We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Balade

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Balade
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

82 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 45: English reviews
Danville, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is modest in size and amenities but it has excellent, helpful front desk staff and is well located ( you can walk easily to the tram and to a main street with shops and restaurants). The rooms are quite large . Bathrooms are large with good showers. The room rate is very reasonable for Basel. They serve breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suzkuz
Julia F, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Balade, responded to this review

Dear Suzkuz Thank you very much for your recent stay and the time you have taken to rate us here on TripAdvisor. It makes us happy that you have been satisfied with our hotel and it especially pleases us to read that you liked our front desk staff - we will gladly forward your compliments. You also mention the redlight...

Canton of Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

Nice hotel, with spacious rooms, clean and friendly/helpful staff. Unfortunately it is true that we cannot overseer the fact that it is in the red light district. This said it is a great location for its proximity of the center of Basel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlexD-GE
Julia F, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Balade, responded to this review

Dear AlexD Thank you for your recent visit in our hotel and for the time you have taken to rate us here on TripAdvisor. We would like to emphasize the fact that our location is in a safe place although we are close to the red light district of Basel. Also we would like to point out that there are...

Reviewed 15 August 2016

super huge room not far from main street. Very reasonable prices. At night, however, there seems to be call girls standing by the small alleys looking for customers. The room was big and clean, with comfy bed and hot shower.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ouu T
Julia F, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Balade, responded to this review

Dear Ouu T, Thank you very much for writing us such a nice comment. We are open to any kind of feedback and appreciate your inputs very much. We are happy to hear that we could convince you of our good value. We can not hide the fact, that in the steet behind the hotel, is the tolerance zone of...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 13 June 2016 via mobile

At the Hotel Balade we stayed in their apartment style accommodation. Very nice size, all facilities, kitchen, extra large shower, umbrella's, and very helpful, accommodating staff. I was a little worried about the neighbourhood after reading some reviews. There are no issues, Balade is in an excellent location, very central. As far as the one street with the ladies, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
Julia F, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Balade, responded to this review

Dear Mike Thank you for having taken the time to rate us. We are very happy that you have passed an enjoyable stay at our apartments and that you especially liked the location and our staff. It will be a pleasure for us to forward your positive feedback to our teammembers. Thank you also for pronouncing that the nearby red-light...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 24 May 2016 via mobile

We read lots of reviews about the hotel being in the middle of the red light district which indeed it is, however, it is not in your face and really not an issue. The hotel has excellent facilities, nice staff, great wifi and it is close to everything. Basel is quite expensive yet the price here was quite reasonable. Why...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
Julia F, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Balade, responded to this review

Dear Mark S Thank you for having taken the time to rate us here on TripAdvisor and thank you very much indeed for your kind feedback. It makes us very happy to read that you have passed an enjoyable stay at a reasonable price at our hotel and that the nearness to the redlight district did not bother you at...

Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 10 April 2016

Very good location close to the historical center, comfortable rooms cleaned daily, extremely friendly and helpful receptionists. I was impressed by all of the staff within the hotel, and I will definitely choose this hotel when I come to Basel again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michal_K_SVK
Julia F, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Balade, responded to this review

Dear Michal_K_SVK Thank you very much for having taken the time to rate us here on Tripadvisor. It makes us very happy to read that we could convince you with our location and our services. We look forward to welcome you again. Sincere regards from Basel Your team of Hotel Balade

Kirkland, Washington
Reviewed 3 March 2016

We enjoyed our stay one night stay in Hotel Balade. We were in Basel to start a Rhine cruise. It has the look and feel of an affordable small "boutique" hotel that you might find in a large US city. It's not "fancy" but has a remodeled modern look. We had an excellent buffet breakfast the next morning. Is it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve G
Julia F, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Balade, responded to this review

Dear Steve G Thank you for having taken the time to rate us here on Tripadvisor and to put down your impressions about your stay at the Hotel Balade. It makes us happy to read that you enjoyed your time here. However, you are completely right, that our hotel is very close to the red light district but as you...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 January 2016

The hotel is a nice offering if you are looking for a budget hotel with a decent design and service. I was invited by the adjacent university hence I had no other choice. What is important to mention is that the hotel is situated directly in the small red-light district that Basel offers. The ladies can be quite explicit in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank the_siegel
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Balade, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you very much for your honest feedback. Unfortunately we cannot change our location, but luckily the red light district begins behind the hotel. During the day it is quite and usually you don’t realize it. Besides, the majority of our guests appreciates our central location close to shopping facilities, bars and restaurants. However, we do hope you...

Ascot, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 December 2015 via mobile

I visited Hotel Balade for one night with my mum & sister and had a wonderful stay. We had an apartment with two twin beds & a sofa bed. It was extremely clean and spacious, comfy beds, excellent kitchen facilities & for a longer stay, you could have saved money by self-catering as there was everything that you would need....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlust_Sian
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Balade, responded to this review

Dear guest, I can’t begin to tell you how happy it made me to read about your experience at our hotel. The team here strives to make each guest experience as close to perfect as humanly possible. When we accomplish that goal we’ve done our job. I am so honored that you choose the Hotel Balade while you were in...

Virginia
Reviewed 16 December 2015

I stayed at the Balade for a week when I was in Basel for business. The hotel is a very nice property -- clean and modern, with an excellent staff and a very nice breakfast bar. It is very conveniently located in the heart of Basel -- a block from several of the main tram lines, an easy two block...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tkelly7
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Balade, responded to this review

Dear guest, we thank you so much for the time you have taken to rate us. We are so happy to hear that you could enjoy your stay at Basel. It would be a pleasure to welcome you soon again! Best regards, your Hotel Balade Team.

52 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (37)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Basel hotels
Altstadt
Hotel Merian am Rhein
Hotel Merian am Rhein
#34 of 51 in Basel
279 reviews
Altstadt
East-West Hotel Basel
East-West Hotel Basel
#36 of 51 in Basel
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Basilisk Hotel
#42 of 51 in Basel
59 reviews
Hotel du Commerce
#40 of 51 in Basel
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Only a 3 minute walk from the center of Basel, this hotel offers rooms with private bathrooms with safes, cable TV, free Wi-Fi internet and hairdryers. Free Baby crib. The conference Centre is a 10-minute walk from Hotel Balade.Basel's Train Station and the EuroAirport are easily accessible via public transportation. The reservation confirmation is valid for the use of public transport (2nd class) from EuroAirport or from the Basel rail stations (zones 10 and 13/EuroAirport) to the hotel on the day of arrival (2.)(V)(Spez). The riverbank of the Rhine and the tram station Rheingasse are a 2-minute walk away. Numerous stores, restaurants as well as many nightclubs and lively bars are located in the Kleinbasel historic quarter.Balade Hotel's bar is an inviting place to relax and sip your favorite drink in the evening. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Balade

Address: Klingental 8, Basel 4058, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Price Range: $149 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Balade 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Balade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Balade staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Nottingham

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Balade staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room that overlooks the square. This is away from the business district between the hotel and river and is a bit quieter.”
  • view from our room. All the water fountains in Basel are safe for drinking!
 of 5 bubbles stevegN1324MQ, 3 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Ask for an upper floor -- a little quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles tkelly7, 16 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Choose one of the higher floors”
 of 5 bubbles Travelling_Patrick, 30 Sep 2014 | Read review
“if you have to stay here, get a room at the back”
 of 5 bubbles rcm49, 24 Jan 2014 | Read review
“I was travelling with my two sisters on a budget and booked the family room with three beds. Although this room was large and roomy I was able to swap the booking to two adjoining double rooms for not very much extra, which gave us ladies two bathrooms which was a godsend.”
 of 5 bubbles RuthY559, 5 Dec 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay