We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Ambassador

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Ambassador
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

183 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Ambassador
See the most recent reviews
Showing 127: English reviews
Milton, Canada
Reviewed 21 July 2016

Room was well laid out and spotless. Good location, 2 minute walk to the lake and 1 min walk from the Lucerne Lion. Small shopping mall with a CO OP grocery store. Staff very helpful and pleasant. Breakfast well stocked and plentiful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pablo602
DelapaixSwitzerland, Inhaber at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review

Hello from Lucerne Thank you very much for your good and nice comment. We are so pleased to read your lines. Hope you can make it back sometimes With best Regards Ferdinand Zehnder and the Ambassador Team

East midlands
Reviewed 20 July 2016

Checked in two lovely girls couldn't do enough for us. Free iced tea very welcome in the hot weather. Room on the 6th floor was very quiet and very clean. No tea and coffee..no air conditioning. That's why I say very good and not excellent. Right in centre of town lots of shops. Subway next door in a small shop...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nursetutor
DelapaixSwitzerland, Inhaber at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review

Grüezi Thank you very much for taking your time and writing such nice comment. We are so pleased you had a good time. Our staff is doing such a good job - they will love it to read your comment. It is like balsam. We hope to be able to welcome you again here and wish you a good summer....

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 13 July 2016

I, along with my wife stayed at this hotel in June 2016 for four nights. We found this hotel more than satisfying and equipped with all amenities & all as claimed. Location of this hotel is great. It is at 15 min. walking distance from main train station. There are two ways, one by lake side, slightly longer but more...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Kunal_J_Rane
DelapaixSwitzerland, Inhaber at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review

Grüezi thank you for your full review. You did really described all well. From the location, the room and our staff. Thank you very much for doing this. We do try to satisfy all customers and to make them happy. Recently we invested and will invest again in the wifi system. We are so glad you could use it at...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 July 2016

We booked a triple room in the second week of July 2016. There were some goods and some not-so-goods for us during our stay at this hotel. Goods – amazing friendly staff, clean hotel and rooms, central location, unlimited coffee around reception Not so goods – No air conditioning (average temperature was 30 Celsius and hence, AC would have been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kanika c
DelapaixSwitzerland, Inhaber at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review

Grüezi Thank youf for your review. thank you for taking the time and writing your comments. We are sorry for not AC in all of the hotel. Our hotelbuilding ist over 100 years old. This makes it difficult to install aircondition. We need it only during the hottest day in Lucerne. We are really sorry about our WIFI System. Recently...

Lafayette, Indiana
Reviewed 18 June 2016

Almost a full year ago a previous reviewer said that the wi-fi here is "terrible" and that it "kept dropping out, disconnecting." The hotel staff responded by saying, "Thank you for the comment about the WIFI - we are working on that. We hope to present you a very fast WIFI upon your next visit." I can assure you that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StefanZweig
DelapaixSwitzerland, Inhaber at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review

Grüezi Thank you for taking the time and sending us your review. We are so sorry that you had not been able to connect to our Wifi. We did in Fact replace the WIFI System with a fast fibre access and new connection (pending on Room Nr., Name and Departure Date) All free of charge. However we admit and still...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 29 May 2016

I stayed for 3 weeks at this hotel for a work visit. The hotel is about 15min walk from the Bahnhof Luzern (central station) and centrally located with easy access to buses, cabs, and the main shopping area. Staff is quite friendly and I got one of the 'bigger' rooms which was nice.The hotel is 3-star so doesn't have the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amtrna
Ferdinand Z, Inhaber at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review

Grüezi and Hello from Lucerne Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. Thank you also for staying so long time with us. We understand this as a compliment and that you had enjoyed your stay in our Hotel and in Lucerne. We hope you will be coming soon back to our hotel and wish you a good...

georgia
Reviewed 21 May 2016 via mobile

Excellent hotel. Clean and great location. Very modern rooms. Spotless. Restaurants and stores very close. Transportation very easy. Friendly atmosphere and great breakfast. Staff was wonderful and very informative. They gave us two free welcome drinks.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ednita23
Ferdinand Z, Inhaber at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review

Grüezi Thank you very much for your review and the full points you gave us. We are so happy to read that you spent a great time with us and enjoyed your Birthday at our place. Would be nice to have you here as a guest soon again. Best regards from Lucerne, Ferdinand Zehnder and the Ambassador Team

Reviewed 27 January 2016 via mobile

It's a budget hotel . But comfortable . The problem might be if the heating is not on before handed . But it can be checked . It's on walking distance from the railway station , nicely located , everything is close around . Break fast is good & so is the staff . I forgot my IPhone in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Neeti K
DelapaixSwitzerland, Inhaber at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review

Hello form Lucerne. Thank you very much for the friendly review. We are really happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a good time. Would be nice to have you as a guest in the Hotel Ambassador soon again. Best regards, Ferdinand Zehnder and Ambassador Team

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 10 January 2016

The only thing preventing this from being a 5-star review is an impolite receptionist (brown hair). The room was cosy and clean. They helped us open our wine NYE. Buffet breakfast (more than just continental - came with boiled eggs, and cold cut meat n cheese) was a god send considering the prices of food in Luzern - good variety...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bri B
DelapaixSwitzerland, General Manager at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review about the stay in the Hotel Ambassador. We are really happy to read, that you spent a nice and comfortable time in our hotel and had a great time in Lucerne . We are really sorry for the unconfortable moment with our usually very friendly reception team member. Thank you for your...

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 13 December 2015 via mobile

Good hotel with centric location. Stayed there for a week on a family trip. We were four adults and one baby Rooms are nice and spacious the highest of the hotel The buffet breakfast is continental so not a big variety of options. Mostly bread, ham and cheeses. Very little fruit The only have one infant chair at the restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Melissa Van d
DelapaixSwitzerland, Inhaber at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review

Grüezi from Lucerne Thank you very much for your kind review. It is nice to hear, that you spent a good time with us in Lucerne. We are really sorry about the unconfortable situation with the infant chair. We will need to make a change. Thank you for the information. As we offer tickets (25 CHF/ day) for the underground...

104 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (45)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (59)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.0 km away
Hotel De la Paix
Hotel De la Paix
#26 of 68 in Lucerne
302 reviews
0.1 km away
ibis Styles Luzern City
ibis Styles Luzern City
#32 of 68 in Lucerne
736 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#17 of 68 in Lucerne
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Drei Konige Hotel Lucerne
Drei Konige Hotel Lucerne
#22 of 68 in Lucerne
405 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Waldstatterhof
Hotel Waldstatterhof
#11 of 68 in Lucerne
1,003 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 68 in Lucerne
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Ambassador is an attractive and welcoming city hotel in the heart of Lucerne, and at the heart of the action. Sights such as the world famous Lion Monument or the fascinating Bourbaki Panorama are right on the doorstep. The vibrant historical city centre is only a few steps away. Also close-by is the lakeshore promenade along Lake Lucerne, a delightful place to stroll along and take in the atmosphere.Rest and relax in our friendly rooms with four-star comfort. And enjoy the market-fresh cuisine at Restaurant Lapin.A multi-storey car park offering special discounted rates is available right next to the Hotel Ambassador. We look forward to seeing you ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Ambassador

Address: Zuerichstrasse 3, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Price Range: $200 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ambassador 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Ambassador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Lucerne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Ambassador staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
1 month ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Ambassador staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had rooms facing the courtyard, so there was no street noise.”
shiprasg, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 606.. I had a balcony!!”
  • view of the room at my arrival
iboumans, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Get a room with Balcony”
892kanikac, 12 Jul 2016 | Read review
“I always choose room 504!!”
Baswold, 17 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Ask for a room not on street front. The noise may bother some but didn't annoy us.”
Tolly4, 13 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5