We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Yellow

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Yellow
The Yellow
Panoramas (3)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,232 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 706: English reviews
Start your review of The Yellow
 Click to rate
Joao Pessoa, PB
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Great hostel! Close to the central station, friendly staff that helps you whenever you need, rooms are clean and they offer you other services. The bar was fun to hang out and meet other people. Would like to stay over again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JLZMart
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

This was my fourth stop on my trip across Europe. Before I got to The Yellow I had already loose my passport and a luggage. The receptionist at the time of my check in was considerate and help enough to guide me through the necessary steps to complete my check in since a passport is required for at check in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dale E
Muenster, Germany
Reviewed 1 week ago

There is no Wifi in the kitchen nor in the dorms, where i was... Besides That, is not allowed to drink beer on the Lounge... Shower was really good in the main Building, although in the dorms located in the other side to the street, the shower was cold a few times.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joaohafeli
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Reviewed 1 week ago

We enjoyed staying at the Yellow. the staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean. The hostel has also a bar where you can have breakfast and have a drink at night. And a relaxation room, a kitchen, an escape room and even a hair salon! The only thing i was disturbed about was that the drainage in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Madalina L
theyellow, Front Office Manager at The Yellow, responded to this review

Hey Madalina ! First of all, thank you so much for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Also, thank you for bringing the bathroom issue to our attention. Our maintenance team will take care of this problem. Hope to see you again in our Yellow team ! Ernesta

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My partner and I stayed here for two nights in a private. The place has cool vibes in all the common areas, but our room was very basic and the ensuite was particularly cramped-- you had to climb over the toilet to get into the shower! That being said, it was an extremely good value, easy to navigate to, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle L
theyellow, Public Relations Manager at The Yellow, responded to this review

Ciao Michelle ! Thank you for taking your time to review your stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our Yellow Team! We are appreciate your feedback about the bathroom issue as it helps us to to improve our facilities. Thank you again and hope to see back ! Ernesta

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hostel was only a 5-10 min from Termini and was a very up to date hostel with great amenities and staff. This is a party hostel with a underground bar and club you can stay all night there drinking and partying. One of the best party hostels I have stayed at and will defiantly stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anthony D
theyellow, Front Office Manager at The Yellow, responded to this review

Hello Anthony, Thank you for the amazing review and hope to see you again! Filip

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had just being flying for 40+ hours by myself and turned up early to the hostel at 1030am, where I was told I couldn't check in. This was fine but was then rudely told where to put my bags as apparently I shouldn't have been there that early (not sure where else I was supposed to go when my flight...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda R
theyellow, Front Office Manager at The Yellow, responded to this review

Hey Amanda, Thank you very much for your review of your recent stay at our hostel. Your feedback is extremely valuable for us to to improve our service. We are sorry to hear that you did not received what you had expected on arrival time. Probably it happened as we are really busy in the morning ( on check out...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

- Review from 3 Irish girls aged 20 on a budget - We in this hostel for three nights at the beginning of September, and could not recommend it more. LOCATION After a slightly traumatic flight from Ireland to Rome ft. lots of thunderstorms and turbulence, we were absolutely delighted to find that the Yellow was only a 5 minute...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sarah B
theyellow, front desk officer at The Yellow, responded to this review

Ciao Sarah, thanks a lot for the amazing review! We're happy that you loved The Yellow and its atmosphere..It looks like you had an unforgettable stay! I'm pretty sure that we'll see you again :D A presto! Sara

Beirut, Lebanon
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This very social, modern and very well equipped hostel has an outstanding location, in Rome, within a 5 minute walk to Termini Station. Set in an classical Roman building, this place was designed to be a self-sufficient entity, complete with it's own small cafe, a bar that serves food and drinks as well as nightly live entertainment and even a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DriftersGuide
theyellow, Front Desk Officer at The Yellow, responded to this review

Ciao! Thanks for the great review, it was a pleasure to have you in our hostel and we're really happy that you enjoyed every single aspect of the Yellow. We love to take care of our guests and we want everyone to have an unforgettable stay. Come back soon! :) ps: Susie says thank you! And yes, she's the best...

Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

I stayed at the Yellow for two nights, and had an absolute blast! I stayed in a mixed dorm and the room was clean and comfortable enough, towel was included free. Common room was spacious and a great way to meet people, as was the hostel's bar just across the road. It went off both nights I was there during...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Zoe L
theyellow, Front Desk Officer at The Yellow, responded to this review

Ciao Zoe, thank you very much for the GREAT review, it looks like you had an unforgettable stay here with us! We're happy that you loved our walking tours as well as the cooking class (Marco is the best chef!)..and thanks for the special mention to our crew, we hope that you felt like home with us! Come back soon...

365 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (183)
Viewed
Room/Suite (54)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (73)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (125)
Viewed
Amenities (27)
Viewed
Six Mix Ensuite Room (30)
Viewed
Six Mix Room (19)
Viewed
The Hotel (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (40)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel des Artistes
Hotel des Artistes
#287 of 1,292 in Rome
1,239 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#374 of 1,292 in Rome
392 reviews
Prati
Colors Hotel
Colors Hotel
#315 of 1,292 in Rome
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Alessandro Downtown Hostel
Esquilino
Alessandro Palace Hostel
Alessandro Palace Hostel
#33 of 1,067 in Rome
690 reviews
Esquilino
Blue Hostel
Blue Hostel
#1 of 1,067 in Rome
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Esquilino

Neighbourhood Profile
Esquilino
Old school vibe from the very beginning is the only way to describe the Esquilino neighbourhood. The Esquilino takes pride in being one of the oldest areas in Rome for its key location on one of the city’s famous seven hills. From an ancient neighbourhood to its modern incarnation as a multicultural hub, Esquilino always has something going on—polyglot vendors debate street artists while kids play pick-up basketball games. Look around you: this area isn’t like the historic centre. Liberty architecture, large piazzas, and long boulevards mix with archaic arches, secret side alleys, and beautiful churches like Santa Maria Maggiore.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
YOU are going to love it here if:- YOU like to get your party on- YOU love socializing from dusk till dawn- YOU're looking for an international entourage- YOU think loud is the new black- YOU just want to kick back and enjoy yourself. More than just unrivaled location and facilities, Yellow has its own spirit that is made by everyone who stays or works here. Our staff are renowned for going out of their way to make the Yellow experience one that thousands of people each year remember as being a highlight of their travels. The Yellow has been established over ten years ago. We take the experience of these years and turn it into knowledge of how to best cater to the wants and needs of today's traveler. Some of our other great hostel features include:- FREE internet access and WI-FI - FREE iPad hire (30 min/ day)- BAR- Breakfast (a la carte) available from 6 am to noon - Food available all day,all night- Patio- All non-smoking bedrooms- Air conditioning (EVERYWHERE) - Great walking tours, bike tours and FREE TOURS- Supermarket around the corner- FREE city maps- Safe paid car parking nearby- Safe paid overnight luggage storage (long term)- FREE hot showers 24 h.- No lockout- No curfew- 24 HOUR CHECK-IN (you can check-in ANYTIME after 1.30Pm, the reception is always open, so you don't need to tell us your estimated arrival time)All our PRIVATE ROOMS are located in our ANNEX building, just a few foot steps away and are equipped with:- private en-suite bathroom - independent air-conditioning and heating- a safety deposit box- a hair dryer - FREE WIFI. Rome CITY TAX is NOT INCLUDED in the price of your bed and is payable directly in cash at the reception. The amount is 3 EUROS PER PERSON PER NIGHT IN CASH. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Yellow

Address: Via Palestro 51, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Price Range: $43 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Yellow 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your The Yellow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Yellow Hotel Rome
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Yellow staff and other travellers.
22 questions
Ask a question
San Diego, California, United States
New York City, New York
Norwich, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (22)

Questions? Get answers from The Yellow staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you want an early night, book a private room”
 of 5 bubbles sarahbZ2085YI, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“the basic rooms are fine or a traveller”
 of 5 bubbles ShereeH356, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“People who are scared by the idea of hostels but still want to make friends should choose ensuite rooms”
 of 5 bubbles 629aakanksham, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“402 had a nice view”
 of 5 bubbles amandalL2859WW, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Book the 10 person dorm!”
 of 5 bubbles 623adams, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5