We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Antica Residenza Santa Chiara B&B

07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Antica Residenza Santa Chiara B&B
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

76 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 15: English reviews
Start your review of Antica Residenza Santa Chiara B&B
 Click to rate
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

The location is convenient which is a plus. It offers free parking which is also a plus, but not needed by us. The room and sheets were very clean. The breakfast was okay. I understand that the B&B is intent on providing an authentic Tuscan atmosphere but there are a few things that could greatly improve it. Have working lights...

Thank PDM314
Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Reviewed 13 July 2016

Santa Chiara is located in the old town. Rooms are clean and big enough, staff is friendly. Parking in the garage near the location, air-conditioned rooms with big bathroom and enough space for a relaxed stay. In 50 meters diverse terraces for your drinks.

Thank Martin R
Cairns, Australia
Reviewed 22 May 2016 via mobile

The B and B was excellent only 5 rooms, my room no 5 was quiet, clean and well stocked. Comfy double bed, a bottle of water in the room, a fridge, safe and decorated tastefully. The location was perfect inside the walls of lucca. The breakfast was plentiful cereal, ham, cheese, cakes, juice and pastries. There is no lift the...

Thank cateygirl9343
Antica Residenz... S, Proprietario at Antica Residenza Santa Chiara B&B, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you so much for your good review!

Lockport, New York
Reviewed 27 September 2015

We had a few issues with this room. First, before we went I sent an email to ask about the air conditioning. I can not sleep when it is hot and wanted to be sure the air conditioner worked well! I was assured by Allesandra that it works very well! It did not work well at all!!! We were in...

1Thank Donna4Loans
Antica Residenz... S, Proprietario at Antica Residenza Santa Chiara B&B, responded to this review

Dear Donna, wow what a long review you posted! Let me start replying to all the issues you mentioned, kind of the same order you did. Concerning the air conditioning, as I explained you during your stay it works perfectly, at our temperatures so like 18 degrees, which was as well too cold for the period you came (early September)...

Hudson, United States
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We were welcomed by Federico who was super friendly and helped us out not only with check in but also with restaurant, ice cream recommendations and helped us get tickets to Pisa. Our room was a quadruple with a balcony that open to the patio where breakfast was served. The master area of the bedroom was big and comfortable the...

1Thank Sandra M
Indio, California
Reviewed 20 August 2013

It was a pleasant surprise this B & B within the walls of Lucca. Quaint and charming. The room was very spacious but the bath was one large step from the bedroom and could be a trip hazard at night. Thank goodness nothing happened to us. You could walk to the rest of the town easily although the next time...

Thank OlyPil
Pilsen, Czech Republic
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Location close to the city centre however in a quiet street. The B&B has own parking space (garage) just across the street which is very convenient. The host was friendly, room clean. The rooms are on the first and second floor with narrow staircase - might cause problems in case you have health problem or big luggage.

Thank Jitka S
Bath, UK
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and apart from the helpful, friendly staff I thought it was truly awful! Our room was small and dingy, the bathroom tiny and the shower head had to be removed unless you wanted to be sprayed in the face. The room and bathroom were clean but the whole hotel had a feeling of grubbiness...

Thank SarahB222
Alessandra C, Proprietario at Antica Residenza Santa Chiara B&B, responded to this review

Hello Sarah, just let me answer you back about some of the things you wrote referring to this B&B. This is an antique structure, 15th century old. We are open since 2005 and several times we have restored and painted. Imagine that in 2007, the wall of the Villa Bottini, situated in front of us, collapsed, causing considerable damages to...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Placed in an ideal location: In a quiet area but very close to the centre. Gorgeous bedrooms, good value for money. Jessica on the desk is a fantastic hostess and helped us see and do the best things in Lucca.

Thank MDEW2012
Parma, Italy
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Nice and clean room with a good breakfast. Really well located in the city centre and with free parking space if needed (really useful in Lucca if you arrive with your car).

Thank marcopk

44 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (24)
Bathroom (2)
Room/Suite (3)
Dining (3)
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (20)
Room/Suite (12)
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Dining (2)
Other (1)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.1 km away
Affittacamere La Camelia
Affittacamere La Camelia
#57 of 168 in Lucca
50 reviews
0.3 km away
La Colonna
La Colonna
#68 of 168 in Lucca
100 reviews
0.1 km away
John B&B
John B&B
#88 of 168 in Lucca
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Camera con Vista B&B Lucca
0.4 km away
B&B Anfiteatro
B&B Anfiteatro
#19 of 168 in Lucca
397 reviews
0.6 km away
Antica Residenza del Gallo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located within Lucca's medieval walls, opposite the gardens of Villa Bottini, Antica Residenza Santa Chiara is a short walk from the main historical attractions of the city.Antica Residenza Santa Chiara still has many of the building's original features, such as wood-beamed ceilings.Rooms come with minibar, private bathroom with hairdryer, air conditioning, tv satellite, mini bar and safe. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Antica Residenza Santa Chiara B&B

Address: Via Santa Chiara 12, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Price Range: $104 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Antica Residenza Santa Chiara B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. , Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Antica Residenza Santa Chiara B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Antica Residenza Santa Chiara B&B staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't stay on the top floor”
SarahB222, 28 Sep 2012 | Read review
“Did not view the ordinary rooms so I would recommend a superior one - only a few Euros more.”
Victoria462, 19 Jun 2012 | Read review
“Can only speak for our room which was on the front, but noise was not a problem. Bed was comfy and clean as was the room and ensuite”
LJANorthEastLincsUK, 22 May 2012 | Read review
3 of 3
No availability for your dates from these sites
View all 5 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates