We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Eiger Grindelwald

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Panoramas (26)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

507 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 311: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Simply loved the view from the room at Hotel Eiger. There was no one to help with the luggage (but it's fine as that's the norm in many hotels across Europe). Lovely hotel with a good breakfast menu located in heaven on earth😍

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 835ramitb
EigerSelfnessHotel, Owner at Hotel Eiger Grindelwald, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your great feedback. We are very pleased that you felt like in heaven with us :-) Thanks also for your suggestion regarding the luggage - usually our porters are more then welcome to help you with it! Sorry that this service did not work! Best regards from Grindelwald

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent quality of accommodation and food. Staff could not have been more friendly or helpful. The owners, Daniel and Gisela, are always coming around making sure everything is satisfactory and making sure you have everything you need.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gam979
EigerSelfnessHotel, Owner at Hotel Eiger Grindelwald, responded to this review

Many thanks for your great and lovely review! We do appreciate it a lot and wish you all the best from the mountains! Gisela & Daniel

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We both had a fantastic time; even though the weather was not perfect for skiing every day, the facilities in the hotel made up for it. The food is a particular highlight; great variety & every meal we had was superbly cooked & presented. The staff are all so friendly & willing to help, the room was comfortable & well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ellie R
EigerSelfnessHotel, Inhaber at Hotel Eiger Grindelwald, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback! We are very glad to hear that you had a nice time with us. With pleasure we will submit your compliments to our chef :-)

Spa, Belgium
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We actually booked one appartment for 3 persons, we wanted to stay independent for (expensive !) food. Very nice set up, enough room for us 3, which can contrast from what you would get in french ski resorts for instance. comfortable bedding, free access to wellness center featuring many possibilities, helpful staff, spotlessly clean : nothing wrong to say about...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lefthander70
EigerSelfnessHotel, Inhaber at Hotel Eiger Grindelwald, responded to this review

Many thanks for your honest feedback. We are very glad that you had a great time in our apartments and we are sorry for the circumstances caused to you. The renovation of the 3 star apartments with kitchen and bath are on our investment plan.... Many thanks for your understanding and best regards from Grindelwald

Jakarta
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed in Eiger Aparthotel and its the best decision I made. We took 2 bedroom apartment as a group of 4 pax and enjoyed our Swiss trip immensely. From our balcony we can gaze upon the Swiss mountains and their resto and food are excellent. Breakfast is good too. Elevator is essential as we are bring my elderly mother...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Avid_Traveller74
EigerSelfnessHotel, Inhaber at Hotel Eiger Grindelwald, responded to this review

Many thanks for your lovely feedback! We are so happy that you had a great time with us! And the wifi signal should be better soon... we are updating the connection in spring time.

Dresden, Germany
Reviewed 19 February 2017

It is the overall positive impression and spirit in The Hotel that made me come here for the third time. Rooms are good, facilities like various types of Sauna gym etc as well. Half board dinner with choices very good. Staff excellent. !!! Watch out: at the time of this writing (Feb 2017), there are Eiger-Hotel deals with free Jungfrau-Area...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HermannOH
EigerSelfnessHotel, Inhaber at Hotel Eiger Grindelwald, responded to this review

Many thanks for your great feedback which we appreciate a lot! Great to hear that you enjoyed our facilities, the food and the service of our staff :-) Special offers for the low season periods are advertised on the website of our tourisme region - please check this side for any special deals! Best regards

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 16 February 2017

Staying in a studio apartment, perhaps a little dated as others have commented but great to have access to the hotel facilities and reception staff very helpful. Balcony area much appreciated to enjoy a coffee or beer in the afternoon sun, partial view. (616).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caroline A
EigerSelfnessHotel, Inhaber at Hotel Eiger Grindelwald, responded to this review

Many thanks for your lovely review - we are glad to hear that you had a nice time with us!

Bern, Switzerland
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

They have great Staff, modern Rooms, pretty nice Views, a good SPA, Perfect! The "Blütenbad" is a nive bath to book. And yes, they even have a pretty big parking behind the Hotel in the middle of Grindelwald. Ratherly expensive but great over all!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrTravelller
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 February 2017

We invariably stay at the Hotel Eiger when we come to Grindelwald for skiing but I just realised that I have never written a Tripadvisor review on it! The hotel is well located, around 5 minutes walk from both the cog railway for the Kleine Scheidegg ski area and the gondola for the First ski area. There are two buildings,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank twovass
Laxey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 February 2017

Warm welcome on arrival from friendly and helpful staff. Lovely rooms with good views. Plenty of choice at breakfast and evening meals and good variety of leisure facilities. The only thing missing was a non-smokers lounge where we could meet up with friends in the evenings. We did sit in the Wellness lounge one evening but this closes at 9pm....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heidi457
EigerSelfnessHotel, Inhaber at Hotel Eiger Grindelwald, responded to this review

Thanks a lot for your great feedback - we are very happy that you had a good time with us! With pleasure we take note of your suggestions. Best regards from Grindelwald

589 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (226)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
0:30
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (113)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (307)
Viewed
Amenities (79)
Viewed
Basic Double Room (27)
Viewed
Lifestyle Double Room (20)
Viewed
Dining (88)
Viewed
Second Basic Double Room (24)
Viewed
Single Room (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (56)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.7 km away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
885 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
751 reviews
0.4 km away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Hotel Tschuggen
Hotel Tschuggen
#7 of 41 in Grindelwald
273 reviews
0.7 km away
Sunstar Hotel Grindelwald
Sunstar Hotel Grindelwald
#9 of 41 in Grindelwald
344 reviews
0.2 km away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Bistro Memory
Bistro Memory
Cuisines: Swiss, Bar, European, Central European
Barry's
Barry's
Cuisines: Swiss, European, Grill
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Cosy and uncomplicated hotel in the center of the village Grindelwald. Rooms, suites, apartments and chalets are available. Restaurant Barry's and Galleria with international dishes, bistro Memory with cheese and potato specialities, Gepsi Bar & Lounge. Selfness centre with sauna & spa area, fitness facilities and lounge. Open all year around. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Eiger Grindelwald

Address: Dorfstrasse 133 | Postfach 92, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Price Range: $228 - $470 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Eiger Grindelwald 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Eiger Grindelwald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Grindelwald
#3 Spa Hotel in Grindelwald
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Grindelwald
#6 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
#14 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Eiger Grindelwald staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
4 months ago
cardiff

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Eiger Grindelwald staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The front rooms have balconies and excellent views. They vary slightly in size.”
 of 5 bubbles twovass, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors are quieter when there's live music in the bar!”
 of 5 bubbles Heidi457, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Best views of the North Face of the Eiger are from the rooms at the front of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles andyg148, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Front facing rooms have magnificent views of The Eiger mountain,may be noisy at night and in the morning with traffic and delivery vehicles.”
 of 5 bubbles 385margarete, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If you want quiet don't get a room facing the road/Eiger”
 of 5 bubbles yosemite65, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5