We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Via Sant'Andrea 23, 53037, San Gimignano Italy
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (373)
Dining (66)
Room & Suite (53)

About

#7 of 132 Specialty lodging in San Gimignano
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Our agriturismo is open all year long except for the 24th-25th-26th December and 2 weeks in January. At our restaurant we offer a fix menu for both lunch and dinner. The meals are served in long tables with the other guests as family style. Our restaurant is closed on Tuesday night for dinner. Light lunch service from 12.30 to 2.30 pm. Dinner is served at 8 pm. Wine tasting with tour of the farm at 10.30 am, 3 pm, 4 pm and 5 pm. ( From October to April last wine tasting and tour at 4 pm) Please arrive 5 minutes earlier, in case of late arrival the tour is not guranteed. For wine tasting, lunch and dinner reservation is needed.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Pool
Pool with view
Free breakfast
Restaurant
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Breakfast buffet
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Italian
357Reviews6Q+A31Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 300
  • 47
  • 9
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
LaurentCL2 wrote a review Nov. 2021
Alassio, Italy2091 contributions349 helpful votes
+1
Definitely a beautiful setting with amazing sunset over San Gimignano! The room is nice but lacks some windows and decoration on the walls. Some bottled water would be nice too. The mattresses were on the bouncy side but if you don't toss and turn, you won't get "mattress sick" :-) Decent size bathroom with amenities but the thin towels were not as good as regular fluffy towels. Sadly they should stop using those mini shampoo bottles and have a greener option with larger bottles directly in the shower stall. Swimming pool with lounge chairs and towels in the room for the pool (those are fluffy). The staff is friendly at the reception and the owner is super nice too. The rest of the staff is OK... Specially the breakfast staff and the cleaning staff could put on a smile... Breakfast is good but the fruit juices are simply HORRIBLE!!! Is that juice or made with powder??? Skip it or change it!!! Make sure you read the menu and order what you ant because the staff is not to be seen very often to bring things. A little music would be a nice addition. Dinner was very good and with their homemade produces, like the cold cuts, the oil and the saffron in the risotto. Overall a nice stay with good food. And location is 5*!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Jon N wrote a review Oct. 2021
Chicago, Illinois118 contributions37 helpful votes
We were recommended to stay at Fattoria Poggio Alloro and we were not disappointed. Everyone, the staff, Sarah, Renzo and others were so kind and helpful. The stay is a little on the rustic side but remember it's a working farmhouse not a 5 star hotel. That said, it's clean and comfortable. It's the setting that's magic - being able to wake up every morning to see San Gimignano in the distance with fog rolling through the valley. The idea that most of what you eat is from the farm, it's literally farms to table (and the wine tasting was fantastic). Using where we stayed as a based, we drove our rented car all around Tuscany to take in just how different the Chianti region is from Montepulciano from San Gimignano. One highlight was we did the tour and wine tasting on Saturday followed up by the dinner at night where they served Tuscan dishes including Chianina beef. Wow! We loved our six day stay there and have every intention to return at some point in the future! Thank you the entire staff for a great stay!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Alina I wrote a review Jun. 2021
Romania3 contributions2 helpful votes
We came here for lunch, we liked the view so much, got excited and decided to stay one night here. We were soo excited that we didn't pay a lot of attention to details. Even if the view is soo nice, they added some bricks in the window...but why? Second we have no fridge in the room and the ice machine got broken...today!! The air conditioner is centralized...and very week.Room is very warm. Another thing that I did not like is that is sooo crowded. We came here for silence and peace. At lunch they had 2 groups. At dinner there are 75 people near our room. Let's not forget that Covid is still not "eradicated". And so that everything would be "perfect"...We were at the swiming pool and people were at the terrace...looking at us and taking pictures.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Famiglia Fioroni, Proprietario at Fattoria Poggio Alloro
Responded Jul. 13, 2021
Dear Alina, Sorry if you didn’t enjoy your experience at the farm. We are following all the Covid rules and table distancing. We didn’t have a party at the restaurant but a normal dinner with 20 guests seating in 4 separate tables singing “Happy Birthday” in front of a cake at 11 p.m. I’m sorry if that disturbed you but they stopped right away, after your complain. The bricks in the wall are a typical Tuscan construction and has been there for at least 300 years. It’s always been like that and city government doesn’t allow to make any change to old buildings, sorry. I can ensure you that the guests were taking photos of the outstanding view of San Gimignano and not of you. Too bad you forgot to mention the ice pack that we gave you because we didn’t have the ice and the nice gift you received in the morning!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
tropical_art wrote a review Oct. 2020
San Diego, California116 contributions96 helpful votes
I’m writing this review 10 years after we visited Fattoria Poggio Alloro. We visited back in August 2010 to be exact. TripAdvisor doesn’t give the option to list a “visited date” earlier than 11 months ago. I’m posting this review now because I didn’t used to write TripAdvisor reviews as often as I do now. And sadly the “now” means fewer reviews written during 2020 due to travel restrictions amidst the pandemic. And yet these reviews help me to remember and relive some glorious memories. The visit to Fattoria was one of them. It was a family trip for a milestone birthday. I knew we were going for wine tasting here. What I did not expect was the quality of wines and also the food. This was truly one of the most delicious and memorable meals I’ve had with my family. Perhaps it was the Tuscan countryside with the view of San Gimignano which also made our visit there so lovely. Even now, after 10 years I still have a distinct memory of the freshest tomatoes and buffalo mozzarella. I also discovered how lovely it was to have a bowl of ribbolita soup. The wine we purchased there is long gone. But funny enough I still have a souvenir t-shirt which I bought there. I’m wearing it today. At some point I hope to return again to Fattoria. For now, I have this review, and my t-shirt to remind me of those fond memories.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Traveller_123 wrote a review Dec. 2019
San Francisco, California826 contributions198 helpful votes
Good way to understand a Tuscan farm. Original and best way to experience Tuscany. It’s a great pick for travelers. The food, wine and desserts are awesome. Service is awesome and the selection of wine is perfect.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
lola B wrote a review Sep. 2019
Lausanne, Switzerland87 contributions54 helpful votes
What can we say about such a lovely place? The view is breathtaking. The welcome is so warm it’s like coming home. Nothing seems to be too much to ask. The wine is lovely. The food is authentic and plentiful. The rooms and cozy. I was expecting something nice but was still happily surprised. We will be back and will be recommending this place. Thanks so much for a really nice 3 days.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Jacq H wrote a review Sep. 2019
Cheshire, United Kingdom20 contributions6 helpful votes
We stayed for 1 night on a tour around the region. The place is set in an amazing setting with fabulous views of san gimignano. The staff are very welcoming, the food was stunning and so much of it! You were made very welcome and we would definitely recommend this place to anyone. Thank you
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
BenniHanna wrote a review Jul. 2019
3 contributions
The Disney tour had us there for a day of wine-tasting, pasta making, then a wonderful tour with lunch. Their wines were fabulous. The food was outstanding. The family farm was so welcoming and charming. I was so happy outside the hustle and bustle of Rome, or the crowds of Venice, but with food and wine on par with the finest Italy has to offer and a personalized experience for my family. Cant wait to come back next season. We will try to book the rooms to experience the full services of the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Location
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Steven P wrote a review Jul. 2019
Lexington, Kentucky37 contributions24 helpful votes
We stayed in the apartment July 16-20 and had a great time. The food is so good, and they just keep bringing it, course after course, until you finally have to tell them to stop. The view of San G. is like something out of a storybook. I can't imagine any place in Tuscany being better. We'll never know, because Poggio Alloro is the only place we'll ever stay.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: the apartment is great
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Miriam P wrote a review Jun. 2019
Saint Charles, Illinois4 contributions5 helpful votes
This farm experience was fantastic. The tour was very interesting and a must to truely understand what goes into the food and wine we were enjoying. The family and the people who did the tour and served our meal were so inviting and kind. The food was delicious. The entire experience is a must when touring the Tuscany area.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
ALSO KNOWN AS
fattoria poggio alloro hotel san gimignano
LOCATION
ItalyTuscanyProvince of SienaSan Gimignano
NUMBER OF ROOMS
11
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Fattoria Poggio Alloro - UPDATED Prices, Reviews & Photos (San Gimignano, Italy) - Ranch - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Fattoria Poggio Alloro
Which popular attractions are close to Fattoria Poggio Alloro?
Nearby attractions include Cucina Giuseppina - Italian Cooking Family (7.0 km), Historic Centre of San Gimignano (2.7 km), and Torre e Casa Campatelli (2.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Fattoria Poggio Alloro?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Fattoria Poggio Alloro?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Fattoria Poggio Alloro?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Fattoria Poggio Alloro?
Conveniently located restaurants include Fuoriluogo, I Love You Œnothèque, and Spizzicheria - Le Chicche Toscane.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Fattoria Poggio Alloro?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Fattoria Poggio Alloro?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to Fattoria Poggio Alloro?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Historic Centre of San Gimignano (2.7 km), Torre e Casa Campatelli (2.9 km), and Piazza del Duomo (2.7 km).
Is Fattoria Poggio Alloro accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.