We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Venice Star

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Venice Star
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

66 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 31: English reviews
Start your review of Venice Star
 Click to rate
Groningen, The Netherlands
Reviewed 6 January 2017

Pros: The location was perfect! Situated close to many important landmarks and watertaxi stands in Venice. Cons- Terrible internet connection. Wifi did not work at all during the whole duration of our stay. Breakfast: non existent. They market is as an acommodation with breakfast, but some jam en crackers doesn't really cut the cookie really. Shower: Less than one square...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Henk S
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
5 reviews
2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

It is a perfectly fine hotel in general for what you pay in comparison to elsewhere in Venice. Clean, free wifi and free breakfast. Only reason it's not 4 stars is that I think we dropped quite unlucky with the room we got which was in between a bathroom and the breakfast room which meant a lot of noise. Also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 21 September 2016

The room and bathrooms are clean. We actually had private bathroom in the room. I agree that it's more like hostel and may be hard to find on Your own. Also not so easy to reach staff on the phone (they reply on emails good though), but once You do they speak good English and are nice. Localisation is actually...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katarzyna P
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

The room is clean and comfortable, but when you add the "bedding charge" and "city tax" once you arrive, the location and lack of private bathroom makes it not worth the money. Other options in the price range once you include the hidden fees were much better.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlyssaUlrich
NE_PAD, Direttore at Venice Star, responded to this review

There are no hidden fee. That's nonsense. You have paid the amount due to because it is clearly stated on your booking voucher otherwise - I am sure - you wouldn't have paid it. You have only to read the booking conditions and your voucher and also the confirmation email which we send to each guest and where there are...

Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

Just back from a 4 night stay. Very clean, quaint and traditional in a lovely part of Venice. Room was clean and beds comfy. We had no mosquito trouble. Shared bathroom was no problem either. Some guests messy and leaving dirty dishes which I found rude. Apart from that no issues at all

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank joanne5868
NE_PAD, Direttore at Venice Star, responded to this review

Thanks. We don't know who are our guests because they book through other websites, but we have to host them all.

Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Clean, air conditioned, wonderful staff to greet us and show us around. Great value and location. Close to the Rialto Bridge in the heart of downtown. Simple breakfast was included as was access to a kitchen.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jason V
Glendale, Arizona
Reviewed 14 July 2016

It is quite difficult to find; my gps took me to a gentleman's private home and he was quite annoyed with the confusion as it's common. The residents within the apartment building seem unhappy that several of the units are used as a hotel. Payment was a bit confusing; I had provided my credit card in my reservation but they...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank angimari
NE_PAD, Direttore at Venice Star, responded to this review

Hotel is a generic term for all kind of accommodations.

Reviewed 21 June 2016 via mobile

The Venice Star is a made up of a few sparsely decorated but clean rooms set about a small courtyard beside a quiet canal. GPS is quite essential to find it, but the walk from Ca' d'Oro Vap Stop through the campiellos and windy streets is enchanting. They're full of local osterias and bars, great for an early evening spritz...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mongovag
Turkey
Reviewed 16 June 2016 via mobile

The location of this hostel was good. Everything in the hostel was basic but you have what you need. In the reservation it wasn't written that breakfast included. However they offered free simple breakfast. Check out time is a little bit early but it is ok since they provide luggage storage for free. The only negative side of the hostel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cglr C
Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 May 2016 via mobile

We spent 5 nights at the Venice Star. The rooms are basic but ours was clean and had a small wardrobe and a safe. The bathrooms and communal areas were kept very clean and staff were friendly. Breakfast was a simple serve yourself cornflakes, toast & coffee. There is a fridge, toaster and hob which can be used by guests....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jazzybird79

19 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Sweet Venice
Sweet Venice
#41 of 210 in Venice
35 reviews
Al Piccolo Clarin
#38 of 210 in Venice
41 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Suite in Venice Ai Carmini
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Residenza Grisostomo
Residenza Grisostomo
#36 of 210 in Venice
57 reviews
San Marco
Ca Dei Fiori Venezia
Ca Dei Fiori Venezia
#92 of 210 in Venice
26 reviews
Cannaregio
Ca' Bibi
Ca' Bibi
#35 of 210 in Venice
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Cannaregio

Neighbourhood Profile
Cannaregio
Cannaregio is the second largest sestiere (district) with its busy Santa Lucia train station. Many transplanted Venetians commute from the outlying areas, “terra firma” to the locals, which is shorthand for any place that is not Venice. Two Grand Canal bridges serve Cannaregio, the newest (Constitution, 2008) still a local hotbed of controversy. Ponte degli Scalzi is a busy link to the train station. Nearby shops on the Lista di Spagna offer specialties like pastries and coffee that lure Venetians with a down-to-earth attitude. The Ghetto, where the Jewish population was segregated in Cannaregio, has five historic synagogues with an active Jewish community. The Fondamente Nove bustles with foot traffic to the Rialto and San Marco while vaporettos (water taxis) head to Murano and other islands. Side streets lead into quiet picturesque neighbourhoods and palaces like Ca' d'Oro rise directly out of the water.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We offer affordable rooms and beds in the centre of Venice, next to the Rialto bridge and San Marco Square. Our accommodation establishment has been recently renewed and offers all services you need. Our accommodation is central but nevertheless quite. Book and enjoy your stay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Venice Star

Address: Cannaregio 5396, 30121 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Price Range: $90 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Venice Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Venice Star staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Venice Star staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“we stayed in the one right in front of the kitchen, and there was no problem with that. the hotel it is a quiet place as a whole.”
  • our room view: very typical and lovely
 of 5 bubbles isabela_fajardo, 15 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Second floor is nice and quite!”
 of 5 bubbles claudiah68, 18 Dec 2014 | Read review
“All Great rooms as the place isnt huge so each room is well looked after”
 of 5 bubbles JoannaG1, 4 Oct 2013 | Read review
“TIP: Make sure that you clarify which hostel you will be staying at.”
 of 5 bubbles NadeneDudley, 4 Sep 2013 | Read review
4 of 4