We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel River

Show Prices
#87 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel River
Hotel River
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

762 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel River
See the most recent reviews
Showing 470: English reviews
Prata di Pordenone, Italy
Reviewed 27 December 2013

My finace and I went to Florence in April 2013 and stayed in a different hotel and decided on this trip, we wanted to be closer to the sites and have a nicer room. We were traveling with 4 other people this time it was also important that the rooms be nice and the location walkable to sites. This was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank AllisonML
Simone C, Direttore at Hotel River, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay at the Hotel River and for posting such a lovely comment. Please know that your satisfaction is a fantastic reward for everybody working at the Hotel; we do really appreciate it. We can't wait for your return to offer another wonderful Florentine holiday. Sincerely LHP - Hotel River Florence

Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Upon arrival into the Florence train station from Rome, I contacted the Hotel River to inquire about what the cost of a taxi should be to the facility; I was advised it should be approximately 15 Euros. I explained to Gino (the manager) that we had just arrived and would be there shortly; Gino sounded a little apprehensive and told...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kevin C P
Simone C, Direttore at Hotel River, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay at the Hotel River and for posting such a lovely comment. Please know that your satisfaction is a fantastic reward for everybody working at the Hotel; we do really appreciate it. We can't wait for your return to offer another wonderful Florentine holiday. Sincerely LHP - Hotel River Florence

Northern Cal
Reviewed 27 November 2013

It is by the river (a little outside of city center) with good walk (10-20 mins) to most attractions or there is a bus/tram in front of hotel. Stayed on 3rd floor for 2 nighs; room was good (relatively spacious); the walls are thin (so bring ear plugs if you have noisy neighbor). Service by Front desk is variable; some...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sactokw
Simone C, Direttore at Hotel River, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying at the Hotel River and for posting such a nice review. Please know that we have recently renovated the Hotel, its facilities and services and in case you return to visit us we will be able to make your stay even more pleasant. Sincerely LHP - Hotel River Florence

Whitchurch-Stouffville, Canada
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We recently stayed here and was happy with our 4 nights stay. Our 3rd floor room was clean and looked out over a courtyard so it was relatively quiet. The front desk staff were pleasant and did help us with any requests we had. The best part about this hotel is that is is a close, safe and easy walk...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NatalieClaire
Simone C, Direttore at Hotel River, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying at the Hotel River and for posting such a nice review. Please know that we have recently renovated the Hotel, its facilities and services and in case you return to visit us we will be able to make your stay even more pleasant. Sincerely LHP - Hotel River Florence

San Diego, California
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We recently booked the Hotel River based on the four star rating and its agreeable price range. We travel quite often and very rarely are we moved to make comments such as this. First off, the hotel is situated in a nice part of town, right along the river, and within 15-20 minute walking distance of the main sites. Our...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Crowjaks
Simone C, Direttore at Hotel River, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your recent stay at the Hotel River and for posting your opinion by the precious Tripadvisor community. We do apologize for the inconvenience you have suffered and for not satisfying your expectations. Nowadays the hotel is completely renovated (2016). Sincerely LHP - Hotel River Florence

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 28 October 2013

A good, middle range hotel just out of the city centre. The rooms and facilities in this hotel are fine for its type. Try to avoid rooms on the lower floor which are dark, being below street level. Staff are helpful but the men during the day seem to be trying to pretend that they are in a 5 star...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kgee251046
Simone C, Direttore at Hotel River, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying at the Hotel River and for posting your comment. Please know that we have (03/2016) completely renovated the hotel, many facilities and services. Sincerely LHP - Hotel River Florence

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Had a very nice experience at this hotel. Hotel is a nice 10 - 15 min walk from centre, is quiet and we'll run. Staff are efficient, helpful and friendly. Breakfast was plentiful and no problem to have in room. Will certainly be back and have recommended to friends.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank David L
Simone C, Direttore at Hotel River, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying at the Hotel River and for posting such a nice review. Please know that we have recently renovated the Hotel, its facilities and services and in case you return to visit us we will be able to make your stay even more pleasant. Sincerely LHP - Hotel River Florence

Dungannon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This is a fairly standard mid-range hotel on the fringe of the main tourist beat in Florence. As other reviews say it is around 15 minutes walk from several of the main sites. Rooms are small as is typical of hotels in prime tourist locations. Housekeeping was of a high standard. Front of house staff were lovely. For example, we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John C
Simone C, Direttore at Hotel River, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay at the Hotel River and for posting such a lovely comment. Please know that your satisfaction is a fantastic reward for everybody working at the Hotel; we do really appreciate it. We can't wait for your return to offer another wonderful Florentine holiday. Sincerely LHP - Hotel River Florence

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 October 2013

My sister and I have just returned from a three night stay in this hotel. We chose it thinking as it was a four star it may prove to be special . The photos and reviews looked promising but our whole experience was one of disappointment. The room was dark with furnishings that needed to be replaced. One of the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ChrisP9101NP
Simone C, Direttore at Hotel River, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your recent stay at the Hotel River and for posting your opinion by the precious Tripadvisor community. We do apologize for the inconvenience you have suffered and for not satisfying your expectations. Nowadays the hotel is completely renovated (2016). Sincerely LHP - Hotel River Florence

Falkirk, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We had room 400 for 5 nights. It had a private balcony (one of only two rooms) but although it is 'private' it adjoins the main balcony available to all and is only separated by some plants, so if you want an early night, it is very noisy if someone else is using the balcony. The views are spectacular thought...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alison C
Simone C, Direttore at Hotel River, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying at the Hotel River and for posting such a nice review. Please know that we have recently renovated the Hotel, its facilities and services and in case you return to visit us we will be able to make your stay even more pleasant. Sincerely LHP - Hotel River Florence

541 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (246)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (51)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
View from Room (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (103)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (269)
Viewed
Classic Room (29)
Viewed
Classic Triple Room (34)
Viewed
Junior Suite (39)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Superior Room with a View (34)
Viewed
Superior Room (Yard Entrance) (31)
Viewed
Superior Triple Room (33)
Viewed
The Hotel (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Home Florence
Hotel Home Florence
#83 of 421 in Florence
615 reviews
Cosmopolitan Concept Hotel
#103 of 421 in Florence
542 reviews
Santa Croce
Plaza Lucchesi Hotel
Plaza Lucchesi Hotel
#55 of 421 in Florence
1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Privilege
Hotel Privilege
#164 of 421 in Florence
377 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Gallo Palace
Hotel San Gallo Palace
#52 of 421 in Florence
1,892 reviews
Santa Croce
J & J Historic House Hotel
J & J Historic House Hotel
#165 of 421 in Florence
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Santa Croce

Neighbourhood Profile
Santa Croce
Stop and stare at the beauty and symmetry of the Basilica of Santa Croce any time day or night. Unraveling around it are a number of architectural and artistic masterpieces, from the Synagogue to the Central National Library. As a hub for young people, the area gets busy with people who want to have fun: a continuous flow of tourists and locals become animated by songs and dances.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Hotel River

Address: Lungarno della Zecca Vecchia 18, 50122, Florence, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel River)
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Croce
Price Range: $141 - $363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel River 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR and Agoda so you can book your Hotel River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Hotel Florence
Hotel Style:
#52 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#108 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#125 Family Hotel in Florence
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel River staff and other travellers.
17 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel River staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Key card needs to be put into reader inside room for power to work”
 of 5 bubbles 377lizl, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“you get what you pay for”
 of 5 bubbles DaveS233, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Very good room and so good cleaning ”
 of 5 bubbles louizac504, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Great ceiling & bathroom ”
 of 5 bubbles U4242XZianc, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The River view is amazing make use of the small balcony - the views are wonderful.”
 of 5 bubbles Pinkfluffyworld, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5