We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Bern-Westside

Agoda.comUS$156*
View Deal
#8 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$156*
Great Deal
US$158*
US$158*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Bern-Westside
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

451 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 244: English reviews
Start your review of Holiday Inn Bern-Westside
 Click to rate
Kansas
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a very basic hotel, and that’s what our room was: no drawers in the night stands, desk, or bathroom. Five open shelves in the closet if you want to unpack your suitcases. No clock, no refrigerator, no bucket for ice. One small bar of soap in the bathroom, shampoo attached to the wall in the shower. Two hooks...

Review collected in partnership with ASUS 12 W8 IE Bookmark
 Report
Helpful?
Thank KANR
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Bern-Westside, responded to this review

Dear KANR, Thank you for your candid review, highlighting not only the bad but also the good points of your stay. We are always grateful when a guest takes the time and effort to acknowledge our staff. On the other hand, I apologize for the challenges you encountered during your stay. I have taken note of your comments regarding the...

Fareham, England
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a good example of a Holiday Inn - nice room and very good breakfast - but with some extras. Included in the rate is 1. Use of public transport in and around Bern - there is a tram stop just outside the hotel and you are in central Bern within 20 minutes, and 2. Entry into the Bernaqua...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phil2408
About Hotel's Favourite Review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

For those of you who wonder what to do on a rainy swiss weekend with your kids, this place is great, free entry to the Bern Aqua park, staff are friendly and very helpful and the food is good! Very much recommended for family outings!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eduardo E
Falls Village, Connecticut
Reviewed 22 April 2017

Although the hotel was just fine and the room was nice what made the stay at the Holiday Inn - Westside most enjoyable was being given a travel pass for the Bern buses and trains. The area transportation station is right nearby and getting into and back from town is easy, interesting and fun. Also, having direct access from the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HVwriter
Reviewed 11 April 2017

The location isn't ideal as it is a ways outside of the city but the free pass to BernAqua spa made it totally worth it. The hotel is new and clean and everything you can expect from a Holiday Inn. The location connected to a mall was interesting and it is easy to get to by ordinary train or tram....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ken H
Amsterdam
Reviewed 6 April 2017

Average hotel in the west side of Bern, in the middle of concrete surroundings that might create a different view of Bern. Very friendly staff. Free public transport ticket during the stay ... it takes about 15 mins to get into Bern Central Station. Excellent toblerone chocolate cookies at reception. Good rooms on 8th floor. Expensive room price and breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MiamiKeyWest
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Bern-Westside, responded to this review

Hello MiamiKeyWest, I appreciate your stay with Holiday Inn Bern - Westside, Switzerland. I am sorry to hear that you found the rates for the room and breakfast to be competitive. Your views will be shared with hotel management for review. On a lighter note, I am glad that you were pleased with the courteous staff and the complimentary transportation....

Reviewed 30 March 2017 via mobile

My wife and I stayed two nights in this hotel. Nothing much to expect. After all I was paying for a Holiday Inn. The breakfasts were good and I particularly like the location. The hotel is situated in front of the train and tram tracks. Hence, it was very convenient for us to travel into the city or connect to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Foo Vung T
Reviewed 22 February 2017

My second stay, my second restless sleepless night. Room temperature about 23, too hot ok can turn off the stat but room doesn't cool fast, open window. Bedding is that horrible cheap man made fibre stuff that does not breath and makes you uncomfortable and sweat. Flick cover off, then get cold, pull on bedding sweat overheat, flick off bedding...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul B
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Bern-Westside, responded to this review

Dear Paul B, Thank you for taking the time to leave us with your feedback and for visiting our hotel. It is wonderful to read that you liked the tidiness of our hotel and enjoyed the dining experience at our restaurant. Although, I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced due to some aspects of our hotel accommodation....

Rome, Italy
Reviewed 7 February 2017 via mobile

The people who work here are very friendly and seem to really try to help you to find your way around. Also the transport card one gets as compliment is great. But certain things were rather disappointing: - no fridge, hence nowhere to store my insoline - the wireless has been very sporadic and unstable - lack of some basic...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank acegeorgiev
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Bern-Westside, responded to this review

Dear acegeorgiev, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We are pleased to know you liked the friendliness of our staff. On the other hand, we are sorry you were not satisfied with the room you received and the challenges you had with our Internet connection. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and guest services...

Haifa District, Israel
Reviewed 5 February 2017

We enjoyed our stay in this hotel last September, the hotel is in a shopping center, 1 minute walk from the bern westside station and from there 5 minutes by train to Bern central station and from there you can practically go anywhere in switzerland. The hotel is clean and modern as well are the rooms. the Continetal breakfast is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nadim Z

160 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (136)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bern hotels
7.0 km away
Novotel Bern Expo
Novotel Bern Expo
#5 of 30 in Bern
794 reviews
5.8 km away
Hotel Allegro Bern
Hotel Allegro Bern
#4 of 30 in Bern
991 reviews
6.4 km away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#3 of 30 in Bern
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Best Western Hotelbern
5.1 km away
Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Schweizerhof
#1 of 30 in Bern
746 reviews
4.2 km away
Hotel Ibis Styles Bern City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With conference infrastructure, shopping mall and multiplex cinema, adventure water park complex with fitness center and spa, set in a unique architectural environment created by world renowned architect Daniel Liebeskind. This modern Hotel was built in 2008 and is with its 144 guest rooms and 11 meeting rooms part of the Westside Center Bern. The new urban destination on the outskirts of Bern. The hotel is easily accessible by public transports and by car. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Bern-Westside

Address: Riedbachstrasse 96, Bern 3027, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Price Range: $207 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Bern-Westside 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Bern-Westside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Bern-Westside Hotel Bern
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bern
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bern
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bern
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Bern-Westside staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Bern-Westside staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms on the side away from the motorway are quieter.”
Phil2408, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“I found that the rooms at the end of the hallway, with a view to the south, was very quiet and offered great views of the Swiss Alps.”
  • Winter sunrise, such great views.
98DanM, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“hard to say. Far from elevators if possible.”
GHCMontreal, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Go for a higher room away from the lifts to avoid noise of tourists dragging large cases along the floors”
496keithc, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I recommend a room facing the front of the hotel, it gives you a great country view with the snow capped mountains in the distance.”
  • Winter sunrise, such great views.
98DanM, 19 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Agoda.com
US$156* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$158
HolidayInn.comUS$158
Orbitz.comUS$158
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates