We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Mr. Pickwick

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Hotel Mr. Pickwick
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

263 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 206: English reviews
Borden, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived in Lucerne without a hotel reservation and found this little gem as we walked along the waterfront. The pub was busy when we arrive but the staff took the time to let us look at the room before we paid. The view was unbelievable, and the beds were comfy.

Thank DAN19612013
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff is very friendly, the room is compact but clean, bedding very comfortable. hot pot for tea and coffee and wifi. It is in the perfect location for all the sights and the view is exceptional. Can walk from the train station to the hotel. The tourist office with walkable tour is nearby as is grocery and many resturants

Thank bakerbrenda
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Even though the room size was small, the place is clean, well situated and good value for money. Maybe not the best for family with small kids, but as we were two couples, enjoyed thoroughly. Great to have a drink at the pub.

Thank Nasroo A
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

Lovely place. Friendly staff. Small-ish room, spacious restroom. Found everything to be very clean. Won't be disappointed. Don't expect a breakfast- tons of places close by. Also, there could be mosquitoes from the bridge. Would definitely stay here again.

Thank Vijay C
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2016

So I initially passed over this hotel because of the atmosphere (bar) did not seem like what I wanted on vacation. But eventually I decided to book anyway because of the fantastic location and price. What a great surprise. The room was much larger than expected, very clean and in good condition. The view and small balcony were a wonderful... More 

Thank Felixx9995
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2016

Really enjoyed our stay. The location is great and love that all rooms have a water view. The only downfall was the heatwave we had during our stay (temps in the high 80's). The lack of A/C wasn't ideal, but booked the room knowing there was no air conditioning with the assumption that the weather would be more normalized. The... More 

Thank senecaduck2
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
390 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

This hotel only 400 or so metres from the train station is in the perfect location to immerse yourself into Lucerne's old town. Look out your window directly onto the river and the Chapel bridge. Our double room with bathroom, included tea and coffee making facilities, flat screen TV, a fan a small balcony and strong wifi. Down stairs the... More 

Thank GaryandLesleyTravel
JSGastrag, Inhaber at Hotel Mr. Pickwick, responded to this review

Dear GaryandLesleyTravel, A big thank you for your very informative review. We do not need to add anything except we hope to see you again soon. We hope that you had a great stay in Switzerland. More 

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2016

Great location within minutes of the train station, the ship landings, many restaurants and shops. Great view over the river Reuss, the old bridge and up to the Pilatus. The rooms have been renovated with new bathrooms (shower only) with fresh towels every day when needed. There are no frills: No air conditioning, but a fan, no mini bar, no... More 

Thank Lenk53
JSGastrag, Inhaber at Hotel Mr. Pickwick, responded to this review

Dear Lenk53, Thank you so much for your positive and constructive review. We do in deed have a "Swiss lodge" hotel classification which means that we do not have any stars ***. We aim to provide a great and comfortable stay with a few luxuries that you would get in a three*** hotel. The view however is 5*****. You are... More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

Great location I don't think you could get a better location in Lucerne. Smooth check in and check out. Didn't need to interact with staff more than that and that's a good thing. Only complaint is about the beds Id have liked single queen instead of two twins pushed against each other.

Thank HC310
JSGastrag, Inhaber at Hotel Mr. Pickwick, responded to this review

Dear Harshith C Many thanks for your review. We will note your comment about the queen sized bed. We do try to provide transparent information for all our guests so will review our room descriptions. We do, however, also try to provide flexibilty and many guests like to share a room without sleeping in the same bed. We are very... More 

Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2016

The hotel itself is a pub/restaurant with rooms above it. The pub is lively and has good comfort food. The rooms are very small but adequate. Considering the location and convenience this is a good choice. Our room was on the 3rd floor looking out over the river and the famous wooden bridge. Be aware that the bar can be... More 

Thank Michael W
JSGastrag, Inhaber at Hotel Mr. Pickwick, responded to this review

Dear Michael W Thank you for your review and we are very glad that you were able to appreciate the location and view! We do not make the claim, " a room with a view" without a good reason! By the sounds of your feedback you had reserved a "Two-bedded room" (2 beds, one behind the other). These rooms are,... More 

168 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (158)
View from Room (41)
Bathroom (8)
Room/Suite (33)
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Dining (7)
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (10)
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Room/Suite (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.0 km away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 68 in Lucerne
856 reviews
0.1 km away
Boutique Hotel weisses Kreuz
0.2 km away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Altstadt Hotel Magic Luzern
0.2 km away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#15 of 68 in Lucerne
418 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Alpina Luzern
Hotel Alpina Luzern
#28 of 68 in Lucerne
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel Pickwick is a popular tourist hotel and "Swiss lodge" approx. 600 Yards from the railway station. Located directly on the banks of the river Reuss, in the heart of the historical old town of Lucerne, the hotel commands a superd view of the world famous wooden "Kapell bridge". Very well maintained simple rooms with en-suite shower and WC, flat-screen TV, room-safe, tea & coffee making facilities, hairdryer, and free WIFI. Most rooms have a small balcony overlooking the river. Every room is a "room with a view"!Breakfast is not included but we recommend a nearby restaurant (only a few steps away) that offers a great breakfast buffet.Parking: due to our location in the historical old town we recommend that you use the parking garage at the train stations (600 yards away). ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Mr. Pickwick

Address: Rathausquai 6, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Price Range: $172 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Mr. Pickwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mr Pickwick
Mr Pickwick Hotel
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Lucerne
#17 Business Hotel in Lucerne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Mr. Pickwick staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Muscat, Oman
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Mr. Pickwick staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Worth booking a room with river view.”
 of 5 bubbles Felixx9995, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for river view”
 of 5 bubbles 313MichaelW, 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Do not drink the beer,food deep fried.”
 of 5 bubbles Hibernian2013, 17 Dec 2015 | Read review
“If you like a view, ask for a room facing the river/lake side”
 of 5 bubbles therameus, 22 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Ask for a a room facing the river and the old bridge.”
  • Room view towards the lake.
  • View towards train/bus station.
  • Old bridge view
 of 5 bubbles pkuffner, 22 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay