We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Piccola Fenice

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Piccola Fenice
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

40 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 14: English reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

A bit hard to find (exact location is Calle de Madonna) just 5 minutes walk from vaporetto stop San Angelo. Our room was nice and clean, bedroom, small living area with a kitchenette and a bathroom. You get a key for the front door so it feels like having your own apartment in Venice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dóra H
Direzione177, Front Office Manager at Hotel Piccola Fenice, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your nice review!

NW London
Reviewed 9 August 2016

We were lucky to book this hotel a week from departure (3 August) as we lost our first booking with another hotel at the very last minute due to the co.going bankrupt. Travelling with 2 kids we booked a quad room and was given a room on the first floor. We were pleasantly surprised with the size of the room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SuNWLondon
Direzione177, Responsabile reception at Hotel Piccola Fenice, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice review, we are very glad to know that you had a good stay with us!

Fresno, California
Reviewed 19 July 2016

The location was great in an old building near Piazza San Angelo. There were restaurants and stores within close walking distance and even a grocery store nearly. Small but well equipped kitchen. All of the staff was super nice. The only bad thing was the toilet broke and we had to take the cover off the wall to get it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Camila0506
Direzione177, Responsabile reception at Hotel Piccola Fenice, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice review! We are sorry for the malfunction but we didn't realized up to the last day even because you refused the daily cleaning for 2 days putting our sign "Do not disturb" outside the door. Here you are a tip for all guests: if something doesn't work, tell it immediately at the reception staff, problem...

Penang Island, Malaysia
Reviewed 18 July 2016 via mobile

Be aware that the reception for this hotel is rarely manned and you are required to use the reception of one of their other hotels. This other hotel reception is manned by one of the most arrogant and rude individuals I have come across over many years of travel. He acted like it was a huge inconvenience to book a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chook_1977
Direzione177, Responsabile reception at Hotel Piccola Fenice, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear about your troubled departure, there are no excuses to justify our colleague’s behavior (even if he had a bad day or no coin at that time) and I really don’t know why our porter didn’t accompany up to the fourth floor with or without elevator as he should do! The director of our main...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 12 June 2016

Stayed 2 nights in the hotel in end May 16. We arrived at the hotel at 11pm via a private boat (took about 50 mins from airport), hotel was very difficult to find and had to ask for directions. We checked in at Hotel La Fenice to collect the room keys. The hotel was dated, the room furnishing and bedding...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ilovetravel2106
Direzione177, Front Office Manager at Hotel Piccola Fenice, responded to this review

Dear Sirs, I found your reservation and I would like to specify that you were here at the end of April (not May) and that’s why the air conditioning was still switched off. Particularly this year the weather obliged us to let the heating switched on up to the beginning of May (unusual in Venice). Furthermore I can understand if...

Westerly, Rhode Island USA
Reviewed 13 October 2015

We stayed at the Hotel Piccola Fenice for seven nights during our recent visit to Venice. The location is fabulous and the rooms are suites with a small living room and a compact well-supplied kitchens with microwave. (It was great for preparing a coffee or simple meals - rather than eating every meal out. And there is a wonderful supermarket...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lois P
Direzione177, Front Office Manager at Hotel Piccola Fenice, responded to this review

Dear Lois P., Thank you very much for your review. We hope to see you again in Venice!

Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 September 2015

Found it relatively easily from San Angelo Vaporetto stop. Superb location - couldn't be closer to La Fenice and within easy walking distance of St. Mark's Square, the Rialto Bridge and the wooden Accademia Bridge, accessing the lovely Dorsoduro area of the City. Building very Italian and a little olde worlde (not for lovers of ultra modern hotels). Room was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David H
Albertson, New York
Reviewed 10 April 2015

Let me premise this review by suggesting to all travelers to Venice to pack lightly as possible as there are bridges to climb with heavy bags otherwise. Couple that fact with a hotel extremely difficult to locate, you may be sentencing yourself to a two hour ordeal/search like we had. Be sure to get off at the Angelo water bus...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank KennyL78
Direzione177, Front Office Manager at Hotel Piccola Fenice, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We would like to point out that we usually don't give complimentary breakfast at Hotel La Fenice for our guests but we offer the possibility to have it there at Euro 10,00 per person daily. Best regards

Manchester
Reviewed 6 November 2014

We arrived at the hotel mid morning we did have to ask directions as it was on a very small street the room itself was in fact a suite and a lot larger than we imagined which was pleasantly surprising. the room was very clean and had towels, soap, shampoo and a TV. The staff were very friendly and location...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Andy W
Direzione177, Responsabile reception at Hotel Piccola Fenice, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice review. The city tax for 3-stars-hotels in Venice is Euro 3,50 per person, per night (for a maximum of 5 nights consecutive).

Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Piccola Fenice has a quiet location on a narrow alley and is a bit tricky to find. Still, there are shops and restaurants nearby and the San Marco square is only a few minutes' walk away. We were happy with the room, but the extra bed we had was uncomfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Niiskutin

27 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Mercurio
Hotel Mercurio
#111 of 385 in Venice
699 reviews
San Marco
Hotel de l'Alboro
Hotel de l'Alboro
#322 of 385 in Venice
122 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Al Gazzettino
Hotel Al Gazzettino
#176 of 385 in Venice
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Ateneo
Hotel Ateneo
#208 of 385 in Venice
341 reviews
San Marco
Residenza Favaro
Residenza Favaro
#223 of 385 in Venice
131 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Locanda Gaffaro
Hotel Locanda Gaffaro
#247 of 385 in Venice
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in San Marco

Neighbourhood Profile
San Marco
The most famous sestiere (district) in Venice has one of the world's most famous squares, St. Mark's (Piazza San Marco). Anchored on one end by the basilica, clustered around it are restaurants, museums, shops, orchestras playing in the square, pigeons, the grand pink Doge’s Palace (Palazzo Ducale), the soaring campanile bell tower, an astrological clock tower, plus gorgeous cafes and restaurants like Florian and Quadri. Piazza San Marco is beloved by Venetians themselves. They book a table anytime, which offers a buffer from the fray. This grand outdoor drawing room attracts Venetians for a stroll too, especially late in the afternoon when the hoards of daytrippers thin out. It's simply a grand place to meet.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Piccola Fenice offers spacious suites in a 17th-century building. It is near the La Fenice Theatre, a 5-minute walk from Saint Mark's Square.Each suite features a large living area. You will find a coffee maker, fridge, and cutlery so you can make your own breakfast.This small Hotel has an internal courtyard, an elevator and wifi internet access. It is located in the centre of Venice in a quiet side street. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Piccola Fenice

Address: Sestiere San Marco 3614, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Price Range: $120 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Piccola Fenice 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Piccola Fenice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Piccola Fenice staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The wifi did not reach the suites on the upper floors.”
 of 5 bubbles LoisP572, 13 Oct 2015 | Read review
1 of 1
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay