We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Package deal
Booking.com
Expedia.com
ZenHotels.com
US$185
View deal
Hotels.com
Traveluro
Orbitz.com
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1572)
Room & Suite (915)
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 21-12-13 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hotel Athena
Updated 21-12-13 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#10 of 40 in Siena
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
GreenLeaders Silver level
Hotel Athena is located in the historical centre of Siena at five minutes walking from the principal attrastions of the city (300metres far from the Cathedral, 500 metres far from Campo square). Easily reachable by car from San Marco gate getting the exit of Siena Ovest with private and guaranteed parking & garage. The hotel offers a panoramic view over the Tuscan hills from its terrace and from Deluxe & Executive rooms. The restaurant offers a typical Sienese cuisine every day, while in the morning, the rich breakfast American buffet is always included in the room rate until 11am. Our multilanguage staff is always available to give tips, suggestions and book tours and tickets.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Children's television networks
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Paid private parking nearby
Car park
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Rooftop bar
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Massage
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room service
Safe
Bottled water
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Family
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 1 more
Hotel links
Special Offer:Package deal
4385Reviews56Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 2,622
  • 1,298
  • 323
  • 76
  • 66
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Werner S wrote a review Jun. 25
Melbourne, Australia411 contributions202 helpful votes
An old school, comfortable stay very close to all the main attractions of Siena. The service is friendly and efficient and breakfast is comparable with any other 4 star hotel. The hotel offers on-site parking and our room had a bath tub, as a standard room.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
NAOMI Y wrote a review Apr. 2022
Tel Aviv, Israel87 contributions21 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
We stayed in a beautiful upgraded room . Spacious next to a beautiful trrrace overlooking toscana hills.within the walls with parking. Easy to tour by foot and easily accessible car for traveli g in the area The staff is extremely friendly, going an extra mile and making our stay superb Will gladly come back
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Madeline b wrote a review Jun. 19
3 contributions
If you visit Siena you must stay here. Perfectly located, stunning views and helpful staff. I cant say enough great things. I had the best time in Siena and hotel Athena was the cherry on top of my stay.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from HotelAthena Siena, Altro at Hotel Athena
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Madeline, thank you for your kind review. Our Hotel has been in business for more than 45 years now and it has always combined elegance and friendliness from the Staff. The Hotel is in the city centre at a stone toss from Piazza Duomo, our guests can leave their car in our parking lot without crossing the ZTL and reach all the major points of interests on foot. Come back soon! Regards The Staff
Read more
Silvia L wrote a review Jun. 5
Haskovo, Bulgaria91 contributions74 helpful votes
+ top location, amazing views, spacious room, free parking, very helpful staff on the desk - breakfast is poor, for example- in season of cherry and strawberries they serve kiwi and pineapple , there is not liquid honey, only with wax and is really not good when you have your tea., also the staff there is unhelpful and ungracious. Except this, our stay was wonderful and we will choose the hotel again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Tracey K wrote a review Jun. 4
25 contributions12 helpful votes
Located just inside the old city walls, great location with free car parking. The class of room is very confusing, our superior room overlooked the street. It seems you pay extra for the size of room and extra again for a countryside view. Breakfast was served in a smallish room on a lower floor with a view to the car park, with staff pushing passsed, just felt a little crowded. No sure why the main restaurant was not in use. Just all felt a little impersonal, some staff were great, others couldn't be bothered!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Athena, Proprietario at Hotel Athena
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you Tracey K for sharing your experience. We are sorry that the score given is not the highest, we are used to receiving good feedback from all our many customers. In detail to what you have told us we would like to point out that YES our room types vary in price depending on the view, whether panoramic of the rooms on the upper floors (deluxe rooms or executive rooms with a view) and the size of the room as we have 25sqm rooms (executive rooms) and this is absolutely normal and common in all hotels. Our breakfast is served in both the Palio room and the Mangia room, two rooms with two perfectly identical buffets of local and non-local varieties, homemade cakes, fruit, bread, honey, yoghurt, cereals, bread of many varieties, eggs, cold cuts and much more. Both breakfast rooms have local and Tuscan originality and typicality, and are elegant and refined settings that allow a moment of relaxation before tackling the day. In the hope of counting you among our welcome guests soon, don't forget to book on the hotel's website, where you will find the best offers and conditions.
Read more
Cdn_daddy_69 wrote a review May 2022
Winnipeg, Canada48 contributions9 helpful votes
Great hotel in Siena. We arrived by train and had to take a taxi to the hotel (around €15). Points of interest are all accessible on foot but be prepared for the elevation changes and make sure you have good footwear. The hotel has an outstanding panoramic view lounge for evening cocktails. Excellent breakfast in the morning with great selection. It was 30+C while we were there….and the AC in the room was on point. Would definitely stay again. We had the added bonus of Contrada going on behind the hotel for our entire stay.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
fernh wrote a review May 2022
Kissimmee, Florida150 contributions151 helpful votes
We spent 3 nights here while we were touring Tuscany on our own. Our room seemed to be fine. Good bathroom, comfy bed, outstanding view. Unfortunately, we found out that night that the air conditioning won't be turned on yet. It was warm. They brought us a fan. That did help. Without it, it would have been unbearable. The staff was helpful but not overly friendly. Breakfast was adequate. Loved having the fridge with bottles of cold water. The location of the hotel is perfect. Parking is another story. There are 2 places to park and it is very very tight. This hotel deserves a 4 rating. But this was the only place we stayed at that didn't turn on their air conditioning. That's why this is a 3.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Get a room with a panoramic view. Make sure the air conditioning will be turned on when...
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from HotelAthena Siena, Altro at Hotel Athena
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Fernh, thank you for your review. We're always sorry whenever our guests find something wrong with their stay. During your stay the weather was quite unstable: warmer during the day and cold at night, in fact many other guests asked for extra sheets. That is often the case during mid-season: nights might require the heating on still. In any case the air conditioning is active day and night now and our rooms and public spaces are quite cool. We always do our best to give our guests their best stay possible, traying to meet all their needs; we're sorry our efforts didn't come through. Hoping to see you once more in our Hotel, we're sure we'll be able to give you the stay of your dreams. We invite all our guests to book on our website hotelathena.com Regards, The Staff
Read more
bzoow wrote a review May 2022
Romford, United Kingdom154 contributions23 helpful votes
We stayed on the top floor (room 808) which didn't have a balcony but had great views from two aspects over valley (not city). Rooftop bar was nice and also had good countryside views and hotel restaurant is also very good. Staff were helpful and it's not far to walk to centre and Duomo. Free parking.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: 808 top floor with two aspect countryside view, no balcony
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
d_jones25 wrote a review May 2022
Conwy, United Kingdom478 contributions325 helpful votes
The hotel has parking & is well located just within the city walls. The porter was excellent & one of the reception staff was great with restaurant recommendations. However, we stayed three nights here & it is used to quick turnarounds, so it is very transactional. Staff generally are ok but lack the usual Italian warmth & flare. The restaurant is a disaster. One evening meal & three breakfasts were very poor. The atmosphere in that room is not good & the organisation of breakfast just doesn’t work. The bedrooms are austere & there are few other places to relax. There is a terrace with lovely views but it is busy pre dinner & has limited shade during daylight hours. Ok for a night but nothing more.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
T17ood wrote a review May 2022
Chorley, United Kingdom103 contributions47 helpful votes
I stayed at this hotel this a friend on the weekend of the Strada Bianche race 2022 and the hotel seemed to be well occupied. Our first room was on the lower ground and initially seemed pleasant and spacious. However, after opening the door to the en-suite there was an unpleasant smell of the drains. The smell was pervasive and immediately obvious when entering the room. I asked at reception for someone to attend to it and they informed me that a cleaner would use special chemicals to clean the sink and shower. This made no difference. Reception then offered to move us to another room. This is very inconvenient but we accepted. The new room was smell free - problem solved. However, the door to the room was at ground floor and opened into the main reception and we were kept awake by constant noise as people returned to the hotel and greeted the reception staff. As I was racing the following day this was of great inconvenience. I complained to reception at checkout but they did absolutely nothing. They didn’t even apologise until I pointed this out. I would not stay in this hotel again, nor would I recommend it to anyone.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Avoid this hotel
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from HotelAthena Siena, Altro at Hotel Athena
Responded May 13, 2022
Dear customer, it is with great regret that we read your comment about your weekend with us. We are used to our guests having an excellent stay and if something goes wrong we are ready and willing to find solutions. As you told us, we offered you a change of room and despite the fact that the hotel was full, as you wrote, we managed to find you an alternative. I would like to reiterate my disappointment to learn that despite our efforts and the work done by the entire concierge crew, you did not go away happy and satisfied. We are happy to count you as one of our guests. In this period, until the end of June, we have activated a super promotional offer: if you book directly on our website, you will receive a 25% discount. with our best regards The Staff
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$163 - US$221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
athena hotel siena
LOCATION
ItalyTuscanyProvince of SienaSiena
NUMBER OF ROOMS
100
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Athena
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Athena?
Nearby attractions include Duomo di Siena (0.4 km), Tours of Tuscany (0.4 km), and Centro Storico di Siena (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Athena?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Athena?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Athena?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Athena?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Athena?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pizzeria Gurgu Kebab, La Piccola Ciaccineria, and Antica Osteria da Divo.
Is Hotel Athena located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Siena.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Athena?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Hotel Athena offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Athena?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Athena?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Centro Storico di Siena (0.4 km), Battistero di San Giovanni (0.5 km), and Palazzo Chigi Saracini (0.6 km).