We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Il Guelfo Bianco

Show Prices
#26 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expert photos
Il Guelfo Bianco
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,133 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Il Guelfo Bianco
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,586: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We stayed at the Guelfo Bianco for 5 nights in September this year and couldn't have been happier and nor could our group of clients. The hotel is in a fabulous location just a few hundred meters from the duomo and the rooms and bathrooms were large (by Italian standards), full of character and spotlessly clean. The modern artwork hung... More 

Helpful?
Thank Philippa H
Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We stayed in this hotel for three nights in late October. Our room was clean and comfortable. The staff were polite, friendly, and helpfull. People working in the restaurant and during breakfast hours were very pleasent and friendly. The breakfast was excellent and could satisfy any taste. The cheese they serve during brakfast was delicious. We only had two concers... More 

Helpful?
Thank mitrablue
GUELFOMANAGER, Manager at Il Guelfo Bianco, responded to this review

Dear Mitrablue, thanks very much for your review especially for the nice words you had for our staff. We do our best to guarantee a lovely stay to all of our customers and we are happy when they appreciate our job :-) Regarding the wireless, I already wrote a couple of answers to reviews written by our customers and I... More 

Grapevine, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

If your looking for a cosy warm place to stay in Florence, this is it. We spent 5 nights there and could not have been more satisfied! Really nice complimentary breakfast, excellent service and helpful staff were all there to enjoy. But the real plus was the location. A 5 minute walk to the Accaemia, 7 min. to the Duomo... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Greg R
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

We stayed here with family and small children on a long holiday weekend. Instead of booking multiple rooms at another venue, we stayed in the apartment (at a higher price, but well worth it). The apartment had 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, kitchenette, and very large living and dining room with additional pull-out beds. Very clean and spacious with traditional furnishings... More 

Helpful?
Thank EUHawkeye
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Really, the title says it all. The hotel is in a great spot, close to the Duomo, Accademia, and Central Market. Our room was very clean and very large compared to many of the hotels we stayed in Italy. The breakfast was very good serving the standards, but also coffee to order and some fun little treats. The staff at... More 

Helpful?
Thank mtomlins
GUELFOMANAGER, Manager at Il Guelfo Bianco, responded to this review

Dear Mtomlins, thanks very much for your review. We are very happy you like our hotel and thanks also for the nice words you had for our staff. As I already wrote answìering to a review of a coupel of days ago we did have some problems with the wi/fi system in some floors. Now our technician replaced the wi/fi... More 

Dallas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

This is by far the best hotel experience we had on our trip. We were in Vernazza in late October 2011 when it and Monterosso were destroyed by a mudslide, causing us to lose all our luggage. Consequently, we showed up in Florence a day late. The staff was so friendly, understanding and accommodating and adjusted our reservation days for... More 

Helpful?
Thank BobR771
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Located conveniently to the Santa Maria Novella train station; Close enough that you can walk with your wheeled luggage or backpack. Also within easy walking distance to the Duomo, Academy, and the Uffizi. The rooms were nicely appointed with modern clean bathrooms. We stayed two nights a week apart and had two different rooms. Both furnished with antique accent furniture... More 

Helpful?
Thank stokessd
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 1 November 2011

This hotel is ideally located near the Duomo and is close to everything. The room was adequate, the bathroom very modern and the staff extremely helpful. The breakfast was great. My one complaint was the inadequate Wi-Fi supplied by the hotel. The signal in the room was inadequate, and it was never easy to log on. It did work in... More 

Helpful?
Thank RLM5450
GUELFOMANAGER, Manager at Il Guelfo Bianco, responded to this review

Dear Roberta, thanks very much for yoru reviw. I just wish to inform you that we did have some problems in some floor with wi/fi connection because some access points wirelss stop to work. Two days ago our technician checked all of them and he replaced some of them because they didn't work. Sorry for the inconvenience. Now everything is... More 

Asheville, NC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Very nice hotel close to the Duomo. Small but comfortable single room with authentic Tuscan furnishings. Wonderful breakfast included...don't miss it. Staff were cordial and helpful with arranging a day tour of Florence. I would definitely stay here again.

Helpful?
Thank Juliana D
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

This was our first trip to Florence and we couldn't have chosen a more perfect location, nor a more perfect hotel. Within walking distance to all the major sites, our trek was quite easy. We requested a room away from the street and it was exactly as we had hoped and expected... complete silence. The staff was amazing and very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dorie M

948 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (589)
Viewed
Room/Suite (191)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (87)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (43)
Viewed
Bathroom (38)
Viewed
Other (217)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (334)
Viewed
Deluxe Room #108 (67)
Viewed
Deluxe Room #336 (48)
Viewed
Executive Room (36)
Viewed
Junior Suite (50)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
Superior Room (41)
Viewed
The Hotel (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Rapallo Hotel
Rapallo Hotel
#25 of 422 in Florence
1,689 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#30 of 422 in Florence
2,489 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 422 in Florence
2,909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#8 of 422 in Florence
3,332 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#43 of 422 in Florence
739 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#34 of 422 in Florence
1,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in San Lorenzo

Neighbourhood Profile
San Lorenzo
San Lorenzo’s lively merchants shout out from behind stalls with an array of products in one of the most traditional neighborhoods in Florence. Different ethnic groups join together in the large outdoor market of San Lorenzo and in the Central Market, a vast multi-floored building. Visitors are bound to fall in love with this area and in particular, with its variety of food, especially those focusing on Florentine dishes as well as international selections. Nobody leaves San Lorenzo without a shopping bag in hand or with an empty stomach.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our hotel is right in the city center, between Piazza Duomo and Piazza San Marco , few steps away from Accademia (the museum where you can see the famous DAVID by Michelangelo). It's housed in two late 15th century building next each other. All rooms are different in size and position - executive rooms have a standard size - superior rooms are larger - de luxe and junior suite are very large with a sitting area. We have rooms overlooking the courtyard, gardens and several rooms overlooking Via Cavour which is the main street but 70% pedestrian and so it's not too noisy. All rooms have triple glasses and double windows. WI/FI available in all the rooms and the drawing rooms and it's free of charge if you have your own laptop or i-phone or i-pad. Bistrot restaurant next door "IL DESCO" open every day (12 till 10,30 pm but on Sunday it closes at 3,00 pm) with good menu' all day long (many organic products directly by the owner's farm. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Il Guelfo Bianco

Address: Via Camillo Cavour 29, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Price Range: $138 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Guelfo Bianco 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Il Guelfo Bianco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Guelfo Bianco Florence
Il Guelfo Bianco Hotel Florence
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Florence
#18 Business Hotel in Florence
#25 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Il Guelfo Bianco staff and other travellers.
39 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (39)

Questions? Get answers from Il Guelfo Bianco staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“junior suite is a great value!”
 of 5 bubbles 831dawnh, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Not facing the street”
 of 5 bubbles fangkitty, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Each room has it's own personality.”
 of 5 bubbles Blu777, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I think any room would be fine!”
 of 5 bubbles Callaway14, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We had 203 which we thought lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles SydneyKoukla, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay