We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Il Giglio Rosso

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Il Giglio Rosso
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

158 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Il Giglio Rosso
See the most recent reviews
Showing 29: English reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I just want to say how wonderful it was to stay at this location. While I was in Italy recently, I made several stops in different cities and Florence was one of them. I must say what a great relief to stay at this place I loved it!!!! We were 3 girls and we all agreed this was a pleasant...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Darkblu023
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Went there for few nights, arrived late, without any problems as they had given me a code to enter the building. Only few minutes from Santa Maria Novella train station and into city centre aswell. Room was bright and the furniture looked like new, lcd tv, aircon, fan and bathroom was spacious. Breakfast is simple, good coffee and some pastry....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David_jacobsen
Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

I know the owner and his wife and they are too kind!!!! they gave me all the informations I needed!!! Strategic position.....modern b&b,They gave me also an enter code to get in to the building so my arrival was too easy!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nescafetundra
Waterloo, Canada
Reviewed 16 July 2013

plus: low cost, negative: no front desk, no one available later in the day, rooms too small, bathroom and shower clean but very tight , I cat imagine being over 180 lb and being able to fit in the shower. walk at night very scary but noneventful.... so if u are alone , DO Not choose this place. breakfast is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mina S
ilgigliorosso, Proprietario at Il Giglio Rosso, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am sorry if your experience here at Il Giglio Rosso has been under your expectations and we apologize for this. Since we bought this b&b, on may 2013, we always work to welcome you and let you stay as best as we can, so thanks for your feedback: I have to improove my job... Anyway about the...

Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewed 5 July 2013

This place was average. I probably wouldn't stay there again. We stayed 1 night. The place is easy to find and to get into. The floors were really dirty and probably hadn't been cleaned (or swept) in a while. The bathroom was average size, we had some problems with the toilet when we first arrived (it kept running) but somehow...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AJMNDC
ilgigliorosso, Proprietario at Il Giglio Rosso, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for your detailed feedback: usefull to improve our work. When you arrived we were here maybe from 20 days so... You know we could have inherit also some problem as we could have done some mistake due to a new begining ... We really apologize for the problem you found during your stay here, althought I...

Bellville, South Africa
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Il Giglio Rosso in Florence was fair in terms of location if walking is something you don't mind, which we quite enjoy. Quite safe, but the breakfast and bathroom are really below what we expected. The owner was very helpful when there but mostly staff where only available until 13:00 and with the different staff almost daily it was impossible...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Baz055
ilgigliorosso, Proprietario at Il Giglio Rosso, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your feedback, it is really what we need to improove our job. As You maybe know me and my wife bought Il Giglio Rosso few weeks ago with a lot of ideas and project to make it better, to make it own. Unfortunatly so far we had not much time to spend in renewing our...

Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We didn't pay very much to stay in this b&b. It wasn't that bad, but if I'm going back to Florence I will consider paying a little bit more and stay in a more central hotel or b&b. The b&b is only about 10 minutes by foot from the railway station, but it takes about 30 minutes to walk to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sydensvein
Cologne, Germany
Reviewed 8 August 2012

It's a unique Bed & Breakfast, you feel like at home, you get an accessing code that you recieve before your arrival. The owner is there just in the morning for breakfast, making great cappucinos and in case you want to he also gives you all the information that you need about Florence, very professional and polite person.

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Elise W
Melbourne
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We stayed here only for a night and wish it was longer. We arrived at the hotel in the evening (reception is not 24 hours), which we advised at the time of booking. Hotel emailed us instructions and passcode to enter. It's a modern and clean establishment. The room was quite big, with a ceiling fan and AC. The ensuite...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank DashYaC
Katoomba, Australia
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Great, Friendly staff. Felt very comfortable. Rooms were cleaned everyday and were who ever did the cleaning did it thoroughly. They cleaned under the bed even! Rooms are small but adequate. Just make sure you check your email for the code to get in, as staff are not there most of the time. Easy to find though. Close to everything....

 Report
Helpful?
9Thank Nicole M

48 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Hotel Savonarola
Hotel Savonarola
#134 of 422 in Florence
260 reviews
B&B A Casa di Virgilio
#109 of 638 in Florence
188 reviews
Bed & Breakfast Da Mila
#322 of 638 in Florence
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Il Giglio d'Oro
#5 of 638 in Florence
689 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
B&B Relais Tiffany
B&B Relais Tiffany
#205 of 638 in Florence
78 reviews
Pitti
Il Magnifico B&B
Il Magnifico B&B
#82 of 638 in Florence
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Santa Maria Novella

Neighbourhood Profile
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella train station welcomes the majority of the people arriving in Florence, which might explain the hectic pace. Commuters and tourists come across the constant hustle and bustle of the station before exiting, taking a few steps and stopping amazed in Piazza di Santa Maria Novella. It is impossible not to admire the the square, housing one of the most charming basilicas in Florence. The area has plenty of local spots to taste Tuscan specialties, but don’t stop in the main streets alone; the narrower side streets always ensure satisfaction. The huge Parco Delle Cascine provides a solution to the need for a green area as well as a historic welcome in the form of a bronze statue of King Vittorio Emanuele II riding a horse.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
New opened on december 2010, totally renewed 5 rooms all with ensuite bathroom and equipped with all comforts. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Il Giglio Rosso

Address: Via Guido Monaco 25, 50144, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Price Range: $71 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Il Giglio Rosso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Giglio Rosso Hotel Florence
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Il Giglio Rosso staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Il Giglio Rosso staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“any work should be fine.”
 of 5 bubbles Darkblu023, 24 Sep 2013 | Read review
“When you go out the door, go to the right and in the middle of the next block there is a fruit and vegetable store that will sell a 1.5 Liter of water for only 1 euro - cheapest we found in all of Europe and the little old couple is so nice!”
  • entrance of room
  • tv and closet
  • bed
  • window shade that wouldn't come down
  • bedroom
 of 5 bubbles AJMNDC, 5 Jul 2013 | Read review
“I was strongly considering the Florence rooms to rent and now I'm sorry I did not make the swop”
 of 5 bubbles Baz055, 28 Jun 2013 | Read review
“If you dont find any better for the same prices,you can stay here,but dont have great expectations!”
 of 5 bubbles spedro20, 17 Aug 2011 | Read review
4 of 4
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay