We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Church Palace

Expedia.comUS$109*
View Deal
#469 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
The Church Palace
The Church Palace
Panoramas (24)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

471 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 222: English reviews
Start your review of The Church Palace
 Click to rate
montreal
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We really liked the hotel and where it was with a metro station nearby. Lots near to see & shop. The service was good and the drinks and food were good too, Breakfast was very good. The only things, rooms were small, lots of door slamming ( you must close door firmly to close) ; A handy phone with free...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dchefMontreal
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 21 March 2017

We just arrived from our lovely stay in The Church Palace. Very beautiful hotel with gorgeous lobby area and decoration. In the hotel, you can find a church that's why it has such a name. We stayed in room 219, was beautiful and very clean, at first, the hotel has allocated us in room 220 but we asked for a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kira T
About Hotel's Favourite Review
Giada M, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at The Church Palace, responded to this review

Dear Kira T thanks a lot for your enthusiastic review. It's very important for us to know you had a beautiful experience in our hotel. Thanks for having shared our crown jewels publically, Handy is certainly a big innovation and something very useful for guests. Next time we'll be happy to invite you to try our Nero Restaurant where you...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Having recently arrived at the Church Palace it certainly is an impressive exterior. Check was a pleasant experience, however the room is disappointing. The room overlooks the bin yard, and basic amenities are not provided in the room such as a kettle, tea or coffee or an iron and ironing board (nor can be provided). We have been stopped at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kris J
Giada M, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at The Church Palace, responded to this review

Dear Kris J, thanks for your feedback regarding your stay. We really hope that now things are going better, we apologise for the inconvenience had and we wish you a pleasant stay at The Church Palace. As you have seen our staff is always striving to make guests happy and we hope your room is now what you expected. Unfortunately...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We spent 3 days in this hotel. Accommodation was very good as was dinner at the restaurant with a very helpful and polite waiter. MR C, the concierge was extremely helpful. The hotel provides a very good shuttle service to the city centre. Very interesting and beautiful decor.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michaelandirene
Giada M, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at The Church Palace, responded to this review

Dear michaelandirene, thanks a lot for your beautiful review! We're very happy you had a nice stay at our Hotel! We hope to see you again in the future and let you try all the nice services we can propose. All the best Giada Guest Relation Manager

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The stunning setting and soaring entry unfortunately cannot cover up the fact that this is in reality a 2 start motel masquerading as a four star property. Rooms offer little space for unpacking and there is no desk, so if you have work to do you will be spread out on the bed. Bathroom amenities are poor and shower stall...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Pierce S
Giada M, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at The Church Palace, responded to this review

Dear Pierce S, thanks for the feedback on your recent stay, this is very important for us to improve our service. We apologise for the inconvenience regarding the coffee pods. Unfortunately we ran out of coffee pods during national holidays and this caused a late delivery. I apologise on behalf of the staff member who did not allow you to...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 April 2017

I spent 2 nights here over the easter weekend for a Rome city break and would recommend this hotel as a great choice for somewhere on the outskirts of the city but with such easy access into the centre with the Metro station a 5 minute walk from the hotel. On the main line into the city within 10 minutes!...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lydshep
Giada M, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at The Church Palace, responded to this review

Dear lydshep thanks a lot for your great review. We are very happy you had a nice stay with us and that would recommend the place. It is right to say we are located in a strategic position, far but near the rest of the city close to any service but enjoying the quietness of the place. It is also...

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 April 2017

Myself and my Daughter have just returned from a 4 night stay at this hotel , i really wanted to love the hotel but from the moment we checked in things started to go downhill for us . The first room we were given was with a view of the multiple large bins we asked to be moved and were...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank maureendavies55
Giada M, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at The Church Palace, responded to this review

Dear maureendavies55, thanks for your feedback, this helps us a lot to improve ourselves always more every day. We are sorry about the diseases you had during your stay but as you mentioned there was a party and others events in house and maybe this annoyed your vacation, but of course if you were here in another quieter period you...

Todmorden, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

The exterior and main interior settings are lovely however the rooms are very small and minimalistic. They would not allow for air con to be switched on, the toilet continuously leaked as did the shower when in use and some staff were rude. It's quite a lot of money for what you can get in comparison to other hotels, so...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nataliejade18491
Giada M, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at The Church Palace, responded to this review

Dear nataliejade18491, thanks for your feedback about your recent stay. Our hotel is having a long resyling period for this reason some rooms are not completely renovated yet but we are continuously working on this. Our rooms are also very different each other because in our historical palace many rooms can be more spacious than others and depending on the...

commerce
Reviewed 8 April 2017

We stayed here through Music contact international with 51 other kids and parents, so this may not reflect a normal stay. The rooms were neat, clean and to European standards, not a lot of space! The gardens and overall appearance were great, animal themed inside with nice décor. Very quiet setting which made it nice to sleep with the windows...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank djschwey
Giada M, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at The Church Palace, responded to this review

Dear djschwey, thanks for your lovely review. We really hope to see you soon next time for another occasion to try all the services we can propose. All the best, Giada Guest Relation Manager

Reviewed 8 April 2017

Away from the hustle and bustle of the city centre, The Church Palace provided a relaxing haven after a long and tiring day sightseeing. Situated only 5 minutes away from the Metro, it was a good base to visit all the main attractions in Rome. Our room was quite small but very comfortable, although we would have appreciated better hangars...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keith B
Giada M, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at The Church Palace, responded to this review

Dear Lorraine & Keith, thanks a lot for your precious feedback about your stay in our Hotel. Mr C is our added value he is happy to read your words. Ask Mr C includes a series of services for the guests' best comfort and stay, this is something we care a lot. We really hope to see you soon here...

723 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (317)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (79)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
1:52
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (183)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (332)
Viewed
Amenities (35)
Viewed
Classic Room (24)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (30)
Viewed
Junior Suite (35)
Viewed
Dining (68)
Viewed
The Hotel (140)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (74)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (35)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Raganelli Hotel
#414 of 1,257 in Rome
590 reviews
The Church Village
#1,101 of 1,257 in Rome
441 reviews
Pinewood Hotel
#486 of 1,257 in Rome
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Occidental Aurelia
#242 of 1,257 in Rome
1,048 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel delle Province
Hotel delle Province
#280 of 1,257 in Rome
1,591 reviews
Ostiense
Saint Paul Hotel
Saint Paul Hotel
#531 of 1,257 in Rome
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Church Palace is a charming 4 star Superior hotel housed in a magnificent historic building of Renaissance inspiration. The Hotel has been completely renovated to meet the needs of an international clientele, but has maintained its noble, elegant and refined lines beyond a welcoming atmosphere. Set in a private park,the Hotel perfectly blends with the historic park of Villa Carpegna. Only 500 mts from Cornelia Metro Station (line A - three stops from the Vatican Museums) and 3 km from the Vatican City, the Hotel with its 200 comfortable rooms offers its guests a special selection of fine dining with three restaurants and a lounge bar. The conference centre is set up with a large auditorium and different meeting rooms equipped with the latest technology and advanced audio-visual media. Behind the beautiful cloister, right in the heart of the Hotel, there is an unexpected and grandiose Church, which is open for big concerts and prestigious events, in addition to its natural religious function. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Church Palace

Address: Via Aurelia 481, 00165 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Price Range: $116 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Church Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, TravelUp, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Church Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domus Mariae Palazzo Carpegna Hotel Rome
Grand Hotel Rome
Grand Palazzo Carpegna
Grand Hotel Palazzo Carpegna
Palazzo Carpegna
Hotel Style:
#128 Business Hotel in Rome
#240 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Church Palace staff and other travellers.
29 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (29)

Questions? Get answers from The Church Palace staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“dont take 105 (near elevator...”
dchefMontreal, 27 May 2017 | Read review
“Expensive rooms will have tea/coffee facilities and probably a nice view”
cristoforoi623, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“External view”
651kirat, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Book a suite”
sharonlK9932PA, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms are large, light and airy.”
838lynnw, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$109* /night
View Deal
AMOMAUS$215
Orbitz.comUS$109
Hotels.comUS$110
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates