We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

La Residenza del Proconsolo

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
View Map
Add a photo
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

196 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for La Residenza del Proconsolo
See the most recent reviews
Showing 142: English reviews
Austin
Reviewed 1 November 2010

I spent a week at this B&B, a female solo traveler, which can be tricky at times. I was very pleased with the location (steps from the Duomo where there is a taxi stand), the relative quiet, and the cleanliness of the room. My room featured a large bathtub with ample hot water. The internet access is a bit of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AusTexMary
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewed 20 October 2010

Firenze was my last stop on my first trip to Italy. It was so bittersweet- I was excited to be in Firenze but sad because it meant the end was near! We stayed in the Brunelleschi Room- the view was AMAZING! I was shocked. I didn't know we'd even have a balcony, so I was blown away when I stepped...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SRCanter
Paris, France
Reviewed 10 August 2010

I do not understand the reviews on here. We were led to believe this was a 4* and we paid a lot of money to stay there. There was never anyone at reception - whenever we wanted something we had to wander around calling "ciao" until the very dishevelled-looking manager would get himself out of bed in one of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravellerUKManc
Merritt Island, Florida
Reviewed 9 July 2010

We stayed for 3 days in the Dante room that faces the interior. The room is large, with an excellent ac unit, and totally quiet. It has a refrigerator and a safe. We were welcomed by Lorna who speaks very good English and provides excellent service. We fell very safe because the main entrance was always locked and we had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Luzmarina
Leicester - UK
Reviewed 9 July 2010

To me the very essence of travelling many miles to visit a new City is to put yourself right at its heart and able to fully experience the culture and life of that place. That is the nub of Proconsolo's appeal. Only yards from Il Duomo, I could see the dome from my bed, I was able to imerse myself...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter_Bromley
Virginia
Reviewed 18 October 2009

Very nice B&B in the center of the historic district so you can walk to all the museums, restaurants and places of interest. Marianno, the owner, was gracious and very helpful. Although our room had no view to speak of, we were quite happy with the room and the hotel overall. We would definitely stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tgswamps
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewed 15 October 2009

La Residenza del Proconsolo must be the best bed and breakfast I have ever had the good fortune of visiting. The only negative is the flight of stairs necessary to climb once entering the building. Otherwise, it was fantastic. Mariano not only helped us carry our bags upstairs, but he was a great help coordinating our stay. When my wife...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jason275
Chicago
Reviewed 11 October 2009

We stayed here in August 2009 and were very happy with our stay. Our room had a wrought-iron balcony with a million-dollar view of the Duomo. The room was quite large, with high ceilings, and was very charming. They bring breakfast to your room at the time you request. The owner was very nice and helpful -- he even made...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank FrequentTraveler060
Bournemouth
Reviewed 12 August 2009

We booked into this pensione after reading reviews here. We are very disappointed and would never return to this place again. On the 18th July we arrived at La Residenza Del Proconsolo and were given a room on the first floor with balcony. It was the not the room we were promised with a view of the main cathedral. On...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank MaxZ1
pro72lo, proprietario at La Residenza del Proconsolo, responded to this review

First of all I want to say that what has happened has really upsetted me as I have been attacked being innocent, I am so sorry and I wish to point out the following things: the room given was the one booked as the emails in my possess can confirm; all rooms are provided with safe (strong box); all common...

South Wales
Reviewed 10 April 2009

We had one night in Florence, and were given an excellent room overlooking the Cathedral. Everything from the welcome to the standard of the room was perfect. Be aware that this is more of a Guest House than a hotel - no evening staff or bar for example, and that the breakfast is a continental breakfast served in the room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barrybloke

79 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (79)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Residenza Giotto
Residenza Giotto
#150 of 653 in Florence
397 reviews
Duomo
Soggiorno Battistero
Soggiorno Battistero
#91 of 653 in Florence
196 reviews
Duomo
Residenza Dei Pucci
Residenza Dei Pucci
#132 of 653 in Florence
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Adelaide House B&B
Adelaide House B&B
#134 of 653 in Florence
101 reviews
Duomo
Palazzo Niccolini al Duomo
Palazzo Niccolini al Duomo
#17 of 653 in Florence
341 reviews
Duomo
Dei Mori Bed and Breakfast
Dei Mori Bed and Breakfast
#235 of 653 in Florence
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Duomo

Neighbourhood Profile
Duomo
Florentia, as it was called by Latins, is permeated by an eternal beauty spread in all corners of the city. The historic center is characterized by the immensity of the Duomo, able to transport tourists into the brightest age of Florence: the Renaissance. Who does not know the Brunelleschi Dome, San Giovanni Baptistery and the Giotto’s Campanile? Everything is enclosed here and it would be easy to imagine the city as it was in ancient times, with maids walking in the main square and horses carrying coaches. Nowadays, roads are busy with street artists. Rustic Tuscan bakeries give way to fashion shops; just stop for a few minutes in the middle of Piazza della Repubblica to enjoy the colors and sweet melody of the carousel that will bring back great memories from anyone’s childhood.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about La Residenza del Proconsolo

Address: Via del Proconsolo 18, 50122, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Price Range: $120 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Residenza del Proconsolo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
La Residenza Del Proconsolo Hotel Florence
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from La Residenza del Proconsolo staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from La Residenza del Proconsolo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Michaelangelo room”
 of 5 bubbles rhiann0nleigh, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms looked wonderful. You can't go wrong!”
 of 5 bubbles cmlibby2015, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Great (partial) views of the Duomo from the front facing rooms”
 of 5 bubbles not-a-redshirt, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Pay extra for one of the front rooms that have view of Duomo”
 of 5 bubbles juneravellobride, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Pay a little more for balcony room, well worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles 335katee, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5