We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Metropole Geneve

Show Prices
#9 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Metropole Geneve
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

689 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Metropole Geneve
See the most recent reviews
Showing 490: English reviews
Moscow, Russia
Reviewed 14 March 2017

The Metropol hotel always leaves a mixed feeling - and it's my fourth time with them. It combines traditional interiors of the halls and kind of dusty rugs with cool designs of their rooms. One cannot complain about room sizes in Geneva (they are typically on the small side, unless you pay a fortune), so it's a big advantage that...

Thank Мария М
Canton of Basel, Switzerland
Reviewed 12 March 2017

The price is to be expected for a lakeside hotel in one of the most expensive cities in the world. Great and warm service from the first second to last. Lake view room is a dream, with a modern interior, in-shower steam, and you can even order your own type of pillow. I took a star off due the poorly-equipped...

Thank Phoebe L
Reviewed 8 March 2017 via mobile

My room was nice, but incredibly loud. For once it was poorly insulated to the outside traffic ("lake view" means room to the main road!). Secondly, the airco/heater would come on periodically with a huge noise that sounded like a truck engine running in your room. Impossible to sleep. Hotel seems nicely renivated, but poorly maintained. The gym has very...

Thank peterpanitz
Lausanne, Switzerland
Reviewed 19 February 2017

We stayed for a weekend and we had one of the rooms that have been renovated, with the walls with the colors of the flowers of the Alps. The room was very elegant, it had this huge mirror with the TV incorporated and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom is integrated in the room and I found it a...

Reviewed 14 February 2017

Business trip to Geneva - need a good hotel? Look no further this one is great! I only stayed for three nights and indeed I didn't stay in the hotel all day either - business is business! Lets go through from start to end! Arrival - as soon as my transport arrived the door boy was there and took the...

Thank Bapsy3732
Reviewed 13 February 2017

Beautiful building, very nice and friendly staff. The rates are very good compared to other similar hotels in the area. In the heart oh Geneva shopping district. The heat in the room could be improved however.

Thank Hich B
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 February 2017

A pretty standard hotel with good customer service overall but it was really the turn down service was a pleasant surprise and made the difference. Tea/coffee in room, great minibar options and breakfast had a fair choice of food available.

Thank Ling L
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 9 February 2017 via mobile

Dear Readers, know that at the Metropole hotel in Geneva, the same causes produce the same effect. Faithfully (multi family members) returning customers for over 20 years, I complained a few years ago as the Guest Relations Management was a disaster. Never ever offered an upgrade, or even a simple welcome bottle of wine. Not to mention a complimentary stay....

Thank Salomon S
GM_Hotel_Metropole, Directeur général at Hotel Metropole Geneve, responded to this review

Dear Mr Salomon S Firstly, we would like to thank you very much for your loyalty to Hotel Metropole Genève over the past 20 years. Your renewed praises on staff friendliness and quality of service is highly appreciated by the team. As far as non contractual extra benefits we are used to grant you for your loyalty, our records show...

Reviewed 28 January 2017

This was our second visit to Metropole, saying one night on our way back from a ski vacation. even though it is no longer part of the Swissotel chain, the hotel still maintains an excellent level of service, in fact it was better than our previous visit. We visited with our baby daughter and the room was arranged as requested,...

Thank TinoA
Doha, Qatar
Reviewed 26 January 2017

The « over 16 » Sunday morning Brunch in the Metropole is truly fantastic, we went there with a group of friends. Served in a buffet style you just get whatever you could expect from breakfast to lunch items, classic or more trendy. Wide selection of cold cut and seafood, salads, hot dishes as well as live cooking + live...

Thank PaulSchv

233 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (169)
Room/Suite (49)
Dining (14)
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Hotel & Grounds (26)
View from Room (8)
Bathroom (9)
Family/Play Areas (1)
Other (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (64)
Room/Suite (37)
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Dining (5)
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Hotel Bristol
#7 of 106 in Geneva
847 reviews
Hotel d'Angleterre
#2 of 106 in Geneva
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Gervais Les Bergues
Four Seasons Hotel des Bergues Geneva
Eastwest Hotel
Eastwest Hotel
#6 of 106 in Geneva
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
5 Lounge Bar
5 Lounge Bar
Cuisines: International, European
The Mirror Bar
The Mirror Bar
Cuisines: Bar, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled in the heart of Geneva with a beautiful view of the lake, Hotel Metropole Geneve is conveniently located on the left bank, within the city's famous shopping district and just a short walk from the Jet d'eau, the old town and the central business district. The hotel boasts the renowned top-quality service that is a hallmark of Swiss and Geneva hospitality, making it a home away from home for both business and leisure travelers to Geneva. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Metropole Geneve

Address: quai du General-Guisan 34 | Rue du Rhone, Geneva 1204, Switzerland (Formerly Swissôtel Metropole Geneva)
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Price Range: $407 - $760 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Metropole Geneve 5*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Metropole Geneve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Metropole Geneva Hotel Geneva
Swissotel Metropole Hotel Geneva
Geneva Swissotel Metropole Hotel
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Geneva
#9 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
#18 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
#20 Business Hotel in Geneva
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Metropole Geneve staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Bridgetown, Barbados
over a year ago
Burnaby, BC

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Metropole Geneve staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Lakeview rooms are the best”
mpatel491, 28 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Take the colorful rooms, it's worth the money!”
946ub, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The hotel has rooms with shower cabins and bath tubs, so better ask at the reception before taking the room, if it's important to you.”
P9065HL_, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“lake view room is impressive”
PhoebeL609, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room with a view of the lake”
TinoA, 28 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5