We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Excel Hotel Roma Montemario

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Excel Hotel Roma Montemario
Excel Hotel Roma Montemario
Panoramas (41)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,044 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Excel Hotel Roma Montemario
See the most recent reviews
Showing 314: English reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed there for 3. Nights, after a Med cruise as part of a package deal. Room basic but you only need somewhere to sleep after spending the day discovering Rome, bar seems to open when it likes, closed on 2 of the 3 nights, good pizza deal if you eat before 20:30 then a la carte, they don't start serving...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard O
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed here 3 nights from 26-29 Sept 2016. From the rude reception staff that seemingly don't speak or understand a word of English, to the awful breakfasts, to the paper thin walls and incredibly noisy staff (and other guests) I can't find one good word to say about this hotel. Patchy slow wifi. The hotel is way out of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jay C
DanielaCustomercare, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Excel Hotel Roma Montemario, responded to this review

Dear Jay C, We are sorry to understand your stay wasn’t up to your expectations. In relation to the staff and the spectacular views from our location, as you can read from several reviews are two features loved by our guests, we are very sorry you didn’t feel the same. Hope to have another opportunity to make you change your...

England
Reviewed 5 October 2016 via mobile

This is a bit of a jekyl and hyde hotel. The outside reception corridors art and decor ,restaurant and staff i would give four stars. What lets it down is the rooms..they are functional and clean..but in mine no mini bar or water or coffee or tea.if you wanted water you needed to use vendinf machine which had no water...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank curlew
DanielaCustomercare, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Excel Hotel Roma Montemario, responded to this review

Dear curlew, thank you for taking your time to write your experience in our hotel. We are happy to understand you liked several aspects of the structure such as the outside, the corridor art and décor together to our excellent M&G The Restaurant and our fabulous staff. But, on the other hand, we are sorry room wasn’t totally up to...

England
Reviewed 5 October 2016

We had two nights here , prior to a med cruise. We didn't choose the hotel, it was part of a package. I had read the many negative reviews and was slightly apprehensive. But it all worked out great. On arrival we were upgraded, without asking or charge, to 206, which was a junior suite. Very spacious with full bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank trickster9
DanielaCustomercare, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Excel Hotel Roma Montemario, responded to this review

Dear trickster9, Thank you very much for taking your time to give us your feedback following your recent visit to our Excel Roma Montemario. We are glad to read you have spent a lovely time together with us during your stay in Rome and we are happy to know you appreciated our staff, friendly and helpful, the free upgrade at...

Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewed 4 October 2016

rooms are small, noisy (you hear every thing in the corridor), aircondition mal functioning, iternet conectivy very bad. Certainlly not worth the money. Though the staff is very friendly.Try another hotel....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank aaa744
DanielaCustomercare, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Excel Hotel Roma Montemario, responded to this review

Dear guest, We are very sorry to understand you didn’t spend good time in our hotel and for any inconvenience. We are happy to understand you liked our staff, friendly and helpful with our guest, a fundamental element to guarantee a pleasant stay according to us. All the team hope your travels will bring you back to stay with us...

Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 2 October 2016

We booked 2 rooms for us 6 (we and the daughters' family); those rooms where near to each other on 2nd floor, and nice and clean every day. Our bathroom was very small and the two bathrooms where not ventilated. Our shower was so small, it was just around my body and to descend it, my wife may nog sit...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Daniel D
DanielaCustomercare, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Excel Hotel Roma Montemario, responded to this review

Dear Daniel D, Thank you for taking your time to give us your feedback regarding your stay in our hotel. We are happy to understand you have found our rooms nice and clean, but at the meantime we are sorry to know you didn’t like breakfast in the morning. We guarantee high quality of food served at our M&G The...

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 September 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights in June and I dint have any major issues. I never watched TV there so I wouldn't know whether they had channels in English or not, but either way I'm a native Italian speaker so it wouldn't have mattered. The room was a bit small and old, the shower head broke down in my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stella C
DanielaCustomercare, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Excel Hotel Roma Montemario, responded to this review

Dear Stella, Thanks for your opinion about your stay in our hotel. We are happy to know you liked our services together to the staff, always helpful and gentle with our clients. But, at the meantime we are sorry and upset you didn't like our location. As you can see in other reviews is one of our most appreciated characteristic...

Milwaukee, United States
Reviewed 18 September 2016

Out of the way...no where near much of anything.. close to the bus route, a MickyD's a Wild West Steak house and decent local resturant.. but that's it. Located down a back dirt road this is supposed to be some sort of sports club there is a tennis court and a pool.. nice but only if you want to fork...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daryl J L
DanielaCustomercare, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Excel Hotel Roma Montemario, responded to this review

Dear Daryl J L, Thank you for taking your time to give us your feedback following your stay. We are happy to read you have found our staff great but at the meantime we are sorry your stay wasn't totally up to your expectations. As you have certainly read in the internet, the swimming pool is an extra service; our...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 September 2016

We were welcomed by three receptionists, and immediately told that our room wasn't ready. This wasn't the problem as we were slightly early. The issue was that we were told to dump our bags in a conference room until our room was ready.... No explanation of where the pool is, where we can get changed or any discussion on how...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SaloonMarshal
DanielaCustomercare, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Excel Hotel Roma Montemario, responded to this review

Dear SaloonMarshall, we are very sorry and upset to read your feedback following your visit. All clients can get an opinion from our official website or internet in general before booking our hotel, any kind of information regarding position, services included, additional services, rooms and restaurant are available. Our reception is 24 h open and the staff is always helpful...

Reviewed 18 September 2016

The hotel is inside an old building with a big garden (but it was raining). The rooms are small, forniture is less than essential, in the bathroom I just found 2 tiny soaps and some bath/ shampoo foam (but my hair was terrible after the shower....). Very noisy air conditioning, and very noisy outside (my room was on the ground...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chiarella S
DanielaCustomercare, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Excel Hotel Roma Montemario, responded to this review

Dear Chiarella S, we are very sorry to understand your stay wasn't totally up to your expectations. We are sorry for any misunderstanding and all the team hope that your travels will bring you back to stay with us in the not too distant further to show you our willingness in meeting your expectations during your next stay. Looking forward...

663 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (295)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (58)
Viewed
Bathroom (44)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (74)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (84)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (352)
Viewed
Amenities (70)
Viewed
Matrimoniale Deluxe (24)
Viewed
Matrimoniale Standard (27)
Viewed
Pool (25)
Viewed
Quadrupla (26)
Viewed
Dining (48)
Viewed
Suite (44)
Viewed
The Hotel (66)
Viewed
Tripla (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
1.8 km away
Hotel Pineta Palace
Hotel Pineta Palace
#439 of 1,292 in Rome
915 reviews
5.5 km away
Black Hotel
Black Hotel
#586 of 1,292 in Rome
817 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Zone
Hotel Zone
#432 of 1,292 in Rome
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 km away
Hotel Artis
Hotel Artis
#354 of 1,292 in Rome
608 reviews
2.3 km away
Grand Hotel Tiberio
Grand Hotel Tiberio
#265 of 1,292 in Rome
922 reviews
4.8 km away
Raganelli Hotel
Raganelli Hotel
#443 of 1,292 in Rome
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Excel Hotel Roma Montemario is located in a peaceful district surrounded by the green, short distance from the Olympic Stadium, the Flaminio Stadium and 5km from Saint Peter Basilica. The perfect choice for those in town on business or leisure, the hotel is near local bus stop and is half hour from Rome downtown. All the rooms have natural light and are provided with bath with shower, hairdryer, tv and wifi. Our Resort offers an outdoor pool opened from June to August, tennis and beach volley courts, sauna, sporting club and parking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Excel Hotel Roma Montemario

Address: Via Degli Scolopi 31, 00135 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Price Range: $81 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Excel Hotel Roma Montemario 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Excel Hotel Roma Montemario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excel Roma Montemario Hotel Rome
Residenza Monte Mario Rome
Residenza Monte Mario Hotel Rome
Hotel Style:
#44 Spa Hotel in Rome
#301 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Excel Hotel Roma Montemario staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question
Solihull, United Kingdom
Manchester, United Kingdom
Bristol, United Kingdom

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Excel Hotel Roma Montemario staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“4 floor double bed rooms”
 of 5 bubbles kokai1976, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We had room 222 at back of hotel overlooking flats”
 of 5 bubbles elainesmart4, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Find another Hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Jeff92Leeds, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“none that I can let you know of..”
 of 5 bubbles daryljl2013, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“at the ground floor the restaurant side is very noisy”
 of 5 bubbles chiarellas, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5