We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

La Scalinatella B&B

PricelineUS$92*
View Deal
#444 of 3,622 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
La Scalinatella B&B
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

135 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 25: English reviews
Start your review of La Scalinatella B&B
 Click to rate
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed at La Scalinatella B&B for three nights. Location is great, but the B&B left a lot to be desired. We were asked if we smoked upon arrival (no), but found that our room smelled of cigarettes and lacked a lot of the charm that drew us to initially book our accommodations. We had a lot more interaction with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank April W
Napoletana_aMilano, Proprietario at La Scalinatella B&B, responded to this review

Dear Guest, you could complained when you was here not on Tripadvisor. We are always available to understand guests' reasons and we make our best efforts to sort out each problem. It is impossible the room smelled of cigarettes because smooking in the rooms is forbidden for safety reasons. If other guest smoke on the balcony I cannot avoid it.......

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for two nights. Pros: The room was really lovely, very spacious and such a comfy bed! The shutters were great for keeping out the light. The host was very warm and friendly and offered us some recommendations for where to go for dinner in the area, and was flexible with check out and payment. She also let...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Izzie D
Napoletana_aMilano, Proprietario at La Scalinatella B&B, responded to this review

Dear Izzie, I thank you for your review but I would like to underline the following: 1) we offer free WIFI only in the common area because we know that the signal is faible in the rooms and we inform guests about it. The wall are very thick and the centre of Rome is over-crowded so we can do nothing...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 April 2017

Both my husband and I stayed at La Scalinatella in April - 3 nights. We were very happy with the location, Monti is absolutely amazing for food and centrally located - you can walk pretty much everywhere. The local caffee just around the corner served the best cappuccino in town. Anna Maria at La Scalinatella was very friendly and made...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 27lew123
Napoletana_aMilano, Proprietario at La Scalinatella B&B, responded to this review

Dear Joanna and Bart, thank you for your kind comments. We wait for you soon. Regards Annamaria

Reviewed 2 December 2016

This is a B&B situated on a narrow street 20 minutes walk from the main station and 2 minutes walk from the metro station. Close to the other main attractions. The Colluseum is just down the road and the Tevelli fountain is within walking distance. There are lots of small cafes and restaurants in the street. The B&B is tricky...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa L
Napoletana_aMilano, Proprietario at La Scalinatella B&B, responded to this review

Dear Guest, let me understand. You write: This is a B&B situated on a narrow street 20 minutes walk from the main station and 2 minutes walk from the metro station. Close to the other main attractions. The Colluseum is just down the road and the Tevelli fountain is within walking distance. There are lots of small cafes and restaurants...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

Great location only 10 mins walk from the forum and the colosseum great owners.local restaurants good choice of food. They are good hostesses. Close to tube - very easy to use. Try coffee pn the front or pier.if weather is good a bike ride is in order;->]

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chrisesb
Napoletana_aMilano, Proprietario at La Scalinatella B&B, responded to this review

Thanks a lot. Annamaria and Elisabetta

Paris
Reviewed 19 August 2016

My wife and I often travel to Rome and we are now convinced this will always be our first pick. It ticks all the boxes: great accommodation in a classical Roman neighborhood. Location could not be better for convenience as well as trendiness with lots of interesting restaurants/bars/shops. All the rooms were immaculately clean, and very fairly priced. Our 2...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mozzaine
Napoletana_aMilano, Proprietario at La Scalinatella B&B, responded to this review

Dear Guest, my sister and I thank you very much for your wonderful review. We have appreciated very much the words " 2 hostesses worked like mad to run the place.....". Sometimes guests do not understand how much demanding our job can be. We hope you will come back soon. Regards Annamaria and Betta

Reviewed 27 July 2016

beautiful room with ensuite bathroom. Everything was perfect. Great location. walking distance from all amenities in Rome. Staff available and nice. I stayed there for two nights with a coupon bought on Groupalia spending 99 euro, breakfast included.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Federica B
Napoletana_aMilano, Proprietario at La Scalinatella B&B, responded to this review

Thanks you a lot. We wait for you soon. Annamaria and Betta

Washington
Reviewed 5 May 2016 via mobile

My husband and I have just returned from a 4 day trip to Rome. We had a lovely stay at La Scalinatella - the room (at the front of the apartment) was very pretty, clean and comfortable. The Colosseum is only 500m away, so very central for all major sights in Rome. For the evenings, the B&B is on a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jen P
Napoletana_aMilano, Proprietario at La Scalinatella B&B, responded to this review

Dear Jen, Betta and I thank you for your kind review. About the quality of breakfast I can assure that we use only top quality products. Furthermore by law, because of hygiene reasons, we can offer only packaged and mono portion products (which are much more expensive). Regards Annamaria and Betta

Reviewed 10 March 2016

I really enjoyed staying in this B&B. It is located in a very nice street with restaurants and bars in the city centre. The room itself was great, and the hotel owner very friendly! The only problem was that the WiFi signal was not strong in my room. But who cares about the WiFi when you are in Rome?

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Antonis B
Napoletana_aMilano, Proprietario at La Scalinatella B&B, responded to this review

Dear Antonis, we thank you for your kind review. About Wifi the problem is due to the fact that ancient buildings have very thick walls so, sometimes, the signal is weak. In any case for any need we make our computer available. Regards Annamaria

Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 29 September 2015

My daughter and I only spent 1 night at this B&B but it is certainly a B&B we will use in the future. It is close to all the attractions and close to a small piazza where locals meet for wine and conversation each night.. Really gives you a feel of being in a locals area and not in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank robyn1954
Napoletana_aMilano, Proprietario at La Scalinatella B&B, responded to this review

Dear Robyn, thanks a lot for you survey. We wait for you two soon. Regards Annamaria

55 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
I Capocci
I Capocci
#79 of 3,622 in Rome
179 reviews
Monti
Relais Monti
Relais Monti
#87 of 3,622 in Rome
134 reviews
Monti
Nerva Accomodation
Nerva Accomodation
#97 of 3,622 in Rome
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Made in Rome Bed&Breakfast
Made in Rome Bed&Breakfast
#184 of 3,622 in Rome
151 reviews
Monti
Inn Urbe Colosseo
Inn Urbe Colosseo
#83 of 3,622 in Rome
269 reviews
Monti
Cesare Balbo Inn
Cesare Balbo Inn
#387 of 3,622 in Rome
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Monti

Neighbourhood Profile
Monti
Monti is Rome’s rebel yell. This neighbourhood just west of Termini train station mixes grit with fun as it continues to fight for its reputation as a magnet for the artsy, alternative, and hipster. Every season, quirky boutiques and food spots sprout up on its cobblestone streets. The neighbourhood supports unique and homegrown businesses that cater to its longtime residents as well as hipsters on the hunt. Hang out at Piazza della Madonna dei Monti anytime after lunch and you'll always find something going on.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Bed & Breakfast La Scalinatella, renovated in September 2012, is located on the second floor of a seventeenth-century palace, in a charming quarter named Monti, at a stone's throw from Coliseum, the Roman Forum, Trajan's Market, the Victorian and the Basilica of Santa Maria Maggiore Cool bars, fashion shops, small restaurant, artisan shops as well as a renowned school of jazz make the area very attractive. We are at just one metro stop from Termini Rail Station (Metro B, Direction Laurentina, stop Cavour). ... more   less 

Additional Information about La Scalinatella B&B

Address: Via Urbana n. 48, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Price Range: $152 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your La Scalinatella B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from La Scalinatella B&B staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do not book a room at the front as very noisy late at night.”
lisalI9942DI, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“They are all good !”
Mozzaine, 19 Aug 2016 | Read review
“This is a B&B, not a hotel.”
OldScout41, 16 Jul 2014 | Read review
3 of 3
Priceline
US$92* /night
View Deal
Agoda.com
Booking.comUS$92
TripAdvisorUS$92
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates