We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Stern Luzern

228 reviews
Save
Traveller (81)
Room & Suite (33)
Dining (11)
Overview
  • Excellent29%
  • Very good46%
  • Average19%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“old town”(22 reviews)
“train station”(14 reviews)
“hotel is modern”(2 reviews)
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free Parking
2.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (228)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for Hotel Stern Luzern
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
124 results
Traveller rating
30
58
25
9
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
30
58
25
9
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold towntrain stationhotel is modernparking garagestayed here for nightsthe riverperfect locationthere is no air conditioningmin walkchurchelevatorluggagecheeseswitzerlandcerealhauptbahnhofcoop
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
31 - 35 of 124 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2015

We had a wonderful stay at the Hotel Stern. Our room overlooked the church garden and was nicely sized and very clean. The down comforters added to the cozy factor. The only downfall of the room was the terribly small shower. We are not large...More

Thank bosphx
Response from STERN-Team, Manager at Hotel Stern LuzernResponded 7 October 2015

Dear lynnzambon Thank you very much for your nice Feedback on Tripadvisor. We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us as well our breakfast buffet with local product and your dinner in our Restaurant. We are looking Forward to welcoming you...More

Reviewed 22 September 2015

Overpriced for what it offers, very small rooms, forgettable views outside the window and most importantly lack of service. We got the vibes, which if I can put it were not very welcoming. Though one of the rooms in our group had a ok view...More

1  Thank mj_musafir
Response from STERN-Team, Manager at Hotel Stern LuzernResponded 7 October 2015

Dear mj_musafir Thank you for your time to write a feedback. We are sorry that your stay did not measure up to yout expectations. We hope to welcoming you back at hotel STERN to satisfy you. Warm regards from the STERN Team

Reviewed 14 September 2015 via mobile

If you look from the price/ quality level you better skip Switserland and the hotels and restaurants. It is far overpriced.the quality is poor, but you may need a bed. That is all you get. And a nice staf. A noisy town. It is a...More

1  Thank enruit
Response from STERN-Team, Manager at Hotel Stern LuzernResponded 20 September 2015

Dear enruit Thank you for your feedback about your stay. We are sorry that your expectations about Lucerne and our hotels and restaurants did not match with us. We hope to welcoming you again to convice you about the beautiful Lucerne. Warm regars from the...More

Reviewed 10 September 2015

We have stayed at the Hotel Stern (formerly the Hotel Goldener Stern) many times over the years. It was originally family owned and we got to know the owners well and were always assured of a warm welcome and personal touches. It has now been...More

1  Thank V581ZSdonb
Response from STERN-Team, Manager at Hotel Stern LuzernResponded 20 September 2015

Dear Donbergomi Thank you for your Feedback on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us. The hotel STERN is stilly family owned. We try to recognize our guests to keep the personal touch and to do everything we can to...More

Reviewed 25 July 2015

This is a run down place. Not sure why there are some positive reviews on TA. Very expensive with no amenities such as coffee maker, ironing board & iron, AC, hangers, storage room for bags, etc. There is no lobby bascially you have to check...More

2  Thank rigi2015
Response from STERN-Team, Manager at Hotel Stern LuzernResponded 5 August 2015

Dear rigi2015 Thank you for giving us a Feedback. Too bad you did not try to connect with us directly. We are a 2* Hotel with a urban concept where the bar is our reception. Since Start of July we have a heat wave here...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
15678925
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Breakfast included
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Breakfast included
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$108 - US$211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#22 Business Hotel in Lucerne
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$108 - US$211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#22 Business Hotel in Lucerne
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (81)
Room & Suite (33)
Dining (11)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
KeniceY
6 July 2015|
Answer
Response from STERN-Team | Property representative |
Dear Kenice Thank you for your message. Surely you can leave your luggage (without valuables) after checked out. We are looking forward to welcome you soon! Kind regards STERN-Team
0
Votes
Google Translation
Room Tips
"avoid top floor because elevator does not go to top"
Read review
"the room on the street side didn't have much noise from the outside, it was the damn fan in the bathroom..."
Read review
"Try to get a room facing the Franziskanerkirche."
Read review
"Don't be late to book a hotel in high season in Luzern. Square hotels are always noisy.."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing