We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Boutique & Design Hotel ImperialArt

Save
Share
Freiheitsstrasse 110, 39012, Merano Italy
E-mail hotel
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$202
Hotels.comUS$202
eDreamsUS$202
PricelineUS$202
FindHotelUS$202
Trip.comUS$240
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (91)
360
Panoramas (10)
Videos (2)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
A note from Boutique & Design Hotel ImperialArt
Updated 20-05-30

About

#4 of 55 hotels in Merano
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Merano is a lovely city in the North of Italy, in South Tyrol. In the heart of the city center you find our Boutique & Designhotel ImperialArt. The 4 star hotel will satisfy you with a combination of comfort, art and lifestyle. Your well-being stay starts by choosing your favorite artroom, created by Elisabeth Hoelzl, Marcello Jori und Ulrich Egger. Around the hotel you find the main shopping area as well as the Thermal baths of Merano.
Read more
Room & Suite (200)200
Full view
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Coffee shop
Bicycle rental
Babysitting
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Parking
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary welcome drink
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Umbrella
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bidet
Bath / shower
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
See more room details
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Boutique
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, German, Italian
374Reviews4Q+A6Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 312
  • 51
  • 8
  • 2
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
ba296 wrote a review Oct. 2020
Bristol, United Kingdom14 contributions12 helpful votes
I wanted so much to love this hotel. The charming and helpful staff, the central location, the clever design, the bicycles available to guests for free, wristbands for the therme and saunas. But when you charge €175 per night - the most I’ve ever paid for a bed - everything has to be perfect. So when the obstinate and intransigent management wasted half of my day - and that of another guest who kindly offered to translate - by trying to weasel out of a direct booking offer to provide breakfast, it was an act of mean-spiritedness that undermined any possibility of generosity. Indeed they did not relent until the guest, a stranger, took pity and tried to pay for us! Finally shamed into taking the correct action, the hotel management did not apologise for the stress and hunger which had ruined the first day of the holiday, nor the wasted time for two guests, nor do anything to make up for the missing meal (not to mention the promised spa vouchers which never appeared). The excellent coffee aside, the breakfast we had was nothing special and had to be taken inside the dark bar, the outdoor terrace being closed for some unfathomable reason on Wednesdays. Why not empower their staff to make a little goodwill gesture? It would have cost nothing and left everyone happy and unbruised. Instead we experienced the Tyrolean coldness at the heart of this establishment. Thank God that big-hearted, chaotic Rome was our next destination.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Imperialart, Sonstige at Boutique & Design Hotel ImperialArt
Responded Oct. 31, 2020
We would like you to thank you for the time you dedicated us to write this review. We deeply regret this unfortunate event, simply caused by a misunderstanding. We informed you when you booked the room that the reservation did not include breakfast, and that las mentioned would have an additional fee of EUR 15,00 if consumed. We think, the misconception was partly caused by a language barrier - we will definitely work on that. We remember, when we spoke on the phone, that since you are from Bristol, you would love to try our artroom "Bristol" by Elisabeth Hölzl. We would be more than happy to get another chance, to show you, we can do so much better and as our act of apologizing we offer you a free upgrade to our room "Bristol"! We are really hoping to see you again in Merano and wish you all the best! Kind regards, Stefanie, Marion & Yvonne
Read more
JMGeneva wrote a review Sep. 2020
Geneva, Switzerland1515 contributions518 helpful votes
Mixed impressions here. There are very good points in favor of this hotel. Its location is just perfect, in the old town close to everything. Although the building is ancient the rooms have been interestingly refurbished and are very modern, quiet and nice. Bedding is excellent. Among the less attractive aspects, the entrance hall looks more like the one of a place renting rooms by the hour than that of a 4 stars hotel, there is absolutely no common areas, breakfast is in the adjacent bar and neither practical nor at the expected level of quality and comfort. There is an interesting deal with the thermal baths but note that it only applies if you book directly with the hotel and not through a third party, Front desk staff is nice and efficient. Altogether this is quite a nice place and we enjoyed our stay, but it's a bit flashy, overrated and certainly overpriced for what it offers.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Imperialart, Sonstige at Boutique & Design Hotel ImperialArt
Responded Oct. 18, 2020
We thank you for the time you dedicated us with this review. First of all, we are glad you enjoyed our strategical position in the center of Merano and our fancy rooms. However it's a pitty that we were not able to convice you completely of our unique boutiquehotel. What you stated in your review above is very much true: we do not have any common areas nor a big reception - but this is what we communicate on every channel! Our reception is small but very efficient - open 7 days a week, 365 days a year from 8.00 am to 9.00 pm - which are long opening hours if you think about how we only have 12 rooms :-) Our staff is always smiling (even under their face masks) and willing to fulfill any wishes, give the best recommandation in town and overall just make sure you feel good and enjoy your holiday. Our adjacent bar is part of the hotel and at the same time welcoming external guests as well - we wanted to give our guests the possibility to experience the "real" Merano feeling, among all the locals, enjoying their coffee in the morning and aperitivo in the evening. We would love to get a second chance to convince you completely of our concept and boutiquehotel - as you already stated above by booking directly with us the entrance to the thermal baths is included daily! Really hoping to welcoming you again we are sending best regards, Stefanie, Marion & Yvonne
Read more
Gilad wrote a review Jul. 2019
Boston, Massachusetts10 contributions7 helpful votes
From making our reservation, all service was perfect. The hotel is easy to find, parking is user friendly and we loved our stay. The room was appointed perfectly with a great balcony. The shopping in the area is great too! Breakfast was perfect. I would return here anytime. Every single person working at this hotel is professional and gets a 10 on being guest centric.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Splurge for a suite!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel_ImperialArt, Leiter Front Office at Boutique & Design Hotel ImperialArt
Responded Jul. 21, 2019
WOW! Thank you so much for this amazing review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and even more that you would consider coming back for another visit! We hope to see you soon :) Best regards, Stefanie and Marion
Read more
lauriem363 wrote a review Apr. 2019
Frankfurt, Germany3 contributions1 helpful vote
Everything about our stay at ImperialArt was perfect. Excellent location in the middle of Meran, helpful staff, beautiful room. Parking arrangement was perfect. The staff provided helpful information both before and during our stay.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2019
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel_ImperialArt, Leiter Front Office at Boutique & Design Hotel ImperialArt
Responded Apr. 21, 2019
Thank you so much for you amazing review! We appreciate all your kind compliments and are really happy, that you enjoyed your stay and like your artroom! We are hoping to welcome you again soon! Best regards from Merano, Stefanie, Marion and Samantha
Read more
Immer-gern-unterwegs wrote a review Oct. 2018
Hamburg, Germany194 contributions34 helpful votes
Right in the citycenter this small hotel offenes all you need in Merano: full equipment for the bath designed boy matteo thun. A lot of discounts for art, food, shopping. Extremly friendly staff, good breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel_ImperialArt, Leiter Front Office at Boutique & Design Hotel ImperialArt
Responded Nov. 7, 2018
Thank you so much for your beautiful review! We appreaciate your feedback and are very glad you enjoyed your stay in our unique boutique hotel. We hope to see you soon! Best regards from Merano, Stefanie, Samantha & Marion
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$184 - US$258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
ItalyTrentino-Alto AdigeProvince of South TyrolMerano
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Boutique & Design Hotel ImperialArt
Which popular attractions are close to Boutique & Design Hotel ImperialArt?
Nearby attractions include Merano Centro Storico (0.05 km), Kurhaus (0.02 km), and Passeggiata D'inverno (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Boutique & Design Hotel ImperialArt?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, breakfast buffet, and room service.
Which room amenities are available at Boutique & Design Hotel ImperialArt?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Boutique & Design Hotel ImperialArt?
Guests can enjoy breakfast and a free welcome drink during their stay.
Is parking available at Boutique & Design Hotel ImperialArt?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Boutique & Design Hotel ImperialArt?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sissi - Andrea Fenoglio, Bar Trattoria Mainardo, and Gelateria Sabine.
Is Boutique & Design Hotel ImperialArt located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Merano.
Are any cleaning services offered at Boutique & Design Hotel ImperialArt?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Boutique & Design Hotel ImperialArt?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to Boutique & Design Hotel ImperialArt?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Castle Thurnstein (3.1 km), Schnatterpeck Altar (7.5 km), and Stazione Ferroviaria Merano (0.7 km).
Does Boutique & Design Hotel ImperialArt have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.