Starhotels Michelangelo

Traveller (642)
Room & Suite (50)
Starhotels Michelangelo
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

C$640
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#232 of 1,227 hotels in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Starhotels Michelangelo embodies all the qualities that make Rome unique: cosmopolitan style, classical grandeur and timeless appeal. Only a short walk from the Vatican and Castel Sant'Angelo, in the heart of Rome's Baroque splendour, it's hard to imagine a more central location. Many of the 179 rooms and suites, furnished in classical style, offer a view of St. Peter's dome. The Dome restaurant's menu offers local and international dishes in a refined setting, while the discreet, informal atmosphere of bar is the perfect spot for a break, a quick lunch or a cocktail. The 2 meeting rooms can host up to 140 people and are equipped with cutting-edge technology, providing an ideal space for business meetings and private events.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Highchairs available
Strollers
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Car park
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Kid-friendly buffet
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Italian
Hotel links
Special Offer:Discover the I AM STAR World!
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles1,573 reviews
Reviews Summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI
The Starhotels Michelangelo boasts rooms that many guests find to be comfortably spacious, well-appointed, and remarkably clean, offering commendable views. Its prime location near St. Peter's is often lauded for enhancing visitors' stays by providing easy access to local transportation. While the hotel's service receives accolades for staff helpfulness and language versatility, some travelers have experienced inconsistency. The amenities are generally appreciated, though opinions on breakfast variety and bathroom safety vary. However, some guests feel the pricing, including minibar costs and room rates, does not fully align with the value received.
Location
Convenient
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Spotless
Service
Helpful
Amenities
Satisfactory
Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveller reviews for more details and information.
1,573Review88Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 732
  • 598
  • 150
  • 45
  • 48
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Malin_N9 wrote a review Aug 2022
Uppsala, Sweden25 contributions7 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Spacious, clean and very comfortable rooms in a quiet area. Welcoming professional staff, concierge service. Very close to The Vatican and walking distance to other areas of historical interest. The breakfast buffet was amazing. The whole family was happy and we'd gladly stay at this hotel again. Very good for families, couples, history bugs and others who don't need bustling night life just around the corner from where they live. If you want nightlife it is easy and fairly cheap to take a cab and staff will help you order. Our choice of hotel gave us a very relaxing vacation in Rome. Loved it!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from STARHOTELS MICHELANGELO, Direttore generale at Starhotels Michelangelo
Responded Sep 5, 2022
Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave your review and expressing your opinion about Starhotels Michelangelo. It’ a pleasure for us to read about the positive impressions received during your stay in Rome about our hotel service and Starhotels’ hospitality! We sincerely hope to welcome you once again in the “Caput Mundi”. Best regards Mr Lorenzo Nencini General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ChicagoWorldTraveler23 wrote a review Mar 2022
Chicago, Illinois21 contributions11 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Ok hotel near the Vatican. The accommodations were fine. Rooms were clean. Really liked that they had balconies as part of the rooms. Beds were comfortable & shower was good. For the CONS: walls are very thin. Housekeeping started by 7am and you can hear them walking/vacuuming/moving furniture above you, next to you, below you...it was aggravating at times. People coming down your hallway at any hour you could hear. You could hear outside traffic as well. Also the location of this hotel has a very limited nightlife. We found a decent restaurant/bar down the street. But that was it. We found ourselves just staying out and returning to the hotel area at the end of an evening. Nothing really to do there. Breakfast buffet was the same thing each day we were there, no variety. Also, one of the front desk employees, Edgar something, who was working in the AM was quite rude when we were checking out. Must have been having a bad day or something, but in that position you should never have that show to your guests. Overall, just a mediocre stay.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from STARHOTELS MICHELANGELO, Direttore generale at Starhotels Michelangelo
Responded Apr 13, 2022
Dear Guest, Thanks for the time you dedicated us, in reporting your comments about Starhotels Michelangelo! We are sorry with did not impress you as we aim to make each and every single stay a wonderful experience. Hoping to welcome you once again during a future stay in Rome, in the meantime we send you our best regards. Starhotels Michelangelo Mr Graziano Luddi
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read a summary of these reviews, created with our new AI-powered tool.
Stevie Hiller wrote a review Jul 2020
103 contributions31 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in February for 3 nights good location right next to the Vatican , we could actually see it through our room window although you do have to walk around the wall to enter so about a 5/10 min walk. Good breakfast selection and nice food in the restaurant for dinner too. There is also plenty of restaurants in the surrounding roads and a large shopping and resturant area through the other side of the vatican.
Good size clean and comfortable room.
Friendly, helpful staff.
Hotel is around 40 minutes away from the airport.

Whilst in Rome we also went on a Vatican tour, colosseum tour and had an open top bus pass which the closest stop was about 15 minutes walk away from the hotel along the river.
This allowed us to easily get to the spanish steps and Trevi Fountain.

3 nights was long enough for us to fit in everything we wanted to but we could have easily found things to fill another day or 2 if we were staying longer.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from STARHOTELS METROPOLE STARHOTELS METROPOLE, Direttore generale at Starhotels Michelangelo
Responded Jul 20, 2020
Dear Guest, we thank you for the time dedicated to us in writing your review about our Starhotels Michelangelo, and hoping to welcome you again in our hotel for your next roman stay, we send you our best regards. Mr Graziano Luddi General Manager Starhotels Michelangelo Rome
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Simon H wrote a review Dec 2023
Hampshire, United Kingdom161 contributions80 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have stayed at a few different Starhotels across Italy and were not disappointed with our three night stay at the Michelangelo. Getting to the hotel late in the afternoon from the airport was easy after taking the Leonardo Express to Termini and then the 64 bus to right around the corner from the hotel. Only €1.50 each for the bus ride.
We had a room right at the top on the 7th floor where the views were amazing.
The most comfortable bed, a pillow menu and tea/coffee facility made our room just perfect.
Toiletries provided in the large bathroom which also included a bath for a relaxing end to a busy day touring the sites in Rome.
Breakfast was served in a large room on the ground floor with plenty of space and never felt crowded.
Lots of choice from hot and cold selection as well as some sweet treats.
Our 3 nights stay went all too quickly and we are already planning a return visit in 2024.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from STARHOTELS MICHELANGELO, Direttore generale at Starhotels Michelangelo
Responded Jan 2, 2024
Dear Si_boy, We cannot but to thank you for taking the time to review so nicely your recent stay at the Starhotels Michelangelo . We are very glad we made your stay an “experience to cherish”. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the future. Mr Lorenzo Nencini General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PatrickDebus wrote a review Feb 2020
Philippeville, Belgium348 contributions86 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is a very convenient business hotel, closed to the Vatican, at 10 minutes walk of St Pieters' square. Very professional staff, meetings rooms, very convenient, this hotel is especially very popular on Tuesday night, before the General Audience at the Vatican. Not very luxuous, but very good choice when visiting Vatican and the area. Affordable rates.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Highest floors are recommended to avoid the noise of the traffic in the street
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GeneralManagerMiche, Direttore at Starhotels Michelangelo
Responded Feb 11, 2020
Dear Guest, We cannot but to thank you for taking the time to review so nicely your recent stay at the Starhotels Michelangelo in Rome. We are very glad we succeeded in making your stay an “experience to cherish”. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Mr Graziano Luddi General Manager Starhotels Michelangelo Rome
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mark Subryan wrote a review May 2022
United Kingdom38 contributions51 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Although the Starhotel Michelangelo is not considered to be in the city centre, it is well located in the shadows of St Peter's Basicila and The Vatican City. It is about a 10-minute walk to the Vatican. The hotel is well-appointed with modern rooms, a small bar, and a restaurant. The breakfast offers a wide range of selections and you can order those great Italian coffees if you don't want the filter coffee.

The staff was very professional and courteous. Cesar the bartender was a standout. He was very friendly whenever we popped into the bar in the evenings. He always took the time to talk to us, especially my nephew.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Get a room with a baloncy. They are small but have a small table and chair for you to relax and...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from STARHOTELS MICHELANGELO, Direttore generale at Starhotels Michelangelo
Responded May 16, 2022
Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave your review and expressing your opinion about Starhotels Michelangelo. It’ a pleasure for us to read about the positive impressions received during your stay in Rome about our hotel service and Starhotels’ hospitality! We sincerely hope to welcome you once again in the “Caput Mundi”. Best regards Mr Graziano Luddi General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joel wrote a review Oct 2022
Clifton Park, New York4 contributions3 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is very clean, had decent food nothing real special, it’s very neat, it’s in a great location for visiting the Vatican and for staging other Roman tours. The staff was overall friendly and polite. We stayed for a few days as part of our Perrillo 10 day tour of Italy- see my review on that later. We also booked a separate night at the hotel to finish our trip and that’s where the problem started. Before leaving on our final day in Rome, I checked with the front desk to verify and confirm my reservation for the weekend and was told I was all set. Upon returning to the hotel on Saturday we were told our room was canceled. They claimed since we did not pay for it in September when they sent me a “confirmation” email which i never even opened since it was titled “room confirmation”, they had the right to cancel our room. No mention of payment was made at the time they personally confirmed our reservation at the front desk. At first the staff did not seem too concerned with our situation, being stuck in Rome with no hotel. Luckily there was a representative from Perrilo in the hotel, she was with another group and she was very helpful in talking with the hotel (in Italian) and looking for another room. After a short wait that felt like a week they told us they had a room for us at their other location near the Spanish steps in Rome and it was a huge “upgrade”. They ordered us a taxi to take us- which we paid for- and finally at like 6 pm we had a room. What really bothers me is the next day they ordered us a cab for the airport, in my original reservation I paid an extra $75 for the airport transfer, yet again I had to pay for the cab. So I was out over € 100 for cab rides the hotel should’ve paid for to begin with. Other than all the hassles, the hotels were top notch, and the staff with few exceptions were polite and helpful. The fact they gave our room away and cost me over $120 extra is what will always leave that bad taste in my mouth
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from STARHOTELS MICHELANGELO, Direttore generale at Starhotels Michelangelo
Responded Nov 3, 2022
Dear Guest, Thanks for the time you dedicated us, in reporting your comments about Starhotels Michelangelo! We are sorry with did not impress you as we aim to make each and every single stay a wonderful experience. On Saturday the Hotel was fully booked. We are sorry if for some reason your reservation was not guaranteed. Our staff provided you a room in our Starhotels - Hotel D' Inghilterra - which is a well known and centrally located five stars hotel. With regards to the cab charges; the amount was automatically deducted from the package. We are anyway sorry if our staff in this occasione did not gave you a good impression. Hoping to welcome you once again during a future stay in Rome, in the meantime we send you our best regards. Starhotels Michelangelo Mr Lorenzo Nencini
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mhlorenzo wrote a review Feb 2021
55 contributions62 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Supposedly they were open and offering services..now, how am I supposed to travel to Italy when all flights are suspended and there is no way to enter the country because of lockdown?
I asked for a credit to use in future trip, and no response whatsoever. Yes I bought the no cancellation rate, because we were all traveling to Italy (school and family reunion, people traveling from all over the world to meet there... I was NOT PLANNING to cancel my trip... and they neither gave me my money back nor gave me a credit to stay in the future. Very disappointed. It was not fair.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from STARHOTELS METROPOLE STARHOTELS METROPOLE, Direttore generale at Starhotels Michelangelo
Responded Sep 23, 2021
Dear Mhlorenzo, we cannot see your name on the review so we cannot check your reservation. Please write us to michelangelo.rm@starhotels.it in order to verify all matters and give you an answer. With our best regards. Mr Graziano Luddi GM
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
suematt70 wrote a review Sep 2022
Meriden, Connecticut400 contributions191 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What a nice hotel! We stayed here as part of a tour group and were so pleased with the excellent accommodations. The hotel is modern and the staff were friendly and professional. Our room was a good size with immaculate linens and a nice bathroom. The shower was tight but water pressure was great with nice hot water. It would be nice to have a grab bar and a shelf for those of us seniors. Breakfast buffet was excellent with many choices and American coffee. We had dinner one night and it was very good. When I didn’t like the pasta course they substituted a wonderful rice and vegetable dish without me even asking for it! The location is a few blocks from the Vatican. Great hotel!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from STARHOTELS MICHELANGELO, Direttore generale at Starhotels Michelangelo
Responded Oct 20, 2022
Dear Guest, thanks a lot for your words! We are glad to know that your stay with us found your expectations. Yours faithfully Mr Lorenzo Nencini GM – Starhotels Michelangelo Roma
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rick W wrote a review Sep 2023
Conroe, Texas4 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
On my first day at Starhotels Michelangelo as I was taking a shower in the tub/shower my feet slipped on the slick surface and I feel to the floor and fractured 2 ribs. The Hotel did not take responsibility, in fact stated that the tub/shower had adhesive strips on the floor "they did not" and when I invited the manager to come look she would not . . . be very careful of the slick surface on their tub/showers!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Be very careful of the slick surface in the tub/shower
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from STARHOTELS MICHELANGELO, Direttore generale at Starhotels Michelangelo
Responded Oct 3, 2023
Dear Mr. Rick, First of all, we want to thank you for being our customer and we regret you have had this injury. As already stated separately, we inform you that our bathtubs (equipped with grab bars) and, more generally, our hotel respond and comply to all Italian regulations: our guests’ safety is undoubtedly one of our top priorities and we also inform you that continuously plan first aid trainings for our staff members. We would have been ready to help providing assistance for any problem occurred if promptly made aware: unfortunately the report occurred at check-out time. We wish you a speedy recovery and we hope to have you back in the future as our more than welcome guest. Mr Lorenzo Nencini GM
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Clare G asked a question Jun 2023
Warwickshire, United Kingdom79 contributions24 helpful votes
Can I order taxi from hotel to Colosseum when we stay in July at reception and return
62puddy asked a question Jan 2023
Leicestershire, United Kingdom22 contributions4 helpful votes
Does the hotel provide toiletries please
Answer from suematt70
Meriden, Connecticut400 contributions191 helpful votes
Yes I believe they did.
Erica asked a question Jan 2022
5 contributions2 helpful votes
Are there wheelchair accessible rooms?
Plasticpaddy67 wrote a tip Mar 2024
London44 contributions24 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Walk across the road through the petrol station , and follow the road down to the underpass to get to the Vatican"
Read full review
KarmV_707 wrote a tip Jan 2024
43 contributions17 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Start early in the day. Get to the hotel before dusk so you can enjoy the surrounding eateries nearby. If short of time, book trips ahead; dont DIY the sites waste of time."
Read full review
Melissa Downes wrote a tip Sep 2023
Sydney, Australia141 contributions124 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t expect your luggage to be taken to and from your room. There is an element of self service in Rome’s hotels!"
Read full review
Rick W wrote a tip Sep 2023
Conroe, Texas4 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Be very careful of the slick surface in the tub/shower"
Read full review
Rich wrote a tip Sep 2023
Corpus Christi, Texas10 contributions13 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Use a different tour guide"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Rome area.
PRICE RANGE
C$300 - C$569 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
starhotels michelangelo hotel rome, starhotel michelangelo rome, starhotel michelangelo hotel rome, star hotel michelangelo rome, hotel michelangelo rome
LOCATION
ItalyLazioRomeTrastevere / Aurelio
NUMBER OF ROOMS
179
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Starhotels Michelangelo - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Starhotels Michelangelo
Which popular attractions are close to Starhotels Michelangelo?
Nearby attractions include St. Peter's Basilica (0.4 km), Sistine Chapel (0.4 km), and La Pieta (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Starhotels Michelangelo?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Starhotels Michelangelo?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Starhotels Michelangelo?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Starhotels Michelangelo?
Yes, a parking garage and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Starhotels Michelangelo?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bono Bottega Nostrana - San Pietro, Angelo Ristorante Trattoria - Bar, and Pizza Zizza Caffetteria Birreria Desserteria.
Does Starhotels Michelangelo have airport transportation?
Yes, Starhotels Michelangelo offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Starhotels Michelangelo?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Starhotels Michelangelo?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Starhotels Michelangelo offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Starhotels Michelangelo?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Italian.
All Rome HotelsRome Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in RomeHotels near Starhotels Michelangelo
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars