We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Posthotel Roessli

Show Prices
#10 of 19 Hotels in Gstaad
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Posthotel  Roessli
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

97 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Posthotel Roessli
See the most recent reviews
Showing 55: English reviews
Leicester
Reviewed 14 March 2016 via mobile

Chose this hotel because of the revues and couldn't have been more disappointed on most levels . Room very jaded, bathroom /shower old and needs bringing up to date, cheap thin towels, apart from soap ( and both dispensers were empty when we arrived) no other bits such as, body lotion, shampoo, conditioner etc, at the price this is the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PaulineLeicester
Conroy W, Inhaber at Posthotel Roessli, responded to this review

Dear Mrs. Leincester, we regret very much, that you had a bad experience in a hotel and restaurant. But, you seem to have not been at our place. You mentioned, that the hotel is in Gaschurn - we are the Posthotel Rössli in Gstaad, Switzerland. We do not have a barman either and you did not had a reservation with...

Reviewed 25 December 2015

One of our all time favorite restaurants. Now I love liver with vinegar. Could never eat it until the Rossli. The roesti is the best.mthe seasonal muesli salad is not to be missed. Cozy, rustic, warm and friendly. A wonderful dining experience. All the dishes are well prepared and delivered hot. A true pleasure

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hyflyingbee
Springfield, Illinois
Reviewed 10 December 2015 via mobile

We stayed there for one night , had three rooms . Right on the Main Street ,close to may eating places. Front desk staff and restaurant staff is very helpful . Ate breakfast there but did not try the restaurant . Will stay there again!!!'

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ishsin
Saudi Arabia
Reviewed 24 September 2015

This is amazing hotel; you get surprised with small size of the hotel at the beginning but shortly you start to love the place. We stayed two nights in two rooms at the 3rd floor. It was very warm and nice. The place has the village smell of cheese and green. The breakfast is very good with fresh cheese, jams,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Musleh S
Reviewed 13 September 2015

Friendly, helpful, competent staff. Care prior to, during and after stay. Good, clean value-for-money rooms. Only negative point: the WiFi was very weak, to the point that it was basically non-functional. Bringing this up to par would give this hotel a 5 instead of a 4.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John Paul V
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewed 11 September 2015

Extremely friendly and homey owners and staff, and the food in the restaurant very authentic and delicious. Our room had a very nice balcony and view. The decor is simple, the bathroom has fluorescent lighting, nothing fancy, but overall very cozy and welcoming.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MP1913
Williamstown, Massachusetts
Reviewed 9 September 2015

The Post Hotel is right in the center of Gstaad-- and we love that. We walk everywhere and enjoy the busy pedestrian center of town. The hotel is old and traditional-- nothing fancy, just authentic Swiss design and construction (wood walls and ceilings). The tavern ("stubli") is our go-to dining option in Gstaad with its busy, friendly atmosphere and good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TCWilliamstown
Dubai
Reviewed 7 May 2015

Normally, I would start the review talking about the hotel… but in this case, I would like to compliment our host first. Nadja Widmer, who I believe is a member of the owner Familie Widmer, made us feel at home at Posthotel Rössli from the word go - right from when we first wrote to the hotel enquiring about a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SJ19
Isle of Tiree, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 March 2015 via mobile

We stayed a few nights before a ski touring trip. It was really warm, comfortable and welcoming. Nothing was too much bother for the staff, who were friendly and cheerful at all times and just delighted to help in any way. On our way back they gave us free use of a room to shower and to repack all our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bizzertdog
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 28 February 2015

First thing why I choose this hotel is because of its traditional wooden Swiss chalet style and its history. It was built in 1845, the oldest hotel in Gstaad. The hotel is located near the train station. Its about 5-10 mins walk. Book a room for three pax through booking.com. Stayed for 2 nights. Hotels in Gstaad are generally expensive....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Imranz336

148 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (51)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (97)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (22)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gstaad hotels
0.4 km away
The Alpina Gstaad
The Alpina Gstaad
#1 of 19 in Gstaad
335 reviews
2.4 km away
Hotel Spitzhorn
Hotel Spitzhorn
#3 of 19 in Gstaad
196 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Arc-en-ciel
Hotel Arc-en-ciel
#8 of 19 in Gstaad
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Gstaaderhof Swiss Quality Hotel
0.8 km away
Hotel-Restaurant Alphorn
Hotel-Restaurant Alphorn
#15 of 19 in Gstaad
53 reviews
0.6 km away
Le Grand Bellevue
Le Grand Bellevue
#2 of 19 in Gstaad
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Ski-In / Ski-Out
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Posthotel Rossli - the most traditional and oldest Hotel in the middle of town! This building was built approximately in 1823 and bought by Bendicht Steffen in 1844. It first opened in 1845 as a guesthouse. Back then it also was used as as a post office. By the way, the Rossli-Hotel is the oldest hotel in town. Since 1922, our family owns the establishment, and today we are proud to be the fourth generation, managing the Posthotel Rossli. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Posthotel Roessli

Address: Promenade 10, Gstaad, Saanen 3780, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Saanen > Gstaad
Price Range: $208 - $440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Posthotel Roessli 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Posthotel Roessli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Post Hotel Gstaad
Hotel Style:
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Gstaad
#7 Romantic Hotel in Gstaad
#8 Family Hotel in Gstaad
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Posthotel Roessli staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“First floor rooms with a terrace would be recommended”
 of 5 bubbles nevtaylor, 28 Jul 2016 | Read review
“We had Double Superior with a small balcony, and it was perfect.”
 of 5 bubbles hanabenesova, 2 Apr 2016 | Read review
“View on the Palace hotel”
 of 5 bubbles StefanoR69, 22 Mar 2016 | Read review
“This hotel is middle of town and has free small parking; rooms are almost the same.”
 of 5 bubbles MuslehS, 24 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Try and book a room overlooking a bit of both - the Alps and the village's streets”
 of 5 bubbles SJ19, 7 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay