We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Holiday Inn Bern-Westside

Show Prices
#6 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Bern-Westside
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

435 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 237: English reviews
Start your review of Holiday Inn Bern-Westside
 Click to rate
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My second stay, my second restless sleepless night. Room temperature about 23, too hot ok can turn off the stat but room doesn't cool fast, open window. Bedding is that horrible cheap man made fibre stuff that does not breath and makes you uncomfortable and sweat. Flick cover off, then get cold, pull on bedding sweat overheat, flick off bedding...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul B
Rome, Italy
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The people who work here are very friendly and seem to really try to help you to find your way around. Also the transport card one gets as compliment is great. But certain things were rather disappointing: - no fridge, hence nowhere to store my insoline - the wireless has been very sporadic and unstable - lack of some basic...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank acegeorgiev
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Bern-Westside, responded to this review

Dear acegeorgiev, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We are pleased to know you liked the friendliness of our staff. On the other hand, we are sorry you were not satisfied with the room you received and the challenges you had with our Internet connection. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and guest services...

Haifa District, Israel
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We enjoyed our stay in this hotel last September, the hotel is in a shopping center, 1 minute walk from the bern westside station and from there 5 minutes by train to Bern central station and from there you can practically go anywhere in switzerland. The hotel is clean and modern as well are the rooms. the Continetal breakfast is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nadim Z
Lugano
Reviewed 21 January 2017

The location is great. Even thought the hotel is outside of Bern it is located right next to the train and tram. As a guest you are offered a city pass so public transport is free, this makes getting to Bern center very easy. The hotel is located next to a large shopping mall and indoor water park. The water...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bods11
Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 18 January 2017

Was on the 8th floor facing to the south, enjoyed great views of the mountains and the farm fields. Very quiet floor and even though they sun rises and sets on this side of the hotel the black out blinds don't allow the sun to wake you up in the morning. Having the train and local bus/tram lines right at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dan M
Surabaya, Jawa Timur, Indonesia
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

The hotel location was good, the room was clean. But not the service. Unfriendly reception Fabienne Wenge. We requested porterage for the group and she take the porterage voucher for the group eventough we didnt get the services.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adella S
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Bern-Westside, responded to this review

Dear Adella S, Thank you for staying with the Holiday Inn Bern-Westside and for enumerating the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. Whilst I am pleased to know that you found our rooms clean and our location convenient for your needs, I truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can...

St Helier, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 November 2016

Stayed here which is a little outside Bern, but this was fine as I needed to park my car and the carpark underneath the hotel, whilst not the hotels itself (I think is a public car park) is huge and direct access to hotel from the carpark. Very easy indeed to get to off the motorway which is a big...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wokingjames
Lausanne, Switzerland
Reviewed 27 November 2016

We stayed there for one nite going to Bienne from Lausanne. Practical exit just off the highway is really a plus. You also have a shell gas station on the exit so perfect when you leave as well if you need petrol. The lobby is correct and adjacent to the restaurant. It can be crowded at times and it takes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Guillaume H
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Bern-Westside, responded to this review

Dear Guillaume H, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We are happy to know that you liked our location and we certainly appreciate your nice feedback on our staff and breakfast selection. On the other hand, we would like to apologize for not living up to your expectations regarding our rooms...

Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed 23 November 2016

Hotel is outside the city of Bern. However, the pro is the shopping center behind the hotel. Some bar are opened till late night after midnight. Room size is not big but very cozy. Hotel may be recently renovated as it is really new. Breakfast is also nice but beware of big group tour which will harass your stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank glenfiddich1985
Reviewed 17 November 2016 via mobile

Have stayed here in 2016 more than 10 times (varying lengths of stay usually 5 nights) and always feel this hotel does what it says on the package. Good accommodation, excellent service and friendly and flexible staff. Shops, fitness and swimming are right next door in the Westside mall.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ACJdeVette

159 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (135)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bern hotels
7.0 km away
Novotel Bern Expo
Novotel Bern Expo
#5 of 30 in Bern
754 reviews
5.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Hotelbern
5.8 km away
Hotel Allegro Bern
Hotel Allegro Bern
#4 of 30 in Bern
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Schweizerhof
#1 of 30 in Bern
706 reviews
6.5 km away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#3 of 30 in Bern
475 reviews
6.1 km away
Hotel Waldhorn
Hotel Waldhorn
#9 of 30 in Bern
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Pool
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With conference infrastructure, shopping mall and multiplex cinema, adventure water park complex with fitness center and spa, set in a unique architectural environment created by world renowned architect Daniel Liebeskind. This modern Hotel was built in 2008 and is with its 144 guest rooms and 11 meeting rooms part of the Westside Center Bern. The new urban destination on the outskirts of Bern. The hotel is easily accessible by public transports and by car. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Bern-Westside

Address: Riedbachstrasse 96, Bern 3027, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Price Range: $172 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Bern-Westside 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Bern-Westside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Bern-Westside Hotel Bern
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bern
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bern
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bern
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Bern-Westside staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Bern-Westside staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I found that the rooms at the end of the hallway, with a view to the south, was very quiet and offered great views of the Swiss Alps.”
  • Winter sunrise, such great views.
 of 5 bubbles 98DanM, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“hard to say. Far from elevators if possible.”
 of 5 bubbles GHCMontreal, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Go for a higher room away from the lifts to avoid noise of tourists dragging large cases along the floors”
 of 5 bubbles 496keithc, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I recommend a room facing the front of the hotel, it gives you a great country view with the snow capped mountains in the distance.”
  • Winter sunrise, such great views.
 of 5 bubbles 98DanM, 19 Mar 2016 | Read review
“floor 7 or 8 is more quiet”
 of 5 bubbles Susie1988, 8 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5