We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel River

Booking.comUS$169*
View Deal
#98 of 420 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel River
Hotel River
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

803 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel River
See the most recent reviews
Showing 494: English reviews
Egelsbach, Germany
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Room was clean with private balcony. Breakfast was very good (buffet) and was served before 7 am on request the day I made a full day excursion. The Hotel has a small but marvellous roof terrace overlooking the Arno. Good Location, short ways to the main attractions of Florence, several bus stops close to the Hotel.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kerstin K
Simone C, Direttore at Hotel River, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying at the Hotel River and for posting such a nice comment. Please know that we have recently renovated the Hotel, its facilities and services and in case you return to visit us we will be able to make your stay even more pleasant. Sincerely LHP - Hotel River Florence

Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 June 2014

A good clean hotel in a good location overlooking the river, A five minute stroll takes you to the Ponte Vechio or into the thick of the tourist areas. We had a room at the back of the hotel so can't comment on road noise but it didn't seem all that busy anyway. There was a good choice of food...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank David J
Simone C, Direttore at Hotel River, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay at the Hotel River and for posting such a lovely comment. Please know that your satisfaction is a fantastic reward for everybody working at the Hotel; we do really appreciate it. We can't wait for your return to offer another wonderful Florentine holiday. Sincerely LHP - Hotel River Florence

Telford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Overall this hotel was average for the price. Staff were very good. We arrived very late and were allocated the smallest room at the hotel. Well furnished and good bathroom but tiny. Obviously all the other rooms were given out in the order that people arrived, even though we had notified them of our late arrival. Temperature in Florence was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Glyn E
Simone C, Direttore at Hotel River, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying at the Hotel River and for posting your comment. Please know that we have (03/2016) completely renovated the hotel, many facilities and services. Sincerely LHP - Hotel River Florence

India
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We were a family of five visiting Florence. We stayed at the River Suites for a night during our visit in May 2014. The service apartment was good, clean and with all amenities. Would recommend it to families visiting Florence.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank vellayan
Simone C, Direttore at Hotel River, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying at the Hotel River and for posting such a nice comment. Please know that we have recently renovated the Hotel, its facilities and services and in case you return to visit us we will be able to make your stay even more pleasant. Sincerely LHP - Hotel River Florence

Leominster, Massachusetts
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Room was suitable and met our expectations. The staff was fantastic, very helpful with whatever we needed. Breakfast had very good selection each day. The balcony was perfect for early morning or late night relaxing overlooking the river and with a view of the Michaelangelo gardens. Met a few other couples on the balcony and made some good friends. Great...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JaniceP101564
Simone C, Direttore at Hotel River, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying at the Hotel River and for posting such a nice comment. Please know that we have recently renovated the Hotel, its facilities and services and in case you return to visit us we will be able to make your stay even more pleasant. Sincerely LHP - Hotel River Florence

Conception Bay South, Newfoundland, Canada
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I’ve stayed at many hotels during my travels and I have to say this was one of my worst experiences. It was so bad, a list is required: 1). Lack of air conditioning. If I’d known they shut off the air conditioning at night, I’d have NEVER booked this hotel. The first night our room was so hot we called...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Chrysta C
Simone C, Direttore at Hotel River, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your recent stay at the Hotel River and for posting your opinion by the precious Tripadvisor community. We do apologize for the inconvenience you have suffered and for not satisfying your expectations. Nowadays the hotel is completely renovated (2016). Sincerely LHP - Hotel River Florence

Simsbury, Connecticut
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The room was beautiful, very elegant mix of old and contemporary styles, very clean. We had a balcony overlooking the river. Professional and friendly staff, tasty breakfast with nice selection. Perfect location , close to historic center.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SMarta7
Simone C, Direttore at Hotel River, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay at the Hotel River and for posting such a lovely comment. Please know that your satisfaction is a fantastic reward for everybody working at the Hotel; we do really appreciate it. We can't wait for your return to offer another wonderful Florentine holiday. Sincerely LHP - Hotel River Florence

London, Canada
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This hotel is among several located on the north side of the Arno. Convenient for a walk up to Piazzale Michelangelo and lovely view and gardens. About 10 minute walk to the Ponte Vecchio, Uffizzi etc. Also close to Piazza Santa Croce. Staff was extremely helpful and accommodating (keeping our extra luggage for a few days until our return while...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jeveuxbienmanger
Simone C, Direttore at Hotel River, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying at the Hotel River and for posting such a nice comment. Please know that we have recently renovated the Hotel, its facilities and services and in case you return to visit us we will be able to make your stay even more pleasant. Sincerely LHP - Hotel River Florence

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Spent 3 nights at Hotel River with my wife and two friends. The room was small and could do with a makeover. Our rooms were on the back of the hotel and the view was of a derelict building. Breakfast was fine, but the hotel has no restaurant. However the location is close to the centre and there are good...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David O
Simone C, Direttore at Hotel River, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying at the Hotel River and for posting your comment. Please know that we have (03/2016) completely renovated the hotel, many facilities and services. Sincerely LHP - Hotel River Florence

San Carlos, Mexico
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We spent 3 nights here in May and were very impressed. It is a bit removed from the center of Florence but that is not a bad thing and we had no issues walking the 20 or so minutes into the center. Even the train station is only about a 25 minute walk. We enjoyed the little outside terrace on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gail M
Simone C, Direttore at Hotel River, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay at the Hotel River and for posting such a lovely comment. Please know that your satisfaction is a fantastic reward for everybody working at the Hotel; we do really appreciate it. We can't wait for your return to offer another wonderful Florentine holiday. Sincerely LHP - Hotel River Florence

552 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (257)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (51)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
View from Room (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (114)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (269)
Viewed
Classic Room (29)
Viewed
Classic Triple Room (34)
Viewed
Junior Suite (39)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Superior Room with a View (34)
Viewed
Superior Room (Yard Entrance) (31)
Viewed
Superior Triple Room (33)
Viewed
The Hotel (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Home Florence
Hotel Home Florence
#89 of 420 in Florence
634 reviews
Santa Croce
Plaza Lucchesi Hotel
Plaza Lucchesi Hotel
#51 of 420 in Florence
1,485 reviews
Cosmopolitan Concept Hotel
#120 of 420 in Florence
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Privilege
Hotel Privilege
#157 of 420 in Florence
383 reviews
Pitti
Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio
Uffizi
Hotel Hermitage
Hotel Hermitage
#78 of 420 in Florence
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Santa Croce

Neighbourhood Profile
Santa Croce
Stop and stare at the beauty and symmetry of the Basilica of Santa Croce any time day or night. Unraveling around it are a number of architectural and artistic masterpieces, from the Synagogue to the Central National Library. As a hub for young people, the area gets busy with people who want to have fun: a continuous flow of tourists and locals become animated by songs and dances.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Hotel River

Address: Lungarno della Zecca Vecchia 18, 50122, Florence, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel River)
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Croce
Price Range: $186 - $436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel River 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, ACCOR, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Hotel Florence
Hotel Style:
#60 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#108 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#125 Family Hotel in Florence
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel River staff and other travellers.
19 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (19)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel River staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Take some top floors.”
Pavel_Krejsa, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“We were on the 1st floor. It was very quiet and convenient to the breakfast buffet.”
MaxandLily, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“Our room was on the other side of the hotel from the River--it faced a side road and the wall of what looked like a disused dormitory. But it was nice and quiet!”
, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Very small room.”
saramX4676BA, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Book a deluxe river view room ”
sabham2016, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$169* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$169
AccorHotels.comUS$169
Hotwire.comUS$169
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates