER PERSON. We sent you a private email informing about breakfast in room and Reception also we gave you information about breakfast timings and days at the Rooftoop. Unfortunately our Team, except for the bellboy speaks a very good English but not French. However please note our breakfast tray or rooftop is Complimentary, this means no one pays for these services. Certainly the Bar is very popular and we accept reservations accordingly with Covid protocol for a certain capacity. The location is open to in house guest and externals as all the Rooftop in Rome. If someone needs privacy the Rooftop can be privately rented. With our best regards
Read more
Henrik s wrote a review Nov. 2020
6 contributions3 helpful votes
Just returned home from a wonderful stay at Monti Palace Hotel in Rome. The hotel has an excellent location in the heart of Rome with Colloseum and Forum Romanum just a short walk away a metro station 200 meters down the road. The charming Monti district with lively restaurants and shops just behind the hotel and on the other side of the street a supermarket packed with all, that you could need or want. Breakfast is good. Hygiene and cleanliness topshelf. Service is excellent. And the rooms are large, modern and comfortable. All in all a great choice for your stay in Rome. Pls give my regards to Laura😊👍
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
Response from Direzione Monti Palace Hotel Roma, Direttore generale at Monti Palace Hotel
Responded Nov. 13, 2020
Dear Henrik, thank you very much for your fantastic review! We will remain waiting for you to come back once again with your family. Best regards
Read more
bobby p wrote a review Oct. 2020
3 contributions
Booked a month in advance..directly with hotel...emailed multiple times for assistance with some surprises i had in mind for my wifes 40th... Promised hotel were "happy to help, at my dispospal" Allocated room on 1st floor facing onto busy street..ZERO VIEW... Room was dark, curtains don't close and you would never know day from night... Promised assistance to arrange birthday breakfast on roof terrace..NO HELP..arranged balloons banner cards and gifts, while 2 female staff stood and gabbed... LEONARDO who ran the cocktail bar in the evening was a diamond in the rough...a diligent friendy and happy fella...remembered my wifes birthday(the day after) with 2 🍷 from himself, a happy birthday message to my wife, and thankfully helped us have one lovely memory of this place....the hotel was bary half full..55 rooms, so there was no reason they couldn't have made the same effort.. BADLY LET ME AND THEMSELVES DOWN...Book elsewhere..I wont be back...
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Response from Direzione Monti Palace Hotel Roma, Direttore generale at Monti Palace Hotel
Responded Nov. 8, 2020
Dear Mr Bob Preston, Many thanks for the review sent.  We do apologise if your experience was not satisfactory as everything had been organized prior to your arrival and as per your kind requests.  Room upgrade for birthday present, daily table with view reserved at breakfast time only for you, daily gym schedule dedicated: all was ready for you. It is with regret that the Superior room did not meet your needs, Suite upgrade is on payment basis. We are sorry you forgot the training equipment to exercise despite the gym was reserved for you all the 4 days and we unfortunately refused the service to our other guests for this reason. The Reception gave all information your wife needed upon your arrival at 12 in the morning but your were really impatient to go to the Rooftop Cocktail Bar that was closed being very early. At night the barman was so kind to offer you two drinks at his care and house expenses, despite this you are so dissatisfied to write this second review We understand all our efforts and attentions were not appreciated and are very sorry for this, however we find no foundations in your evaluations. Always at your disposal Best regards
Read more
Alex J wrote a review Sep. 2020
39 contributions65 helpful votes
We stayed at the Monti Palace Hotel for a week in September. It is worth saying this was during the coronavirus pandemic so Rome was very quiet although case numbers in Italy were low. Firstly, the positives:- Location - hotel is right on top of the metro station which is very convenient. Note that you have to change at termini for several locations in central Rome. 20 min walk from Trevi fountain or pantheon, 10 mins to forum and colosseum. Small supermarket directly across the street and lots of restaurants in the local vicinity. We had good, cheap food at La Base, Ai Tre Scalani and Iari the Vino. Check in - we arrived at 12:30 and were informed the room was ready - much appreciated after an early start. We were told we had been upgraded to a superior room but that is the room type we had booked (and shows on our booking confirmation) No problem so we didn’t say anything but a bit odd to say we had been upgraded. We also requested a high floor to be away from the road noise and were put on the top floor for rooms. Room - room was a good size and overall very clean. The bathroom in particular was lovely. Housekeeping did a very thorough job each day. Air con was great and the bed was very comfy. But, see below the negative points The not so good things:- Breakfast - was included in our rate (not free included in the price!) it was pretty dire to be honest. I know with covid it is difficult but can’t understand why they couldn’t offer toast (we specifically asked on the form you fill in, in both English and Italian and were given bread), or why fruit such as a banana couldn’t be offered. We had the bacon one day - was the soggiest bacon I’ve ever seen and arrived in less than 2 mins so I assume was microwaved? Conversely the croissants are cold and from a packet. I understand it is a really hard time but I do think they could be doing better. The water and juice was good. Reception - usually very good but I did ask one member of staff if I could pay to print out some tickets for the colosseum we had booked last minute. He said only from 2pm which I thought was very odd (and too late for us!) seemed like he just couldn’t be bothered and his colleague would be on the desk by 2pm. The lift also seemed to smell really bad every time we used it. Light switches - the one anomaly in otherwise a very clean hotel. The light switches were filthy - really disgusting, looked like they’d never been cleaned and this applied to all of them - the two by the bed, the bathroom and by the main door to the room (pics attached). Storage - the room has been designed by a designer rather than by someone who has actually tried staying in the room! We had the largest size of room and it had one single wardrobe maybe 2.5ft wide - with a rail, and two shelves (there was another shelf but well out of reach). Half of one of the shelves was taken up by the safe. There was no other storage in the room other than open surfaces eg. table, bench by door. There wasn’t a single drawer - very odd not to even have a drawer next to the bed! Everything from the tv, to the towel hooks to the lights were wonky which was funny but not a real problem given we were only there a week. The wardrobe was also fitted improperly so the door didn’t really close which meant the automatic light inside was always on. One night we managed to push the door closed but woke at 2am to a strobe light effect. The door had worked its way back open and was obviously right at the point where the button controlling the light was half pressed so the light kept flicking on and off. After that we slept every night with the door partly open thereafter and did our best to ignore the light coming into the room. All in all it wasn't a bad stay (can't give it 3.5 so have rounded up o 4!)and may seem that we're being picky but wish we had known some of these things before we stayed.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3 Helpful votes
Response from Direzione Monti Palace Hotel Roma, Direttore generale at Monti Palace Hotel
Responded Sep. 12, 2020
Dear Guest, thank you for the kind review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. One of the largest room has been assigned for your stay not a regular Superior. We understand there are points to be improved however our Breakfast is COMPLIMENTARY not included and we are still in progress to implement this service due to the deletion of our buffet breakfast which was given for free as well. This is easily evincible form the applied and published rate you confirmed which is very competitive comparing to other hotels. Regarding the door closet we would have certainly alert our Maintenance service if the issue was reported. However our Housekeeping service is supposed to control it so we apologise for this inconvenience. Pleasew note we are working on a limited shifting due to Covid19 and being an indipendent private managed Company we are striving to overcome the actual crisis: you spoke to the Owner himself af the Reception, he was helping all guests and waiting for the later Team to start at 2 pm We remain at your disposal Best regards.
Read more
US$122 - US$327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ItalyLazioRomeCentro / Monti
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Monti Palace Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Monti Palace Hotel?
Nearby attractions include VinoRoma (0.2 km), San Pietro in Vincoli (0.2 km), and Basilica di Santa Prassede (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Monti Palace Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Monti Palace Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Monti Palace Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Monti Palace Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking nearby and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Monti Palace Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mizio's Street Food, Gelateria Il Capriccio di Carla, and Fehu.
Does Monti Palace Hotel have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Monti Palace Hotel offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Monti Palace Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Rome.
Are any cleaning services offered at Monti Palace Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Monti Palace Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Monti Palace Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, Russian, and Japanese.