We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Royal Victoria

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
Panoramas (14)
View Map
{"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

317 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 239: English reviews
Antibes, France
Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived in the gorgeous Varenna, welcomed by the staff and escorted to our suit with an incredible patio & view. Cold winter nights we made use of the fireplace & luxurious bath. We will surely return in the summer to experience the outdoor pool & bar area on the shore of Lake Como.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pigeonsailor977
StefaniaCorti-Royal, Responsabile reception at Royal Victoria, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It's such a pleasure to read your words! Our lake is a fantastic summer location, but a few people know it in winter time. We're trying to let people know how beautiful and relaxing it could be. We're happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We always try to welcome our guests at best and it's important for...

Kaunas, Lithuania
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited in December. Staff, breakfast and rooms were decent. Varenna is beautiful with good restaurants around, even in low season. As for the hotel, I would choose another if next time. Rooms are too pricey for the region, size and services. Services expected to be included with this price are for additional fee (crazy sauna price). Swimming pool promised to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gilvydas
StefaniaCorti-Royal, Responsabile reception at Royal Victoria, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We're afraid if your stay with us were not as you supposed. The services offered in low season as the ones offered in high season are specified. We had some packages spa entrance included, if you choose BB the access to the suite spa has an extra fee. The pool was heated as promised. Please consider that it's...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. We had a lake view room with a nice balcony overlooking the area. Beautiful sunrise views. The room was comfortable and I particularly loved the shower. Breakfast was varied and tasty.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MariaWB
StefaniaCorti-Royal, Responsabile reception at Royal Victoria, responded to this review

Thanks! We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us so much, hope to welcome you again

Asheville, North Carolina
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I arrived to a friendly, welcoming staff. I had a room overlooking the town piazza rather than a lake view room but, there was no traffic noise issue. The room had wonderful air conditioning. The hotel's lone elevator was rather slow but, besides that small quibble, the hotel was a very comfortable experience. I enjoyed a very nice dinner at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank William S
StefaniaCorti-Royal, Responsabile reception at Royal Victoria, responded to this review

Thanks so much! We're glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us so much. We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Bakersfield, California
Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

Great and friendly service. Delicious breakfast. Beautiful room in a lovely location. The only downside is that Wifi in the room is not free, however, it is not too expensive to access it. Also, there is free wifi in the common areas. Overall, a very pleasant stay. We highly recommend this hotel!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aawrey
StefaniaCorti-Royal, Responsabile reception at Royal Victoria, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We thank you for your nice words. It has been a pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you next time you'll be in Italy.

Reviewed 25 November 2016

This was our first visit to Lake Como. We chose to stay in Varenna as it is quieter and more intimate than Bellagio. The ferries around the lake make it very easy to visit any other towns. The Royal Victori Hotel surpassed all expectations. You feel as though you are living in a Palazzo on the lake. The rooms were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra W
StefaniaCorti-Royal, Responsabile reception at Royal Victoria, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your words! Our mission is to let our guests feel relaxed and comfortable in the magic of our location. It's a great pleasure to read we did it. Hope to welcome you soon ...

St. Petersburg, Florida
Reviewed 18 November 2016

My wife and I stayed 2 nights during the off-season and had a wonderful experience. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We had 2 dinners in the Grill and the wait-staff were attentive and knowledgeable. The meals were excellent. The hotel is just a short walk to the lake ferries, and it is even not too difficult to walk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bill H
StefaniaCorti-Royal, Responsabile reception at Royal Victoria, responded to this review

Thanks so much! We're glad to read you enjoyed your stay with us. We really hope to welcome you again.

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 13 November 2016

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in October. The hotel is conveniently located and very cosy. The staff were fluent in English and helpful, and the room was clean and comfortable. But nothing beats the views from the balcony: absolutely stunning! The Victoria grill serves delicious food and the staff working there were gracious and warm. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SKV22
StefaniaCorti-Royal, Responsabile reception at Royal Victoria, responded to this review

We really thank you for your good review. It's important for us to know what going on well or less with our work to let our guests fell comfortable and in peace while staying with us.

Reviewed 12 November 2016 via mobile

Great location, friendly and English speaking staff. Most accomodating . Fantastic Lake view room. Wonderful breakfast and restaurant. Good value for money for this time of the season. Really enjoyed the walks around Varenna including the ferry to Menaggio and Bellagio.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katherine D
StefaniaCorti-Royal, Responsabile reception at Royal Victoria, responded to this review

Thanks so much, We're glad you anjoyed your stay with us so much!

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 12 November 2016

Hotel Royal Victoria is a fine hotel but visiting Varenna in November wasn't our best choice - Most of Lake Como is closed at that time of year and the activities were therefore limited Thats not the hotel's fault - They remain open The staff were friendly and warm - No complaints there The main restaurant was closed that faced...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RIchardJS59
StefaniaCorti-Royal, Responsabile reception at Royal Victoria, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We're glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us. It's a pity you decided to vote only 3 points only because of other services are closed. We love our lake also in autumn/winter time and we're trying to let everyone know it. We're working on it and we offer the same services and quality for all our...

465 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (179)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (90)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (207)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Junior Suite Manzoni (35)
Viewed
Lake View Room (34)
Viewed
Outdoor Swimming Pool (16)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Square View Room (35)
Viewed
The Hotel (61)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (79)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varenna
0.5 km away
Hotel Olivedo
Hotel Olivedo
#4 of 6 in Varenna
707 reviews
3.5 km away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
21.8 km away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.8 km away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#3 of 32 in Como
757 reviews
5.1 km away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
946 reviews
0.6 km away
Eremo Gaudio
Eremo Gaudio
#5 of 6 in Varenna
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel Royal Victoria is a four stars hotel facing the lake, situated in the historical centre of Varenna, a charming medieval village and one of the most appreciated tourist destinations of lake Como. The recent renovations have preserved its XIX century aspect; the rooms offer all modern comforts while maintaining the atmosphere of a charming hotel. The bright and comfortable hall provide a refined and attractive atmosphere. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Royal Victoria

Address: Piazza San Giorgio 2, 23829 Varenna, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Varenna
Price Range: $198 - $1,680 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Victoria 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Royal Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Victoria Varenna
Royal Victoria Hotel Varenna
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Royal Victoria staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question
4 months ago
Swansea County, United Kingdom
Seattle, WA
11 months ago
Tampa, Florida
11 months ago

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Royal Victoria staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms were comfortable and clean but more expensive lake view romms are what is expected from this hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles Gilvydas, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Lake views are a must”
 of 5 bubbles RIchardJS59, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“request a room with a view.”
 of 5 bubbles 482martaz, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Look before you buy.”
 of 5 bubbles LynnSeattle, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a room facing the lake - you can enjoy the evening sun.”
 of 5 bubbles Gerhard43, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay