Hotel Gambrinus Roma

Hotel Gambrinus Roma

la chambre
Traveller (317)
Panorama of the Classic Room at the Gambrinus Hotel
360
Panoramas (10)
View from 1st floor single room
Room & Suite (315)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#411 of 1,116 hotels in Rome
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Located just 15 minutes walking distance from Spanish Steps and Via Veneto, the Hotel Gambrinus is placed in the heart of one of the most distinguished and refined district of Rome. Minutes away from the Termini train station and both line A & B subway stops, the hotel is a short bus ride distance from the most important monuments of the Eternal City such as Colosseum and the Roman Forum, Trevi Fountain, the Pantheon and the Vatican city.As soon as you cross the threshold of this exclusive hotel in Rome you will sense its special atmosphere of warmth and intimacy, relaxation and charm. An atmosphere that makes you feel like at home away from home, where every detail is cared with passion and where guests receive a truly personal attention.A generous buffet breakfast is served every morning in the hotel's stylish dining room that features original stone-works of the 19th century in the vaulted ceilings, and Roman-travertine floors whre you could choose from a huge selection of cereals, bread, pastries, fresh fruit, eggs, cheese, bacon, ham and salami.You will love staying in our tidy, cosy, intimate and fully furnished rooms and suites that are ideal to enjoy relaxing moments after long days walking tours and shopping of this city.A multilingual and young staff, well trained and naturally oriented to the Guest, will be dedicated to satisfying your every need and request, suggesting and booking city tours, tour guides, restaurants, Spa treatments and massages, transfers by car to the airport or to the city and any other service that will make your stay unforgettable.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Concierge
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Bath / shower
Telephone
Bottled water
Iron
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 2 more

Location

Via Piave 35, 00187 Rome Italy
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Ciampino Airport
14.6 km
See all flights
Fiumicino Airport
23.3 km
See all flights
Castro Pretorio
9 minRome Metro
1,611Review33Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 483
  • 649
  • 275
  • 118
  • 87
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Fisiboo wrote a review Jan 2020
Oakham, United Kingdom213 contributions129 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed three nights here, and overall enjoyed our stay. Our room was small, but had everything we needed, including an iron and hanging board in the wardrobe, tea and coffee making facilities, TV, free wifi, fridge and safe in the wardrobe. It was very clean and the bed was comfortable. Our room was quiet and overlooked the French embassy, so we had a nice view of their garden! Breakfast overall was good, with maybe the best croissants we have ever eaten (and we spend a lot of time in France), however, even though breakfast runs til 10.00 a.m. and we usually arrived just before 9.00 a.m. the hot food trays were generally empty apart from a few bits of sausage. However, there was always a selection of different breads, ham, cheese, salami, jam, cake, cereal, fruit and yoghurt to satisfy most needs. Staff were overall, pleasant, but outstanding were Valerio on Reception, who was very helpful and fun to talk to, and the gentleman who ran the breakfast area. There is a bus stop practically outside the hotel and the bus that runs to Piazza Venezia is at the bottom of the road, a 5 minute walk at most. The area the hotel is situated in a pleasant area that felt safe to walk around, with a few restaurants in the vicinity. The lift is quite slow, and as others have said, the only stairs are the fire escape stairs that go to outside. We stayed on the second floor, and this was being renovated during our stay, but they took care to shut the fire doors so there was no dust or noise to disturb us. Overall a good stay
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: We had room 205 which was small and slightly wedge-shaped but it was quiet and had been updated
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from csupport, Manager at Hotel Gambrinus Roma
Responded Jan 16, 2020
Dear Fisiboo, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on your recent stay. We truly appreciate your kind words about our comfortable and well-equipped rooms. It's a boost for us every time we receive positive reviews such as this. Your kind words about the friendly and professional service you received from our team members are much appreciated. Rest assured, we have noted your comments regarding our breakfast and elevator and have handed them to the concerned teams for review. Thank you for mentioning our location, an ideal starting point for visiting the city and handy for the nearby transport options. We look forward to welcoming you back. Best New Year wishes, Joseph Clemente, Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
dad30 wrote a review Feb 2020
Totnes, United Kingdom239 contributions100 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights, arrived early but room was ready so great start we thought, room was small but very clean and bed was comfy and Reception staff were pleasant. As we were up early we were knackered so didn’t really notice the noise from outside straight away but please be warned if you are in one of the rooms at the front of the hotel 114 I think ours was be prepared for the noise, the cobbled street doesn’t help and the noise of the buses was horrendous unfortunately there is a bus stop right opposite. We put up with it for a second night but after having got hardly any sleep had to ask if any other rooms were available for our last night. The reception did change our room to the second floor and a room not facing the front cost 20 euros But thought if we sleep it was worth it. Great no noise from the road this time but we were next to the lift so heard that going up & down and the door opening & closing also the water flushing from the room above. All in all not a great stay, location was ok. Found our way round ok a bit of walking was required to reach any of the sites but not a problem. We ate a couple of times at The restaurant opposite which was good and reasonably priced.
Also another thing that wasn’t great was that there were shoe shines in the corridor opposite our room and some inconsiderate guests decided to use it late at night ???
Breakfast was ok nothing special. There is fridge in the room so brought some fresh milk from the shop up the road so we could have tea in the room as they only supplied powdered milk I also had to get some breakfast teabags from downstairs as there wasn’t any in our 2nd room.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from csupport, Manager at Hotel Gambrinus Roma
Responded Feb 20, 2020
Dear Dad30, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on your recent stay. It was very kind of you to acknowledge our team's courteous and professional service, and this feedback will encourage us all to continue upholding our high standards. We regret to read that you were not completely satisfied with your room. We do offer rooms of various types and sizes. We are sorry that the alternative room provided wasn't perfect for your needs. Please let us know of your requirements for your next visit. The satisfaction of our guest's is of our utmost priority and we will always do our best to ensure your time with us is comfortable. We hope to welcome you for an improved experience in future. Kind regards Joseph Clemente, Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Judith B wrote a review Feb 2020
11 contributions22 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The room was a good size but the broken aircon (confirmed by staff) meant that even in February the room was very hot and very airless at night. With the window open it was cooler but the road is only quiet between 1 am and 5am! Although breakfast is served from 7am to 10am we had only lukewarm water for a shower, or even cold, after 8am. There was standing water at the edges of the bathroom floor every day, possibly from the shower tray leaking or the water supply for the bidet. There was a Metro strike on our first day but no signs in the hotel to warn tourists (we have had this sort of information from hotels like the Gambrinus in the past). We wasted a lot of time getting to the Termini Metro station only to have to turn back. The beds, though, were wonderfully comfortable. The staff that we met were friendly. The buffet breakfast was on a par with others we have had in similar hotels. Because of the aircon issue, which seems to be a recurring one, we would not stay here again. If they had offered fans, or a change to a room away from the street, we might have considered it.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: if you want to open a window avoid road-facing rooms.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from csupport, Manager at Hotel Gambrinus Roma
Responded Mar 4, 2020
Dear Judith, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience. It is nice to know that you appreciated the comfort of our quality bedding, as well as the efforts by our team members to always provide a high level of personal service. However, we do regret that other aspects of your stay did not meet expectations. We have duly noted your concerns so that we can make future improvements where necessary. Please rest assured that we are actively working on a solution regarding the air conditioning and hot water tank. We hope that you will give us another chance to appreciate our improvements firsthand. Best regards, Joseph Clemente, Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
alan6752 wrote a review Feb 2020
Woodhall Spa157 contributions91 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Because of how much we had paid for this break 4 nights away and including flights both myself and my wife were not expecting too much!
What a pleasant surprise, the location was great with a bus stop outside and the metro just 10 minutes walk away! Having said that we pretty much walked everywhere finding most of the historical venues within easy reach!
The staff were very welcoming upon our arrival and were shown to a small but very adequate room with everything you needed. My only concern would be that the air conditioning was not great and in the heat of summer the room could be oppressive!
I had previously read about the breakfast being of a poor standard, well I know it’s only my opinion but I found the choice available and the quality of the food to be very good.
I would not hesitate to recommend this place!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from csupport, Manager at Hotel Gambrinus Roma
Responded Feb 20, 2020
Dear Alan, Thank you for your valuable review and recommendation. It is always rewarding to know that we were able to exceed expectations. Thank you for letting us know that our location was so convenient and helped you make the most of your time here in Rome. It's a pleasure to know we were able to tempt your taste buds with the selection on our breakfast buffet. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, Joseph Clemente, Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Smokie24 wrote a review Feb 2020
Stafford, United Kingdom129 contributions83 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The location of this hotel is good but you do have a 10 minute walk before you reach a Metro station, which was not a problem for us but may not suit everyone. There are local restaurants if you want to eat nearby in the evening.
The service in the hotel was excellent throughout, polite and efficient. Staff went the extra mile to help.
The room was quite small for a 3 night stay but was clean with a comfortable large bed, pillows etc. Tea/coffee making facilities were also available. Slight problem with noise, at the front of the hotel, as a bus stop is directly opposite. Bathroom was adequate, with some toiletries.
Breakfast was buffet style, in a very comfortable and well decorated area. The choice of food was very good, hot and cold and bakery items.
There is a small bar area and IT room. We did struggle with wi-fi access here (not a problem we normally have with our phone) but other guests seemed OK.
Overall, this was a very good hotel and provided excellent value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Probably best to avoid rooms at the front on the lower floors.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from csupport, Manager at Hotel Gambrinus Roma
Responded Feb 20, 2020
Dear Argentrica, Thank you for taking the time to share a review. We are delighted that you had a pleasant experience during your stay with us and appreciate your kind feedback about our teams service. We owe it to ourselves to provide quality services to our guests and are sorry that you were a little disappointed with the size of your room; we do have rooms of different categories and sizes and we would have been very happy to help you find you one that better suited to your requirements. We are sorry to hear that you were disturbed, please do let us know of any issues at the time, our team would be pleased to provide a quieter room, once available. Nevertheless it is a pleasure to know that you found our location convenient for what you were looking for. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards Joseph Clemente, Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jean w wrote a review Jul 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were looking for a hotel with a personal touch, a room large enough to accomodate twin beds comfortably, clean , good breakfast and just as importantly, helpful and friendly staff. The Gambrinus hotel had all this in spades. Our tour agent had not advised the hotel that we would need a twin room, but within ten minutes of our arrival the hotel manager had organised everything perfectly; no fuss, nothing was a big deal for them.
The hotel is located about ten minutes walk or a five minute taxi or bus ride from Termini, ten minutes from Piazza Barberina and its wonderful Palazzo, fifteen minutes walk from Trevi and the bus is right outside the door. a Rinascenti store is at the top of the road, and you pass a great gelato store to get there.
It is a location in the Coppede, the embassy and ministry area but with hidden attractions. Small but perfectly formed museums (many with free entry) and gardens.
Beside Porta Pia designed by Michelangelo is a museum of the Risorgemento, nearby are the Tirlonia, the Museo Boncompagnie and Museo di Storia Medicina.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gabrielle D wrote a review May 2024
2 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I have just returned home following a 7 night stay at this very special hotel. From the moment we arrived we were treated with smiles and enthusiasm by all staff. We needed to check in early, and that was no problem; all three rooms were ready. All rooms were clean, and bright, and well equipped. There was a coffee machine and kettle. Fresh supplies of tea and coffee were delivered every day. There was even an iron and ironing board.

The only negative from my point of view was the horrible view from my room. It overlooked a dirty courtyard and storage area. I had booked and paid for all three rooms, reserving the most expensive room category for myself. However, the other two rooms had the most wonderful views of trees and beautiful buildings. Really, I think that a room shouldn’t be sold as a superior room if it has such a gloomy view as my room did.

Now back to the nice things. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Rual, the breakfast waiter, was outstanding in the level of service he afforded us. Contrary to what is suggested in other reviews, the breakfast buffet was excellent, with a wide variety of hot and cold items to choose from.

The hotel is small, and this is wonderful because the staff quickly get to know all guests. There were extra little personal touches. For example, I was the elder member of our group of five, and I sometimes chose to return early to the hotel after dinner. On each such occasion a staff member accompanied me in the elevator and watched me return safely to my room. On another occasion we were dressed up to go to a wedding, and the reception staff made us all feel very glamorous by commenting on our attire. That level of personal attention does not occur in large hotels.

All areas were kept impeccably clean. Our room was serviced every morning, and we were always given clean towels. There was never a shortage of anything in the room.

The hotel is within walking distance of the famous sites, and if we ever needed taxis the hotel reception organised this without delay.

In the immediate vicinity of the hotel there’s a wide variety of restaurants to choose from, all with excellent food at very reasonable prices. For example, in the cafe beside the hotel I was charged a mere €4.40 for a cappuccino and two little cakes.

This hotel far exceeded my expectations. We are already hoping to return there for another holiday early next year.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not overlook the central courtyard.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Al S wrote a review Jan 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The staff at the Hotel were very helpful, and especially Valerio at the front desk and Fabrizia and Ruel in the Dining Room. These people went above and beyond to help us find dining spots, make us feel comfortable with our lack of the local language, and always make sure to greet us in a friendly manner. Fabrizia and Ruel always had our Caffe Americana ready in the morning and the buffet was always well stocked and mangaged. We could not be more happy with our experience at this Hotel.
Bravo to the staff!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephen S wrote a review Oct 2021
16 contributions10 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Many good and great points about hotel. Very clean, great location, neighbourhood is very safe and some great restaurants locally. Easy to access city using either public transport or walking. Roberta, the receptionist was a dream and made life a lot easier for us and organised a private transport to airport for €40 which was brilliant. Rooms are small but has everything you need. Only negatives are the air con is poor, would hate to be trying to keep cool in Summer and also bed was quite hard.
However, positives far outweigh negatives and would have no problem rebooking.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: 3 day public transport tickets are brilliant. Buy one in most shops. Get hotel to organise...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Craig B wrote a review Oct 2023
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
First, I want to thank Ruel who served our continental breakfast each day. He was friendly and very attentive and the evening front desk staff.
The photos of the hotel look great however the hotel is dated. Bathrooms very small, lighting in rooms we were in was not good, bedding was not comfortable. Air conditioning was not good at all! It seemed like and inconvenience to some staff members when asked to correct non-working items. Getting to the major attractions was not convenient at all, we had to walk a great distance or take a number of taxi rides. I think there could have been more helpful information from staff about local restaurants and transportation connections. Overall, I would look for a hotel closer to the major attractions to better experience the history, good food and and beauty of Rome.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
nas_baby asked a question Sep 2020
Kent,223 contributions77 helpful votes
Is there a gym or swimming pool?
Answer from Smokie24
Stafford, United Kingdom129 contributions83 helpful votes
There are 2 airports - we came into Fiumicino. It was easy to take a fast train into the Termini Station and then it was a 10 minute walk. We had only hand luggage. We returned from the other airport and took a taxi, as it was early morning, the hotel arranged this.
Answer from james
8 contributions6 helpful votes
Yes, it does have a small lift.
Sightseer793444 asked a question Aug 2019
Belfast, United Kingdom136 contributions49 helpful votes
Hi, does the hotel have an elevator? Thanks
Answer from Alan R
5 contributions1 helpful vote
Yes, a small one
Answer from Jean-Guy N
16 contributions3 helpful votes
Sorry, can't be of any help. We only saw the smaller room.
Gabrielle D wrote a tip May 2024
2 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a room that does not overlook the central courtyard."
Read full review
Andy wrote a tip Feb 2024
Plymouth, United Kingdom67 contributions15 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a balcony room if you can as this was really amazing. "
Read full review
WhistlingBear wrote a tip Feb 2024
Manningtree, United Kingdom214 contributions107 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you turn the zircon off, put a note over the controller requesting it is left off."
Read full review
Rhiannon wrote a tip Sep 2023
Cardiff, United Kingdom9 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"There is a city tax on arrival. For two people it cost £50 euro. Just be weary of this!"
Read full review
Trip67056853097 wrote a tip Jun 2023
Watford, United Kingdom1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"The hop on/ hop off buses good option. Don't fall for the private tours of Colluseum, official tickets only €17 and no queuing to get in. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Rome area.
PRICE RANGE
C$176 - C$368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
ItalyLazioRomeTermini / Centro / Sallustiano
NUMBER OF ROOMS
57
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Hotel Gambrinus Roma - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Gambrinus Roma
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Gambrinus Roma?
Nearby attractions include Museo Boncompagni Ludovisi (0.3 km), Breccia di Porta Pia (0.2 km), and Piazza San Bernardo (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Gambrinus Roma?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Gambrinus Roma?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Gambrinus Roma?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Gambrinus Roma?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Gambrinus Roma?
Conveniently located restaurants include Gelateria Azzaro, Pizzeria Italia dal 1987, and JiaMo.Lab.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Gambrinus Roma?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Gambrinus Roma?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, and Russian.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Gambrinus Roma?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Basilica di Santa Maria Maggiore (1.4 km), St. Peter's Basilica (3.7 km), and Colosseum (2.2 km).
All Rome HotelsRome Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in RomeHotels near Hotel Gambrinus Roma
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars