We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hyperion Hotel Basel

Orbitz.comUS$122*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$126*
US$122*
US$126*
US$126*
US$122*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Hyperion Hotel Basel
Hyperion Hotel Basel
Panoramas (15)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

718 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hyperion Hotel Basel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 331: English reviews
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Our stay was magnificent from the greeting upon arrival until the moment we checked out! When being together with my family (including small children) it is crucial for us as parents to take some releaf. The staff of the Ramada was EXCELLENT in providing us some time off. They took the children on a small tour, so me and my...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jwroenhorst
PEmmel, Manager at Hyperion Hotel Basel, responded to this review

Dear Familiy form the Netherlands! Thank you for such a wonderful review of your recent stay here at the RAMADA PLAZA Basel . We especially appreciate your comments . Our staff is our greatest assets and it is nice to have them acknowledged. Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future....

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 11 August 2013

My husband and I stayed one night here in August 2013. We booked a deluxe room over booking.com and asked for a nice view. We were given a room on the highest level available - 14th floor. Fabulous view through floor to ceiling windows. Really stylish room with lovely modern bathroom. The bar on the 30th floor also affords a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tricia8134
PEmmel, Manager at Hyperion Hotel Basel, responded to this review

Dear Guest & "Reviewer" Thank you very much for your positive comment. It is nice to hear, that you overall appreciate our services and offers! It would be our pleasure to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future – see you soon again, your RAMADA PLAZA Basel Team

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 August 2013

This review is quite difficult to write as I had a very mixed experience of this hotel. On the good side, it's well equipped, conveniently located, and has well furnished, comfortable rooms. Beds are good, bedding is excellent, bathrooms are good. But it's a bland sort of place. Large, featureless reception area more like a conference centre. No tea making...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Coddfish
PEmmel, Manager at Hyperion Hotel Basel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you once again for having chosen our hotel and thank you for taking the time to complete our guest questionnaire. It is very important to me to get your opinion and comments, since it will help us to maintain the standard of the hotel and its quality of service. Furthermore we will be able to correct small...

NY
Reviewed 3 July 2013

I stayed at the Ramada in June 2013 during Art Basel. Hotel is centrally located, and is good in comparison to other Basel hotels. The rooms are sleek, modern, lighted bathroom floors, and very clean, but the rooms are tiny (the closet was less than a foot wide). When I showed towards the end of breakfast, I had problems just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vestin
PEmmel, Manager at Hyperion Hotel Basel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for having chosen our hotel, and thank you for taking the time to write a survey on TripAdvisor. I was pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. I have already shared your feedback regarding the restaurant service with the team, and taken measures regarding what we can improve. I however hope that we will...

Rotherham
Reviewed 25 June 2013

The hotel is very modern situated just a few mins by tram from the city centre, our room on the 14th floor had superb views of the city and was spotless with very comfortable beds with super soft pillows. The bathroom was excellent illuminated floor and super shower cubicle. Chocolates on the Pillow to welcome you.On my birthday I received...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jontonyrotherham
PEmmel, Manager at Hyperion Hotel Basel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your effort writing on Tripadvisor. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your birthday during your stay. We really appreciate your recommendation and we very much look forward to welcoming you back soon. With kind regards, Petra Emmel General Manager RAMADA PLAZA Basel

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 June 2013

I initially chose this hotel for its location to the Basel conference centre and for its good review on this site. All four of our party were impressed by the quality of our entire stay. On the ground floor the entrance lobby, reception and cafe were excellent, staff were friendly and knowledgeable. The location is excellent for a walk into...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank markyb_10
PEmmel, Manager at Hyperion Hotel Basel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for such a wonderful review of your recent stay here at the RAMADA PLAZA Basel . I especially appreciate your comments about the service. Our staff are our greatest assets and it is nice to have them acknowledged. Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future. Kind...

Maryland, US
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Stayed here for one night during the art fair. I was in town for other business, but stayed here because it was the only room I could find at any price. I thought the hotel was overpriced. Particularly because the room they put me was rather shabby, including damaged carpets. Also, there was only a single pillow on the bed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maryland2010
PEmmel, Manager at Hyperion Hotel Basel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay here at the RAMADA PLAZA Basel. I would like to offer my sincerest apologies for the inconveniences caused to you during your time with us. I was disappointed to learn that you hear that you were not satisfied with the room itself. Please note...

milano
Reviewed 15 June 2013

we had an upgraded room on the 11th floor, amazing view. The rooms was clean and furnished well, confortable beds. Nice bathroom with a lighted floor. I got a good price on bookings.com while staying in Basel for Art Basel. Overall a good experience I will be happy to repeat!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Micio1999
PEmmel, Manager at Hyperion Hotel Basel, responded to this review

Dear Guest during ART Basel 2013! Thank you for your wonderful review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay during the World's most famous ART Fair and hope to see you again! Kind Regards from Basel Petra Emmel General Manager

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 10 June 2013

I have had to stay in the Ramada Basel because it is Arts week and all my usual wateringholes are fully. What a strange experience....I can't put my finger on it but there were so many contrasts. Let me be positive first. The hotel is well placed and the staff are amongst the most charming and friendly that I have...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank MauriceCross
PEmmel, Manager at Hyperion Hotel Basel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Cross Thank you once again for having chosen our hotel and thank you for taking the time to share the impression of your visit on Tripadvisor. We were disappointed to hear that you were not satisfied with all our services, especially the value for money, however you are right that Switzerland is more expensive than other countries. For...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We stayed here 1 night, booked by our cruise company when the Rhine flooded. The hotel is clean and the foyer is smart but the rooms are small with a window on one wall giving good views over the city from the 7th floor. The windows are double glazed and the room was quiet. The furniture is functional although the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Peach P
PEmmel, Manager at Hyperion Hotel Basel, responded to this review

Dear Guests from Australia First of all I would like to express my sympathy with you, since you were not able to leave Basel for your cruise journey. Thank you for your effort in writing a review about your short stay. It is very important to get a feed-back of our guests in order to improve our service. Therefore it...

692 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (313)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (71)
Viewed
Bathroom (40)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (10)
Viewed
Other (111)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (354)
Viewed
Amenities (110)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (31)
Viewed
Executive Room (51)
Viewed
Dining (111)
Viewed
The Hotel (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Basel hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alexander Hotel
#40 of 51 in Basel
128 reviews
Altstadt
Hotel D - Basel
Hotel D - Basel
#13 of 51 in Basel
702 reviews
Hotel Munchnerhof
#48 of 51 in Basel
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hyperion Hotel Basel, the highest habitable building in Basel, is located directly next to the fair & exhibition site. Situated in the center of the city, close to Basel's Old Town and just 300 metres from Badischer Bahnhof (train station on the German border), the hotel is an ideal starting point for sightseeing and excursions. The 224 modern rooms in the categories comfort, deluxe, executive and suite all have free Wi-Fi Internet, a desk, mini fridge, safe with a charger plug socket, cable TV, telephone, hairdryer and bathrooms with sophisticated lighting. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hyperion Hotel Basel

Address: Messeplatz 12 | 4058 Basel, Basel 4058, Switzerland (Formerly Ramada Plaza Basel Conference Center)
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Price Range: $174 - $419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyperion Hotel Basel 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hyperion Hotel Basel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Basel Hotel Basel
Ramada Basel
Basel Ramada
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Basel
#18 Romantic Hotel in Basel
#20 Business Hotel in Basel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hyperion Hotel Basel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Hyperion Hotel Basel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Close drapes during day before leaving. The large widows heat up the room.”
toddoif, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“ask to see the actual room before accepting it.”
martha-10070, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Some of the higher rooms have nice views of Basel”
jfrworld, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose a high floor, outside room for the best views”
wendykU5844TI, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Look for a room on a high floor for great views across the city.”
battyee, 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
US$122* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$126
TripAdvisorUS$122
Hotwire.comUS$126
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates