We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grand Hotel et Des Palmes

Traveller (817)
Room & Suite (352)
Dining (144)
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
LOCATED IN THE HISTORICAL CENTRE OF PALERMO, SICILY. Founded in 1874 and renovated in 1907 by one of the great masters of the Art Nouveau Style, Ernesto Basile, the exquisite Grand Hotel Et Des Palmes hotel exudes historical charm. Grand decor of marble floors and antiques combine nicely with very latest technology to make your stay a memorable one. The recently restored restaurant, bar and banquet room can host all your personal and professional events in great style turning them into unforgettable moments.
Read more
Property amenities
Restaurant
Room Service
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Banquet Room
Business Centre with Internet Access
Concierge
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Wheelchair Access
Show more
Room features
Air Conditioning
Family Rooms
Minibar
Non-Smoking Rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Classic
HOTEL CLASS
1,721Reviews
1,153Photos
24Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 496
  • 683
  • 327
  • 138
  • 80
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We thoroughly enjoyed spending three nights at this beautiful hotel. Our room had been updated and was large and comfortable. The breakfast was included and very nice. The location is ideal for exploring the historic center of Palermo.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
This hotel is absolutely amazing. Very historic and has so much charm. It is very old and can use some updating. The restaurant was unfortunately closed which we did not know until we got there but they did have a wonderful breakfast. The staff was very accommodating and
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
We chose this hotel because family had stayed and described an experience that we couldn’t resist trying ourselves. This grand old hotel is obviously past its heyday and the decor is tired in parts, but it is still a comfortable and interesting place to stay. Perfect location.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from gsapienza, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel et Des Palmes
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, we received your comments and we thank you very much for your time dedicated to write your impressions, which are basic for us, both to be able to grow and as exhortation to do our best and celebrate our successes. Moreover, we thank you for having chosen our hotel for your recent stay in Palermo. We are very happy to have satisfied your expectations and to have left a good memory of your experience with us. In addition, we thank you for your criticisms and we would like to let you know that we are working to set them right as soon as possible. We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once more and to keep deserving your preference. Best Regards Giovanni Sapienza General Manager
Read more
+3
I have been in this hotel, what can I say? From outside and from the website looks quite a nice hotel, but if you have the chance to stay as a guest, you want to run immediately. The room I was staying was full of mold as you can see from the pictures I have taken. The moquette
Read more
Response from gsapienza, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel et Des Palmes
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Mrs vertu1972 we received your comments and we thank you very much for your time dedicated to write your impressions, which are basic for us, both to be able to grow and as exhortation to do our best and celebrate our successes. Moreover, we thank you for having chosen our hotel for your recent stay in Palermo. We are very happy to have satisfied your expectations and to have left a good memory of your experience with us. In addition, we thank you for your criticisms and we would like to let you know that we are working to set them right as soon as possible. We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once more and to keep deserving your preference. Best Regards Giovanni Sapienza General Manager
Read more
Bad service, old rooms and horrible view. I didn’t like the stay at this hotel. The people at the reception where arrogant, the rooms felt like they need to see a renovation. The windows nearly fell apart. I didn’t liked the stay
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from gsapienza, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel et Des Palmes
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest Goplace we received your comments and we thank you very much for your time dedicated to write your impressions, which are basic for us, both to be able to grow and as exhortation to do our best and celebrate our successes. Moreover, we thank you for having chosen our hotel for your recent stay in Palermo. We are very happy to have satisfied your expectations and to have left a good memory of your experience with us. In addition, we thank you for your criticisms and we would like to let you know that we are working to set them right as soon as possible. We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once more and to keep deserving your preference. Best Regards Giovanni Sapienza General Manager
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachBusiness Centre & Event RoomsFamily and Play Areas
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorGrand Hotel et Des Palmes
The Twin Superior Room at the Grand Hotel et Des Palmes
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorGrand Hotel et Des Palmes
The Twin Superior Room at the Grand Hotel et Des Palmes
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorGrand Hotel et Des Palmes
The Suite at the Grand Hotel et Des Palmes
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorGrand Hotel et Des Palmes
The Double Deluxe Room at the Grand Hotel et Des Palmes
Zimmer okay , Bad groß und gut ausgestattet
PreviousNext
12345671
Sorry, I am not able to your question.
0 votes
We did not have a car, a family member dropped us off, so we didn't notice if they had parking. I would suggest you reach out to them. They are extremely helpful. When our cousin was driving us into Palermo, it was worse than driving in NYC, so please use caution. Have a great trip!
1 vote
Show all answers
There is a very good airport bus service (€12 return)every half hour and stops close to the hotel (10 minute walk or a few minutes by taxi
0 votes
Show all answers
We had a car, however there is the local bus that stops a short walk from hotel. A cab will cost $ 50 euros.
0 votes
Go to the taxi rank. Fixed fee of 50 euros. Don't fly Alitalia!
2 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
12345
"Rooms are in diffferent degree of disrepair. Speak up if you are not happy about the one assigned to you. You can customize your breakfast."
"Classic room"
"Check for cleanliness"
"Choose a good room in the rear of the hotel to avoid the noise of the trolley."
"I think it's worth upgrading to a deluxe room. You get LOADS more space."
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$92 - US$143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
grand hotel palermo
LOCATION
ItalySicilyProvince of PalermoPalermo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
98
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing